Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 18, 2009
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 3010 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,154
Mixed:
443
Negative:
413
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DJJan 2, 2010
Literally the best movie I have ever seen. I was completely and totally blown away. This is the first movie in my entire life where I didn't want it to end.
18 of 47 users found this helpful
10
DionJ.Jan 7, 2010
This movie was AWESOME! without a doubt the best movie of 2009 and one of the best movies of all time. Yeah its has similar story lines to "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" but its different at the same time. The Na'vi are humanoid This movie was AWESOME! without a doubt the best movie of 2009 and one of the best movies of all time. Yeah its has similar story lines to "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" but its different at the same time. The Na'vi are humanoid in appearance but not human as in "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" which makes it different in that fact. It's a instant classic! I have seen this movie six times in theaters. Five of which are in IMAX 3D. I notice details that I regularly see other directors miss. *spoiler alert* The part in the main battle scene when Jake and the other Na'vi are trying to bring down the shuttle loaded with bombs. Jake fly's in on his Great Leonopteryx and then jumps off on top of the shuttle at which point he kills some RDA troops manning some machines guns. The scene just before he jumps of his mount onto the ship you can see a Banshee (Flying creature) that got shot, on top of the ship twitching and as it cuts scenes on where Jake jumps off his mount and onto the shuttle you can still see the Banshee twitching and then as Jake jumps over the fortifications where the marines are defending the ship with machine guns and shoots them (marines) you can see the Banshee again still twitching on top of the shuttle. Now I have seen many more details like this in the movie and it excites me to see. You have a director that is willing to pay attention to every detail such as the one I mentioned and a detail that hardly no one if anyone will notice. When I see movies I like to look at these very details to see how much time the spent into making their film look as real as possible and James Cameron did not disappoint! I mean if you are paying attention to details that small then you know the huge details that the director want you to see is going to be even better! This movie delivered everything I expect to see from a movie and then some. James Cameron in an amazing derictor, producer and writer! This Movie is a 10 for sure! Expand
6 of 18 users found this helpful
10
EmericCJan 10, 2010
Avatar is probably the most beautiful film you'll ever see. The visual effects and the story... it's amazing! James Cameron has created a living world, a world that you'll never forget. The film really caught my heart!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ArekKJan 1, 2010
Great and Beautiful!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBJan 20, 2010
Amazing movie. I liked it even more the second time. It will revolutionize the way movies are made from now on.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JoelLJan 20, 2010
I don't understand why some people are down on this movie; I though it was great. The world of Pandora and the Na'vi is impossible not to get sucked into. The visuals are gorgeous. The story, which seems to be the biggest I don't understand why some people are down on this movie; I though it was great. The world of Pandora and the Na'vi is impossible not to get sucked into. The visuals are gorgeous. The story, which seems to be the biggest complaint, is there to pull you into this world and it does a pretty fine job. As for the length of the movie, you'll be too captivated to notice how long it is. Overall, I think you have to be pretty cynical not to fall in love with this world. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichaelF.Jan 30, 2010
Simply Amazing!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WiseUpJan 3, 2010
The Real Value of James Cameron's "Avatar" All the reviews of Avatar I�ve read seem to miss the real value of this visually stunning movie set on the fantastically alive planet of Pandora. While aspects of The Real Value of James Cameron's "Avatar" All the reviews of Avatar I�ve read seem to miss the real value of this visually stunning movie set on the fantastically alive planet of Pandora. While aspects of the plot are predictable, Avatar offers some powerful messages for our time once you scratch beneath the surface. For those who are not firmly entrenched in our mainstream culture�s cynicism and denial the movie, Avatar, is a powerful opportunity to sharply see and feel our current situation as a species that has lost its way. As we experience the lives of Pandora�s indigenous people our own predicament comes into contrast. We become visible as a species that has become trapped within its own culture and system of domination and control... cut off from what really enlivens us. It is surprising that a movie with some of the messages of Avatar could even come out of the corporate dominated �homeland�Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
pauloaJan 4, 2010
Simple the Best film and gorgeous i can�´t say to you how i feelt when seeing the movie, the movie has just one problem ....IT ENDSSSS
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
kathrynwJan 4, 2010
An absolutely fantastic movie that wows and entertains. The only thing wrong with it was its rating. It should be rated NFIS, Not for Intellectual Snobs (with superiority complexes).
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EllisciaE.Jan 7, 2010
I have always been an avid movie watcher and this is the best picture I've ever experienced. I am a 57 yr. old female and I'm loving the three strong feminine roles. The clear message about how "everything is connected" is a good I have always been an avid movie watcher and this is the best picture I've ever experienced. I am a 57 yr. old female and I'm loving the three strong feminine roles. The clear message about how "everything is connected" is a good reminder for all of us. We are all connected and all of life is sacred. I hope that this movie speaks to others as profoundly as it has me. I've seen it twice and shall go again. Thanks and enjoy!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeMJan 9, 2010
Wow! I'm still thinking about what I just saw... It's a testament to what we've become... A lot of Native American themes are involved in this film. What a wonderful disposition of how honor, love, integrity and commitment Wow! I'm still thinking about what I just saw... It's a testament to what we've become... A lot of Native American themes are involved in this film. What a wonderful disposition of how honor, love, integrity and commitment should be exhibited in our daily lives. I see so may truisms in this story... Well done! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PBWFeb 1, 2010
AMAZING! There are no words to truely explain the beauty, imagination and grace of this movie! The story line is so very much more than a simple "good vs bad". The visual beauty alone leaves you breathless and anxious to see it again. I have AMAZING! There are no words to truely explain the beauty, imagination and grace of this movie! The story line is so very much more than a simple "good vs bad". The visual beauty alone leaves you breathless and anxious to see it again. I have never been motivated by a movie to make the effort to see it in IMAX. Avatar was my virgin voyage into IMAX .. and well ... you have to see it to understand that are really are no words!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KaylaHFeb 17, 2010
It's peculiarity is what makes it an unbelievable movie. The transformation of each individual character throughout the movie is brilliant. Not that the kind of story is so original but the details make it this unimaginable yet so It's peculiarity is what makes it an unbelievable movie. The transformation of each individual character throughout the movie is brilliant. Not that the kind of story is so original but the details make it this unimaginable yet so realistic scenario. From the 'halo' with their hair to Jake Sully being able to walk when he's in his Avatar, truly amazing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EggyGFeb 17, 2010
First the bad part, the story was kinda lame. Now the best part, beside the story all part was groundbreaking. Watch it in 3D really brought new level of immersion experience. The world design was mind boggling & eye popping. The action First the bad part, the story was kinda lame. Now the best part, beside the story all part was groundbreaking. Watch it in 3D really brought new level of immersion experience. The world design was mind boggling & eye popping. The action sequence was breathtaking. Even the music and sound was sublime. Another milestone movie from JC! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JuanC.Feb 21, 2010
James Cameron has done it once again. He impressed my expectations of Avatar. I always thought of Avatar as great, but not something that should be the movie of the year. However, once I saw the movie, it blew me away from the begging to James Cameron has done it once again. He impressed my expectations of Avatar. I always thought of Avatar as great, but not something that should be the movie of the year. However, once I saw the movie, it blew me away from the begging to end. After finishing watching Avatar, I thought to myself, this is not only the best movie of 2009 and the best in the decade, this is one of the best movies ever made. I have not seen one part of the movie that was boring or uninteresting to watch. I also like the fact that James keeps focus on every category of the movie: the story, the visuals the actors, every bit of detail is amazing. This is a must watch for everyone. I definitely got to say that it would take years for someone else to top this movie off. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeB.Feb 4, 2010
Very well put together, the acting made it very believable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FabianBFeb 7, 2010
The Movie was still great. I really liked it to watch in 3D. Good Story and great Actors / Effects.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CaseyK.Mar 30, 2010
Highly imaginative, action-packed and with strong emotion from jake and neytiri's love. James Cameron has truly out done himself.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanMar 4, 2010
Tugs at you. Makes you feel. I'd like people to figure out how to keep the creatures and plants while we continue learning and implementing technology. Wise use of technology instead of irresponsible non holistic use is what is called Tugs at you. Makes you feel. I'd like people to figure out how to keep the creatures and plants while we continue learning and implementing technology. Wise use of technology instead of irresponsible non holistic use is what is called for. Keep life alive so we can populate the empty planets with life. Otherwise what point is there if we kill all that makes us feel alive? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DeeMMar 5, 2010
Pure genious!! A truly amazing film which can take your breath away. Has opened a whole new era for film making, setting such a high standard for others. Certainly, without any doubt whatsoever, deserves to (at least) win Best Picture, Pure genious!! A truly amazing film which can take your breath away. Has opened a whole new era for film making, setting such a high standard for others. Certainly, without any doubt whatsoever, deserves to (at least) win Best Picture, although should also take Best Director and more... 110% !!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SebAApr 10, 2010
Amazing movie. Engrossing, emotional, powerful. Everything a movie like this should be. James Cameron is one of the greatest action-adventure Directors of all time, and with Avatar, he proves he still has what it takes. The movie is Amazing movie. Engrossing, emotional, powerful. Everything a movie like this should be. James Cameron is one of the greatest action-adventure Directors of all time, and with Avatar, he proves he still has what it takes. The movie is beautifully shot, no awful out of focus or shaky camera to hide bad action scenes. The story is emotional and makes the action that much more engaging. Easily one of the top 5 Blockbuster movies of the last 10 years. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyderK-BJun 3, 2010
This movie was insane. Absolutely blew my mind. The movie drew me in from start to finish and left me wanting more. There was not one part of the movie where I lost interest. The world James Cameron has made is outstanding and nothing short This movie was insane. Absolutely blew my mind. The movie drew me in from start to finish and left me wanting more. There was not one part of the movie where I lost interest. The world James Cameron has made is outstanding and nothing short of god like. Throughout the entire movie I was fully immersed in Pandora's environment, culture and wildlife and it made me want to be a Na'vi myself, as childish as it may seem, its 100% true! The CGI was just stunning and the 3D just layed the icing on the cake. To all these speds saying how Avatar is a rip from some crap called "pocahontas" and "dance with the wolf" or whatever, I suggest shutting the hell up and embracing the future of movies. If I wanted to watch some gay disney movie that was made during the dawn of man I would, but the thing is,i never will. Maybe you idiots should try enjoying the movie for what it is and actually try embracing the future. If you don't, that's fine by me as I will be happy to see idiots like you fade away into the past along with your retarded filth you call movies. If you were only going to see 1 movie in your lifetime, Avatar would have to be it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DelvinWJun 9, 2010
Another James Cameron masterpiece, oh and the 2s and the 3s you guys are handing out are to the only movie to ever make 2 billion dollars at the box office.
5 of 13 users found this helpful
10
NacorC.Dec 19, 2009
Beautiful, astonishing, emotive... a perfect score hands down. Go watch it now!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickRDec 27, 2009
Absolutely amazing. Worth the money, time, and the standing in line in the cold. Sure could have used an intermission, though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JDDec 30, 2009
Skeptical going in, but completely liberated within minutes. A magical 2.5 hours that was also surprisingly moving. I'm not sure it was a great movie, but it was undoubtedly an awesome cinematic experience that will stay with me for a Skeptical going in, but completely liberated within minutes. A magical 2.5 hours that was also surprisingly moving. I'm not sure it was a great movie, but it was undoubtedly an awesome cinematic experience that will stay with me for a long time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JudyRJan 11, 2010
Wonderfully exciting, adventurous and a sweet love story. Outstanding special effects and the good guys won.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndresCJan 1, 2010
This movie will ave you glued to your seat!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
M.AJan 1, 2010
Best movie I've ever seen! Action, romance, EXCELLENT!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
gkJan 1, 2010
Great Story along with great presentation. Go see it in 3D if you can. I still cannot believe what they did here. As far as some who are critical of the plot, I am guessing that they do not like the negative commentary on Western Expansion Great Story along with great presentation. Go see it in 3D if you can. I still cannot believe what they did here. As far as some who are critical of the plot, I am guessing that they do not like the negative commentary on Western Expansion against indigenous communities. For me that was what will make this movie a classic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
danieljJan 14, 2010
I can't imagine enjoying a movie more. I've never felt so transported to another place. I'm generally pretty critical of CGI but this movie felt real to me. And the complaints I've heard of clumsy storytelling and bad I can't imagine enjoying a movie more. I've never felt so transported to another place. I'm generally pretty critical of CGI but this movie felt real to me. And the complaints I've heard of clumsy storytelling and bad dialog were unfounded. Cameron's storytelling was flawless. So economical I didn't want it to end. There's a minimalism to some of the acting and script that I think balances out the sensory overload of the visuals. Perfect movie. Worth way more than the price of admission. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeS.Jan 1, 2010
It was just terrific, i loved it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamS.Jan 17, 2010
Avatar is a brilliant movie. Breathtaking visuals, and a story that really means something. It's not anti-technology, it's pro living with nature. I'm a computer programmer, and I like technology, but like the Na'vi, I Avatar is a brilliant movie. Breathtaking visuals, and a story that really means something. It's not anti-technology, it's pro living with nature. I'm a computer programmer, and I like technology, but like the Na'vi, I also love to go mountain climbing and jumping around on the rocks like a mad goat for fun. Those who approve of their country's habit of making war and killing people to take their resources (oil or unobtainium) may not like Avatar, maybe it makes them feel uncomfortable. But for the human beings among us, who value life, nature and people more than money, this is a great movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DustinMJan 19, 2010
After watching the movie, i felt pity that the movie isn't real.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BenJan 2, 2010
James Cameron has once again delivered a masterpiece. The trailers made me feel skeptical, as I just thought "this has all been done before". But I was wrong. It was far better than I expected, I'd even say that this is as good as my James Cameron has once again delivered a masterpiece. The trailers made me feel skeptical, as I just thought "this has all been done before". But I was wrong. It was far better than I expected, I'd even say that this is as good as my favourite James Cameron movie - Terminator 2. James Cameron sure does know how to tell a story, albeit quite a simple one. It has a lot of heart. The less I spoil the better. There wasn't a single boring moment in the movie. The best use of CG I've ever seen (I usually prefer things to be real rather than computer generated, but this is an exception). Also, the 3-D effects are breathtaking, really immerses you into the imaginative world he created. The action scenes thrilled me, one in particular actually made me quite emotional (and if any movie has such a powerful effect on you, you know it's good). I didn't want it to end, despite the long run-time. It's paced so well, with good plot twists and fascinating characters. This movie blew me away, and I might even call it the best movie this decade. It certainly gets in my top 5 favourites of all time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GloriaEJan 20, 2010
This movie is exceptional. The creative genius that went into this movie is awesome. Can't wait for Part 2.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ToddTJan 2, 2010
This movie will rank up there with 2001, A Space Odyssey as one of the most influential films of all time. Wonderful story and respect for god-in-nature. Along the way , a future General Custer and the imperialist invaders get what they deserve!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidJJan 2, 2010
Stunning and captivating in every way. I was completely enthralled by this film. This deserves to be seen in the finest cinema available to you. Truly, I have never seen anything like it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
chrisbJan 23, 2010
The fact that it has been out for weeks and still sells out is a testament to how great this movie is, It will hook you with the CGI but will win you over with the great story that everyone on earth can relate to.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KyleAJan 2, 2010
The new bar for animated films.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArielRJan 2, 2010
"I pray in my heart that this dream never ends..." I've never felt so many emotions during a movie. I was happy, angry, I've cried... and I am not a sensitive person. This film is everything for me! I found there all my dreams "I pray in my heart that this dream never ends..." I've never felt so many emotions during a movie. I was happy, angry, I've cried... and I am not a sensitive person. This film is everything for me! I found there all my dreams comimg true. For the first time. I saw it 4 times and every time end credits are almost pain. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HarryM.Jan 25, 2010
Absolutely brilliant in so many ways.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DetlefMJan 3, 2010
Great Fantastic Movie. One of my favorite !!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyRJan 3, 2010
I thought 3D was a gimmick before seeing this movie. I was wrong. Avatar left me totally immersed and I felt like I was on Pandora. By the end I was sad to leave. See this in IMAX, and use the restroom before you go because you won't I thought 3D was a gimmick before seeing this movie. I was wrong. Avatar left me totally immersed and I felt like I was on Pandora. By the end I was sad to leave. See this in IMAX, and use the restroom before you go because you won't want to miss a moment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaciejB.Jan 3, 2010
When 'Avatar' finished the only drawback that appeared to me was that it ended so soon. What you see on screen cannot be put into words. As for the story, it doesn't lack anything that would make it anything less than a When 'Avatar' finished the only drawback that appeared to me was that it ended so soon. What you see on screen cannot be put into words. As for the story, it doesn't lack anything that would make it anything less than a greatly composed plot and it fits perfectly into the world created by Cameron. A staggering movie, that for the money you pay for a ticket offersyou in return all that you could ever ask from a motion ficture. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
joeh.Jan 30, 2010
This movie is great even though I wacthed it at 10:00 it was worth the wait.Avatar has a lot of action it's a fun family movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaxP.Jan 30, 2010
Amazing film , i cant forget it , but there are too much parodies to Matrix i think, anyway 10.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillNJan 4, 2010
Fantastic. Special effects, characters and storyline make it a hit. It will go down as a classic!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SuzySJan 4, 2010
Absolutely phenomenal movie!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BradC.Jan 4, 2010
The best film I have seen in a while, and certainly the best 3D experience. Yes, it is preachy, I'll give you that. If you think that humans/corporations/military are never that bad guys, then this movie is not for you. I was moved by The best film I have seen in a while, and certainly the best 3D experience. Yes, it is preachy, I'll give you that. If you think that humans/corporations/military are never that bad guys, then this movie is not for you. I was moved by the story and awed by the effects. The CGI has come a long way and really looks believable. My sister told me the film was 50% Dances With Wolves, 25% Matrix, and 25% Aliens. Sounds right to me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZachJan 4, 2010
Saw it in 3D and was amazed. I think everyone should see this movie in theaters.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndyW.Jan 4, 2010
The best movie i have watched in my whole life! It's really gripping and kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through, and its special effects and graphics were indescribably awesome!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KenS.Jan 4, 2010
Simply one of the best movies I have ever seen. I have now seen it twice and it thrilled me as much the second time as it did the first. The six people I went and saw it with (between the two times) all loved it as well. I think almost Simply one of the best movies I have ever seen. I have now seen it twice and it thrilled me as much the second time as it did the first. The six people I went and saw it with (between the two times) all loved it as well. I think almost everyone will get something out of this movie. It is visually breathtaking in a way that few movies, if any, can match. The action was amazing and the plot was genuinely meaningful and gripping. I can already tell that this movie will be one of those classics that I return to over and over. Fantastic all around! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshW.Jan 5, 2010
Has to be a 10. It is amazing. 3D at the IMAX is a must. Don't see it anything less. done amazingly well. Technically brilliant. Looks beautiful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MariyaD.Jan 6, 2010
Avatar was the best and the most amazing movie I have ever seen. I am going to see it again on IMAX 3D. This is definitely the best movie of the year!!! Cameron deserves an Oscar for all his hard work! M.D. Boston, MA.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkSJan 6, 2010
It is interesting to read the comments re the disappointment of thhis resembling "Dances with wolves" meets Aliens. I will show my age and go one further and dredge up "A Man called Horse". All run a similar theme in that the white man goes It is interesting to read the comments re the disappointment of thhis resembling "Dances with wolves" meets Aliens. I will show my age and go one further and dredge up "A Man called Horse". All run a similar theme in that the white man goes native. So what? The story has been told before; so have many others. What is important here is how the story was told and in my humble opinion, it was nothing less than brilliant. The characters were believable and lifelike (Yes, it is pleasing to see a real actor that doesn't act woodenly) The CG was almost seamless and I had to look hard to find the defects. The 3d was an enhancement to the visuals rather than a gimick and the story compelling , even if a retelling of an old theme. The art is not just in the story, but how it is told. Give me an old story well told over a new story badly told any day. All I can say is release the Blu-Ray version in 3D, this is one of the few "keepers" going into my collection. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DalekJan 6, 2010
Best movie of 2009. I recommend that you see it in 3D, (Not the red and blue 3D glasses) it makes it feel more real like your actually there. Almost all of it is CGI and special effects with a ton of HD cameras. The eyes, and face posing is Best movie of 2009. I recommend that you see it in 3D, (Not the red and blue 3D glasses) it makes it feel more real like your actually there. Almost all of it is CGI and special effects with a ton of HD cameras. The eyes, and face posing is perfect. The acting is perfect, no drama etc. The storyline is quite simple to understand but it could take some time to figure out. The fight scenes keep going with the music and always wants you to figure out, what's going to happen next? Yes, the film is almost 3 hours long. But it's worth it. Once the film was over I didn't want it to end. I guess It's a good film when you leave the cinema. I think that nothing wrong was with this film, you should go see it now. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LouisM.Jan 8, 2010
I was completely overwhelmed by the beauty of this film and I feel privileged to have been granted permission to spend 3 hours with the Na'vi people of Pandora.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EliascJan 9, 2010
The major reason I dislike 3D movies and avoid them is that directors think that the audience needs to have stuff thrust out of the screen at them. Sorry Hollywood, but I am older than twelve and am not impressed by such bad filmmaking The major reason I dislike 3D movies and avoid them is that directors think that the audience needs to have stuff thrust out of the screen at them. Sorry Hollywood, but I am older than twelve and am not impressed by such bad filmmaking technique. The intent of a film should be to entice the viewer to believe in the characters, the story and the world presented on the screen; to be drawn into images and imagination you have created so that we, the audience, believe it. No 3D movie has yet accomplished this ... until now. James Cameron's Avatar is 3D done right. It draws the viewer into the forest world of Pandora making it utterly believable. The few 'thrust something into my face moments' are appropriate and not intrusive. If this is the future of 3D film-making then I can see that it truly has a future. Aside from the 3D, the film also stands out as a well constructed story and superb world building. The film borrows elements from historical and SF sources including James Cameron's own 'Aliens' movie, the SF sub-genre of alien culture stories exemplified by authors such as C. J. Cherryh, and the film 'Dances With Wolves'. James Cameron has once again raised the bar for future filmmakers. We shall see the results over the next few years. This film is possibly the best film of the decade and it won't easily be topped. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KarolinaSJan 9, 2010
I think to say that the plot and storyline is cliche is completely irrelevant. The first reason is that it does not take away from the movie at all; at no point did I say to myself "Oh man, this is like Pocahontas [or Fern Gully or I think to say that the plot and storyline is cliche is completely irrelevant. The first reason is that it does not take away from the movie at all; at no point did I say to myself "Oh man, this is like Pocahontas [or Fern Gully or whatever]" and hence anticipated similar events. Yeah, alright, it did have elements of many different films but give James Cameron a break! The guy made a movie with absolutely phenomenal special effects (I saw it in IMAX 3D) and with a storyline which, albeit comprised of many well known movies, comes together to form a spectacle that captures the audience's attention in a way that makes you say, "Wow, what I would give to experience this world if only for a second." Furthermore, has no one thought that maybe the storyline was familiar so as not to take away from the other aspects of the movie? Plus, the familiar is a film technique used by directors so the audience feels more involved in the film. And in my opinion, James Cameron did just that. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeeM.Feb 1, 2010
Avatar was a great movie! Proably the best movie I have ever seen. Loved it in 3D, completely worth the $11. Will be going to see it again! The story was amazeing. Never seen a movie with such a griping story. and the cast did such a great Avatar was a great movie! Proably the best movie I have ever seen. Loved it in 3D, completely worth the $11. Will be going to see it again! The story was amazeing. Never seen a movie with such a griping story. and the cast did such a great job. I love this movie!!! Will be buying it on blu-ray! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimLFeb 10, 2010
Simply stunning. The CGI and motion capture are above and beyond yet don't completely blot out the plot and storyline like in 300. The 3D is wonderfuly implimented so as to provide a sense of depth and realism to the already amazing Simply stunning. The CGI and motion capture are above and beyond yet don't completely blot out the plot and storyline like in 300. The 3D is wonderfuly implimented so as to provide a sense of depth and realism to the already amazing visuals, making it less of a projected flat image but not like traditional 3D where everything has to pop out at you which can sometimes be overbearing. The story is original in every way though some of it does seem to hint at other stories, but this can be said for every movie since everything can be compared to everything else. The music score by James Horner is facinating and provides the fuel to the already burning hot visuals and heated love story, providing emotional highs and lows that one rarely experiences when watching a film. One suggestion would be go with no opinion but enjoy it to it's fullest, leave reading critical reviews till after seeing Avatar with a clear mind. It is a must see in theaters and 3D. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KennethSFeb 14, 2010
Though lacking in script and storytelling, Avatar is visually stunning and at its best, emotionally heartbreaking. More than once I felt sucked into the film, my breath taken away by the magnificent background. James Cameron has redefined Though lacking in script and storytelling, Avatar is visually stunning and at its best, emotionally heartbreaking. More than once I felt sucked into the film, my breath taken away by the magnificent background. James Cameron has redefined 3-D and visual effects, and for years to come, Avatar will be remembered just like Titanic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarcoMFeb 14, 2010
Like people who saw for the first time the Sistina Chapel 500 years ago. Don't know if will be the same in half a millennium.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidPFeb 16, 2010
Very moving movie visually and verbally. This is the best movie of 09 & 10. To be honest I thought it was going to be a gimmicky movie but when I saw it, it was amazing. 3d is even better. If you are going to see a movie this year it has to Very moving movie visually and verbally. This is the best movie of 09 & 10. To be honest I thought it was going to be a gimmicky movie but when I saw it, it was amazing. 3d is even better. If you are going to see a movie this year it has to be this one Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarolHFeb 2, 2010
I love all the special techniques put into Avatar! It's totally unimaginable!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ESIFFeb 3, 2010
Amazing movie, the visual effects are stunning, and it's perfect into every little detail (and there are a LOT of details). It's like a whole new world, that'll make your own world look kinda boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaCFeb 5, 2010
Avatar is simple beautiful and amazing. It makes our world look like nothing and I respect that. Avatar is beautifully made. Graphically advanced. And the acting is the greatest. Avatar will remain the greatest movie in the world to me. I Avatar is simple beautiful and amazing. It makes our world look like nothing and I respect that. Avatar is beautifully made. Graphically advanced. And the acting is the greatest. Avatar will remain the greatest movie in the world to me. I would pay millions to look like one of the Na'vi. They are beautiful people. So romantic and tranquil with everything. Anybody who thinks this movie is bad. Is just a stupid American Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoseM.Mar 1, 2010
THe visuals are really amazing, I hope it wins the Oscar.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ElliotB.Apr 15, 2010
That's just a great movie with maybe not a totally new, but still beautiful and touching story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinPApr 19, 2010
Great movie. I wanted to be a Na'vi from the beginning to the end. The only downside was that the 3-d sucked. They didnt shoot it for 3-d just ran it through a program. Not like Imax movies. Anywho excellent movie advise everyone to Great movie. I wanted to be a Na'vi from the beginning to the end. The only downside was that the 3-d sucked. They didnt shoot it for 3-d just ran it through a program. Not like Imax movies. Anywho excellent movie advise everyone to watch this movie if you haven't!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BradyApr 23, 2010
Few films make you feel part of the world it takes place in, or such a powerful connection to the characters as Avatar does. Avatar was one of the most amazing love stories ever told in any movie. The war scenes were simply epic, and the Few films make you feel part of the world it takes place in, or such a powerful connection to the characters as Avatar does. Avatar was one of the most amazing love stories ever told in any movie. The war scenes were simply epic, and the graphics and special effects are by far the most amazing ever seen, it truly sucks you in and makes you feel like your part of the world of Pandora. it is one of those movies that makes you wish you could have been there or be one of the characters, as cheesy or as childish as it sounds. You have to see this movie at least once. I was actually speachless once the film ended, because I wanted to see more, and when you want to continue watching a movie after nearly 3 hours, that says somthing. Watch this movie it is incredible. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MariaOApr 24, 2010
This was a great movie. From the technology used to the emotions you felt when they tried to destroy Pandora. I never wanted to see the movie, thought it was gonna be pointless and was dragged by some friends and I am happy I was dragged. This was a great movie. From the technology used to the emotions you felt when they tried to destroy Pandora. I never wanted to see the movie, thought it was gonna be pointless and was dragged by some friends and I am happy I was dragged. Definitely worth seeing and buying. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelD.Apr 28, 2010
This movie Avatar was so succesfull.I loved this movie much more than any other movie i have seen before in my life,not only this movie have gone better but this movie will probably change your mind about your favorite movies ever.better This movie Avatar was so succesfull.I loved this movie much more than any other movie i have seen before in my life,not only this movie have gone better but this movie will probably change your mind about your favorite movies ever.better than 2012 & even betterTransformers.i rather give this a solid 1000 more than a 10 fools.see you critics later. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SuperRaterApr 6, 2010
I don't get why so many people hate this movie. It has an amazing plot, awsome special effects, and watching it in 3-D made it even better. People are just to stupid to realize what movies are good and bad. If you give this movie lower I don't get why so many people hate this movie. It has an amazing plot, awsome special effects, and watching it in 3-D made it even better. People are just to stupid to realize what movies are good and bad. If you give this movie lower than a 7 then you really should go back and watch the movie again. Great movie!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.Jun 23, 2010
This has to be James Cameron's best movie yet. And yes, it's much better than Titanic. The story was really well done, but the characters, the action and the overall experience made it one of the best movies of all time. Why This has to be James Cameron's best movie yet. And yes, it's much better than Titanic. The story was really well done, but the characters, the action and the overall experience made it one of the best movies of all time. Why didn't this win best picture?! I mean why did the Hurt Locker win the award? Still the Hurt Locker was another great movie, but surely AVATAR was better than the Hurt Locker. I for one loved AVATAR and just because it was a Sci-Fi film didn't mean it didn't deserve the award. Look at the revolutionary movie Star Wars. A perfect movie that didn't get the best awards at the oscars. Nominating sci-fi films for best picture is a bit silly because there's this rule that sci-fi movies cannot win best picture. That rule defies the purpose of those movies even being nominated. They still deserve to be at least nominated so they still get a bit of recognition at the oscars. I don't mean all sci-fi movies, but just the classic ones. Overall, AVATAR was the best movie of 2009, also I'd like to mention the movie Up is just as good as AVATAR. These two movies were the best of 2009. Who knew a movie such as this one would have an extremely alike to Star Wars. I thought Hollywood would never repeat that affect again. I was obviously wrong. Pandora is up there with the best sci-fi planets in cinema. It still surprises me how James Cameron hasn't lost his way, unlike Stephen Spielberg with what he did in Indiana Jones 4. My final thoughts on AVATAR; it was a perfect movie that of course made James Cameron's Titanic sink. The new Star Wars for the generation is here everybody. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RiFfDJun 6, 2010
This is the kind of movie that actually requires more EQ than IQ, and the emotions of the movie is what made me fell in love it. My opinion, best movie of 2009.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JackDec 18, 2009
Luminary. Visionary. have you ever wanted to say, travel on another planet? Avatar is your ticket. An indelible shift in the history of film. Once upon a time Dorothy stepped out the door and there was Oz in color. Now there is Avatar. Worth Luminary. Visionary. have you ever wanted to say, travel on another planet? Avatar is your ticket. An indelible shift in the history of film. Once upon a time Dorothy stepped out the door and there was Oz in color. Now there is Avatar. Worth every penny!!! Thank you James Cameron, again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrunoB.Dec 19, 2009
A milestone in the history of movie making.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnE.Dec 19, 2009
Deserves a 10 just because of the special effects. Some people are saying that it looked cartonish at times, but if you really looked at the detail you could see that there was nothing cartoonish about it. The special effects were the mostDeserves a 10 just because of the special effects. Some people are saying that it looked cartonish at times, but if you really looked at the detail you could see that there was nothing cartoonish about it. The special effects were the most realistic special effects ever, and the world that Cameron makes is breathtakingly beautiful, and makes you want to live there really really bad. The story was predictable at times, not very subtle, and not as deep as Cameron was trying to imply. Plus the script was the worst script Cameron has ever written. But despite all of this, the visuals, the characters, and the music are so beautiful that they make up for all of its short comings. See it in 3D its amazing Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SSDec 19, 2009
Before I begin my review, I just want to relate my experience, prior to seeing this movie. Friday afternoon, a friend and I had gone to see Avatar in RealD 3D at a theatre that was near her house. We enjoyed about 45 minutes of the film when Before I begin my review, I just want to relate my experience, prior to seeing this movie. Friday afternoon, a friend and I had gone to see Avatar in RealD 3D at a theatre that was near her house. We enjoyed about 45 minutes of the film when it started to skip... it stopped and started about 3-5 times before it finally froze and shut down. The crowd was outraged and we were told to leave and get "Rain Check" passes at customer service because the system had failed and the movie would not play, it would take 3 hours to fix. So with complete disappointed we got out rain check passes and decided to come back the next day after the problem would be fixed. The first 45 minutes that we did see that day was pretty cool so far, so we definitely wanted to give it another go. As we sat in our seats this afternoon (12/19/09) I sensed that something was going to go wrong, and I could tell my friend had similar intuitions. When the movie was finally about to start, they showed the "please silence your cell phones screen" and then... it stopped.... frozen... the manager came in and told us what we had feared.... it froze... again and it would take forever to fix. We left the theatre utterly pissed and completely done with the stupid theatre. Full of outrage, I expressed my anger with one of the employees. I attempted to get my money back, she of course told me it was impossible, and instead gave us rain check passes and a few extras because of our inconvenience. (sweet? bitter sweet) We decided to go to Imax instead, we figured the massive screen would make the experience all the more amazing. After driving the long way there, parking, and then running many blocks to Imax, out of breath, we were met with an enormous line and a sign that said "Avatar 3D, SOLD OUT" Blast! To cut to the chase, after running back to the parking garage, we went to another theatre owned by the same company as the other theatre that screwed up, and were able to use our passes and get in, and yes that time it worked, no screw ups. After all of this complete heck... IT WAS WELL WORTH IT!! After we left the theatre, we cared little about the shenanigans that went down in attempts to see the movie. We had completely forgotten and were only focused on the movie, and still trying to process it. I've heard complaints about the music and that it wasn't very good... it was great. It was what you'd expect of an epic sci-fi. I've also heard complaints about the story; I didn't see any problem with it either. The only problem I saw was with some of the acting, there were a few actors that didn't seem to do as good of a job as you'd expect for a movie of this magnitude. BUT, the actors in questions were not the focus of the movie and weren't shown often enough to interfere with the experience, thus it wasn't a big problem. The visual effects of this movie were completely amazing. It was hard to believe that most of what we were viewing was all visual effects. The landscapes, the creatures, they were all very crisp and clear, and very realistic. Coupled with the 3D glasses, it almost seemed as if you were there. It is almost hard for me to even describe. The concepts of the movie were not 100% original. A lot of it has been done already to some degree. But the way in which they were presented, to me, seemed totally original. There is something said in the movie that will make you understand more fully the Na�vi and their existence. It�s something that Dr. Augustine said to Mr. Selfridge about the way the planet works and its relationship with the life on the planet. It has something to do with the �goddess� that the Na�vi follow. I would say more, but I don�t want to spoil it for anyone. Despite the crap that went down before seeing the movie, I enjoyed the experience. I have no regrets, I am absolutely pleased that I went to see it, and glad that I saw it in 3D. It was amazing. Go see it. Now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
XavierE.Dec 19, 2009
A technically excellent epic with a lot of heart.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FranciscoS.Dec 19, 2009
No complaints. The only flaws that we can say about Avatar are all about the script. But saying Avatar is bad because of its script is like throwing popcorn to a giant elephant. It won�´t move, as Avatar No complaints. The only flaws that we can say about Avatar are all about the script. But saying Avatar is bad because of its script is like throwing popcorn to a giant elephant. It won�´t move, as Avatar won�´t be a bad film because of a simple script (simple but solid as a rock) Outstanding. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Bama72Dec 19, 2009
Absolutely wonderful, everybody should see! Technically astonishing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasonPDec 20, 2009
I'm personally going to try to fund the sequal to this movie. Redefines Awesome.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RayferdDDec 20, 2009
The plot made of been been there, done that type of deal, but WOW this movie was amazing! I went in to see some epic action scenes, but I was even more caught in the world the director made. The little love story was even good! And yes the The plot made of been been there, done that type of deal, but WOW this movie was amazing! I went in to see some epic action scenes, but I was even more caught in the world the director made. The little love story was even good! And yes the action alone would of warrent a 10/10. One of the best movies and stands up with The Dark Knight as one of the best movie of the decade. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CalebDec 20, 2009
This is a more than a movie. It is truly an epic experience. See it in IMAX 3D. It is simply awesome!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HuwjEDec 23, 2009
Quite incredible, really quite splendidly incredible. It lives up to the enormous hype in my opinion, a rare and wonderful thing, and the story's just fine for this sort of adventure. Yes, it's not original but it really Quite incredible, really quite splendidly incredible. It lives up to the enormous hype in my opinion, a rare and wonderful thing, and the story's just fine for this sort of adventure. Yes, it's not original but it really doesn't matter when the subject matter is as beautifully realised as this. Besides, there are plenty of original films out there done very badly indeed so I applaud a simple story told well. Ignore the pompous nay sayers braying they're personal issues with Cameron on this one. The only slight criticism I'd level at the film is the poor score. Jarring at times, less is quite often more here. So, if dear old George Lucas has seen this already he'll likely glimpsed how to do the battle of Endor through his tears; an entire years supply of Michael Bayhem's bangs must have just been spent leaving him nowhere to go for a while hopefully; and McG (if that's even a real person) is going to have to go back to making little pop videos for kidz. There really isn't another director in Hollywood who knows how to do this stuff properly. Whatever your views on Sci-Fi fantasy please go and see this film, see what's been achieved and perhaps be left excited at the prospect of the future of action entertainment in cinema. But see it in 3D, and if you can get into an IMAX! I really don't think people can totally get what Cameron's achieved here in 2D. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DeanB.Dec 25, 2009
Maybe an 8 out of 10 for the storyline, but it is still a good one that works as an an allegory to what happened to native americans, or what is happening to our rain forests. Amazing Amazing Amazing to watch in 3D IMAX, ...Amazing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnneL.Dec 20, 2009
Absolutely loved all but the last Rambo-style finale albeit with amazing effects. The story up to that point was innovative and exciting, to say nothing of technologically amazing, especially the magical appearance of the day-glo jungle. Absolutely loved all but the last Rambo-style finale albeit with amazing effects. The story up to that point was innovative and exciting, to say nothing of technologically amazing, especially the magical appearance of the day-glo jungle. Cameron has indeed done it again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelRDec 20, 2009
Saw the movie in 3D... The movie is visually stunning in 3D! I rarely watch a movie more than once in the theaters. I plan on watching it again! This time in IMAX 3D!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SeanSDec 20, 2009
A true cinematic experience, well worth the 12 dollars on IMAX 3D. My new favorite movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KeeganBDec 30, 2009
To sit down and critically evaluate this film somehow doesent seem to do it justice. The weaknesses are there - characters that aren't fully written, a predictable narrative, but none of these detracted from what may have been the best To sit down and critically evaluate this film somehow doesent seem to do it justice. The weaknesses are there - characters that aren't fully written, a predictable narrative, but none of these detracted from what may have been the best cinema experience I have ever had. I was sceptical of a 3D movie, expecting the same kind of gimmicky, gratuitious "pool cue coming out of the screen" type of stuff weve all seen before, but Cameron masterfully harnesses the power of the technology to add depth to every scene, pulling you forcefully into his jaw-droppingingly beautiful world. As I said, critically evaluating Avatar just doesen't seem right; I simply fell in love with this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Dec 30, 2009
The story itself is pretty familiar territory, but that is the only negative remark I can make about this film. Make no mistake: this is the most visually impressive movie ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
YeahisaiditDec 30, 2009
A great film period!!! People rating it a zero are obviously not right in the head. You can easily see all the hard work Cameron & crew put into this film. While it may not be the Smartest Film ever it will definitely stand out as one of the A great film period!!! People rating it a zero are obviously not right in the head. You can easily see all the hard work Cameron & crew put into this film. While it may not be the Smartest Film ever it will definitely stand out as one of the leaders in the future of Filmaking. That Achievement alone deserves a 10. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelF.Dec 30, 2009
Simply Amazing!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KellyAJan 10, 2010
Best movie I've seen since Titanic! Fantastic from beginning to end. Intelligent, imaginative, entertaining! 10+.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
mobiusJan 1, 2010
Weeks leading upto going to see this the wife was adament that it was going to be a crap film and that she wasnt going to like it, even going into the cinima she wasnt talking to me because i booked the tickets without her knowing. comming Weeks leading upto going to see this the wife was adament that it was going to be a crap film and that she wasnt going to like it, even going into the cinima she wasnt talking to me because i booked the tickets without her knowing. comming out of the movie she was singing a completly new tune and she loved it. watching it in 3D is great also. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GrayZJan 11, 2010
Revolutionary. Would I love it as much without 3D? No. But brilliant as is. My vote for picture of the year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful