Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 18, 2009
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 2953 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,118
Mixed:
423
Negative:
412
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
FreedomFightersNov 22, 2016
WARNING: As this film has had an interesting reputation, many people will disagree with this review and I'm perfectly okay with that. All I ask is that you please be respectful of my opinion, just as I am respectful of yours. Please, andWARNING: As this film has had an interesting reputation, many people will disagree with this review and I'm perfectly okay with that. All I ask is that you please be respectful of my opinion, just as I am respectful of yours. Please, and thank you. Now, let's begin.
I've been circling back to "Where the Wild Things Are" quite a few times lately, but let me circle back to it one more time. As I mentioned before, the end of 2009 graced us with a few incredibly polarizing films. "Where the Wild Things Are" (is it a brilliant portrayal of childhood or a weird, boring, creepy film?), "Michael Jackson's This Is It" (is it an honest portrayal of Michael and his concert or a ploy to make money?), and "A Christmas Carol" (does the visual splendor make it worth watching, or is it too overwhelming?) helped create some interesting conversation pieces at the end of the year (I've also heard that "2012" was polarizing, but I can't really speak for it, as I haven't seen the film). However, one film was more polarizing than all the rest, and that was box-office sensation "Avatar." Were the groundbreaking visuals and revolutionary 3D enough to make the film great? Or was it another case of style over substance? Does it deserve to be the highest-grossing film of all time worldwide? Or is there no logical explanation as to how/why that could've happened? Was it worth the hype? It's a matter of personal taste, but I personally believe that it was worth the hype. It's brilliantly-crafted, it's exciting and it's memorable, and while the story isn't the most original, breathtaking thing ever, somehow the movie is still so engrossing even without a highly-original script or original characters. The characters themselves are actually quite memorable, and the film actually has some pretty interesting themes to it in regards to politics, culture and religion. There's also so much that can be interpreted from the film, which I think is part of why it works: you can make a lot of things out of this film and a lot of those things make sense. Even for a film that started production in the 1990s, "Avatar" is a worthy conversation piece and a wonderful film overall. It's not for everyone, and a ton of people will definitely voice their displeasure with the film, which is perfectly fine, but in my opinion, "Avatar" is a great film and a very memorable experience.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Movielover2400Nov 6, 2016
It was not very good. I wouldn't even watch it if i was paid too. The only cool thing about it is the live action vs actual people concept in the story. Its very bad though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
abm0Sep 18, 2016
This film ushered in a new era in visual entertainment. All "3D" movies made after it look like pale attempts at imitation by people who don't know what they're doing. Any rating less than a 10/10 is sacrilege. (No, the plot doesn't matterThis film ushered in a new era in visual entertainment. All "3D" movies made after it look like pale attempts at imitation by people who don't know what they're doing. Any rating less than a 10/10 is sacrilege. (No, the plot doesn't matter that much once you've made such a leap in visual technique. It just has to be a decent plot, good enough to keep the whole project together, and it is definitely good enough for that.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ten0Sep 17, 2016
Here's a bit of advice. Why don't you watch the film yourself instead of looking for other people's opinions? It won't kill you to watch a movie that disappoints you
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJSep 3, 2016
What the heck is wrong with some of the people here? Do you know how hard it is to make a movie like this, which in my opinion had great characters, good message even though it was a rip-off from Pocahontas. A big bow to all people involvedWhat the heck is wrong with some of the people here? Do you know how hard it is to make a movie like this, which in my opinion had great characters, good message even though it was a rip-off from Pocahontas. A big bow to all people involved in this visual masterpiece! Great CGI, superb combat and overall a 10/10 that i dont usually give often Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RudeLannisterAug 23, 2016
Best movie that I ever seen. I am tired of life on this boring planet - Earth. Pandora, this is the world where I want to live! I look forward to the continuation of this wonderful movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MasterRileyJul 23, 2016
While definitely overrated, Avatar is still a really great movie. Its got great writing, great casting, great performances, great cinematography, great music, great action, and above all - spectacular CGI. It raised the bar in 2009 for whatWhile definitely overrated, Avatar is still a really great movie. Its got great writing, great casting, great performances, great cinematography, great music, great action, and above all - spectacular CGI. It raised the bar in 2009 for what was capable for special effects and 3D technology. Definitely watch it if you have not already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Muskrat147Jul 14, 2016
Featuring state-of-the-art CGI/Motion-Capture effects, James Cameron's Avatar is not only a cinematic revolution, but a masterpiece, with wonderfully created set pieces, a brilliant score, and a stellar story-line that will surprise andFeaturing state-of-the-art CGI/Motion-Capture effects, James Cameron's Avatar is not only a cinematic revolution, but a masterpiece, with wonderfully created set pieces, a brilliant score, and a stellar story-line that will surprise and immerse audiences time and time again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Pamuditha007Jul 8, 2016
One of the best movies I have ever watched. Specially, the story-line, the concept is spot on! And great all-round acting. No doubt it became one of the best box-office hits of all time!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 5, 2016
A truly marvelous and magical experience, Avatar is a feast for the eyes, plain and simple. While the story is a familiar one, it is expertly told and very well written. The acting is solid and works well in the film. The direction from JamesA truly marvelous and magical experience, Avatar is a feast for the eyes, plain and simple. While the story is a familiar one, it is expertly told and very well written. The acting is solid and works well in the film. The direction from James Cameron is inspired and matches the expansive and daring chances taken in the visual storytelling of the film. However, the true stars are the visual effects team who do a truly phenomenal job to bring this story to life. With breathtaking visual effects and fantastic cinematography, Avatar comes to life through the visuals and breathes new life into a familiar, yet incredibly engaging, storyline. Due to this visual plethora of eye candy, Avatar reaches new levels never seen before in film that really elevates the film as an overall piece. While many leave Avatar feeling underwhelmed due to the now familiar use of CGI, 3D, and the bland story, I was left awestruck. While the visuals have led to a new trend in film, of which Avatar was the first, its effects hold up and, honestly, may still be the best use of its effects to date. A wonderous achievement, Avatar is a truly phenomenal work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
reviewer2015lolApr 30, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. UHHH. The movie is like a ejaculation of cgi with no story or interessting characters. **** it. James Cameron is eating all the praise and money and we reviewers have to tell the casual audience that this movie is completely soulless and bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AaronWasserman1Mar 27, 2016
Easily one of the most overrated movies of all time as well as directors of all time. Apart from stunning visual effects, Avatar lacks an interesting story. The movie also suffers from mediocre performances
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorMar 18, 2016
Avatar shows how bad is human talking about many senses, looking on the human crucial virtues and the violence that we can make. Wars, science-fiction, terrific story-telling and a great plot so far, it's what makes Avatar the most successfulAvatar shows how bad is human talking about many senses, looking on the human crucial virtues and the violence that we can make. Wars, science-fiction, terrific story-telling and a great plot so far, it's what makes Avatar the most successful film ever, with money, of course. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrandonBonaseraMar 8, 2016
Avatar is a beautiful film with its fantastic visuals, great score by James Horner and solid performances, but its narrative is quite derivative of other films making it not as great as it could have been.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VIC3NT3ST3LVIIOFeb 19, 2016
Well , I can say by far .. this is the biggest experience for our eyes.
James did an amazing job here, even bigger than TITANIC.
Get ready you're about to fly in AVATAR
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeJan 12, 2016
It's only a matter of time before this movie gets beaten by Star Wars: The Force Awakens at the box office worldwide after all the work this movie did to beat Titanic's record. I don't really understand all the hate for this movie. I thoughtIt's only a matter of time before this movie gets beaten by Star Wars: The Force Awakens at the box office worldwide after all the work this movie did to beat Titanic's record. I don't really understand all the hate for this movie. I thought it was fine. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
jbrown8989Jan 7, 2016
The storyline itself isn't the greatest but this movie was just amazing to watch in 3D. I was blown away when I first watched this movie and it led the way towards the 3D era.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: A great and genuinely original idea for a big blockbuster - 'Avatar' succeeds on many levels. It explores some serious themes whilst still making you connect with the characters thanks to great acting and development. It's alsoWHAT I LIKED: A great and genuinely original idea for a big blockbuster - 'Avatar' succeeds on many levels. It explores some serious themes whilst still making you connect with the characters thanks to great acting and development. It's also visually stunning, being one of the rare films that aesthetically just makes all moviegoers very impressed
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's very long: too long for family viewing with younger children and almost too long even for adults - you feel like parts could have been cut without detrementing the overall experience. 'Avatar' is also quite confusing for first watching, but this length stops you from wanting to watch it twice.
VERDICT: A very impressive fleshed out but dragged out piece of film making from Cameron.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DanBurritoSep 19, 2015
Avatar is a visual treat. But that's the only good thing I can say about it. The world of Pandora is a beautifully rendered world that's so brilliant looking you wish the movie's story was that good. But it's not. We've seen the entire movieAvatar is a visual treat. But that's the only good thing I can say about it. The world of Pandora is a beautifully rendered world that's so brilliant looking you wish the movie's story was that good. But it's not. We've seen the entire movie before- Dances with Wolves, Pocahontas, etc. I don't get why you'll pan some movies for being "great to look at but the story wasn't very good" when you acclaimed this despite having the same problem. The film just tries too hard to be smart but the only reason to watch it is to look at the pretty colours. Seriously, is this REALLY the same guy who made Terminator? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettSep 14, 2015
This was awesome. Really outstanding. This is Crysis of movies, I will never forget when I watched this for the first time in IMAX, my mind got blown away - I really saw the future of cinema world. Today it might be not so bright as it was inThis was awesome. Really outstanding. This is Crysis of movies, I will never forget when I watched this for the first time in IMAX, my mind got blown away - I really saw the future of cinema world. Today it might be not so bright as it was in 2010, but five year ago this movie just kicked out! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Sep 7, 2015
Barring the by-the-numbers story, James Cameron's "Avatar" retains a supreme amount of imaginative prowess, accentuated by superior CGI/mo-cap work and a knockout score from James Horner.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
marc5477Sep 7, 2015
This movie was all gimmicks and no substance. Designed to be a eye candy for the sake of 3D, it is basically a boring adventure about humanity being unpredictable. The problem is that the fancy 3D and CGI cant keep your attention for longThis movie was all gimmicks and no substance. Designed to be a eye candy for the sake of 3D, it is basically a boring adventure about humanity being unpredictable. The problem is that the fancy 3D and CGI cant keep your attention for long once you are accustomed to it and if you take that out of the movie, you are really left with bad sci-fi flick about "duality." "Human duality" is probably the 2nd most boring subject of a movie behind all the "coming of age" stories. The military and science are once again the bad guys while the aliens are innocent and good. I really dont mind movies that portray humans as bungholes (because frankly, as a society, we are), but its getting old and this movie did not even try to be original. There were no cliffhangers, no interesting characters, dialog was mundane and the plot was predictable. The entire movie could have been done in 15 minutes. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoAug 1, 2015
We can say that this movie is incredible therefore raised 2.7 billion do not expect to create an award-winning movie , James Cameron great job as well as in Titanic and Terminator is now attacking once more with Avatar .
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
alexo774Jul 19, 2015
the environbment is realy important and peopl do note understand e that it needs protect. this movie says thaew environment is protec4t and i respect it for that so it make god movies. james ceeameron is myf ather figurte anded sad... likethe environbment is realy important and peopl do note understand e that it needs protect. this movie says thaew environment is protec4t and i respect it for that so it make god movies. james ceeameron is myf ather figurte anded sad... like this moviesz. i like how rhias movie connects to teinetanic.... cuz leonardoo decaprio was in the end in the blue trwwe, and i creid becus i thought he ded... it remindedfrg me of mi childho9ed becaused whey i was yung i wa blue and ded. good job caemerin you make made kate whihslets cry in this movie right????? i give 10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Th3GreenHorne7Jul 4, 2015
In my opinion, Avatar is the most visually striking movie ever made, no thanks to it's James Cameron, if you remember he was the director of Terminator 2: Judgement Day which was also and amazing movie. Avatar is so realistic you couldIn my opinion, Avatar is the most visually striking movie ever made, no thanks to it's James Cameron, if you remember he was the director of Terminator 2: Judgement Day which was also and amazing movie. Avatar is so realistic you could mistaken it to be 100% real. The story is the heart of this film as it drags you into the world of the planet Pandora which is inhabited by humanoids called the Na'vi. The actors and actresses are unbelievably amazing all of their performances, like Sam Worthington who plays Jake Sully, the wheelchair bound veteran who is given the job to control his dead twin brother's Avatar so he can convince a Na'vi clan to move away from the part of the jungle that they are in because the way of the RDA's path of the search of the rare metal Unobtainium that lies in the soil of the planet. Then we have Na'vi woman named Neytiri who is the clan leader's daughter, she was forced to train Sully to become one of them, which eventually makes them fall into love. Everybody else gave an A+ performance which was amazing. It will be a very very long time before we see another so incredible like Avatar and a while before another breaks it's massive box office record as the top grossing film all time with earning of $2.7 Billion. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
KlotzJun 7, 2015
The movie has good visuals and can be entertaining if you don't think too much about the cliche storyline.
But it's far away from being a masterpiece like some reviewers claim.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
hanneguacamoleMay 30, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Earth is overcrowded and certainly not a place I would choose to live in, but Avatar has a solution. Or perhaps a way to make money. Avatar is the highest-grossing film of all time and I can certainly see why. It had aspects that appeal to a lot of people with the mix of animation and live-action and the themes present throughout that definitely sparked conversation within. Jake Sully is a paralyzed marine that is easily set up as a hero from the start, and this story is about him and his (and human's effect on Pandora.

This mission is all a quest for wealth, and Jake knows this when he signs on. What he doesn't know is that he's gonna fall in love with the culture, the land, and the people. His journey would have never even happened without his love interest Neytiri's help. "Don't thank. You don't thank for this. This is sad only." The Na'vi people remind me of a human group or tribe that is being attacked as well, so I can certainly see the inspiration behind this movie, yet so many audience members probably do not agree with the standpoints shown, so it surprises me that it was such a hit. I am behind the messages shown though, so this kind of exposure has to be beneficial.

The plot overall seemed to be very predictable and a tad cliché, but it also made up for it in the striking visual effects and unique peoples portrayed. I imagine this would have been breathtaking in 3D with all of the sweeping landscapes and scenery. Jake's mission on Pandora was always to help the corporation trying to destroy the environment on this world, but eventually he finds himself to end up liking the Na'vi's world more, and who wouldn't? Their culture and environment is amazing and something that Earth has lost. I think the "rebels" see that and want to preserve this world from what happened to theirs. Jake's personal mission seems to have changed, but his employer's has not. He can't change their mind on an invasion, so he must do whatever he can to protect them on his own.

"I was a warrior who dreamed he would bring peace. Sooner or later though, you always have to wake up." Despite the fact that Jake feels like he belongs on Pandora, his body says otherwise and continues to prove himself through the battle. It's an uphill fight, but the Na'vi people prevail with a truly inspiring anti-war message that could resonate with all people. "Hey Sully, how's it feel to betray your own race?" And that's exactly what he does. In this horrible portrayal of some humans, Jake's decision to become a true Na'vi completely makes sense and successfully brings together this war-ridden story.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Epik_NinnjaMay 25, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There's a reason this movie made so much money. It's not just the incredible CGI but also the imaginitive world that drew so many people in. The base story is pretty basic: the humans want something and will take it from the alliens by force unless Jake Sully can convince the aliens to hand it over. It evolves into a tale of learning their customs, bonding with them, and eventually siding with them (them being the aliens). I can't say it's "platiinum status" but I've watched it at least four times and I still enjoy it (and again, the plot is not garbage). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Meth-dudeMay 17, 2015
The special effects were amazing but the acting performances and the length of the film are the week spots.Sam Worthington tries but he is not good enough to be the main character.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Tomle1202May 1, 2015
There's no way to deny the fact that Avatar is a true masterpiece when you've just came out of the cinema. The story is full of heart-breaking moments, and the CGI is way above reality. But the most important thing is that, Avatar is the bestThere's no way to deny the fact that Avatar is a true masterpiece when you've just came out of the cinema. The story is full of heart-breaking moments, and the CGI is way above reality. But the most important thing is that, Avatar is the best film you've ever seen! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
azeitonaApr 28, 2015
If you remove the special effects, thus, removing the Na'vi and replacing them it by... I don't know, native Americans, you'll notice that this film has already been done. Three or four times. White man saves the "stupid" natives that can'tIf you remove the special effects, thus, removing the Na'vi and replacing them it by... I don't know, native Americans, you'll notice that this film has already been done. Three or four times. White man saves the "stupid" natives that can't look after themselves -which is a paradox, after all, because the movie wants you to feel that the Na'vi are really special and have their ways with nature, but they are defenseless even so. What Avatar has of awesome is the ambiance, the effects are amazing (even though I prefer practical SFX, like Blade Runner, or Alien) and the movie turned 3D into something mainstream. Like what Gone with the Wind made with colored movies. Oh, and the Na'vi language was a nice touch, I read that they spent years creating it. But, if you discount all the artistic achievement, you'll notice that this film has been done before, and this version has a cumbersome plot and cheesy dialogue. It's a fun movie if you decide to leave your brain at the door. But for anyone that saw GOOD films in their lives, Avatar is only mediocre. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
When his twin brother is killed, disabled ex-Marine Jake Sully is recruited to aid a mining expedition on the distant jungle moon of Pandora as only his DNA will bond with the alien hybrid body, known as an Avatar, that allows humans toWhen his twin brother is killed, disabled ex-Marine Jake Sully is recruited to aid a mining expedition on the distant jungle moon of Pandora as only his DNA will bond with the alien hybrid body, known as an Avatar, that allows humans to breathe the toxic air. With orders to infiltrate the Na’vi, Jake finds himself falling in love with native girl, Neytiri, and complications soon ensue…

Cameron seamlessly melds live action, computer-generated animation and 3-D technology. The motion-capture technique that dazzled in Lord of the Rings reaches a new level of proficiency, enabling more nuance in facial expressions.

But for much of the movie, that hardly matters. The scenes in Pandora — a planet with an Earth-like environment — are so breathtaking that the narrative seems almost beside the point.

An epic battle to drive the Na'vi from their land tests Jake's allegiance. At nearly three hours, the movie grows sluggish, especially during the protracted battle scene.

Overrated but enjoyable.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
EddyGregsApr 19, 2015
When his twin brother is killed, disabled ex-Marine Jake Sully is recruited to aid a mining expedition on the distant jungle moon of Pandora as only his DNA will bond with the alien hybrid body, known as an Avatar, that allows humans toWhen his twin brother is killed, disabled ex-Marine Jake Sully is recruited to aid a mining expedition on the distant jungle moon of Pandora as only his DNA will bond with the alien hybrid body, known as an Avatar, that allows humans to breathe the toxic air. With orders to infiltrate the Na’vi, Jake finds himself falling in love with native girl, Neytiri, and complications soon ensue…

Cameron seamlessly melds live action, computer-generated animation and 3-D technology. The motion-capture technique that dazzled in Lord of the Rings reaches a new level of proficiency, enabling more nuance in facial expressions.

But for much of the movie, that hardly matters. The scenes in Pandora — a planet with an Earth-like environment — are so breathtaking that the narrative seems almost beside the point.

An epic battle to drive the Na'vi from their land tests Jake's allegiance. At nearly three hours, the movie grows sluggish, especially during the protracted battle scene.

Overrated but enjoyable.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
James Cameron makes a triumphant return to the box office with Avatar. Avatar is the highest-grossing film of all time and it's not a surprise. The film is a futuristic western that showcases the best CGI, cinematography, and action thatJames Cameron makes a triumphant return to the box office with Avatar. Avatar is the highest-grossing film of all time and it's not a surprise. The film is a futuristic western that showcases the best CGI, cinematography, and action that Hollywood has to offer. Although the story is pretty predictable and borrows many elements from other movies such as Pocahontas, it still manages to keep the audience engrossed in Avatar's spectacular universe. The superlative visuals in this film are absolutely breathtaking. The beautiful creature designs, environments, and action sequences take CGI to an entirely new level. Cameron has created a wonderful universe to expand upon in future sequels. Although Avatar is not perfect, it is definitely the best eye candy ever made. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
tjman09Mar 10, 2015
I like Avatar, because it boasts stunning visuals, and invites the audience to an unbelievable world that looks great. That being said the plot is anything but original, you can compare the plot to Ferngully, Dances With Wolves, Pocahontas,I like Avatar, because it boasts stunning visuals, and invites the audience to an unbelievable world that looks great. That being said the plot is anything but original, you can compare the plot to Ferngully, Dances With Wolves, Pocahontas, and many other films, on top of that the characters are plucked out of those films to, so while it's visually stunning, Avatar is in my opinion not a great film, but still a good film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
emlugo123Mar 9, 2015
The visuals are very impressive and the story is well thought out. Although, as you watch it more and more, you realize that isn't as spectacular as everyone says it is.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
NikolayGDec 19, 2014
Kids will like this movie better than adults because the story is very hackneyed and cliched. Any adult will have seen it several dozen times already, so to see it again, in a long drawn out overly long movie, is as tedious as he!!. But kidsKids will like this movie better than adults because the story is very hackneyed and cliched. Any adult will have seen it several dozen times already, so to see it again, in a long drawn out overly long movie, is as tedious as he!!. But kids who have never seen any version of this story before, might like it. The story lacks any nuance. The good guys are the indigenous people without technology who worship a tree. The bad guys are the people from earth, who have lots of technology and calmly drink coffee in their helicopters while they blow the primitive people to smithereens from the air. Like someone else said, it is a 3 hour public service announcement. And it lacks any kind of character development.

And by late 2014 standards, the effects - the blue people - look absurdly fake and cartoonish. I can't believe today that people were impressed by this just a few short years ago. It is a visual joke.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
diogomendesDec 17, 2014
It may sport more visual than substance, but "Avatar" -- thanks to James Cameron's directing -- is still a satisfying 3D movie despite its formidable length.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SkyrimGuy935Dec 7, 2014
While the story is not original in the slightest bit, it was executed very well and the effects were beautiful. The acting wasn't particularly good except for Sigourney Weaver (but she's always good), and the dialog wasn't particularlyWhile the story is not original in the slightest bit, it was executed very well and the effects were beautiful. The acting wasn't particularly good except for Sigourney Weaver (but she's always good), and the dialog wasn't particularly memorable either, but the action is more than enough to keep you interested. I also highly recommend you get the 3D edition, as this is the only film I've ever seen that actually looks better in 3D. In the end, I honestly can't understand all the hate it gets. It may not be original but it is executed well and it has great action and effects. I'm not usually one to jump on a bandwagon with directors and studios, but I may have to make an exception with James Cameron. I have yet to see a Cameron film that I didn't like.

8.0/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
supermann234Dec 7, 2014
This movie has a storyline which is confusing. The special effects used were awesome. The places are imaginative in the way they are designed. There are lots of action in this movie. However, storyline, as stated is confusing, thus storylineThis movie has a storyline which is confusing. The special effects used were awesome. The places are imaginative in the way they are designed. There are lots of action in this movie. However, storyline, as stated is confusing, thus storyline is horrible. All these makes it an average movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BigDegs29Nov 11, 2014
This is my favorite sci-fi movie of all time. Fantastic visuals, fantastic characters, and fantastic dialogue. It's amazing how those three things are interwoven to create a simply amazing movie. It's really a world you can get lost in.This is my favorite sci-fi movie of all time. Fantastic visuals, fantastic characters, and fantastic dialogue. It's amazing how those three things are interwoven to create a simply amazing movie. It's really a world you can get lost in.

The only legitimate criticism I can agree with for this movie is the over-arching plot. Man evil, wants to exploit natural resources for reasons of greed and will destroy anything and everything in its way. Natives good, in tune with the natural state of things, being pressed by evil. Man sees error of his ways, switches sides and repels that evil. It's been done before...but never this good!

Anyone giving this movie below a "5" is either butt hurt about the themes of the movie, or simply didn't watch the same movie I did. This is one of only a few movies I'd ever consider giving a "10". I honestly would have given it a 9.5 if I could, with the only criticism being the plot isn't exactly original.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
yogesh487Oct 30, 2014
This movie deserves a Oscar in visual effects. that being said this movie fails in both the story and acting(specially neteri).
this movie should be of 2 hours max.
and some times at night every tree glowing with different colors seems
This movie deserves a Oscar in visual effects. that being said this movie fails in both the story and acting(specially neteri).
this movie should be of 2 hours max.
and some times at night every tree glowing with different colors seems awful.
and also character development is bad
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
demolisher7778Oct 27, 2014
a true James Cameron masterpiece with its dazzling visuals and special effects, to its unique telling of a story that we have heard over and over again (save the trees!).
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
Jake Sully is a former Marine confined to a wheelchair. But despite his broken body, Jake is still a warrior at heart. He is recruited to travel light years to the human outpost on Pandora, where a corporate consortium is mining a rareJake Sully is a former Marine confined to a wheelchair. But despite his broken body, Jake is still a warrior at heart. He is recruited to travel light years to the human outpost on Pandora, where a corporate consortium is mining a rare mineral that is the key to solving Earth's energy crisis. Because Pandora's atmosphere is toxic, they have created the Avatar Program, in which human "drivers" have their consciousness linked to an avatar, a remotely-controlled biological body that can survive in the lethal air. These avatars are genetically engineered hybrids of human DNA mixed with DNA from the natives of Pandora... the Na'vi. Reborn in his avatar form, Jake can walk again. He is given a mission to infiltrate the Na'vi, who have become a major obstacle to mining the precious ore. But a beautiful Na'vi female, Neytiri, saves Jake's life, and this changes everything. Jake is taken in by her clan, and learns to become one of them, which involves many tests and adventures. As Jake's relationship with his reluctant teacher Neytiri deepens, he learns to respect the Na'vi way and finally takes his place among them. Soon he will face the ultimate test as he leads them in an epic battle that will decide the fate of an entire world. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
HoldenKauslerOct 5, 2014
This is the worst movie i have ever seen. if there was a lower review then 0 then i would have put that. if i got a copy of this movie i would set it on fire and dance on its ashes
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
After taking nearly four years to finally see this film, I am quite impressed. The story may verge on Dances with Wolves but it is still a powerful one and so beautifully shown.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
oxanaAug 24, 2014
One of the best movies I've seen this year - and one of the best movies I've seen overall.

The story leaves little to imagination in both good and the bad: there's nothing overly surprising in the plot itself, but it has just about every
One of the best movies I've seen this year - and one of the best movies I've seen overall.

The story leaves little to imagination in both good and the bad: there's nothing overly surprising in the plot itself, but it has just about every element when it comes to action, drama, adventure, sci-fi and fantasy.

The elements in the movie complete each other; the colors, the music, the language, the story, the characters, and the overall feeling that goes from beginning to end.

Although tragic in places, this movie gives you a happy feeling of victory and success. It has a story of survival and acceptance, approval and discovery. Worlds and cultures clash, and that is the main theme. The romance, for once, did not make me want to throw up or roll my eyes, which is an achievement in and on itself; it came naturally with the course of the movie.

This is a five star movie, but I felt as if something was missing. Perhaps it was the element of surprise. Also, some of the characters were introduced in the fly - something that happens fairly often in movies - and were left a bit shallow because of that (Michelle Rodriquez's character Trudy to name one).

And while it didn't confuse me, they didn't much explain how Avatars work in relation to their drivers. I didn't need further explanations on that area, but I'm sure there are people who are interested in the limits and correlation of the two.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ChrisTaylor94Aug 8, 2014
What a technical aspect, yes it is great. That is it. This is a very cliched movie with nothing new, charismatic at all. The characters were nothing special, and more of the run in the mill archetypes that you expect.

The plotline was also
What a technical aspect, yes it is great. That is it. This is a very cliched movie with nothing new, charismatic at all. The characters were nothing special, and more of the run in the mill archetypes that you expect.

The plotline was also very standard and the story is very thin.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BradySmithJun 8, 2014
When I first saw Avatar in theatres a few years ago I was simply awestruck. It is without a doubt the most visually beautiful film ever made. The world of Pandora is as detailed and alive as any setting you'll ever find in a movie, andWhen I first saw Avatar in theatres a few years ago I was simply awestruck. It is without a doubt the most visually beautiful film ever made. The world of Pandora is as detailed and alive as any setting you'll ever find in a movie, and quite possibly even more so. The story may have been done many times before, but it's still very engaging. There are moments that are powerfully charged with emotion, the direction is flawless, and the scope and scale are both breathtaking. There is also an extremely resonant atmosphere throughout. James Cameron has created what is quite possibly his best film. It's an instant classic, full of deeply human and resonant emotion, groundbreaking visuals, and viscerally stunning action. My only real complaint is that the dialogue can be somewhat clunky, but the rest of the movie quickly sends this to the realm of nitpicking. Please choose to watch this instead the next time you even think of checking out one of the lousy Transformers sequels. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
HighPriestesaMay 18, 2014
Visually it's so stunning and mesmerising, but that's just about it. It's boring, predictable, and too much romeoandjuliettey. More mystery and suspense to it would be a nice touch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MetaCrypticMay 13, 2014
Avatar takes it away with its beautifully well done cinema and sfx, but i kinda agree with the critics the story wasn't strong enough to live up to its magnitude. The part before the ending was kinda stupid because it didn't give much detailAvatar takes it away with its beautifully well done cinema and sfx, but i kinda agree with the critics the story wasn't strong enough to live up to its magnitude. The part before the ending was kinda stupid because it didn't give much detail on how all the humans on Pandora were dealt with.But i did like how jake Silly got a new functional Avatar body, Permanently. This opens windows for potential sequel and hopefully a more heart gripping story with twist and confusion, because i felt that this one was lacking on those.

Also this movie felt more on the scifi side than the fantasy wich made incredibly boring and generic

Nevertheless , amazing movie, Cant wait for that long awaited sequel
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Viper8787Apr 21, 2014
In my opinion one of the most overrated movie of all time. The run time was almost 3 hours and there weren't enough entertaining scenes to keep me into it the whole time at all. I also though it took a little while to get going. And even theIn my opinion one of the most overrated movie of all time. The run time was almost 3 hours and there weren't enough entertaining scenes to keep me into it the whole time at all. I also though it took a little while to get going. And even the action scenes were below par to my standards not awful by any means but not as good as everyone says or as I had hoped for. The one thing it had for it was great visual effects and that is why it even gets up to 5 out of 10 for me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
teddyg1996Apr 17, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. “Avatar” is one of the greatest movies to ever hit the big screen, and this is seen on the box office hits. At almost $3 billion, “Avatar” is the number one grossing film of all time. The film used an excellent plot, infused with action, romance, and drama, all while hitting home a true message. The message that the movie delivered can touch anyone that is able to view the 3 hour-long eye candy. The movie budget approached $300 million, adding a quality never before seen in cinema. This movie was a cinematic breakthrough, intertwining computer graphics with live acting, creating names for unknown actors, and leading critics to rave over the top film of all time.

The movie is based in the year 2154, on the distant moon of Pandora. Humans have ran out of a special mineral on the Earth, called “unobtanium,” so the humans travelled millions of light years, to this moon in the Alpha Centauri star system, to harvest this precious mineral. This moon is very Earth-like, with dense, green forests, a water-like substance, and many animals and creatures. A major difference from Earth is that the atmosphere is poisonous to humans. The moon is inhabited by the Na’vi: ten foot tall, slender, blue-skinned creatures, that somewhat resemble humans. In order for humans to harvest this mineral they search for, they have created human-Na’vi hybrid creatures, which can dwell among the rest of the population. These “avatars” initiate contact with the Na’vi people, and adapt to their culture and way of life.

The main character in the movie is a paraplegic war veteran, named Jake Sully. He takes pleasure in using an avatar, because he is able to walk when using it. During his “avatar” adventures, he meets Neytiri, a beautiful, talented Na’vi. Jake and Neytiri begin a relationship, and over the course of this relationship, Jake develops a bond with the people of the planet, and sees that what the human race is planning to do to them is wrong. He begins to fight the humans in his avatar body, and the humans eventually find out and take action. They prohibit Sully from using the avatar but he still manages to get through and get back to the Na’vi. The movie ends with a tantalizing battle between the humans and the Na’vi, in which the humans eventually fall and send the humans back to their dying planet Earth, with the exception of Jake and a few of the other scientists that teamed with the Na’vi to send the humans out. The humans that do stay behind are permanently transferred over to their avatar bodies, so that they can live with the Na’vi. The transfer occurs with the help of the goddess of Pandora, “Eywa.”

From the get-go, Avatar draws in the viewer, using Jake Sully as bait. He is a relatable character, but he also catches the attention of the audience because of his disability. His character is one of the main utensils that bring the whole conflict to fruition in the end. The computer graphics create an incredible sense of realism, as if Pandora and the Na’vi are really out there amongst the galaxies and stars. Jake’s relationship with Neytiri really brings out a warm, romantic side of the movie, away from all of the drama and adventure. Their journeys through the dense forests, encounters with wildlife, and her care for teaching him the Na’vi ways shows a serious relationship is forming. There’s even a love scene between the two thrown in, pasted among the glowing lights of the alien trees. During their countless adventures, they encounter many obstacles, as he tries to become one with the wildlife of the planet. Along with this romance, is the background debacle unfolding with the humans, planning to destroy the Na’vi “Home Tree.” Of course, the largest collection of this mineral the humans came for, is the lifeline of the Na’vi habitat. The resulting battle over this mineral has to be one of the most breathtaking, touching, emotional, action-packed, thrilling scenes I have seen. And the whole scene is conducted using computer graphics. You will leave the theater amazed.

This movie broke the barrier, and showed that CGI, or computer graphics interfaced, can be used as an art, and not to just create fake and corny low budget films. The film used new, young actors to attract a larger audience and paved the way for the beginnings of their careers. The movie was a breakthrough and proved that James Cameron still knew how to work the big screen and attract the masses to theaters. Thousands of critics rave over this movie, giving it five stars across the board, and
“Avatar” has cemented itself as a movie for the ages. And the burning question that is etched in minds across the worlds is, when is the sequel?
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BestNoobApr 14, 2014
Simply one of the best films.

Good story
Nice action
Perfect for showing in 3D.
Good screening and scenery

I wanna see the next part :)

Extended version is an must have.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
PrivateJokerApr 10, 2014
I think I'm a minority on my stance towards this movie. I don't have mixed feelings about it just to be edgy and apart from everyone else, it just rubbed me a little differently. I was largely absent from all the hype that surrounded it whenI think I'm a minority on my stance towards this movie. I don't have mixed feelings about it just to be edgy and apart from everyone else, it just rubbed me a little differently. I was largely absent from all the hype that surrounded it when it was released: I finally saw the movie towards the end of its theatrical run. With that being said, I had a much clearer perspective on it, seeing it in a theater with maybe 10 other people in it, and I can honestly say after seeing it, it's one of the most overrated movies of all time. For starters, I think the movie takes itself too seriously. At it's core, the plot is essentially an updated version of "Pocahontas" or "Dances With Wolves." I was genuinely entertained for the first half hour, in which you're introduced to the main characters and the setting of Pandora, but then movie started to take another turn. The whole thing was simply overshadowed by this very self-righteous, naturalist message about how we have to take care of the planet. Now don't get me wrong, I care for the environment, but when I feel like I'm watching a $300,000,000 EPA PSA, it kind of ruins the effect of a movie that comes from the director of Terminator 2. Throughout the movie, various other sci-fi elements are taken from movies like the Matrix and Jurassic Park, and subsequently accompanied by video game quality dialogue. In a word -- it's all over the place and just comes off sappy. Rather than a sophisticated narrative geared towards adults, Cameron just decided to go completely Saturday morning cartoon with this one, causing tons of merchandise and distribution out the ass that caters mainly to middle school boys who take garbage like this too seriously. But hey, it has amazing special effects, so I guess the it's saving grace is the familiarity of the director, and that it looks pretty. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
ingie44Mar 29, 2014
Where are all these good reviews coming from? I dont get it. The plot is horrifically obvious, the acting banal and the film... boring. I mean ye its kinda pretty but oscars? I just dont get it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysMar 24, 2014
Avatar is an amazing visual spectacle to look at, and is pretty much the definition of eye candy. But, the movie distracts you with the beautiful scenery while it lacks enough story to fill its own shoes.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
UntoldAv3nGerMar 15, 2014
This is one of the best motion pictures I have ever seen. There were some really lovable and heroic characters, and very interesting ideas. The environments are amazing and the whole thing has allusions to the Indians and Trail of Tears. TheThis is one of the best motion pictures I have ever seen. There were some really lovable and heroic characters, and very interesting ideas. The environments are amazing and the whole thing has allusions to the Indians and Trail of Tears. The ending brought me SO much satisfaction too. Get the Blu-Ray! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
FilmVirtueMar 12, 2014
Like most of James movies, you can expect scenes of amazing animation and believable plots, but Avatar for me was one of the more boring films by Cameron. I know lots of people would disagree, but I expect that, but to be far I also expectedLike most of James movies, you can expect scenes of amazing animation and believable plots, but Avatar for me was one of the more boring films by Cameron. I know lots of people would disagree, but I expect that, but to be far I also expected more from the movie itself. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZepheemJan 26, 2014
This film is simply amazing! The amazing visuals and a gripping, emotional story makes this one of my favorite films. James Cameron definetly knows what he is doing, there is just so much detail packed into the world of Pandora. There wasThis film is simply amazing! The amazing visuals and a gripping, emotional story makes this one of my favorite films. James Cameron definetly knows what he is doing, there is just so much detail packed into the world of Pandora. There was clearly a lot of effort put into this project. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
sinadoomDec 26, 2013
3 hours of absolute drivel. I admire the fantastic visuals and the technology, animation, bright colours and scenery. But this is exactly what a movie SHOULDN'T be. It's the direct equivalent of games like Crysis 2; all about fancy graphics3 hours of absolute drivel. I admire the fantastic visuals and the technology, animation, bright colours and scenery. But this is exactly what a movie SHOULDN'T be. It's the direct equivalent of games like Crysis 2; all about fancy graphics but no real substance behind all the nice coat of paint. Avatar has some good action scenes and looks great as an advert for a HD TV, but as a movie it is a fail. Not only is it the most predictable movie I have ever seen, it's also the most disappointing. It seems like it was made to appeal to people that have no standards and will literally watch anything regardless of its story. If I want nice graphics, I buy a gaming PC and experience them first hand. If I watch a movie, I want to be entertained or engaged in a passive experience. There is no comedy, no moral, no philosophy, no story. The entire plot can be summarised in about 2 sentences. It portrays humans as the bad guys to appeal to people's emotions, but ignores reality. It's completely crap designed for people with low intelligence. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
JacobDec 22, 2013
If you see this in 3D you will constantly be amazed the fantastic visuals and 3D effects. Avatar is an amazing looking film that will impress everyone, However, if you are looking for amazing characters and story it is not in this film. TheIf you see this in 3D you will constantly be amazed the fantastic visuals and 3D effects. Avatar is an amazing looking film that will impress everyone, However, if you are looking for amazing characters and story it is not in this film. The story and characters are unoriginal being recycled and two-dimensional. So a lot of whether or not you will enjoy this movie will depend on how much those to aspects matter. If you just want to see amazing visuals you’ll have a great time being blown away by this movie and forgetting for most/all of the movie how unoriginal the characters and story are. However, if characters and story matter a lot to you, you will be disappointed in this film as they are recycled from countless other films. For me I really enjoyed the visuals and they kept my interest throughout the film. The eh characters and story only took me out sometimes. So overall I enjoyed Avatar although I don’t think its great. However, the amazing 3D make this one worth a watch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
cag11Nov 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although it had a good plot, and somewhat decent graphics, the film was hard to sit through. First there was story, then a battle, then story, then a battle, and it kept going on for a while. The acting was okay for the most part, but there was so much CGI that it takes away from the story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
dudu_95Nov 23, 2013
Avatar is as imaginative and innovative as a movie can be, but it is only enjoyable on the big screen, the biggest you can get, and in 3D. Another problem I had with this film is that once you have seen it for the first time, it's impossibleAvatar is as imaginative and innovative as a movie can be, but it is only enjoyable on the big screen, the biggest you can get, and in 3D. Another problem I had with this film is that once you have seen it for the first time, it's impossible to re-watch it without feeling tired of it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 15, 2013
Avatar collides.
With absolutely fantastic special effects and an okay script, Avatar succeeds with blazing success. Good acting, fair dialogue, and astounding visuals. The plot holes are prevalent, but the movie itself is with good execution.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialNov 3, 2013
"Avatar", directed by James Cameron, is a magnificent intense sci-fi spectacle. The movie is well-shot, has beautiful landscapes and spectacular use of CGI. Anyone who watched "The Matrix" will find this movie somehow similar.
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
8
destinyxNov 1, 2013
It's so well produced that the visuals and sound of the film will make you feel like you really are on a different world. However, the below-average plot (which is typical, done to death and extremely cheesy) will probably spoil yourIt's so well produced that the visuals and sound of the film will make you feel like you really are on a different world. However, the below-average plot (which is typical, done to death and extremely cheesy) will probably spoil your enjoyment.

Despite all the flaws of its storytelling, Avatar's historical value and unmatchable production stands above everything else, and marks a turning point on the history of cinematography.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
DaEagleOct 27, 2013
It's a visual masterpiece, but a narrative disappointment. It immerses you in it's magnificent world, rather than entertaining you with it's story. But, the story isn't bad. It is really decent, actually. It just falls short with it'sIt's a visual masterpiece, but a narrative disappointment. It immerses you in it's magnificent world, rather than entertaining you with it's story. But, the story isn't bad. It is really decent, actually. It just falls short with it's predictability. However, it's one of those few films that impresses only with the beautiful scenery.
Avatar, having that cliche story, it only highly impresses with it's immersive world. It's a good treat for your eyes, and it's a decent storyteller. (Final Score: 8.27)
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
bjmcdonald1991Oct 23, 2013
hurr hurr hurr look at me i use words like mediocre performance and other intelligent sounding words when the only thing i dont like about the movie is that its made the most money ever. Im a rebel i go aqainst what everyone else says just sohurr hurr hurr look at me i use words like mediocre performance and other intelligent sounding words when the only thing i dont like about the movie is that its made the most money ever. Im a rebel i go aqainst what everyone else says just so i can be different from the crowd even though i secretly love this movie hurr hurr hurr Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
vahnOct 14, 2013
Have you seen "Dances with Wolves"? Well, this is a 3D hyper-technological version of it, with very few differences between them. I'll be honest: this movie was good, but I knew the plot from the long run and, aside the flashy 3D graphics andHave you seen "Dances with Wolves"? Well, this is a 3D hyper-technological version of it, with very few differences between them. I'll be honest: this movie was good, but I knew the plot from the long run and, aside the flashy 3D graphics and the animation, it has nothing much to offer: it tries to impress with its scenery, character developement, alien backstory, enemy's reasoning and desperation and such, but in the end you'll hardly even hear any and just want to see an action scene! There's just nothing impressive at all in this movie: the main character is just uninteresting, the lover is just there, the enemy are the usual greedy people wanting to get their stuff and action is...good actually, and the scenery, while I admit it was well done, it just doesn't impress anymore: we had an overload of CG graphics already, and if they have to use it, use it so it doesn't bore us! We are tired of super-yet-fakey-realistic CGI graphics that are obviously fake: videogames could and actually did better than you did!!!
However, it's worth a watch anyway: it's a good movie to pass the time but, after that, you'll probably never seen it again.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
someguy8896Oct 13, 2013
I have come to call this movie what it is, a cliche and stock character ridden bucket of pure crap fished from the toilet that is Holywood. no effort whatsoever was made to make this anything but a quick cash grab by one of the most worthlessI have come to call this movie what it is, a cliche and stock character ridden bucket of pure crap fished from the toilet that is Holywood. no effort whatsoever was made to make this anything but a quick cash grab by one of the most worthless directors out there next to Michael Bay. all this movie is is a bunch of pretty colors with a story ripped from the likes of Ferngully and Pochahontas. now that may enough for some people but not me. if not for the special effects I would give it 1 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Casual-CriticOct 9, 2013
This movie is the complete in-theater experience. Watching it at home, it still holds up well, but in theaters, especially IMAX, the movie was absolutely stunning. It was an engrossing ride, that uses its atmosphere to draw you into the worldThis movie is the complete in-theater experience. Watching it at home, it still holds up well, but in theaters, especially IMAX, the movie was absolutely stunning. It was an engrossing ride, that uses its atmosphere to draw you into the world and apart of the story. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
RayPistSep 27, 2013
A bland, cliched story with average acting and although the special effects are superb, it doesn't stop the film from being a mediocre bore-fest that you'll forget in a couple weeks time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Sep 11, 2013
Visually it is utterly breathtaking. Special effect are some of the best to date. Then again it's Cameron, can we expect any less?!

Visuals aside it really isn't to much to brag about. This story has been told countless times before, the
Visually it is utterly breathtaking. Special effect are some of the best to date. Then again it's Cameron, can we expect any less?!

Visuals aside it really isn't to much to brag about. This story has been told countless times before, the only difference is that this time it's big blue aliens. Performances are decent all around, but nothing too spectacular. I feel that Hollywood must have a standard contract clause that obligates Sigorney Weaver to start in any and every Sci-fi (or creature) movie. All hail the Queen of Weird.

Overall:
Avatar has been blown out of proportions by the general media and the casual moviegoer and isn't as grand as it pretends to be. It's a simple story that follows a traditional story arc to a predictable end. Don't get me wrong I still thoroughly enjoyed, I just don't see it as anything more than it is. A good movie with kick ass effects.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lamsokulSep 8, 2013
Definitely the best movie i've ever seen in many years!!! Great effects, great acting. great music and everything is PERFECT!!!! I'm into this movie, and i'll never forget!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
Saggarwal20Sep 6, 2013
I absolutely hated this movie because there was no plot too much romance and the CGI was a little over the top, probably the WORST MOVIE OF THE DECADE
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
Epic. I really liked it!! James Cameron is the best film director ever. The 3D was amazing and the special effects too!! Do not miss it! Simply amazing!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
reviewmattAug 29, 2013
James did a awesome job making this movie. I saw the trailer, asking my parents badly to let me see it. Luckily they said yes. I walked out of the movies thinking "This is my favourite movie of all time". It still is. I got the blu-ray andJames did a awesome job making this movie. I saw the trailer, asking my parents badly to let me see it. Luckily they said yes. I walked out of the movies thinking "This is my favourite movie of all time". It still is. I got the blu-ray and never regretted it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ncstatemikeAug 24, 2013
[8.8] After seeing Titanic I really didn't expect this from James Cameron. It's a very well-balanced movie that is obviously visually stunning, but what is really impressive is that this movie is the most lifelike any sci-fi movie will ever[8.8] After seeing Titanic I really didn't expect this from James Cameron. It's a very well-balanced movie that is obviously visually stunning, but what is really impressive is that this movie is the most lifelike any sci-fi movie will ever be. You can say that this movie is defined by CGI, or that it isn't very smart, but it is a believable, and more than worthy sci-fi movie. It probably achieves this because it borrows so much from video games, but nonetheless, Avatar works very well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
NdiAug 18, 2013
You know how some movies and series are all story and no special effects, and they are still awesome, like Dr Who, and Red Dwarf, and animation. Well, Avatar is the exact opposite. A tech demo of what budget can do in this day and age, butYou know how some movies and series are all story and no special effects, and they are still awesome, like Dr Who, and Red Dwarf, and animation. Well, Avatar is the exact opposite. A tech demo of what budget can do in this day and age, but that is it.

Lame recycled story, copied scenes, it's like someone cut some scenes from other movies and re-animated them on a PC with blue people.

The only redeeming quality of the story, frankly, is the fact that the humans are somewhat accurately portrayed. Villains, but not idiotic unexplained villainy, but a nice blend of excusable and inexcusable.

This is a movie that is seen, not understood. Eye candy, and not a very good one at that. The people are blends of 2 Earth animals, the animals are blends of 2 Earth animals, basically, it's just a jungle people story with cream on top.

Under no circumstances is this movie a high scorer. Tech demo, 10. Movie, 5 because of the experience. Seriously, if seeing a movie on a small 2D screen makes it sucky, then it was sucky to begin with.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MrGman2142Aug 17, 2013
Best movie of all time, since i have to have 150 characters, here is a long yeah. yyyyyeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
OplindenfepAug 10, 2013
This is Pocahontas in space, literally look it up, it's the same plot just with different character names and it's in space. Moreover, it has numerous plot holes and makes the natives out to be perfect, when they are not. The largest andThis is Pocahontas in space, literally look it up, it's the same plot just with different character names and it's in space. Moreover, it has numerous plot holes and makes the natives out to be perfect, when they are not. The largest and most glaring plot hole was the ending, when the spirit of the plant life or something brought in all the wild animals to attack the humans, even when the entirety of the preceding movie explicitly said on numerous occasions that this does NOT happen ever, for any reason. The second being 'Unobtainium', the stupidest sounding plot device ever and a large deposit just happens to be under a tree that the natives live in. Despite the numerous sub-surface mining techniques available, the CEO or whoever decided to just attack the natives for no reason, just to show the contrast between the 'perfect' natives and the 'evil' humans (white people). This movie is anti-colonialism, clearly, but it's so one-sided it's not even funny.

Really, this is just James Cameron's attempt to create his own Fursona. The single most expensive piece of self-insert Mary-sue furry fanfiction ever created, and people treat it like it's some sort of iconic movie.

People think this is good because it's pretty, but once you look past the glamour and see this from an objective perspective, you can see that this is bad. A rip off of Pocahontas. 3-D is a stupid gimmick anyway, they should knock that off.

0/10
For reasons so blatantly obvious most people miss it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
hardkor33Aug 5, 2013
Avatar 10/10..........................................................................................................................................
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
YJGNateraJul 31, 2013
This is one of the most amazing movies i´ve ever seen. The special effects are astounding, and i think it is also an artistic masterpiece. The landscape, plants and animals were brilliantly designed, the characters´development in the movie isThis is one of the most amazing movies i´ve ever seen. The special effects are astounding, and i think it is also an artistic masterpiece. The landscape, plants and animals were brilliantly designed, the characters´development in the movie is correctly achieved and the story is interesting. It is a very good movie filled with beauty, majesty and lot of creativity. I highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
DibbHansenJul 18, 2013
Visually, this film dazzles and amazes. Story- this film is an overly preachy and overly long and an overblown film. I really didn't like it at all. My opinion. There you go. Oh and the 3D, made me sick.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MetalFoXJul 16, 2013
Masterpiece!

I think many many years down the line this film will be looked back on as one of the greatest films of all time, It's already the #1 grossing film of all time so it just goes to show how successful this film really was!
Masterpiece!

I think many many years down the line this film will be looked back on as one of the greatest films of all time, It's already the #1 grossing film of all time so it just goes to show how successful this film really was!

Avatar was extremely unique. With a very detailed, emotional and grabbing story combined with some of the best, if not the actual best visual effects ever come to a cinema screen. I would have to say this is one of the greatest films I have ever seen in my life, and rightly so!

Highly recommended!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
The special effects were indeed amazing, the direction great, the photography too....but this story has been told a hundred times before, and in much better ways. It's an overly simplistic divide between the good guys (the natives) and theThe special effects were indeed amazing, the direction great, the photography too....but this story has been told a hundred times before, and in much better ways. It's an overly simplistic divide between the good guys (the natives) and the bad guys (the greedy invaders). Any moral conflicts seemed to be redundant; in fact, the film was extremely predictable (like we all didn't know what was going to happen when Jake was told the story about the Toruk....). Overall, not a bad film, but the extensive hype and predictable storyline ruined it for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
shpreaJun 28, 2013
This movie is meant to look and sound good, and really that's it. Other than all the CGI and special effect, there's nothing much to the movie. The plot is nothing we haven't seen before the characters aren't that interesting, and the 3DThis movie is meant to look and sound good, and really that's it. Other than all the CGI and special effect, there's nothing much to the movie. The plot is nothing we haven't seen before the characters aren't that interesting, and the 3D never adds much. If you want to see a good looking movie, then this is for you. If you want a good story, go see "Dances with Wolves", which has a very similar plot that is twice as good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
bsykes91Jun 20, 2013
Overrated and shallow, Avatar is one of the enigmas of film making. How could a movie with a tired story line, hilariously one-dimensional characters, and poor script have such good critical reviews? Given, the movie has stylish directingOverrated and shallow, Avatar is one of the enigmas of film making. How could a movie with a tired story line, hilariously one-dimensional characters, and poor script have such good critical reviews? Given, the movie has stylish directing and fantastic visuals, but I could have the exact same entertainment experience on a theme park ride. A good movie is supposed to tell a story and have relatable characters, and Avatar had neither of those things. One thing I will say is that the movie gave me a good laugh, when the stereotypical grunt Marine was in the robot suit and pulled out a comically huge knife, I thought that was the funniest thing ever. If you are looking for a film with some substance, don't see Avatar, but if you just want some eye-candy, you might like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NimbleReviewJun 18, 2013
An astonishing looking film, but with little emotion and extremely predictable story. The action scenes are very well done, and the world of Pandora are the best elements of the whole movie. The writing can get very bad at times, but ofAn astonishing looking film, but with little emotion and extremely predictable story. The action scenes are very well done, and the world of Pandora are the best elements of the whole movie. The writing can get very bad at times, but of course the purpose of this film is to entertain, which it does for the most part. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ScorpionMay 28, 2013
the script may not be the most innovative or better hefty, but that is where the technical triumphs over the rest, with the effects that the film has another relatively talented cast, the film only presisava a story while doing the technicalthe script may not be the most innovative or better hefty, but that is where the technical triumphs over the rest, with the effects that the film has another relatively talented cast, the film only presisava a story while doing the technical part rest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
ascoltami86May 27, 2013
Everything is horrible. This alien, antagonist, helicopters, both protagonist and antagonist's weapons, arrow, spear, robot, giant knife, story. What a waste of money. What's worst is there will be a sequel.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
Iky009May 18, 2013
Great visual effects, film and mounted with a spectacular photography and a magnificent art direction and stunning views, but their enrendo is not the best yet it is still a great movie.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
PimpinpakmanMay 6, 2013
I really dont see the big fuss about the movie. It was a predictable story borrowing heavily from other works. Visually striking however, no one can take that away from the movie. But other than that, its just like any other usual movie withI really dont see the big fuss about the movie. It was a predictable story borrowing heavily from other works. Visually striking however, no one can take that away from the movie. But other than that, its just like any other usual movie with nothing original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
demk3653May 2, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What an amazing movie and the ability to bring the viewer deeper into the realm of new belief is not comparable. James Cameron was able to strongly voice opinions through the characters and situations presented in Avatar. From the story line all the way down to the visual effects, the movie was spot on for its delivery point.

I don't believe that this movie set out to push its belief and logic on the viewer, but set out to prove a point in society; that is, that our world loses sight of essentials when we are in need of any resource. The beauty and character of Pandora is easily forgotten by the drive to gain substance. We have a long line of character personalities from the general who at any expense will not be stopped in his need for what seems is payback, to the scientist who wishes to gain knowledge from the indigenous peoples.

I think there is a stronger presence in this movie for a world in search of answers, or unwilling to see whats in front of us. In modern world we struggle to see that there is a God, much like on Pandora. The beauty of the creation is hard to enjoy when you see it as a mere object. The creation, just like on earth, was created to prove a maker! Losing sight of this turns us into mere objects for pure progression, nothing less nothing more, but we are caught wondering what is this life for? The answer lays on the lines more deeply of is there more than this life or is this it? Pandora, it seems, attempts to answer this question through its deity. There is a higher power that brings life and beauty but the inability to come to that realization creates what seems is a monster in the characters seeking their riches.

I think the deeper questions are not along the lines of, what was the point of this movie? But, more along the lines of what can we learn from this movie. There is a bold statement made about culture today, do we see that ourselves, or are we blinded by progress much like from the humans in this movie?

I think many dislike this movie because of its bold undertones so we flee or become stand offish. There is a constant critique about controversial movies, but what about sitting back in learning rather than being so critical?
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
GeorgusApr 11, 2013
I dont know but I prefer science fiction without all tha eco themes like Rendezvous with Rama form A. C. Clarke http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rendezvous_with_Rama.
Yes it is in 3D but thats about it, characters are shallow, story one sided,
I dont know but I prefer science fiction without all tha eco themes like Rendezvous with Rama form A. C. Clarke http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rendezvous_with_Rama.
Yes it is in 3D but thats about it, characters are shallow, story one sided, logic flawed and ultimate point of movie wrong.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ExKingApr 4, 2013
I'm not really a fan of big budget movies except for Titanic i think having a big budget movie will make it hard to maintain the story and the actors performances and aside from the fact that this movie in 3D i think James Cameron did aI'm not really a fan of big budget movies except for Titanic i think having a big budget movie will make it hard to maintain the story and the actors performances and aside from the fact that this movie in 3D i think James Cameron did a spectacular job with the visual effect and all that technological stuff but is the story solid NO is the performances good NO is the performance by Sam Worthington the leading actor memorable Hell NO he can't act so we left with nothing good and memorable also the story is unstable and messy so for me a solid 6 out of 10 fit to this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
pottomlessApr 2, 2013
I like this film, because of the feelings this movie distributes. This piece of sci-fi is very beautiful to look at and it is very engaging. It is a solid 10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
James Cameron's thrilling film starring talented actors like Sam Worthington, Zoe Saldana and Sigourney Weaver will always remain a favorite to many of its viewers. Special effects were jaw-dropping and unbelievable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
MarkMusicMar 18, 2013
This is the number one movie of all time????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? Why? Because of the flashy special effects? Cause that was the only memorable thing from this movie other then the long 3This is the number one movie of all time????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? Why? Because of the flashy special effects? Cause that was the only memorable thing from this movie other then the long 3 hour experience first time watching it in a theater I feel asleep 1hr and 20 mins in. Next time watched it at home stopped at an hour, next week picked back up then stopped, then again I took me 4 times to watch the entire movie at home over a month long time period. Nothing special and certainly original. Save your money and watch a bootlegged version online or the real thing online. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews