Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2751 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Jake Sully is a former Marine confined to a wheelchair. But despite his broken body, Jake is still a warrior at heart. He is recruited to travel light years to the human outpost on Pandora, where a corporate consortium is mining a rare mineral that is the key to solving Earth's energyJake Sully is a former Marine confined to a wheelchair. But despite his broken body, Jake is still a warrior at heart. He is recruited to travel light years to the human outpost on Pandora, where a corporate consortium is mining a rare mineral that is the key to solving Earth's energy crisis. Because Pandora's atmosphere is toxic, they have created the Avatar Program, in which human "drivers" have their consciousness linked to an avatar, a remotely-controlled biological body that can survive in the lethal air. These avatars are genetically engineered hybrids of human DNA mixed with DNA from the natives of Pandora... the Na'vi. Reborn in his avatar form, Jake can walk again. He is given a mission to infiltrate the Na'vi, who have become a major obstacle to mining the precious ore. But a beautiful Na'vi female, Neytiri, saves Jake's life, and this changes everything. Jake is taken in by her clan, and learns to become one of them, which involves many tests and adventures. As Jake's relationship with his reluctant teacher Neytiri deepens, he learns to respect the Na'vi way and finally takes his place among them. Soon he will face the ultimate test as he leads them in an epic battle that will decide the fate of an entire world. (20th Century Fox)
    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 100
    At the end of a decade defined by much bellyaching about "the death of cinema" (including, on occasion, by this critic), Avatar concludes, appropriately enough, with an image of rebirth.
  2. 100
    A quantum leap in movie magic; watching it, I began to understand how people in 1933 must have felt when they saw "King Kong."
  3. A fully believable, flesh-and-blood (albeit not human flesh and blood) romance is the beating heart of "Avatar." Cameron has never made a movie just to show off visual pyrotechnics: Every bit of technology in "Avatar" serves the greater purpose of a deeply felt love story.
  4. 88
    Rarely less than absorbing and never boring over its nearly three-hour length.
  5. 83
    Is it a great movie? Maybe not. But it is a great step forward in moviemaking. Shrug it off if that makes you feel better, but starting today you live in a post-Avatar movie world.
  6. Titanic technical achievement.
  7. 50
    It is a very expensive-looking, very flashy entertainment, albeit one that groans under the weight of clumsy storytelling in the second half and features some of the most godawful dialogue this side of "Attack of the Clones."

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Joey
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    Phenomenal. Powerful. It's a masterpiece of a film.
  2. ChristineB
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    Do not miss seeing this movie(3D Imax IP)despite hearing about a weak storyline.This movie is such an accomplishment on a technological level Do not miss seeing this movie(3D Imax IP)despite hearing about a weak storyline.This movie is such an accomplishment on a technological level it gives us a glimpse of things to come being good or bad. To the people who hate coming back into the real world I have to say: Look at our planet which is full of wonders just like Pandora and love it. It's that simple! Expand
  3. DJ
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    Literally the best movie I have ever seen. I was completely and totally blown away. This is the first movie in my entire life where I Literally the best movie I have ever seen. I was completely and totally blown away. This is the first movie in my entire life where I didn't want it to end. Expand
  4. UzairSheikh
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    A good movie, well worth the money spent.
  5. ChaoseL
    Jun 8, 2010
    7
    Im a bit disappointed honestly, I was expecting a lot better. What makes this lose points for me is the two parallel setting, Im sorry but I Im a bit disappointed honestly, I was expecting a lot better. What makes this lose points for me is the two parallel setting, Im sorry but I just didnt care to see any Humans, robots, Air crafts, or Lab Research at all or none of that irrelevant stuff. All I needed to see was Avatar!!, you know those little blue ppl, Thats what got me interested in watching this in the 1st place. This movie started off extremely slow because of that. ofcourse, visually this was stunning but pretty much everything else is lacking. There wasn't enough focus for me, It had Its moments but It was inconsistent in a way. There was a lot that I just did not understand from the get go, heck, I still have questions. This was a bit of a disappointment, the acting was great but the story was generally weak. All in all this was pretty good, nothing great or genre defining though. Even with Its many short comings It was well worth the watch. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2011
    5
    my mom pulled me out of school to see this. I really expected alot from this movie, and I walked into the theater with "modern classic" inmy mom pulled me out of school to see this. I really expected alot from this movie, and I walked into the theater with "modern classic" in mind, overlooking the fact that I don't like James Cameron movies. Well uh.. thirty minutes in, I was thinking "Wow cool! Look at that 3D!" but there was that Indy 4 esque "this better not be it" thought in the back of my mind. The characters, the were like robots, with cartoonish generals and that sort of crowd. The weird blue chick was cool at first but soon got very annoying. Also, why is this Sam Worthington guy in so many movies? Why does James Cameron keep casting him? I mean come on, Teller would have been a more reasonable choice than that stooge. Still, the movie has eye-popping FX and the 3D is the best I've ever seen, so it's still probably worth your time if you enjoy other films by Cameron. The mythology is fairly deep, if not cliched, as well so Cameron is technically able to write a story a four year old couldn't. This would all be fine for a animated series, but spending all that money on FX for something like this probably isn't worth. Well, they made an ungodly amount of cashola on this movie, so I guess it was worth it. Then everybody talks about how great this movie is, and The Hurt Locker loses at the Golden Globes. I guess I just got James Cameron'ed again. Expand
  7. Richard
    Dec 21, 2009
    0
    You have to be kidding. The movie was awful and long. No suspense as the acting was bad. All the fancy colors and sounds were for kids with You have to be kidding. The movie was awful and long. No suspense as the acting was bad. All the fancy colors and sounds were for kids with ADD. Much ado about nothing. Overhyped by the professional shills. Expand

See all 1200 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.
  3. All Films Considered: James Cameron

    All Films Considered: James Cameron Image
    Published: December 18, 2009
    Now that the reviews are in for Avatar, we look back at the other James Cameron-directed films in our database, to see how the critics have responded to his work.
  4. This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar?

    This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar? Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/14
  5. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.
  6. Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to "Locker"

    Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to
    Published: December 14, 2009
    The New York Film Critics Circle added to The Hurt Locker's growing list of honors, while another critic organization sided with Up in the Air.