User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 362 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 21, 2014
    5
    Alien vs. Predator: 5/10: Aliens check; Predators check; Space Marines; umm Space Marines? Okay who took out the Space Marines and put in this fodder.

    Some surprise moments and some thrills but not nearly enough and AVP is over way to fast. Everything is speeded up and suspense is simply zero. Both the entire series of Alien movies and the first Predator film depended upon moments of
    Alien vs. Predator: 5/10: Aliens check; Predators check; Space Marines; umm Space Marines? Okay who took out the Space Marines and put in this fodder.

    Some surprise moments and some thrills but not nearly enough and AVP is over way to fast. Everything is speeded up and suspense is simply zero. Both the entire series of Alien movies and the first Predator film depended upon moments of silence to build up the suspense. (Nothing really happens at all of the first hour of Alien for example.)

    This movie on the other hand moves so much like a video game you will be reaching for the controller. The Predators look okay but the Aliens are too cartoonish and seem to change size at random.

    The plot and the back-story are simply inept. What is wrong with an alien Queen in the New York subway system or Predators fighting in Iraq? Heck putting them in an office block, cruise ship or shopping mall at Christmas would be preferable. (The Predators take out the Orange Julius while the Alien Queen makes her nest in Victoria Secret.)

    The fun of aliens on earth is watching them walk into a Seven-Eleven and taking out some customers not fighting in a silly pyramid that could be on any planet in the universe.
    Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2010
    6
    I thought the movie was pretty good. But the first 2 preds shouldn't have died so easily. But worse was that the pred teamed up with the woman. But the rest was good.
  3. Jan 11, 2014
    5
    Not as bad as it could have been. My big issue with AVP is that it is a quick film (90 minutes) and it does little to explain why the Predators use the Aliens for sport.
  4. Feb 7, 2015
    6
    Alien vs. Predator is a dumb disappointment, but it was still, in my opinion, a fun, mindless pop-corn flick despite lacking in blood, gore, strong characters and tension.
  5. KL.
    Jan 3, 2008
    5
    Exactly as the title say... "alien vs. predator", and that was really all this movie amounted to. I think there should have been more to this film than just two space aliens fighting it out. I think most people of 18 years or older would not get off on the idea of the alien fighting the predator which seems to be the primary selling point of the film... A Vs. P, and most are too mature for that.
  6. Jul 22, 2011
    5
    im a huge AVP fan in terms of the games on the PC and jagaur and i the comic from the 90's . so a movie would seem natural and be a great idea . the problem starts off first with it taking half the movie to even start . it trys to build the charicters up abit so i guess we will care about them but lets face it we went to see this to see the aliens and the predators kick some ass. first offim a huge AVP fan in terms of the games on the PC and jagaur and i the comic from the 90's . so a movie would seem natural and be a great idea . the problem starts off first with it taking half the movie to even start . it trys to build the charicters up abit so i guess we will care about them but lets face it we went to see this to see the aliens and the predators kick some ass. first off this should have been set in the far future and in space with the colonial marines . instead we are in antarctica which all be it not a bad setting since we are getting a secluded no escape place . the action between the aliens and the predator was actally pretty good and there are some amazing looking action sequenses . though just not enough there . in the end its kinda mediocore but i didnt think it was terrable atleast. Expand
  7. JasonC
    Aug 20, 2004
    4
    The choice of director was a major setback for this film, and I was expecting absolute crap. Thankfully it *marginally* exceeded my expectations. Little horror or real tension is to be found and the atmosphere is dissapointingly scant. It takes itself a bit too seriously considering the context of the plot and characters, and it contains many a scene that lead to laughter instead of the The choice of director was a major setback for this film, and I was expecting absolute crap. Thankfully it *marginally* exceeded my expectations. Little horror or real tension is to be found and the atmosphere is dissapointingly scant. It takes itself a bit too seriously considering the context of the plot and characters, and it contains many a scene that lead to laughter instead of the desired shock etc. In fact near the end, a plot twist of sorts (ie. the "aliance" for those who have seen it) was absurdly ridiculous. Not unjustifiable with regards to the mythos, just that it was embarassing to watch. More explicitly (without spoiling anything), I DID NOT appreciate the attempt to humanize the predators. I Found the movie was tied too closely to our reality. Where's the Giger style Gothic alien environments? or the sense of being enveloped in something completely "alien"? -which certainly should be the case if what we're dealing with is some sort of obscure alien hunting ritual. Plot wise it succeded were it needed to by linking the two species together; but who cares seeings as the previous movies where all about tension, fear and that which we dont (and can't) comprehend. Blah. It never had a chance of living up to the Alien legacy -that's a given- but from a Predator stand point, if nothing else the dialogue should have been a bit wittier and delivered with more conviction (ie in the "I don't have time to bleed" sort of way). So my end recommendation is to not see it in the theater unless you like to roll up $20 bills and smoke em. Inform yourself about the director and make sure your expectations are adequately low. Go in expecting a comic book style sci-fi action movie with much cheese and unintentional laughs. Then *maybe* you (and by 'you' I mean males in their teens and above) will be MILDLY pleased with the movie. Which was the case with me. Expand
  8. Larry
    Aug 29, 2004
    5
    Not as bad as everyone says.
  9. AlanB.
    Aug 14, 2004
    6
    This was better than I expected, after all how much milage can you get from monster fight scenes?The story followed the time honored hollywood formula for action -adventure movies, and delivered about one and a half hours of decent entertainment.
  10. AdrianW.
    Aug 16, 2004
    4
    Obviously filmed to get the cash to film the movie that this one should have been. Too short too cover the topic effectively and too contrived for anyone to care.
  11. IanR
    Aug 22, 2004
    4
    My advice is to give this a miss and wait for the DVD. Paul Anderson has stated that this is a horrible movie because all the best bits were cut out. The studio changed their requirement to a PG-13 only 3 WEEKS before the release date and as such the entire flow of the script was disrupted. The DVD will have the Director's Cut and this will explain away the inconsistencies, the My advice is to give this a miss and wait for the DVD. Paul Anderson has stated that this is a horrible movie because all the best bits were cut out. The studio changed their requirement to a PG-13 only 3 WEEKS before the release date and as such the entire flow of the script was disrupted. The DVD will have the Director's Cut and this will explain away the inconsistencies, the failings in the story and all the deaths will happen ON-SCREEN! Whatever you do though, don't go to see this and then bitch about Paul Anderson being the wrong choice of director, it isn't his film at the theatres and the guy tried his hardest to make a film for the fans. Give him a break. Expand
  12. MarkC.
    Aug 30, 2004
    5
    I saw the new Exorcist movie (horrendous) right after AVP and this seemed like Academy Award material by comparision. Still not much more than mindless summer fluff!
  13. ShawnO.
    Sep 20, 2004
    5
    I never thought I would see the day, that I'd say Freddy vs Jason is a better movie than AVP. First off, if your going to make a movie about R rated characters, make a R rated movie. And I don't know if its just me but ever since Saving Private Ryan came out, hollywood thinks every fight scene or huge battle has to have frantic, multiple way too close, out of focas camera shots. I never thought I would see the day, that I'd say Freddy vs Jason is a better movie than AVP. First off, if your going to make a movie about R rated characters, make a R rated movie. And I don't know if its just me but ever since Saving Private Ryan came out, hollywood thinks every fight scene or huge battle has to have frantic, multiple way too close, out of focas camera shots. Spielberg used this to add to the realism and confusion of war seen by the solders themselves at the time. If a alien and a predater fight, I want to see the battle unfold, not bits and pieces of not being able to tell whats going on! The movies not bad, but just not near what it could of been. Expand
  14. JamesM
    Sep 4, 2004
    6
    Considering how bad this movie *could* have been, I think it was very good. There needed to be about 20 more minutes of exposition and character development, so that we cared more about the characters. I also wish they ahd done more with Lance Henriksen and the Weyoand Corporation. The way they approached the whole "original culture" thing would have given even Eric von Daniken the Considering how bad this movie *could* have been, I think it was very good. There needed to be about 20 more minutes of exposition and character development, so that we cared more about the characters. I also wish they ahd done more with Lance Henriksen and the Weyoand Corporation. The way they approached the whole "original culture" thing would have given even Eric von Daniken the willies, but any deeper, and it would have lost most of the viewers. Plus, a couple of the battles had too much "quick cut" strobe style action that, while nice for the Nintendo set, left the rest of us simply confused. One thing that was done very well, though, was that the Predators and Aliens were advanced costumes and/or puppets, not CGI -- that gave it a much better sense of realism. The Predator ships were fantastic. Overall, it was fun, and that was all that I expected. Expand
  15. DouglasH
    Jan 29, 2005
    4
    Way to wreck the franchises Paul W Anderson. You Suck!!!!! Every movie you Direct sucks!!!!
  16. AnsonG
    May 2, 2007
    4
    I saw Alien Vs. Predator and had ambivalent feelings about it. It definitely could have been a lot better, had better actors, better script, better reason and logic, and better atmosphere. It also could have been much worse than it was as well. What is does have going for it to some small degree is that the film was directed by Paul W. S. Anderson, a competent suspense, science fiction I saw Alien Vs. Predator and had ambivalent feelings about it. It definitely could have been a lot better, had better actors, better script, better reason and logic, and better atmosphere. It also could have been much worse than it was as well. What is does have going for it to some small degree is that the film was directed by Paul W. S. Anderson, a competent suspense, science fiction director accustomed to working with this kind of material. Anderson gives the audience what he thinks they want to see, and going by the money his movies make he doesn't fall far off the mark most of the time. For me(being someone I gratefully acknowledge as being outside the majority of the movie-going population) he disappoints with his cliché-ridden dialog, tissue-thin, stereotypical characters and plot threads, his over-used CGI effects, and his general arrogance to presume how little the movie-going population knows. Notwithstanding all of that, Alien Vs. Predator has some special moments. What did I like: some of the sets were impressive, a couple of the fights were well-executed, Lance Henriksen (being the only "real" actor in the film, and the Artic setting surrounding this hidden pyramid). I haven't gone into any detail of the plot for two reasons: (1)many other reviewers have already done so and (2)the plot is so ridiculous that any real scrutiny would be more enlightening than anything that happened in the film. Is ALien Vs. Predator entertaining? Yes, it is - like many accidents are. It has just enough going for it to keep the viewer engaged but never really satisfied. Expand
  17. MarkB.
    Nov 9, 2004
    6
    Let the purists complain--this is quite possibly the most critic-proof movie of 2004. (Chances are, if you liked the title and subject, you've already seen it!) As soon as you know that Paul W. S. Anderson is the director, you can correctly guess that this is going to look and feel like a 90-minute video game...and, generally speaking, a pretty good one. Given its series Let the purists complain--this is quite possibly the most critic-proof movie of 2004. (Chances are, if you liked the title and subject, you've already seen it!) As soon as you know that Paul W. S. Anderson is the director, you can correctly guess that this is going to look and feel like a 90-minute video game...and, generally speaking, a pretty good one. Given its series predecessors, though, I agree in wishing that Anderson's original, R-rated cut had made theaters; perhaps the biggest positive to the box office success of the current gorefest Saw is that there's still a big audience for hardcore horror and violence and that not everything has to be diluted for mass consumption. Of moderate interest is that AVP takes the same approach to its title adversaries that last year's far crummier Freddy vs. Jason did; among all the trademark slurping and clicking it definitely sets up lopsided sympathies for one side over the other. The solid character lead Lance Henriksen, who can help make very good movies into great ones (like the original Terminator) and bad movies at least watchable (like The Horror Show) is an invaluable asset; as for lead action babe Sanaa Lathan (an underrated actress who was Love and Basketball's superbly gutsy protagonist and a solid film noir femme fatale in last year's Out of Time), she's worthy of the highest compliment I can possibly deliver for this particular role: watching her onscreen, I didn't think about Sigourney Weaver any more than about two dozen times. Expand
  18. MacM.
    Oct 4, 2004
    4
    Silly Hollywood McSci-fi romp which adds nothing to the legends or the fear of either races. Cheese extreme which though not as good as any of the previous movies, isn't quite as horrible as I was expecting.
  19. NickT.
    Aug 14, 2004
    6
    I have never really liked Anderson, seeing as he ruined two video game movies that had potential, but this movie isn't near as bad as the critics are touting it as. It relies highly on what it's predecessors did: intrigue. This is what really saved the movie for me. I was interested as to see what would happen next (even though it was blatantly obvious). Although it is I have never really liked Anderson, seeing as he ruined two video game movies that had potential, but this movie isn't near as bad as the critics are touting it as. It relies highly on what it's predecessors did: intrigue. This is what really saved the movie for me. I was interested as to see what would happen next (even though it was blatantly obvious). Although it is predictable, like every other movie in the genre, it does have a couple surprises. This isn't going to bring back either franchise, but it is Anderson's best movie, and is the best choice for any horror B movie fan. It is very enjoyable. Expand
  20. TonyB.
    Aug 15, 2004
    6
    A 6 because it entertained me. It did abuse some of the Alien and Predator Lore, and the little twist end was absolutely the cheesiest thing they could have done...but I wasn't bored. It wasn't a great movie, but I didn't feel cheated out of my student discount. If you're an AVP fan that can't stand seeing the "rules" bent even a bit, then you better not see this. A 6 because it entertained me. It did abuse some of the Alien and Predator Lore, and the little twist end was absolutely the cheesiest thing they could have done...but I wasn't bored. It wasn't a great movie, but I didn't feel cheated out of my student discount. If you're an AVP fan that can't stand seeing the "rules" bent even a bit, then you better not see this. If you've enjoyed the other movies, and you wanna see another Alien or Pred film, you could probably enjoy this. Just don't expect profound thought-provoking film. Expand
  21. BenjitheGreat
    Aug 17, 2004
    5
    First of all, i want you guys to know that i went into this movie expecting the absolute worst. I came out of the theater surprised. This film has numorous glaring flaws but i still found it to be entertaining and even exciting at some points. My teenage geek-in-a-cage side wants to give this movie an 7 while the movie critic side of me wants to give this movie a 3. Lets start with what First of all, i want you guys to know that i went into this movie expecting the absolute worst. I came out of the theater surprised. This film has numorous glaring flaws but i still found it to be entertaining and even exciting at some points. My teenage geek-in-a-cage side wants to give this movie an 7 while the movie critic side of me wants to give this movie a 3. Lets start with what the film does wrong. I won't bother going into all the differences and inconsistencies between this movie and its predecessors. Yes, they do exist. And yes, many of them are annoying. I dont think these are what really hurt the film though. I can sum up most of the poorness of this film in two words: acting and screenplay. The dialogue in this movie between the human explorers is consistently cringe-inducing. We have some of the worst lines in this movie that i've heard in a long long time. The acting itself leaves alot to be desired. Lance Henriksen does a decent "phone-in" as weyland and the lead actress (Sanaa Lathan) seems to be trying as hard as she can to overcome the awful, contrived dialogue she must recite. Ewan Bremner also seems to be trying in his role. Much of the rest of the acting is mediocre however. Much blame must also be placed on the plot, which is not near as interesting or exciting as it could be and seems to be infested with plot-holes that i dare not get into. The good points? well, the scenes between the aliens and predators are pretty cool. The special effects are nicely well done. There are also some pretty cool scenes in here that brought a smile to my face. One more thing... i truly believe this film could have benifeted from an R rating. The fights between the aliens and predators are about as gory as they need to be. What's extremely dissapointing are the human deaths by the hands of the aliens and predators. Expand
  22. SpaceCow
    Aug 20, 2004
    5
    Watchable, but only because of the history of the two franchises and the need to see who really kicks butt!
  23. ChrisJ.
    Aug 20, 2004
    6
    I thought the movie was entertaining. the human, predator alliance was weak. for once in a movie i've seen, cgi improved something...the queen.
  24. Neal
    Aug 25, 2004
    5
    First the good news: of the seven films yet produced about these characters (Alien, Aliens, Alien 3, Alien: Ressurection, Predator, Predator 2, and AVP), AVP is easily the third best of the lot (surpassed, in my opinion, by Alien and Aliens). The bad news: that's not saying much. Yes, this is an awful movie, but whether due to the fact that I went in with low expectations or that it First the good news: of the seven films yet produced about these characters (Alien, Aliens, Alien 3, Alien: Ressurection, Predator, Predator 2, and AVP), AVP is easily the third best of the lot (surpassed, in my opinion, by Alien and Aliens). The bad news: that's not saying much. Yes, this is an awful movie, but whether due to the fact that I went in with low expectations or that it was mercifully short, it was surprisingly tolerable. Do what I did: go with a friend, sit in a corner of the theatre where you won't disturb the other patrons, and create your own personal episode of "Mystery Science Theatre 3000." You'll have a blast. I know I did. Expand
  25. Wetwebwork
    Aug 28, 2004
    6
    Enjoyable B movie. I blame its poor scores on people forgetting the Aliens' B movie beginnings and being offended that they have been featured in a B movie once more. This isn't as half as bad as people believe it to be, but not as half as good as it could have been.
  26. DaveC.
    Aug 29, 2004
    6
    I give a 6 for the enjoyable factor. Don?t see this movie if you want a well thought out plot or good acting. If you want fun action and the thrill of Aliens, you will like this movie. (beginning and end scenes are a bit too ?Jurassic Park?).
  27. VinceW
    Sep 3, 2004
    6
    The movie was better than I was expecting it to be.
  28. johnl
    Jan 30, 2005
    4
    The effects were ok but that wasnt enough to save the movie, i do have to say that it wasnt the worst movie I have seen but it was a far cry from the best.
  29. PonR.
    Mar 9, 2005
    4
    An okay movie, if all you really want to see is an action fest where there's never any scary or suspenseful action (hence the PG-13 rating). Unfortunately, this isn't anything like the 1986 "Aliens" with Predators thrown into the mix. More like a crappy teen slasher with a sci-fi backstory. It could've been more. What made James Cameron's "Aliens" work so well was that An okay movie, if all you really want to see is an action fest where there's never any scary or suspenseful action (hence the PG-13 rating). Unfortunately, this isn't anything like the 1986 "Aliens" with Predators thrown into the mix. More like a crappy teen slasher with a sci-fi backstory. It could've been more. What made James Cameron's "Aliens" work so well was that it gave its characters a fighting chance from beginning to end in plot a that kept you on the edge of your seat. The problem with "Aliens vs Predator" is that everyone was sentenced to death from the start. Everyone got separated and decapitated so quickly that we never had a chance to care about what happened to anybody. It's as if they aimed this film at 12-year-olds, with intention of making them walk out of the theater arguing over which fight scene was best before they forgot all about it. As for the rest of us, we just forget. Expand
  30. ChuckM.
    Aug 21, 2005
    6
    It's a fine use of an hour and a half - there's much stupider things on television right now than Alien vs. Predator. I enjoyed it in the similar vein that I enjoyed Godzilla vs. Mothra and the like. It's a grade B science fiction fight movie, and it does a fine job of being that.
  31. KevinM
    Mar 13, 2009
    4
    I wouldn't really recommend this movie to anyone, it's alright at best. Some of the scenes seemed taken directly from some of Paul WS Anderson's other movies, like the map out of the tomb, as if he didn't have any new ideas, just recycling.
  32. FANBOY
    Aug 13, 2004
    4
    I was mad when I left the theater! The only reason I gave this movie a 4 is because of some of the cool Alien and Predator battles. If I had to some up the movie in one sentence I would say: "Right when you think all the cool, really awsome battles begin and the movie will finally get better.... the movie ends."
  33. Triniman
    Aug 14, 2004
    4
    2/5 Alien Vs. Predator Take two well-known sci-fi franchises and merge them into a film in such a way that you can be assured of a huge audience, but also, that the sum is greater than the parts. Or as great. This film isn?t it. Alien Vs. Predator is a cold, calculated ?product? that is too contrived and formulaic to provide much intrigue or entertainment value. And the most amount of 2/5 Alien Vs. Predator Take two well-known sci-fi franchises and merge them into a film in such a way that you can be assured of a huge audience, but also, that the sum is greater than the parts. Or as great. This film isn?t it. Alien Vs. Predator is a cold, calculated ?product? that is too contrived and formulaic to provide much intrigue or entertainment value. And the most amount of suspense is provided courtesy of a penguin. A corporate satellite, searching for evidence of natural resources, detects a significant amount of heat coming from an island in Antarctica. The billionaire head of the company quickly hobbles together an expedition team to investigate what appears to be a pyramid with Aztec, Egyptian and Cambodian traits, located 2000 feet below the surface. The pyramid contains walls and floors that shift every ten minutes and hieroglyphics that are interpreted by one of the crew, to give them some sense of what they have found. The maze provides so much overkill that an Indiana Jones or Tomb Raider fan would blush. The humans get into the maze, the face huggers do their thing and you have a nice population of Aliens for the Predators to hunt. It takes one human to ?birth? an Alien, so why are there so many Aliens in the place? The gestation period took hours in the first Alien film, but here they seem to pop out with greater frequency. The dialogue appears to be written by a 6th-grader. There are no outstanding characters in the film, like a Ripley from the Alien series, although they try to create one in ?Lex? Woods, played by Sanaa Lathan. There?s virtually no character development, so when they get killed, you don?t feel anything. Lance Henriksen plays the billionaire. In one scene, he briefly does the ?knife? trick from the Aliens film, where he played a ?synthetic human.? This film is an empty-calorie spectacle that doesn?t satisfy, yet it promises too much potential for fans of either series to pass up. At least we find out who taught humans how to build pyramids. Review by Triniman. Expand
  34. BillS
    Aug 14, 2004
    6
    As previously stated, this is a film that's receiving a LOT of flak from critics. Have you noticed, lately? Critics seem to make up their minds based more on the image and history of a film's production and the negative or positive 'buzz' behind it, rather than the content of the film, itself. I have been a SERIOUS Alien fan since 1979 and the original that launched so As previously stated, this is a film that's receiving a LOT of flak from critics. Have you noticed, lately? Critics seem to make up their minds based more on the image and history of a film's production and the negative or positive 'buzz' behind it, rather than the content of the film, itself. I have been a SERIOUS Alien fan since 1979 and the original that launched so many careers and created a whole new genre of sci-fi/horror. I found ALIENS to be quite good at delivering its goods, ALIEN3 somewhat disappointing and strange and ALIEN RESURRECTION to be an abominable mess. PREDATOR was also a classic, perhaps not quite in the same league for originality and timeless artistic vision as ALIEN, but certainly an exciting and creative actionfest with terrific pacing and twists along the way. PREDATOR 2 provided a basic sequel, losing some -but not all- of the magic of the original. ALIEN VS. PREDATOR lies somewhere in between. It's not the sarcastic and ultimately pointless RESURRECTION, but it certainly doesn't reach the heights of the first two ALIEN films, either. We're treated to something of a side-story, of sorts. Yes, it feels video-game-ish, almost like a bonus round you didn't expect to see. It is, after all, a match many uberfans have been dying to see for years (and teased by the alien skull glimpsed in PREDATOR 2). Andersen frankly doesn't do a terrible job here, given what he had to work with. The production schedule was incredibly short, the gore&cuss-castrating PG-13 decree came from the moneygrubbing studio execs and no doubt several main plot elements were preordained (like a strong-willed black woman as the lead protagonist - can you get any more politically correct?). Even so, I was entertained. Sure, there's lots of laughable lines, or my 10pm crowd (complete with clinking beer bottles) seemed to think so, anyway. The plot is stretched as thin as the tail of a facehugger, the entire alien reproductive process is sped up to a brow-furrowing handful of hours, the rapidly-disappearing faces are mostly forgettable and a few of the effects fell short of par for a major hollywood 'epic'. What we got, boys and girls, is a B-movie, and it must be viewed as such. Highly opinionated and arrogant critics like SF's Mick LaSalle (the kind of pompous verbosity and no friend to this genre in general), cannot possibly be relied upon to give this movie a fair shake. Do yourself a favor and ONLY read the user opinions from chumps like myself. You'll find a much more unbiased, unstaged, 'common man' view. After all, Fox knew they didn't have the next Gandhi and withheld advance critic screenings -- a surefire way to tick off the ones who have even a hint of ego (and that means pretty much all of them). So what's good, here? Well, not all of the effects are under-average. In fact, some are pretty damned good and atmospherie isn't lacking, here. The setting is something like a hybrid of Carpenter's The Thing, the original Alien and the cult favorite, Cube. Not a bad aesthetic mix, as long as we're dipping into the resource pile. The first confrontation of Alien and Predator is satisfying, and there's a few more of those long the way. The whole scheme of the Predators is impressive, as is what they've managed to rig up with the Q... Well, maybe you'd better see it. Suffice to say - it's not ALIEN or PREDATOR, but it's not an awful way to spend a Summer afternoon. Just don't dare do too much thinking, or expect a whole lot. I'll give the filmmakers in this instance extra credit for churning something out that wasn't totally offensive in the time and studio-controlled parameters they were given. Expand
  35. KevinF.
    Aug 16, 2004
    5
    Mindless yet fun.
  36. Wongit
    Aug 18, 2004
    5
    I didnt have a lot of confidence in this movie going into it and i was definetley not impressed when the credits rolled. there are some admirable parts but every movie has admirable parts...so nothing special. other then that this movie was one of the lamest movies i saw this summer...possibly this year. it is very very lame.
  37. ChadS.
    Aug 21, 2004
    4
    "Consciousness vs. Nap" is our matchup before the real stars show up. Nap wins because uninteresting characters, made so by lackluster dialogue in service of an insipid storyline, is a mountain that consciousness can't scale. We're still checking our watches as the expedition team grows thinner, since these characters are so underdeveloped, guessing the order of their demise "Consciousness vs. Nap" is our matchup before the real stars show up. Nap wins because uninteresting characters, made so by lackluster dialogue in service of an insipid storyline, is a mountain that consciousness can't scale. We're still checking our watches as the expedition team grows thinner, since these characters are so underdeveloped, guessing the order of their demise isn't much fun. "Alien vs. Predator" improves when we learn the reason why both franchises ended up in a place that has an amalgam of Cambodian, Mexican, and Egyptian architectures. It's almost, but not quite as funny as John Travolta's hair in "Battlefield Earth"; then it steals from "Terminator II: Judgement Day", and that's when the jaw-dropping begins, because "Alien vs. Predator" turns into a surrealistic (and let's not forget asinine) variation of "Batman & Robin". The first half of "Alien vs. Predator" is just plain bad, but the second half has some of that so-bad-it's-good aura which will keep you laughing at what's happening on the screen, and laughing at the audience members who don't know better to laugh at schlock. Expand
  38. Billy
    Jan 26, 2005
    5
    Decent story but the good fighting and special effect make it watchable, but not more than once.
  39. GeorgeH.
    Mar 21, 2005
    5
    Pros: The Aliens and Predators, the special effects, the action scenes, the storyline becouse its consistant with the comic books, and well thats about it. Cons: The script, the most generic human characters ever created, the lack of origionality, and most of all, Paul Anderson the director. Yes I am looking forward to the sequal now that I know Paul Anderson isnt attached to it. Paul Pros: The Aliens and Predators, the special effects, the action scenes, the storyline becouse its consistant with the comic books, and well thats about it. Cons: The script, the most generic human characters ever created, the lack of origionality, and most of all, Paul Anderson the director. Yes I am looking forward to the sequal now that I know Paul Anderson isnt attached to it. Paul Anderson should stop insulting the fans of the list of movies he has directed and written. Expand
  40. CharlesH.
    Feb 18, 2008
    6
    For an action movie, it's attempts at capturing the honor associated with the hunt are decent, but the plot and acting leave something to be desired.
  41. LeeK.
    Dec 15, 2007
    4
    What all the critics say are completely true!!! This is by far one of the most pathetic movie ever shown!!!
  42. Jul 5, 2012
    6
    What a cool movie. Seriously. West Anderson does cool. And not much else. If you look down the list of films he's participated in they are all "cool." The funny thing is when I saw this movie in the theater I had no idea who this guy was. I just wanted to watch Aliens and Predators kicking each other's ass. And I was hoping not to leave the theater wanting to shoot myself, as I did afterWhat a cool movie. Seriously. West Anderson does cool. And not much else. If you look down the list of films he's participated in they are all "cool." The funny thing is when I saw this movie in the theater I had no idea who this guy was. I just wanted to watch Aliens and Predators kicking each other's ass. And I was hoping not to leave the theater wanting to shoot myself, as I did after Alien Resurrection.
    This time around I was watching this on DVD and was well informed on the guy in charge. All the elements were there. Frankly, what better choice to film an ass kicking than the guy that dished it out in Resident Evil. Worse case scenario, he's gonna trade zombies for the creatures of choice and set the camera to his usual slow motion signature visuals. How bad can this be? ... It turns out, the movie is, as I said, pretty cool.
    The plot is well threaded with a thriller atmosphere. The distant town in no man's land. The historic references to a prophecy of sorts. Digging up the inevitable past. The rich guy that has enough money to push things too far. And the always required character that warns everyone not to embark in the adventure but embarks in the adventure herself regardless. All the fun contradictions that make for a well designed action flick.
    The events follow each other with just enough predictability to make you both anticipate and feel smart. Yet the repertoire remains fresh and exciting. The fights between Predators and Aliens are perfectly choreographed. In fact, I finished the movie wanting to see more. That's how an action movie is supposed to make you feel. Wanting to run back to the theater to see more of the same.
    Looking back on the Alien anthology, WS Anderson would have been the perfect call for Alien Resurrection. After the heavy delivery of Alien 3, there was a much needed return to the action of Aliens, but with just enough emotional content to deliver a good action thriller. Perhaps we can call this movie the 4th installment in the series instead. What do you think?
    Expand
  43. Nov 26, 2013
    6
    Originally I hated this movie but I watched it again and actually it's pretty decent oh yeah it's not good but not all of it was terrible it's got great cinematography, a decent amount of cgi, good practical effects, an amazing set, nice editing and awsome action. The story isn't good and some of the writing is very poor but it does give you 40 minutes worth of character development. SadlyOriginally I hated this movie but I watched it again and actually it's pretty decent oh yeah it's not good but not all of it was terrible it's got great cinematography, a decent amount of cgi, good practical effects, an amazing set, nice editing and awsome action. The story isn't good and some of the writing is very poor but it does give you 40 minutes worth of character development. Sadly there are no interesting characters except for the main character who at least is smart and takes charge and acts like a total badass. I also have to say that I like that they explain why the xenomorphs and the predators fight but again bad plot and story. But I could have forgiven so much if it weren't for one thing, they make the predator a good guy witch his bull because the predator has always been a villain yet they make him a super hero. Let me mention that the predators kill people for their skulls as trophies, they are asswholes ok jeez. And the ending isn't so great it's basically a sequel bate witch this movie managed to get with trust me isn't a pretty site. Expand
  44. Aug 15, 2014
    6
    ¿Alguien me puede decir que es tan malo sobre esta película? Soy un Gran fan de Aliens y Predators y no entiendo por que la odian tanto. He oído que es por que en los cómics en los que Alien y Predator tienen un crossover son muy buenos y que la película arruina la continuidad de los cómics. No se si los cómics son canon, y creo que no lo son, he visto las películas de Alien y Predator y¿Alguien me puede decir que es tan malo sobre esta película? Soy un Gran fan de Aliens y Predators y no entiendo por que la odian tanto. He oído que es por que en los cómics en los que Alien y Predator tienen un crossover son muy buenos y que la película arruina la continuidad de los cómics. No se si los cómics son canon, y creo que no lo son, he visto las películas de Alien y Predator y esta no contradice en nada ninguna de las películas. Cabe perfectamente en el universo de ambos, además de que nos muestra que los "Predator" ya conocían a los Xenomorfos y los usan para cazar desde hace siglos. Cabe bien y no arruina el origen de los Xenomorfos, aparte de que Prometeo no contradice nada aquí tampoco. Es una película buena aparte de que hay personajes memorables, pocos, pero algo es algo. Le doy un 06/10 es una película decente. Expand
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. A reductive spook show in which a bunch of puny humans get chased around by scary monsters.
  2. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    40
    The thing-a-ma-jigs have it out with the whatch-a-ma-call-its -- as several humans scurry and scream between -- in Alien Vs. Predator, the kind of two-for-one dogfight (last repped by "Freddy Vs. Jason") that usually does more to bury a franchise than revive it.
  3. It's a murky, empty-headed dive into the depths of the Antarctic and the heart of monster movie cliches that leaves you praying for most of the cast to get killed off fast, to put them (and us) out of our misery.