Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 25, 2007
4.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 347 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
113
Mixed:
83
Negative:
151
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JackKNov 13, 2009
This is a disgusting film. There is literally nothing good about it. When it is not in horribly bad taste, it is poorly acted, poorly shot, and poorly written. There must be a line somewhere, and I contend that featuring a monster injecting This is a disgusting film. There is literally nothing good about it. When it is not in horribly bad taste, it is poorly acted, poorly shot, and poorly written. There must be a line somewhere, and I contend that featuring a monster injecting eggs into a woman about to give birth, killing the woman, destroying her child, and hatching a brood of aliens is the kind of thing that should be censored. Whoever made this film is beyond hope and should be condemned. This is worse, and more corrosive, than the worst kind of pornography. Shame, too, on HBO for running this film! Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful
1
PeterN.Jan 1, 2008
Not only was this a bad Alien/Predator movie, it was bad as any movie. This movie makes "Highlander 3" look passable. I rate it a 1 merely because a zero might be taken to mean that there was no thought in my rating this movie. The acting Not only was this a bad Alien/Predator movie, it was bad as any movie. This movie makes "Highlander 3" look passable. I rate it a 1 merely because a zero might be taken to mean that there was no thought in my rating this movie. The acting was wooden, the action was ridiculous, the story was garbage. Many of the ideas stolen from the previous films are now clichés. AVPR could be aptly named "Alien Movie" and promoted in the "Scary Movie" franchise. I loved Alien & Aliens, and loved Predator as well. They were great movies by great directors. These directors knew that suspense is better created when you don't show the Aliens/Predator early in the movie. Why not make the audience wonder? Maybe build up the fear? As far as I'm concerned, only two Alien movies have ever been made, and only one Predator. This movie was bad on whole new levels. It didn't only get bad as it went on. One might go so far as to say that it was geometrically bad! It was bad in every direction at once, and every direction spilt into multiple new ways of badness, and so forth, and so forth. The only suspense keeping you in the theater was wondering how they could possibly make it worse! Don't worry! They can... and they did! There's no real way I could possibly convey how bad this is with words. You truly have to see it to understand. In terms of knowing a bad movie when you see one, this movie will destroy your innocence. As much as I love the first two Alien movies, and the first Predator movie, please Hollywood, please let this die now. There will NEVER be another Alien or Predator movie that can not only live up to the first ones, but that can overcome the embarrassment of this one. Please let these die. They have no dignity. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
1
EricFeb 3, 2008
An insult to both original I.P's and to the intelligence of everyone in the theater.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
0
PeterK.Jan 2, 2008
Pure garbage.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TroyT.Dec 30, 2007
This was a huge disappointment. I went in at least expecting military versus aliens, but I got a generic story of a bunch of teens caught in the middle of a slasher flick. This movie does a huge disservice to the the Aliens movies, Predator This was a huge disappointment. I went in at least expecting military versus aliens, but I got a generic story of a bunch of teens caught in the middle of a slasher flick. This movie does a huge disservice to the the Aliens movies, Predator movies, and Alien vs Predator comics. If you go into this expecting nothing more than gratuitous gore, you'll be as pleased as you can be, but this film doesn't come close to touching Aliens 2 or Predator. The Giger factor alone can't save this movie from awful pacing, laughable acting, predictable script and badly shot battles. This movie may well kill both franchises. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JamesMJan 6, 2008
This movie was just complete trash. The plot was as tired and predictable as the melodramatic acting (usually a pinch of Stanavslavski in main stream theatre works a treat but this was just excessive.) Watching this film was like riding a This movie was just complete trash. The plot was as tired and predictable as the melodramatic acting (usually a pinch of Stanavslavski in main stream theatre works a treat but this was just excessive.) Watching this film was like riding a wave of idiocy, bad cliques and overused archetypes for 86 wasted minutes, only to be spat on the shore feeling bored and angry to have wasted $11.50. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MorganK.Apr 19, 2008
A total failure - as a long time fan of both series I still approached this hesitantly, considering how terrible the first AvP was, but this somehow was even worse. All the scenes are dark to the point that all the events are muddied and A total failure - as a long time fan of both series I still approached this hesitantly, considering how terrible the first AvP was, but this somehow was even worse. All the scenes are dark to the point that all the events are muddied and nonsensical, the premise is terrible, more time is wasted on Friday the 13th teenagers in half-assed exposition than anything you're remotely interested in actually seeing. The worst, though, is that even if you weren't going to make a good movie, you could at least make a fun movie - this is neither: dull, stupid, nonsensical, boring, plodding, etc. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MarcoP.Jan 2, 2008
One of the worst movies I have seen in a long long time. Complete garbage from beginning to end. What should have been approached with a B-Movie mentality has been reduced to nothing more than another variation of the tired old 10 Little One of the worst movies I have seen in a long long time. Complete garbage from beginning to end. What should have been approached with a B-Movie mentality has been reduced to nothing more than another variation of the tired old 10 Little Indians plot device where everyone is being chased and killed off one by one wth no regard to character development or anything resembling a decent story. The plot is hackneyed, the acting is atrocious and the less said about the bad CGI effects, the better. Please don't waste your time watching this dreck. If you must, simply just stay at home, pop some popcorn and watch a DVD double feature of Aliens followed by the original Predator. The experience will be far better than experiencing this crap-fest plus you'll save 12 bucks in the process. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RyencokeDec 26, 2007
Do you all smoke crack? This was the worst movie of the year. Visuals are horrible. Acting was the worst I have ever seen in a theatrical film. So so bad in many ways. Everyone in the theater hated it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LelandG.Dec 27, 2007
Not even sure if there is anything good about this movie. Camera work was awful, the fight scene were shot way to close. Acting was brutal. And the story was poor. I spent most of the time laughing at this movie. The best part of this movie Not even sure if there is anything good about this movie. Camera work was awful, the fight scene were shot way to close. Acting was brutal. And the story was poor. I spent most of the time laughing at this movie. The best part of this movie was the end credits, when most the people in the theatre started booing! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JakeH.May 24, 2008
I'm usually a big fan of the Alien series and Predator series and the first AvP movie, I couldn't see a thing in this movie too hard to follow.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AlecODec 26, 2007
It is dull, boring and utterly ridiculous. I never understood how people can include these types of uncreative junk as a personal favourite movie of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MarkM.Dec 26, 2007
A franchise killer! I love all of the Alien movies. (Yes, even AvP.) This was the worst.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JaysonDDec 27, 2007
This was garbage all though the lone predator versus the Aliens was awesome it was still dumb.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ThomCDec 27, 2007
No. Seriously. Take a dump. It's better.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AndrewCDec 27, 2007
AVP 1 was much better. I was hoping they would work on some of AVP 1 shortcomings in this movie, but they did not work on any of them. They threw out all of the good aspects of AVP 1 and replaced them with all of the bad aspects to make this AVP 1 was much better. I was hoping they would work on some of AVP 1 shortcomings in this movie, but they did not work on any of them. They threw out all of the good aspects of AVP 1 and replaced them with all of the bad aspects to make this movie. I would barely consider this a Sci-Fi movie. It was more of a poorly written horror movie that happened to use Sci-Fi characters. This movie was a big letdown. AVP 1 had so much potential and I was hoping this movie would capitalize on that. It didn't even come close. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SpotSDec 25, 2007
If you have any -respect- for the Alien and the Predator franchises, then you will absolutely detest this movie. I actually almost walked out, and I am not the type to ever walk out on a movie. Dialog was cliche, plot was non-existent, and If you have any -respect- for the Alien and the Predator franchises, then you will absolutely detest this movie. I actually almost walked out, and I am not the type to ever walk out on a movie. Dialog was cliche, plot was non-existent, and they completely tore apart the established canon. You have been warned! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RyanG.Dec 26, 2007
I thought that it was impossible to make a follow up worse than Paul W.S. Anderson's Alien vs. Preadator, but bravo to the Strauss brothers for ruining my christmas.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DisappointedFanDec 26, 2007
The first thing I want to know is who are these FOX employees that are posting 8's 9's and 10's. Or to the individuals who are posting them, who is paying you? These fake posts are hilarious. I read one that says that this may The first thing I want to know is who are these FOX employees that are posting 8's 9's and 10's. Or to the individuals who are posting them, who is paying you? These fake posts are hilarious. I read one that says that this may be the best film of the year. Well, the reality is that this movie is a farce designed to milk the last pennies out of the franchise before it disappears forever. Once again I walked away from another ALIEN movie with my head hung low with disappointment. What a stinker of a movie. The first AvP was so much better and that is not sayinng much. Terrible acting and no plot development. There were even those cheesy lines that show up in every Predator movie. I thought the brothers Strause had enough sense to not do that. Guess I was wrong. One last thing, Greg and Colin, YOU'RE FU****NG FIRED!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TRuizDec 26, 2007
Listen, I was dissapointed in the 1st AVP movie that came out, because I thought that the director could have done so much more with such potential in these characters (the aliens/predators)...and I though it suffered from that "have to have Listen, I was dissapointed in the 1st AVP movie that came out, because I thought that the director could have done so much more with such potential in these characters (the aliens/predators)...and I though it suffered from that "have to have a heroine" syndrome, which was nothing like Ripley. However, having said that, AVP is an Academy Award Winner compared to this Horrific AVPR. I am a big Alines/Predator fan, so I know what I am saying here...it is not even worth the money to rent it, or even get it for free...in fact, it really messes up the images of both franchises ... why do they even let directors like this destroy such great SciFi material!? The human characters were not developed in any way, the story line moved Way Too Quick, yet it did nothing to develop the plot... it of course did not help the whole feel, the fact that all the events in the movie took place IN 24HOURS!... how the HELL does any Alien grow to full size and then some in that amount of time!? No Depth, Poor effects, Poor use of characters, no "emotional connection" with anything on screen - as corny as that sounds...people still loved Ripley! Just BAD...I want my money and time back...only redemed my $8 by sitting in on No Country for Old Men, or some such film...what I saw of it was Much Better by far! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
FrankR.Dec 29, 2007
Should not have been greenlighted. Horrible direction, acting, lighting, action sequences. If we notice one thing in the Alien franchise its that the bugs are resilient and resourceful. In this movie the acting is so bad you want the action Should not have been greenlighted. Horrible direction, acting, lighting, action sequences. If we notice one thing in the Alien franchise its that the bugs are resilient and resourceful. In this movie the acting is so bad you want the action to be good but the single Pred is an absolute killing machine wading through Aliens like they weren't even there. The PredAlien hybrid was a stupid idea and the AVPr vision of the character assured us of how stupid the idea was. The action scenes are all short. Like seconds long short and barely visible in the low light. A whole group of Army reserves get taken out in a 30 second long battle with the Aliens. First 4 movies plus AVP the humans are tough and resourceful enough to fight back on their own though they take heavy casualties. This time, on Earth, humans are weak, dumb, cowards. But one Pred saves the day. Hopefully the deus ex machina that puts 'Gunnison' out of its misery signals Fox's resolve to put this ill-conceived franchise marriage out of its misery. If the people who love the AvP movies want this marriage let them keep buying the comics and video games. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BuddP.Dec 29, 2007
This movie lead in only one category in 2007... the number of moments I said to myself "You've GOT to be kidding!?!?" This movie was complete DRECK.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SeriosityNov 18, 2012
One of the worst movies ever. The plot is preposterous, the characters are useless and ignored, and the dialogue could not be more uninteresting. Even the Alien and Predator parts are awful because of the terrible lighting. A complete abomination.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
AceIsCoolProAug 13, 2010
I don't think it's really good. First off some of the actors sucked. Second off there should have been atleast 3 predators. Third off the Predator shouldn't have been the main species and look like a hero. Though Pred is better than alien inI don't think it's really good. First off some of the actors sucked. Second off there should have been atleast 3 predators. Third off the Predator shouldn't have been the main species and look like a hero. Though Pred is better than alien in my mind. The only good thing for the movie was that the pred got back on the aliens after avp 2004. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
UndeadKing1231Jan 4, 2014
I liked AVP, but AVPR was just terrible. Everything is so dark you can't see anything. The acting is pretty bad. It is really dull in the beginning. The ending is terrible, and it creates plot holes in the Alien series. It felt like AlienI liked AVP, but AVPR was just terrible. Everything is so dark you can't see anything. The acting is pretty bad. It is really dull in the beginning. The ending is terrible, and it creates plot holes in the Alien series. It felt like Alien Fanfiction that happened to feature a Predator. There is a lot more I could point out, but I will leave it at this. If you are like me, one of the few people who enjoyed Alien vs Predator, and loves the Alien and Predator franchise, don't see this movie, it is bad. The only good thing this movie had going for it was the Predator. The Predator in this movie is probably my favorite Predator, but he felt like a side note. Only showing up occasionally to justify the movie title. So aside from a badass Predator, a couple decent fight scenes, and a cool fight between army members and aliens, this movie is just plain BAD. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
OoshFeb 6, 2008
What a load of garbage, cliched in the extreme, terrible pacing, it's not even so bad it's funny. It's just plain bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KipMay 1, 2008
Too dark. Too Dark. TOO DARK! I generally cut films like this a lot of slack...but at least let us see what the heck is going on!!! I have the movie paused randomly as I write and the screen is 90% black with a about 8% dark blue, and 2% Too dark. Too Dark. TOO DARK! I generally cut films like this a lot of slack...but at least let us see what the heck is going on!!! I have the movie paused randomly as I write and the screen is 90% black with a about 8% dark blue, and 2% blue....I mean come on! I really wanted to like this, but geesh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AbilashPDec 28, 2007
It was such a typical story and the storyline itself was quite shallow... though its action scenes pretty good but over all it was quite a downer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LeeC.Jan 28, 2008
Horrible horrible waste. bad acting, bad lighting and bad direction. the only good thing in this is they got the predator looking better than the first one. cutting from an alien fight to a soap opera what were they thinking. I didn't Horrible horrible waste. bad acting, bad lighting and bad direction. the only good thing in this is they got the predator looking better than the first one. cutting from an alien fight to a soap opera what were they thinking. I didn't care about any of these people and didn't care when they died. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
vahndDJan 8, 2008
Junk movie. I almost slept when I watched it. Good character the mix dna of alien and predator. I'd like to buy the action figure one
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ArthurAAApr 30, 2008
Tries to be as good as first.. fails Trys to be scary.. fails Good acting.. fails Crap ending.. success!! This movie is terrible, I actually started to surf the internet while it was on because it was so boring, earns 2/10 from me because of Tries to be as good as first.. fails Trys to be scary.. fails Good acting.. fails Crap ending.. success!! This movie is terrible, I actually started to surf the internet while it was on because it was so boring, earns 2/10 from me because of the average effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TashaS.May 4, 2008
This movie sucks. Bad animation, not scary at all. The gore isn't gory enough, and the humans get in the way. A sequel that didn't even need to exist. Requiem truly 'wrecks' the idea of these characters being used. Steer This movie sucks. Bad animation, not scary at all. The gore isn't gory enough, and the humans get in the way. A sequel that didn't even need to exist. Requiem truly 'wrecks' the idea of these characters being used. Steer clear from this one people, you have been warned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChadS.Jan 1, 2008
"Alien vs. Predator: Requiem" reminds me of Mel Brooks' "Blazing Saddles" when the fourth wall was broken and the diegesis (in the case of the 1974 comedy classic, the film world of the old west) spilled over into other movie sets. The "Alien vs. Predator: Requiem" reminds me of Mel Brooks' "Blazing Saddles" when the fourth wall was broken and the diegesis (in the case of the 1974 comedy classic, the film world of the old west) spilled over into other movie sets. The cowboys fought among themselves, but soon found themselves knocking out the extraneous bystanders. That's exactly what "AVPR" is like. The aliens from "Alien" and the creature from "Predator" are interrupting another movie already in progress(take your pick: a teen romance or a domestic drama) as their personal agenda gets sidetracked by those pesky humans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichP.Jan 22, 2008
Awful in literally every department. The cast are abysmal and none of them seem destined for anything other than the career highlight of maybe making it as a patient on ER. The effects are appalling. Everything looks cheap and nasty. The Awful in literally every department. The cast are abysmal and none of them seem destined for anything other than the career highlight of maybe making it as a patient on ER. The effects are appalling. Everything looks cheap and nasty. The story is just completely rubbish and makes AvP1 look decent and cohesive. Everything is underlit so you can never quite see what is happening in the action sequences which is just as well as these are the most obviously rubber-suited aliens ever. As a fan of all four Alien and both Predator movies I found this film to be offensively poor. Thankfully I was too bored to really get angry about it. Utter trash. Worst film of the last ten years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelR.Jan 29, 2008
This is a putrid pile of festering remains of an animal that should never have been born. It smells so bad you could send it to the west bank and everyone would evacuate. It is an insult to the first two films in the way that George Bush is This is a putrid pile of festering remains of an animal that should never have been born. It smells so bad you could send it to the west bank and everyone would evacuate. It is an insult to the first two films in the way that George Bush is an insult to George Washington. The effects are something my kid sister would create if left alone with MS Paint for half an hour. The acting is horrible in a way that would make Brecht want to re-erect the third wall for fear of the cast's safety. I don't know enough foul words to describe this rancid mess. I would rather iron out the wrinkles in my foreskin with an industrial suit press than watch this movie again. If you have a couple hours to spare and nothing but this movie to watch - kill yourself. Seriously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DrewFJan 7, 2008
Let me get this out of the way. I actually ENJOYED the first AvP. It was stupid, yes, but at least it was entertaining and fairly well-constructed. The same cannot be said for it's sequel. I know alot of people are saying "You Let me get this out of the way. I actually ENJOYED the first AvP. It was stupid, yes, but at least it was entertaining and fairly well-constructed. The same cannot be said for it's sequel. I know alot of people are saying "You don't go into Aliens/Predator expecting good acting"..Why not? Pretty much ALL of the previous films HAD GOOD ACTING!!! This one did not...And the action sequences were filmed with no lights on...And the storyline just recycles every plot from any of the previous films, but much much more poorly...and the blond chick doesn't even get naked in an R-rated movie.. I mean, that says it all right there,doesn't it? Avoid at all cost. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdrianH.Feb 13, 2008
One easy way to wreck two things i love in one hit . Avp was bad but had its good points, Avpr finishes what it started totally corrupting the brand to the point that may as well based it in dawsens creek . come on fox forget love One easy way to wreck two things i love in one hit . Avp was bad but had its good points, Avpr finishes what it started totally corrupting the brand to the point that may as well based it in dawsens creek . come on fox forget love story's, kids getting bullied, bad boys and good cops Aliens and predators is what we want , thats what it is called that is what u should give us . A very #### off fan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HerbieHuskerFeb 19, 2008
Yawn...Same as the 1st one. Would of kicked butt if they has brought an army of predators down instead of 1 x cleanup guy
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NKFeb 3, 2008
The worst film I have ever seen, and I am a huge fan of the Alien series. It's so bad it's just beyond comprehension.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SteveKApr 19, 2008
Just watched this movie on DVD. Seriously, what is UP with filming movies in the DARK these days ?!!! This whole movie was basically action that you had to squint to "try" to see, because the scenes were SO DARK that you could barely make Just watched this movie on DVD. Seriously, what is UP with filming movies in the DARK these days ?!!! This whole movie was basically action that you had to squint to "try" to see, because the scenes were SO DARK that you could barely make out what was what. Did they blow their CGI budget and have to conserve on light bulbs ? Terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WordyWordwordMay 29, 2008
The only point it gains from me is for its explosions, pretty. Other than that its a pretty repetitive and boring show of how to kill humans, oh, with the odd contrived attempt at shock value (maternity ward scene). All in all a disgrace to The only point it gains from me is for its explosions, pretty. Other than that its a pretty repetitive and boring show of how to kill humans, oh, with the odd contrived attempt at shock value (maternity ward scene). All in all a disgrace to the franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
hellogoodbyeMay 3, 2008
The movie is so dark I didnt even know the black guy got killed. I laughed out loud at the last scene, it made no sense at all. Who was that lady does she mean anything to anyone? Awfulf title as well, avp: requiem? Doesnt requim mean end? The movie is so dark I didnt even know the black guy got killed. I laughed out loud at the last scene, it made no sense at all. Who was that lady does she mean anything to anyone? Awfulf title as well, avp: requiem? Doesnt requim mean end? Just appaling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MichaelW.Aug 12, 2009
Whilst the first movie may have proved to be a fun and entertaining guilty pleasure, this film can't even be that. We are given a poor plot, no characterisation and shameful cgi. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NickK.Dec 26, 2007
Pure, pulp crap. Nothing worse, nothing better, just that: glorified escapism.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KarlBDec 27, 2007
Worst movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndrewA.Jan 22, 2008
Rather than compare this to the previous Aliens vs Predator Movie, I thought back to the first Predator film and Alien. Against those films, this has nothing new to offer except the ability to overlook the menace and horror of the originals. Rather than compare this to the previous Aliens vs Predator Movie, I thought back to the first Predator film and Alien. Against those films, this has nothing new to offer except the ability to overlook the menace and horror of the originals. The first Alien film had characters you sympathized with before it killed them off, this film just introduces characters as fodder. There were some truly gruesome concepts in this film, such as what happens to the women in the hospital. You could have made a whole movie about that scene that would give people nightmares for years. Instead it's a 2 minute segment that can be completely overlooked as it has no real relevance to the plot. Also, the way the Predator used one guy as bait for the Aliens was an interesting way of proving the enemy of my enemy is not necessarily my friend. But this was again not developed well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
StephenD.Feb 11, 2008
Sometimes you can give a film the benefit of the doubt (Alien Resurrection) sometimes you cannot (AVP) but never can you let a film as genuinely bad as AVPR get away with destroying what was once a magical franchise. If you thought AVP had Sometimes you can give a film the benefit of the doubt (Alien Resurrection) sometimes you cannot (AVP) but never can you let a film as genuinely bad as AVPR get away with destroying what was once a magical franchise. If you thought AVP had fallen on its face then AVPR has rolled over and tumbled off a cliff. There seems to be an obsession now in these later films to pointlessly reference previous films ( the heroes name, quotes, even the sound of aliens getting shot sound exactly the same as they do in Aliens yawn yawn) I half expected Jones the cat to walk around the corner. The brothers Strauss have gone for the shock everyone into being scared tactics in this film but it just doesn't work. We already know how evil Aliens are we really don't need to see what would happen if one would accidentally wander into a maternity ward. But sadly what it did prove is that the talentless directors have not got the ability to create either the chilling atmosphere of Alien or the thrilling action of Aliens. You won't care about the characters you'll be sticking up for the away team if you can stick around at all. Predator 3 would have been more ambitious and the film wouldn't even require a human presence. Unfortunately the film will make money and there will be talk of a third this is not a continuation of a franchise its the film industry bursting out from the chest of all the paying public and that is genuinely stomach churning Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PaulApr 14, 2008
I'm an idiot - so I liked this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrianD.Apr 17, 2008
I saw last year on IGN that James Cameron was interested to bring Aliens to a new level and started to write some stuff with Ridley Scott for an Aliens 5 which they showed to FOX. The stupid smart ass at fox preferred to work on A VS P with I saw last year on IGN that James Cameron was interested to bring Aliens to a new level and started to write some stuff with Ridley Scott for an Aliens 5 which they showed to FOX. The stupid smart ass at fox preferred to work on A VS P with a no name director..... i don't know who took that decision at FOX but he should be fired right away. Fox president should call back Cameron, apologize and ask him to continue his work on a sequel! A VS P R is simply a very bad movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AmyDec 29, 2007
DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME !!!!!!!!!!!!!! This so called movie is so bad I gave it a 0, only wishing I could of given it a -10. You will waste $$ by watching it but more important is that you will lose about 80min from your life that you can DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME !!!!!!!!!!!!!! This so called movie is so bad I gave it a 0, only wishing I could of given it a -10. You will waste $$ by watching it but more important is that you will lose about 80min from your life that you can NEVER get back. Avoid at all cost ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NeilB.Dec 29, 2007
If this movie truly entertains you... then you are easily entertained. How can something with so much potential be just so plain BAD?!?!? I want that 84 minutes of my life back!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EllenS.Dec 29, 2007
Dumb movie. Lame storyline; action sequences just fair, although tension built occasionally. No sacred cows here: the aliens attack kids and pregnant women; if that sort of thing bothers you, stay away. Actually, if lousy filmmaking bothers Dumb movie. Lame storyline; action sequences just fair, although tension built occasionally. No sacred cows here: the aliens attack kids and pregnant women; if that sort of thing bothers you, stay away. Actually, if lousy filmmaking bothers you, you should probably stay away. Bit of good news: the characters are all archetypes (ex-con trying to get straight, teen age loser in love with popular girl; she has a heart of gold) so you don't need much character development. Also the Predator has some cool dreadlocks, which help identify him in the action scenes. Question for geeks: there seems to be a time issue here -- this film takes place around now, in 2007, but Ripley fought Aliens well into the future (3007?). So, when did these creatures evolve, really? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MCDec 31, 2007
I agree with T Ruiz about how does an alien grow to full size in a day? I actually kink of liked the first AVP even though it wasn't scary at all. AVPR is where it all credibility has been lost. There is not one scary moment is this I agree with T Ruiz about how does an alien grow to full size in a day? I actually kink of liked the first AVP even though it wasn't scary at all. AVPR is where it all credibility has been lost. There is not one scary moment is this film. Once that happens in a franchise, it has become just another Nightmare on Elm Street or Friday the 13th. It's just something to walk out on or just sit there and laugh at it just like I did. The movie is too dark and now that the Aliens are Predator hybrids, dreads and all, most of the time you can't tell which ones are attacking the humans. The same goes for the fight scene in which it was hard to tell which is the alien and which is the predator. The scenes where the baby aliens bust out of the human chests is now worn out and has lost it's shock value. The quivering mouth of the Alien before every kill is also a joke. How many times do they need to show that? The human characters are boring and I kind of wished they would all die. This movie had alot of potential but obviously there were no original ideas left. I know now that if they make a AVP3, I'm not going. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
asylumspadezNov 19, 2011
It was more scarier and a bit more suspensful then the previous film but it still sucked pretty hard. The entire plot wasnt even worth paying attention to, The acting wasnt that good either, and once again there was pretty much noIt was more scarier and a bit more suspensful then the previous film but it still sucked pretty hard. The entire plot wasnt even worth paying attention to, The acting wasnt that good either, and once again there was pretty much no confrontations between the PredAlien (the main villian) and Predators. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HyliadOct 7, 2011
The first AvP was verry, verry bad. But this one makes a real performance, by being most bad. Nothing to say, just don't watch it. It's boring, not entertaining... Hollywood style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
ZilcellMay 25, 2012
It is simply not passable for multiple reasons. There is no story, the acting is ass, zero character development, bad lighting, and it overall just looks really cheap and just plain boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
pauljohnsonNov 24, 2011
This film makes its predecessor look watchable. We have all of the same problems as the last film, but here they are amplified. We have more zero-dimensional dialogue vessels for characters that hold your attention for less time than theThis film makes its predecessor look watchable. We have all of the same problems as the last film, but here they are amplified. We have more zero-dimensional dialogue vessels for characters that hold your attention for less time than the dullest political speech, the story is trash and there are several wasted opportunities, especially with the Alien-Predator hybrid, downgraded to a glorified Facehugger. The cinematography is atrocious, just as in the last movie, the director and DoP here don't know how to set up a shot. The fights are dull, but they are a mediocre improvement over the previous movie. As for the homages - I don't want to watch a film that shows how much the director enjoyed the previous alien and predator franchises.
I don't mind the odd casual homage here and there in any art form, but the amount of homages in this thing is shameless, almost as if the director has some sort of subconscious hope that if we see the things we liked in the classics we will like his film also.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
PrimalHunter70Feb 18, 2012
Why would you make a bad sequel to a bad movie? AVP2 is a lame gore fest with poor acting, literally NO story and really fake special effects. Not worth the cost of renting it, just don't bother. Maybe someday we will get a newWhy would you make a bad sequel to a bad movie? AVP2 is a lame gore fest with poor acting, literally NO story and really fake special effects. Not worth the cost of renting it, just don't bother. Maybe someday we will get a new Alien/Predator flick that is worthy of the original films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
raidetJun 8, 2012
I'm not exaggerating when I say I truly believe the creators of this movie should be taken into a yard and shot. All I'll say is that aliens chase teens through a high school. I couldn't believe what I was seeing - the Alien franchise reducedI'm not exaggerating when I say I truly believe the creators of this movie should be taken into a yard and shot. All I'll say is that aliens chase teens through a high school. I couldn't believe what I was seeing - the Alien franchise reduced to this. Disgusting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
flopygilopyMar 23, 2012
Pure crap- this movie should be twice as good as other movies because its got both aliens and predators in it but the story line makes no sense
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Trev29Aug 3, 2013
Supremely stupid. This is so distasteful The entire concept is disgusting on every level. The entire cast and crew must have been desperate to have participated in this garbage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
PeterAprilJun 14, 2012
Insultin for every fab of alin or predator characters. 9 year old would write a better story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
jbully95Oct 8, 2012
Too dark, this one has the opposite problem of the first one, loads of action, violence and aliens but no plot. Plus the writer must have forgot that aliens are actually really strong and smart because this movie makes them look stupid andToo dark, this one has the opposite problem of the first one, loads of action, violence and aliens but no plot. Plus the writer must have forgot that aliens are actually really strong and smart because this movie makes them look stupid and weak. Almost enough to not call them dangerous. It's a shame, was hoping for something better than that garbage. You're better off sticking with the games and comics until some bright spark realises that maybe they should just stop insulting both franchises and stop making these films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Rox22Mar 17, 2013
Just absolute garbage. The effects and alien/predator designs are perhaps it's only saving graces, but even they are hampered by bad camera work poor lighting, abysmal editing and above all totally crappy directing. The actors are allJust absolute garbage. The effects and alien/predator designs are perhaps it's only saving graces, but even they are hampered by bad camera work poor lighting, abysmal editing and above all totally crappy directing. The actors are all mediocre. Then again, none of them are really that seasoned to expect too much out of them, so I guess they probably were doing what they were told to and doing it the best they could. Overall: If this was any other franchise I might have called it a kitch sci-fi horror. But this is just a poorly made movie design to cash in on its franchise names. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
JBreezeDec 28, 2012
Not as good as first AVP, which was mediocre at best even to a fan of either franchises. I personally thought the violence on children and a pregnant woman crossed the line. Especially for a movie of little substance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
contactgbobJul 21, 2013
just no this movie should never have existed its all just awful just why the story makes no sense the acting is crap there are no colonial marines its all just complete crap
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Tessara_VejganJan 11, 2015
The sequel to the first movie and not a very good one. Rewatched it recently on BD Everything is so f****** dark and you can barely see anything. Lame story, bad actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
varnrOct 13, 2013
AVP1 was really good. This AVPR was one of the worst movie ever. This film mocks Alien and Predator. Fan deserves better. I knew what was gonna happen in the movie. This is just a torching movie. bad stories, bad humor, bad remarks, badAVP1 was really good. This AVPR was one of the worst movie ever. This film mocks Alien and Predator. Fan deserves better. I knew what was gonna happen in the movie. This is just a torching movie. bad stories, bad humor, bad remarks, bad actions. many scene were too dark to understand what the heck was going on. Don't waste your time watching this awful movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AdrianChanJul 27, 2014
The movie may offer a lot of action, but since the lighting in this movie sucks, I can't see sh*t. Biased to Predators again like the first one. I am not satisfy with the acting and there is literally no story for this movie at all. Alien andThe movie may offer a lot of action, but since the lighting in this movie sucks, I can't see sh*t. Biased to Predators again like the first one. I am not satisfy with the acting and there is literally no story for this movie at all. Alien and Predator is the best cross over I have ever seen, but both Requiem and its predecessor fail to become an excellent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Le__XenomorphDec 29, 2014
Laughably bad acting and an excessive amount of murky lighting send this film down to one of the worst movies of all time. Sorry to say that the fight scenes did not save this one. 2/10 (Horrible)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
Ho, ho, ho - the joke's on anyone who pays to see this. Twentieth Century Fox has left movie-goers a steaming turd under the Christmas tree. Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (which will hereafter be called by its "clever" marketing moniker, AVPR,Ho, ho, ho - the joke's on anyone who pays to see this. Twentieth Century Fox has left movie-goers a steaming turd under the Christmas tree. Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (which will hereafter be called by its "clever" marketing moniker, AVPR, since that requires less typing) is the pointless and unnecessary sequel to the equally pointless and unnecessary original, Aliens vs. Predator. Without going into gory details about how this spin-off series has eviscerated the creatures from which its title is derived, suffice it to say that it's harder to think of a bigger comedown for the monsters of Alien, Aliens, and Predator than this.

As a film critic, I should know what to expect from a movie that has not been shown beforehand to members of my profession, but hope springs eternal. The "no screenings" policy is a tacit warning from the studio that the movie stinks but the suits who greenlighted it agree with P.T. Barnum that there's a sucker born every minute. The target audience is comprised of those who like a lot of mindless action and gore, are indifferent to plot, and care even less about characters. In short, AVPR is being pitched at teenage boys, who (theoretically) can't get in because the movie has avoided the self-neutering necessary to obtain a PG-13 (something its predecessor did). Based on a cursory glance around the nearly empty auditorium where I saw the film, not a lot of teenage boys were making the effort to sneak in.

Going into AVPR, I found myself wondering if there was any way the sequel could outdo the original in terms of creative bankruptcy, tedious "action", and overall awfulness. This is one of many times when I have underestimated Hollywood. Of course the filmmakers found a way to top the first movie - that's what second installments are for. Every jagged edge has been made serrated, every plot hole has been widened, and every sleep inducing chase-and-kill scene has been dosed with a tranquilizer. There are copious amounts of blood and gore, but Sweeney Todd does this sort of thing better.

For a movie called Aliens vs. Predator, there's not a lot of "versus" going on. There are some cursory fights but they happen so quickly and in such poor light that there's little hope of figuring out what's going on. The climactic battle royale is about as disappointing as can be and requires a deus ex machina to wrap things up. Humans get killed along the way, but they're just distractions and diversions. The movie also has an unforgivable sadistic streak. There's a scene in which a little boy watches his father die then has an alien explode out of his chest. Later, the hybrid invades a hospital and takes out a bunch of pregnant women in a gory and unspeakable fashion. These scenes aren't shocking or scary, they're just sickening.

I can't figure out who might appreciate this movie. Those who are expecting to sit back, stop thinking, and watch cool wall-to-wall battles are going to be disappointed. Those who yearn for a movie to recapture the long-lost horror and glory of the original creatures are going to be borderline suicidal. And those who merely want to see a good movie will be demanding their money back before the pizza delivery boy gets his ass kicked at the house of the gorgeous blond.

Simply put, AVPR is trash.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews