User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 354 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 7, 2011
    7
    This movie will sharply divide fans of Alien and Predator, the plot isn't great but gets the job done, it's surprisingly good action is what will keep you hooked, this is an interesting movie fans of Alien and Predator should watch.
  2. Jun 2, 2011
    7
    As a hardcore fan of both franchises, I thought this film worked. I was surprised with the story and how effectively both species were intertwined in history. I found myself making the connections of all the little details I have noticed over the years in the predecessor films. It was also refreshing to see an old regular like Henrikson join the cast.
  3. HerbieH.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    This was so well thought out, couldn't of done better.
  4. MK
    Aug 16, 2004
    8
    I'm fairly surprised with critics' reviews of this film. I thought the plot was very creative and action scenes were decent. However, actual Alien VS Predator rarely happens. Poorly trained teen predators disappointed me some what. Ending wasn't that great... Other than that this movie was good. I think the hype of Alien VS Predator killed the reviews. The hype which begun I'm fairly surprised with critics' reviews of this film. I thought the plot was very creative and action scenes were decent. However, actual Alien VS Predator rarely happens. Poorly trained teen predators disappointed me some what. Ending wasn't that great... Other than that this movie was good. I think the hype of Alien VS Predator killed the reviews. The hype which begun since Predator 2 was out. I say great come back from the cancelled-movie status. Hopefully second one is progress with better action. Expand
  5. JameyP
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    Aliens and Predators killing each other. All that you every wanted. That IS the plot. Great Fun.
  6. Robert
    Feb 10, 2005
    8
    We were VERY suprised at just how entertaining this sci-fi movie was - DO BELIEVE THE REVIEWS!!
  7. Mike
    Feb 7, 2005
    9
    Excellent! I thought it was a great movie all together. I was on the edge of my seat. I'm a big fan of both characters (A & P). It may be a weird time frame, but it was a great movie. My friend even baught the DVD because he liked it so much.
  8. JoshR.
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    Although most people dont like this film i thought it was awesome. Great effects, perfect CGI, awesome storyline and action sequences. Mainly when people see this they think about the old films and how different this one is from them. But if you thimk about it can't be the same because both the alien and predator films are different, i mean, you have the two beasties fighting in a Although most people dont like this film i thought it was awesome. Great effects, perfect CGI, awesome storyline and action sequences. Mainly when people see this they think about the old films and how different this one is from them. But if you thimk about it can't be the same because both the alien and predator films are different, i mean, you have the two beasties fighting in a small tunnel. Most people who comment on films always look for the worst bits instead of the best. I give a huge thumbs up to Paul Anderson. Expand
  9. RandyL.
    Nov 24, 2004
    10
    [***SPOILERS***] This movie had everything in it. I mean maybe some people didn't get it but I sure did. I mean wuts not to get, the pyramid they find is a jail the jail is for the aliens and the predators are the jail guards. I mean when I found out the pyramid was a jail I was stunned. Maybe some of you others weren't but hey I have seen all alien and predator movies and I say [***SPOILERS***] This movie had everything in it. I mean maybe some people didn't get it but I sure did. I mean wuts not to get, the pyramid they find is a jail the jail is for the aliens and the predators are the jail guards. I mean when I found out the pyramid was a jail I was stunned. Maybe some of you others weren't but hey I have seen all alien and predator movies and I say this one takes the cake. Plus when they tell the short story bout the aliens being killers and predators helping humans build the pyramids i was amazed and when has one of those people that look at pryamids told you that people actually made them without help from predators or "aliens".so I rate this movie 10/10 because if you dont get it then you pretty DENSE!!! Expand
  10. DanielO
    Oct 5, 2004
    7
    Alot of people bagged this film pretty harshly, claiming all sorts of rubbish in the process, but when you go to see a film entitled "Aliens Versus Predator" you should know right away that this isn't going to be a film designed to revolutionise the industry! No, this is a film designed to give people a good ride, and it does that. There are several pot holes, the acting isn't Alot of people bagged this film pretty harshly, claiming all sorts of rubbish in the process, but when you go to see a film entitled "Aliens Versus Predator" you should know right away that this isn't going to be a film designed to revolutionise the industry! No, this is a film designed to give people a good ride, and it does that. There are several pot holes, the acting isn't oscar worthy and certain things could have been done better, but all in all this was a thoroughly enterataining film. It does it's best not to get in the way of either mythology and stay completely self contained and presents the audience with lots of good battles and impressively designed special effects (no Star Wars episode1 like over the top CG) that make the experience worthwhile. It's no masterpiece, but you get what you pay for in my opinion and that is a clash between to feirsome monsters! Expand
  11. BobbyS.
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    A fairly good movie that doesn't deserve the flack that it's taking. Sadly, I knew it was doomed critically from the begining because of the fact that fans have been waiting for the movie for so long. There was no way, no matter who the director was, that this movie could please the fans. Oh well. I enjoyed it, and would see it again in a heart beat.
  12. TonyC.
    Aug 14, 2004
    7
    AVP is a solid action movie, fun to watch and fast paced. The movie relied a bit too much on action and forgot to add in character development, but then it was a movie about two species of scary aliens fighting..... Still it would have been nice if the humans had a bit more important of a role. There were also some continuity flaws with the other movies. Even with it's flaws it is AVP is a solid action movie, fun to watch and fast paced. The movie relied a bit too much on action and forgot to add in character development, but then it was a movie about two species of scary aliens fighting..... Still it would have been nice if the humans had a bit more important of a role. There were also some continuity flaws with the other movies. Even with it's flaws it is worth seeing. The action is good, lots of funny campy lines, go see it if you are looking for a romp. Expand
  13. RonaldC.
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    This is the only exciting movie throughout this year on my point of view, it's amusing to see the two alien races battle each other. Has a sense of being freaked out while watching the movie. Incredible movie for fans that wants a worth buying ticket to spend
  14. 'YoMamma
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    Ignore all bad reviews, this is the real deal. people must be morons to bash this flick.
  15. DanielJ.
    Oct 22, 2004
    8
    I am a fan of the predator but i personally wanted alien to win (good how they ended it eh? so you cant really say who won) and most people should realise before they even see a film like this that it would have been hard to make a plot to connect the two charcters, so with that in perception i think they QUITE good. overall the film did what i was expecting it to do...IT ENTERTAINED ME! I am a fan of the predator but i personally wanted alien to win (good how they ended it eh? so you cant really say who won) and most people should realise before they even see a film like this that it would have been hard to make a plot to connect the two charcters, so with that in perception i think they QUITE good. overall the film did what i was expecting it to do...IT ENTERTAINED ME! (if you were expecting a classic masterpiece full of exellent acting you need to think seriously about your knowledge of films). Expand
  16. JackB.
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    Aliens vs. Predator could very well be the sleeper hit of the summer season. Filled with action, suspense, and a great performance by Lance Henrikson, the film really does justice to the two beloved and iconic franchises upon which it is based. Alien vs. Predator is a great movie.... FOR ME TO POOP ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  17. AllenL.
    Jan 21, 2008
    8
    I thought Alien VS predator had awesome plots and scenes like ,come on, who doesn't want to see predator recreated into the new world of Amazing Special effects? But some parts were lacking and could have been recreated better by a 2 year old in 2 minutes. I give it a firm 8 and no less and no more.
  18. Sep 12, 2010
    7
    i admit that the movie could have been a lot better but i think it was a very good effort in combining the two famous originals. although it didn't show a promising story to it the film did show a good use of trying to bring back many of the old qualities from the two alien species however they needed to use more convincing and more recognized actors
  19. May 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So they wanted to make the most feared thing in the universe look like pansies? Ya right. two of the damn predators die in the first 30 min! I know they are apparently kids and all, but damn, they are still predators. Expand
  20. WilliamM.
    Aug 14, 2004
    7
    I never expected much, i wasn't expecting a puzzling or perplexing plot. in many ways, i didn't get it. but honestly i did get what i went for. some times you just need a movie where there is no plot there is just some action and killing, thats what i came for, i didn't go for a horror, i didn't go for an action movie, i just wanted good ol' plotless suspense I never expected much, i wasn't expecting a puzzling or perplexing plot. in many ways, i didn't get it. but honestly i did get what i went for. some times you just need a movie where there is no plot there is just some action and killing, thats what i came for, i didn't go for a horror, i didn't go for an action movie, i just wanted good ol' plotless suspense thriller, and i thouroughly enjoyed, relaxing my mind for a bit. Expand
  21. MarcD.
    Aug 18, 2004
    7
    I don't understand why so many people are bashing the show. The film may not be 100% faithful to the original films they were based on...but this is a very commendable effort. An entertaining show which left me smiling at particular scenes. People need to lighten up.
  22. MarcD.
    Aug 18, 2004
    7
    I don't understand why so many people are bashing the show. The film may not be 100% faithful to the original films they were based on...but this is a very commendable effort. An entertaining show which left me smiling at particular scenes. People need to lighten up.
  23. DavidS
    Aug 14, 2004
    8
    Not a bad movie if you're not expecting the second coming. I don't know what people mean when the say it killed the franchise ... Alien parts 3 and 4 accomplished that for me years ago. And this wasn't nearly as bad as them. Aliens are back to their (mostly) non CGI roots, and it looks really good. Finally a movie with Aliens (since ALIENS) that doesn't suck.
  24. DeanK
    Aug 14, 2004
    8
    There were some pretty impressive parts to the movie. The overall plot and story that the huamans almost fucked everything up by taking the cannons. The whole thing about predators shaping humanity. Some of the battles were pretty damn good. AND YET how can someone say the aliens were "the worst CG-Aliens I've ever seen" ?? They looked great, the movement was fluid. And Cameron S There were some pretty impressive parts to the movie. The overall plot and story that the huamans almost fucked everything up by taking the cannons. The whole thing about predators shaping humanity. Some of the battles were pretty damn good. AND YET how can someone say the aliens were "the worst CG-Aliens I've ever seen" ?? They looked great, the movement was fluid. And Cameron S needs to realize, the Mayans were using a metric system before Napolean. And if the story line of the movie had been tru, since they influenced all cultures, wouldnt that have influenced Napolean. Even though Napolean DID NOT create the metric system. Expand
  25. KenG.
    Aug 20, 2004
    7
    First things first: it's not Alien, it's not Predator, the dialogue is corny, the humans are interchangeable and you can drive a hummer through the plot holes. That said, this is an entertaining, rock'em sock'em face-off between the baddest creatures in the universe, even though they were confined with a PG-13 rating (gotta get those kids in for bigger bucks, right Fox?).
  26. ColemanC.
    Sep 3, 2004
    10
    Increible!! fantastic film!!! I haven't words.
  27. PX
    Sep 8, 2004
    10
    Simply amazing and uncanny.
  28. JackH.
    Jan 5, 2005
    10
    I say the movie is excellent in every way, perfect fx and perfect story.
  29. BrettS.
    Feb 17, 2005
    7
    Could've been better, but all in all a decent action movie.The dominant human is an African American woman! You go,girl !! A great example of expanding roles for women. This film should get credit for that. And for CGI Predators and Aliens. The special effects are amazing,and that's why we watch this kind of film anyway. Not for the acting.
  30. RichieB.
    Feb 7, 2005
    7
    Entertaining. Don't take it seriously and you'll have fun.
  31. BrianS
    Feb 8, 2005
    8
    Read a lot of reviews, bought the movie anyway and was very pleased. For those of you who were expecting Shakespear ... YOUR FAULT! It's a sci-fi action flick and a pretty decent one at that. Decent effects and story certainly worth the time to watch!
  32. RyanK.
    Mar 10, 2005
    9
    "ALIEN VS. PREDATOR" is not the best, but it sures knocks out other 2004 flops and manages to please people who don't watch the past predecessors, still very good!
  33. AaronA.
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    I am a HUGE predator fan and think that the crab faced hunter has been portrayed beautifully in this flick. Although i am not much of an alien fan when these two species collide all hell brakes loose and even tho the story is great you really dont care when youre witnessing a predator slice off the face of an alien, its that damn good. the 2 disc extreme edition dvd is one of the most I am a HUGE predator fan and think that the crab faced hunter has been portrayed beautifully in this flick. Although i am not much of an alien fan when these two species collide all hell brakes loose and even tho the story is great you really dont care when youre witnessing a predator slice off the face of an alien, its that damn good. the 2 disc extreme edition dvd is one of the most well put together and lengthy dvds i have ever used. the behind the scenes stuff is AWSOME! Expand
  34. RyanH.
    Mar 8, 2005
    9
    I new this wasn't going to be a good movie going into the theatre when I found out it was only pg13, so I wasn't let down much. Since I'm a huge alien and predator fan I thought this was a highly entertaining movie. Almost worthy of the alien vs predator comic books where they probably got a lot of there ideas from.
  35. CAmeronS.
    Sep 1, 2007
    7
    I personally did not expect an amazing story, but i certainly found the action i was looking for.
  36. Ali
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    Sean C. is right dont let people judge movies that interests you.
  37. Heather
    Oct 2, 2004
    9
    It was funny!
  38. toddnottelling
    Oct 9, 2004
    9
    I dont really know why i liked it so much probly because im a hardcore fan for both alien and predator so it was just so cool to see them in the same movie!
  39. [Anonymous]
    Aug 12, 2004
    9
    Good fun.
  40. AF
    Aug 13, 2004
    7
    It's not a horrible movie. Don't go in expecting much, it's just fun to see the two on the same screen together. As for the ending... I never thought they could turn it into a buddy movie but they proved me wrong. All the scripts they went through... this was the best?
  41. DanK.
    Aug 13, 2004
    8
    I give this movie a solid "8". It was pretty much what I expected from the advance publicity I saw. The story is decent and the effects are very good. I was really surprised that the movie was only 1 1/2 hours long. It really could have been longer and I wouldn't have minded. They needed to spend a little more time on the people. Overall I was very satisfied with the movie and would I give this movie a solid "8". It was pretty much what I expected from the advance publicity I saw. The story is decent and the effects are very good. I was really surprised that the movie was only 1 1/2 hours long. It really could have been longer and I wouldn't have minded. They needed to spend a little more time on the people. Overall I was very satisfied with the movie and would recommend it to anyone who likes either monster. Expand
  42. JPA
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    Best movie since ... well I don't remember since when! I is truly the best movie I have seen this summer.
  43. NickJ.
    Aug 13, 2004
    9
    Pretty decent joining of the two creatures.
  44. DH
    Aug 14, 2004
    8
    Fortunately I read metacritic before I saw the movie... so my expectations were really LOW! Perhaps that's why I enjoyed it so much... I didn't think it was nearly as bad as the reviews indicated! The Aztec pyramid that rearranged itself every 10 minutes was really stupid, but overall I thought it was a fun movie. Definately better than the last two "alien" movies!!! And the Fortunately I read metacritic before I saw the movie... so my expectations were really LOW! Perhaps that's why I enjoyed it so much... I didn't think it was nearly as bad as the reviews indicated! The Aztec pyramid that rearranged itself every 10 minutes was really stupid, but overall I thought it was a fun movie. Definately better than the last two "alien" movies!!! And the idea of pitting 80's movies against each other opens up some interesting opportunities! How about "Alien VS the Breakfast Club" or "Ferris Bueller VS the Predator." Now those are movies I'd pay to see!!! Expand
  45. PhillipR.
    Aug 15, 2004
    9
    I don't know what the critics problem is, although I think they are all ticked off that they didn't get to "pre-screen" the movie as such, which probably seems like a slap in the face to them. I don't know some of the other "user commenters" have against it but heres my take. I'm a huge fan of both franchises, and have been dieing for a movie like this since the tease I don't know what the critics problem is, although I think they are all ticked off that they didn't get to "pre-screen" the movie as such, which probably seems like a slap in the face to them. I don't know some of the other "user commenters" have against it but heres my take. I'm a huge fan of both franchises, and have been dieing for a movie like this since the tease in Predator 2, i've read all the books, quite a few of the comic books, and played the games. I went into this movie expecting a battle royale between Aliens and Predators, with a standard plot pulled up thrown in from one of the books. Thats exactly what I got, and I was a very pleased movie go when left, as were the 3 friends with me, and I'm planning to go see this movie again, thats how good it was for me. Expand
  46. ZeusPrime
    Aug 16, 2004
    8
    If you like action movies, and you like sci-fi movies, then I suggest you ignore all of the ridiculously over-critical reviews and see this movie. The plot is not dis-jointed, it is in fact pretty straightforward. Predators have been using humans to breed aliens for thousands of years so that they could engage in ritualistic combat. The Predators fire up an old training ground to peak the If you like action movies, and you like sci-fi movies, then I suggest you ignore all of the ridiculously over-critical reviews and see this movie. The plot is not dis-jointed, it is in fact pretty straightforward. Predators have been using humans to breed aliens for thousands of years so that they could engage in ritualistic combat. The Predators fire up an old training ground to peak the interest of some humans. THe humans come, release the aliens, a bunch of fighting occurs, good kind of prevails over evil. Roll the credits. Bottom line, the movie has some cool scenes, descent acting and not overly done special effects, ignore the idiots, er... I mean critics and go in to this movie expecting what you are going to get. A straight forward action flick with a strong dose of sci-fi mixed in... Expand
  47. MusashiM.
    Aug 16, 2004
    8
    This movie does exactly what it claims. The fight scenes between the aliens and predators are cool. This movie was better than I expected and it was not just a money-grabbing ripoff of cinematic two institutions.
  48. vermindeathstack
    Dec 30, 2005
    7
    Not as bad as I'd been led to believe. In fact, I quite enjoyed it. There wasn't all that gun-toting machismo you usually get in Predator films, and also in the later Alien movies. And neither did they insist on rolling out Sigourney Weaver's old bones and roping her into the plot somehow. It wasn't a shocker, but then again all the shocks have been wrung out of the Not as bad as I'd been led to believe. In fact, I quite enjoyed it. There wasn't all that gun-toting machismo you usually get in Predator films, and also in the later Alien movies. And neither did they insist on rolling out Sigourney Weaver's old bones and roping her into the plot somehow. It wasn't a shocker, but then again all the shocks have been wrung out of the Alien franchise. The predators were suitably beefy, the aliens dutifully slimy, and the humans just this side of stupid so as to be believable. It was a laugh, a mindless romp that had enough atmospherics and originality to lift it above Alien 3 and 4. And because it wasn't a testosterone-fuelled workout either, I liked it more than Arnie's Predator flick. But, if you Expand
  49. Phil889
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    Very good movie with good action and fun to watch!!!
  50. DaleK.
    Feb 21, 2005
    8
    I don't get what these reviewers are seeing? If I had seen this movie when I was a 10 year old I would have thought I had died and gone to heaven. This movie had aliens, it had predators, and the look and style was perfect. A great saturday night popcorn flic.
  51. JPCrysdale
    Feb 20, 2005
    9
    This was suprisingly awesome!!
  52. [Anonymous]
    Mar 8, 2005
    8
    The movie is about aliens and Predatos. If you aren't a fan of either than you might not appreciate the movie, but otherwise, if you like either alien or predator then this is a great movie. It is good ol' fun!
  53. SeanC.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    I dont understand what u guys are talking about.. Sloppy 1d characturs.. horrible acting.. He was simply give the fans wut they wanted a action pack Alien Versus Predator movie thats what the fans wanted so thats what Paul WS Anderson give to you i thought it was a great movie, me myself i'm a Predator fan, but the Alien and the predator fighting was a thrill to watch. I gave it a 10 I dont understand what u guys are talking about.. Sloppy 1d characturs.. horrible acting.. He was simply give the fans wut they wanted a action pack Alien Versus Predator movie thats what the fans wanted so thats what Paul WS Anderson give to you i thought it was a great movie, me myself i'm a Predator fan, but the Alien and the predator fighting was a thrill to watch. I gave it a 10 because I enjoyed the movie, and never listen to the critics are saying if u want to see a movie that intreses u go and watch it dont let other people tell u otherwise...Thanks Paul WS Anderson for a great movie! Expand
  54. CtownM.
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    Awesome, much better than I expected.
  55. TracyR.
    Aug 13, 2004
    8
    A fun movie...nothing brilliant, but nothing horrible either. It was a good date flick and it made me jump more than a few times. I'm a big fan of both Alien and Predator (well really only the first Predator) movies and seeing them battle on screen was well worth the 6.25 that I paid. Go see it if you want something fun to watch and you're not expecting a master work.
  56. MichaelB.
    Aug 14, 2004
    8
    I dont know if the critics walked in looking for oscer caliber acting or even a great story line but they are wrecking this movie!! They can all keep their "lost in translation" and "The girl in the pearl earrings" I will take this movie over a lot of the crap hollywood has put out in the last few months!!!
  57. RickyL
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    Lol i came into the movie not expecting much and i came out pretty pleased. it was pretty good mindless action and it was also kinda fun to see those two go at it. kinda silly but hey it was entertaining and half the audience at the end were laughing. i think this was the first - inter-racial-species dating movie lol. : turns around, flips dreadlocks to the side, walks triumphantly away Lol i came into the movie not expecting much and i came out pretty pleased. it was pretty good mindless action and it was also kinda fun to see those two go at it. kinda silly but hey it was entertaining and half the audience at the end were laughing. i think this was the first - inter-racial-species dating movie lol. : turns around, flips dreadlocks to the side, walks triumphantly away to spaceship: lololol. Expand
  58. JonH
    Aug 15, 2004
    7
    Entertaining and fast-paced. Very tight storyline, doesn't bore you with a crazy amount of detail. Just enough to move the story along. Far-fetched, but enjoyable none the less. Critics have it wrong saying this kind of movie will not revive the franchise...it isn't supposed to. Stand alone with lots of easter eggs from the storyline of both franchises. A great summer flick!
  59. TerryD.
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    If you're a fan of either series and/or a fan of Paul Anderson (the director/writer), you will LOVE this movie. If you're not, well you just won't get it, so don't see it. Geez.
  60. MikeS
    Aug 16, 2004
    7
    I liked this movie. The plot was a stretch but it kept me entertained till the end. The settings and the CGI was well done. It is a very simple movie and the story (for what it is worth) is told quite clearly. The emphasis is more on the action than on the script. This is a fun movie if you liked sci-fi monster movies.
  61. DrSteve
    Aug 21, 2004
    8
    I have to say I'm surprised by the low scores both the national reviewers and the Metacritic users gave this film. I'm a big fan of the Alien series and saw the Predator films once each. I enjoyed this film a great deal. It did not seem to me to undermine the premise of the Alien or Predator mythologies, as one reviewer complained. I thought the movie was reasonably fast-paced I have to say I'm surprised by the low scores both the national reviewers and the Metacritic users gave this film. I'm a big fan of the Alien series and saw the Predator films once each. I enjoyed this film a great deal. It did not seem to me to undermine the premise of the Alien or Predator mythologies, as one reviewer complained. I thought the movie was reasonably fast-paced and suspenseful. There were no major surprises, but who cares? The film was supposed to entertain, not challenge you to think. The only complaints I had were that some of the action shots were too up-close to see what was happeining very well, and, uh, it doesn't snow very much at all in Antarctica, guys. Too cold, not humid enough. Expand
  62. BrendanO
    Aug 29, 2004
    7
    It was a lot better than I expected. Put it that way. I was pleased with it, but there are clearly things on it which needed more work.
  63. DaveB.
    Feb 12, 2005
    7
    Those of u that gave this movie below a 5 let me ask u one question......what were you expecting? This movie was never going to be the next Schindler's List! I thought Alien 3 and 4 and Predator 2 were a heck of alot worse. Don't people go to movies just to escape and have fun anymore?
  64. JulianH.
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Best movie Ive ever seen.
  65. IanB
    May 13, 2005
    8
    I was honestly expecting much worse, given the flogging it got from the critics. I just saw it as a rental, and I'm almost sorry I didn't see it on the big screen. Sure, some parts were a bit silly, but I'm not one of these super sensitive freaks who is "offended" by the director not following the predecessors exactly right. A bit of directorial licence was taken (maybe a I was honestly expecting much worse, given the flogging it got from the critics. I just saw it as a rental, and I'm almost sorry I didn't see it on the big screen. Sure, some parts were a bit silly, but I'm not one of these super sensitive freaks who is "offended" by the director not following the predecessors exactly right. A bit of directorial licence was taken (maybe a bit too much) but it doesn't wreck the movie. Sure the blood glowed in this one (and didn't in the other movies), but really, who cares. It's not a huge big deal, and it certainly doesn't wreck the movie. It was a lot better than I thought it would be. It's a different movie than Alien, but then again, the Predator movies are a lot different than the Alien movies too. This was more like the Predator movies. Sorry if this offends the Alien purists who were hoping for another Ridley Scott film. I'm sure they are the ones who hated this movie the most. Expand
  66. Sam
    Aug 14, 2005
    7
    Like the humans in the beggining, I'm on neither of the regular readers sides, except for those that didn't hate it or love it. It's far from the best movie ever, and it's far from the worst. It's the ultimate time waster, and the ultimate in terms of crappy acting. It's no Batman Begins, but it's no Torque either.
  67. dee
    Nov 13, 2004
    9
    The movie has a pretty bad plot, but is one of the most entertaining movies I've seen in the past 10 years. It's simply a fun movie to see.
  68. Jan 29, 2014
    7
    Although it's not a classic or anything, Alien vs. Predator is still a whole lot of stupid, monster fighting fun. The movie even manages to add one really cool thing into the mythos. The film's maze-like pyramid is a great invention and has made some fun appearances in latter day videogames and fiction. Plus, If you can't enjoy the snowbound battle between the queen alien and predator thenAlthough it's not a classic or anything, Alien vs. Predator is still a whole lot of stupid, monster fighting fun. The movie even manages to add one really cool thing into the mythos. The film's maze-like pyramid is a great invention and has made some fun appearances in latter day videogames and fiction. Plus, If you can't enjoy the snowbound battle between the queen alien and predator then your inner child must be truly lost. Expand
  69. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    This has pretty much been butchered by fans of both franchises. Persobnally, I really enjoyed it. It had an interesting premise. Believable characters, great effects and some really cool action sequences. Granted is a bit corny in parts, and does go against canon a bit. Overall: As a standalone movie (forgetting the franchises completely) it is a good movie, and I do believe that is whatThis has pretty much been butchered by fans of both franchises. Persobnally, I really enjoyed it. It had an interesting premise. Believable characters, great effects and some really cool action sequences. Granted is a bit corny in parts, and does go against canon a bit. Overall: As a standalone movie (forgetting the franchises completely) it is a good movie, and I do believe that is what they were aiming at. Expand
  70. Apr 30, 2015
    7
    Just an all around good action flick, nothing more. The Predators' "human" interaction with the main character was well done and keeps you emotionally invested.
  71. Feb 20, 2013
    7
    Feels like a Classic, but it could've been better.
  72. Jun 13, 2015
    7
    Ok, this is a dumb movie. A very silly dumb action horror awesome fest of a movie. I mean, what the hell were you expecting? Of course, the acting is not perfect and the characters are disposable, but did anyone want deep characters in a film like this. Of course, I am taking points off for the completely rushed feeling plot line with little explanation, but for a monster on monster flick,Ok, this is a dumb movie. A very silly dumb action horror awesome fest of a movie. I mean, what the hell were you expecting? Of course, the acting is not perfect and the characters are disposable, but did anyone want deep characters in a film like this. Of course, I am taking points off for the completely rushed feeling plot line with little explanation, but for a monster on monster flick, it delivers fast paced intensity with just the right balance of gore and not so bad acting to not be sharknado. Get a few mates over and watch this over a bowl of popcorn, it'll be a blast. Expand
  73. Jan 11, 2015
    7
    Rewatched it recently in glorious BD and Its a surprisingly good movie. Good acting, ok story, some nice effects. Its great to see aliens and predators fighting it out.
  74. Jun 16, 2014
    7
    I really don't think this movie is as terrible as critics' consensus because i know lots of people who say the same thing after watching Prometheus and comparing it to this film. Paul W.S Anderson may be, without question, literally not a good director (The Three Musketeer, Resident Evil) but we can't deny his decent, brave effort as he tries to create a story in which mankind is stuck inI really don't think this movie is as terrible as critics' consensus because i know lots of people who say the same thing after watching Prometheus and comparing it to this film. Paul W.S Anderson may be, without question, literally not a good director (The Three Musketeer, Resident Evil) but we can't deny his decent, brave effort as he tries to create a story in which mankind is stuck in the middle of a collision between two most notorious species from outer space, and i personally believe that he partially succeeds, although there are still a lot to be done so that AVP: Alien vs. Predator can get any better. I give this movie 7, higher than Prometheus, 5. Expand
  75. Oct 27, 2014
    7
    The first part of Paul W.S. Anderson's Alien vs Predator leaves a sour taste in your mouth from bad acting and an absolutely absurd plot. But, when the bullets start flying and the predators and aliens are beating the hell out of each other, it is a really entertaining watch
  76. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Highly entertaining and re-watchable. As a fan of the AVP series I love seeing the idea come to life through live action. Great art designs and effects where the CGI really just adds to great miniatures and full scale animatronics and suits. Watching predators fight aliens... Gets better every time.
  77. Dec 19, 2014
    7
    Although the story is weak and the character development is sketchy, there is plenty of eye candy to behold. And the fight scenes are very good and well done. 7/10 (good)
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. A reductive spook show in which a bunch of puny humans get chased around by scary monsters.
  2. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    40
    The thing-a-ma-jigs have it out with the whatch-a-ma-call-its -- as several humans scurry and scream between -- in Alien Vs. Predator, the kind of two-for-one dogfight (last repped by "Freddy Vs. Jason") that usually does more to bury a franchise than revive it.
  3. It's a murky, empty-headed dive into the depths of the Antarctic and the heart of monster movie cliches that leaves you praying for most of the cast to get killed off fast, to put them (and us) out of our misery.