Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2677 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Jake Sully is a former Marine confined to a wheelchair. But despite his broken body, Jake is still a warrior at heart. He is recruited to travel light years to the human outpost on Pandora, where a corporate consortium is mining a rare mineral that is the key to solving Earth's energyJake Sully is a former Marine confined to a wheelchair. But despite his broken body, Jake is still a warrior at heart. He is recruited to travel light years to the human outpost on Pandora, where a corporate consortium is mining a rare mineral that is the key to solving Earth's energy crisis. Because Pandora's atmosphere is toxic, they have created the Avatar Program, in which human "drivers" have their consciousness linked to an avatar, a remotely-controlled biological body that can survive in the lethal air. These avatars are genetically engineered hybrids of human DNA mixed with DNA from the natives of Pandora... the Na'vi. Reborn in his avatar form, Jake can walk again. He is given a mission to infiltrate the Na'vi, who have become a major obstacle to mining the precious ore. But a beautiful Na'vi female, Neytiri, saves Jake's life, and this changes everything. Jake is taken in by her clan, and learns to become one of them, which involves many tests and adventures. As Jake's relationship with his reluctant teacher Neytiri deepens, he learns to respect the Na'vi way and finally takes his place among them. Soon he will face the ultimate test as he leads them in an epic battle that will decide the fate of an entire world. (20th Century Fox)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Glorious and goofy and blissfully deranged.
  2. 100
    It's been twelve years since "Titanic," but the King of the World has returned with a flawed but fantastic tour de force that, taken on its merits as a film, especially in two dimensions, warrants four stars. However, if you can wrap a pair of 3D glasses round your peepers, this becomes a transcendent, full-on five-star experience that's the closest we'll ever come to setting foot on a strange new world. Just don't leave it so long next time, eh, Jim?
  3. A fully believable, flesh-and-blood (albeit not human flesh and blood) romance is the beating heart of "Avatar." Cameron has never made a movie just to show off visual pyrotechnics: Every bit of technology in "Avatar" serves the greater purpose of a deeply felt love story.
  4. 88
    Rarely less than absorbing and never boring over its nearly three-hour length.
  5. If I never felt entirely transported by Avatar, it's probably because the story thudded just as often as the imagery soared. But Pandora is still a good place to park yourself for three hours.
  6. 75
    By presenting Avatar in 3-D, Cameron is staking his claim and building a fence around his own precious resource, making it unobtainable on any but his own terms to increasingly emboldened and technologically savvy natives.
  7. 50
    Avatar is a weak patchwork of his other films: the leaden voiceover from "Terminator 2" here, the military/civilian conflict from "Aliens" there, even a Jack-and-Rose-style forbidden love story cued to adult-contempo soundtrack.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. RikK
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    My new gold standard of films...first was Star Wars, then Indiana Jones now Avatar. Don't miss this film it will blow you away.
  2. Ricka
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    My kind of movie. I sure liked It's unique story and fabulous special effects it makes this one of my favorites. I am going to see this My kind of movie. I sure liked It's unique story and fabulous special effects it makes this one of my favorites. I am going to see this again and even again and I rarely see movies twice let alone three times. A must see for the sifi fan. Expand
  3. DJ
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    Literally the best movie I have ever seen. I was completely and totally blown away. This is the first movie in my entire life where I Literally the best movie I have ever seen. I was completely and totally blown away. This is the first movie in my entire life where I didn't want it to end. Expand
  4. JS
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    This is a truly mind-blowing, visually stunning monster of a film. The CGI is a new benchmark in cinema history, and although at times the This is a truly mind-blowing, visually stunning monster of a film. The CGI is a new benchmark in cinema history, and although at times the Na'vi don't quite look real, it's a hell of a lot closer than anyone has ever come before. The 3D is expertly judged and deployed; none of that crap like spears pointing in your face every two seconds, but proper effects which are only used when needed. The plot is slightly overused, but to be fair Cameron wrote this fourteen years back when it still would have been original. So don't judge him on that. Still the undisputed King of the World. Expand
  5. ChaoseL
    Jun 8, 2010
    7
    Im a bit disappointed honestly, I was expecting a lot better. What makes this lose points for me is the two parallel setting, Im sorry but I Im a bit disappointed honestly, I was expecting a lot better. What makes this lose points for me is the two parallel setting, Im sorry but I just didnt care to see any Humans, robots, Air crafts, or Lab Research at all or none of that irrelevant stuff. All I needed to see was Avatar!!, you know those little blue ppl, Thats what got me interested in watching this in the 1st place. This movie started off extremely slow because of that. ofcourse, visually this was stunning but pretty much everything else is lacking. There wasn't enough focus for me, It had Its moments but It was inconsistent in a way. There was a lot that I just did not understand from the get go, heck, I still have questions. This was a bit of a disappointment, the acting was great but the story was generally weak. All in all this was pretty good, nothing great or genre defining though. Even with Its many short comings It was well worth the watch. Expand
  6. Ikarus14
    Apr 26, 2010
    5
    Sure, the visuals are highly distinctive but the unoriginal storyline and lazy dialogue just about put me to sleep.
  7. Richard
    Dec 21, 2009
    0
    You have to be kidding. The movie was awful and long. No suspense as the acting was bad. All the fancy colors and sounds were for kids with You have to be kidding. The movie was awful and long. No suspense as the acting was bad. All the fancy colors and sounds were for kids with ADD. Much ado about nothing. Overhyped by the professional shills. Expand

See all 1194 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.
  3. All Films Considered: James Cameron

    All Films Considered: James Cameron Image
    Published: December 18, 2009
    Now that the reviews are in for Avatar, we look back at the other James Cameron-directed films in our database, to see how the critics have responded to his work.
  4. This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar?

    This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar? Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/14
  5. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.
  6. Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to "Locker"

    Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to
    Published: December 14, 2009
    The New York Film Critics Circle added to The Hurt Locker's growing list of honors, while another critic organization sided with Up in the Air.