Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 25, 2007
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 364 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
114
Mixed:
89
Negative:
161
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Meth-dudeFeb 22, 2016
The acting was not really good and the CGI effects were bad but, on the bright side, there was more blood.Finally! It just wants to be a mindless popcorn action/horror flick and, in my opinion, it's doing it just fine.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Andy92Sep 12, 2010
i admit this movie does not show any kind promising story however it delivers a lot in terms of action and it also delivers in restoring the original qualities of the famous alien species. the movie does fail in terms of acting and lightingi admit this movie does not show any kind promising story however it delivers a lot in terms of action and it also delivers in restoring the original qualities of the famous alien species. the movie does fail in terms of acting and lighting which had a big impact on the entertainment however it was a decent attempt Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
Solo_Guy97Mar 24, 2014
Alright, we all know that this new series we all know as "AVP" hasn't been that hot. But what we should take into consideration is that this new series isn't supposed to be a remake of "Alien" or "Predator." Simply put out, judge it by theAlright, we all know that this new series we all know as "AVP" hasn't been that hot. But what we should take into consideration is that this new series isn't supposed to be a remake of "Alien" or "Predator." Simply put out, judge it by the new storyline they have in place rather than trying to put the old one back in to place. It's a good movie on its own terms, yes it's a little bit cheaply made, but that's because of the budget they had access to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HBTBNov 4, 2014
This movie is incredibly stupid. But that's what I love about it. The Predator is the most badass representation I've seen and the Predalien was badass as well. (Skip the Human parts though, just watch the Predator/Alien story. It's not that bad)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IanH.Jan 2, 2008
Just what I wanted action, violance, a few good scares so what of the acting if your looking for gone with the wind go somewhere else if anything make a third movie with no humans at all just aliens and preditors killing at each other for 90 Just what I wanted action, violance, a few good scares so what of the acting if your looking for gone with the wind go somewhere else if anything make a third movie with no humans at all just aliens and preditors killing at each other for 90 minutes with tons of scares and vioance. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
CharlesX.Jan 5, 2008
With all the positive/negative criticism floating about, perhaps it's time I offered a small quote from James Rolfe (aka Angry Video Game Nerd) when he reviewed 'Spider-man 3'. You might think it's off the topic, but what With all the positive/negative criticism floating about, perhaps it's time I offered a small quote from James Rolfe (aka Angry Video Game Nerd) when he reviewed 'Spider-man 3'. You might think it's off the topic, but what he says here might very well reflect how audiences are treating 'AVP:R'. Have a read: "No big blockbuster movie is immune to this. People like to complain. And believe me, I know all about that. When I play the Angry Video Game Nerd, I rip apart all kinds of games based on any flaws that I can find. Except I do it for the sake of entertainment. In the same way, critics and fans are picking 'Spider-man 3' to death. So you can either choose to be critical or not. Here's a question: say we cut out all those little annoying parts in the movie. Every flaw that's ever been commented on, we handle the villains differently, the sub-plots get removed or changed...anything, you name it. What will happen then? Will everybody be pleased? No. People will still find more things to dwell on. And no matter what the outcome is, every movie like this will be treated with mixed reactions. I can relate to the fact that it's impossible to please everyone." Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
smiffyApr 1, 2008
If this is as good as the first one it is sure to be a big hit. There is always somewhere where movies go over the line. There could be hundreds & hundreds of avp movies & i honestly gotta tell you i think that they would be great. I am a If this is as good as the first one it is sure to be a big hit. There is always somewhere where movies go over the line. There could be hundreds & hundreds of avp movies & i honestly gotta tell you i think that they would be great. I am a fan of the ailien movies & the predetor 1's . So yeah if this goes off as well as the first one it will be awsome. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PhilipJul 30, 2008
I enjoyed this movie, with those good special effects and all.. Well, looks like the whole world hates this movie, but I am one of the scarce fans who hope for AvP3.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RyanB.Jan 10, 2008
alright but the predator was over powered the predalien was cool and logical similar to the dog alien in alien 3 taking traits of the host species and that but why did seem bullet proof the most violent alien or predator movie so far the end alright but the predator was over powered the predalien was cool and logical similar to the dog alien in alien 3 taking traits of the host species and that but why did seem bullet proof the most violent alien or predator movie so far the end was very bizarre. and to the people who think it sucks you clearly did not understand the premise behind the movie two alien killing machines fighting and your like omg no charactor development it sucks Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilippeC.Jan 21, 2008
I am from Brazil, and i like this movie,with a weak story, but with many action. This a really blockbuster film to see every morning in my house. Good Movie. Good Movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BrookP.Dec 5, 2008
What on earth are you people thinking when you rate these films on the story. what are you expecting when you rent out or see a movie called aliens vs predator lol? sounds to me like your just in way too deep. Relax and enjoy a bloody fun movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
WilliamC.Jan 2, 2008
Who gives a sh.t about the storyline and stuffs. I only paid to watch those 2 creatures fight and thats what I got in this movie anyways. And if u play the videogame too, you would enjoy it much much more like I do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SalJan 30, 2008
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JarrodLJan 5, 2008
Far better than the first AVP. Rather than crafting a pg-13 letdown, this had the action and the violence that people expect when these 2 come together, and a bit less cheese. Not sure why so many people hate it, its better than Predator 2, Far better than the first AVP. Rather than crafting a pg-13 letdown, this had the action and the violence that people expect when these 2 come together, and a bit less cheese. Not sure why so many people hate it, its better than Predator 2, or Aliens 3 for that matter. Watching the predator hunt was cool, and the pred-alien, while a bit of a gimmick was still fun. Would have liked to see more of prdator homeworld and culture, but oh well. For the people that said this is more horror than sci-fi, well it took place on Earth, not in space. I thought this movie was less contained to set than previous entries.. and looked good for being rubber suits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShatananshnashaJan 6, 2008
Mindless entertainment. I was in the right mood when I saw this movie, so it wasn't even that bad!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
KentCJan 9, 2008
Much better than the first AVP, which fell flat due to the PG-13 rating, both films were meant to be R rated. It did have some pointless, boring, and stupid dialogue, but that's to be expected. Decent acting by the adults, but the Much better than the first AVP, which fell flat due to the PG-13 rating, both films were meant to be R rated. It did have some pointless, boring, and stupid dialogue, but that's to be expected. Decent acting by the adults, but the younger actors, with the exception of Steven Pasquale and Johnny Lewis who did pretty well, were terrible. At times I actually felt bad for the people who died, which almost never happens in horror movies for me. These movies would be much better with less emphasis on the humans and more emphasis on the aliens and predators. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KanakoJ.Feb 2, 2008
I'm a big fan of the Alien series, and I feel that AVP 2 is about the best sequel they could have made. There are a lot more humans-on-aliens battles, and they certainly don't spare the bullets. It's super gory in the old I'm a big fan of the Alien series, and I feel that AVP 2 is about the best sequel they could have made. There are a lot more humans-on-aliens battles, and they certainly don't spare the bullets. It's super gory in the old traditions of the series, and much less watered down than Paul Anderson's vision. For fans of the franchises, this is a very enjoyable movie that has lots of cool, mindless fun. For those who don't like monster movies, or desperately need depth or intelligence in their filmic endeavors might want to steer clear. I, however, have loved these creatures since I was a kid and I say this a good addition to the series. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
NateFeb 4, 2008
Why do people want to care about the characters? Why do people care about the acting?This movie is pure nonsense but that is what was intended. With a title like Aliens vs Predator: Requiem, what are people expecting? This movie is just a Why do people want to care about the characters? Why do people care about the acting?This movie is pure nonsense but that is what was intended. With a title like Aliens vs Predator: Requiem, what are people expecting? This movie is just a way for fans of these two iconic movie creatures to see them tearing lumps out of each other and the rest is filler. I didn't care about the acting or the script or any of that...just switch off and enjoy a bit of quality action violence. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MattBApr 2, 2008
I personally don't see what people hate about this film. Is it a masterpiece? No. Is it better than the Alien and Predator films? Sorta....if you count Alien Resurrection. Is it better than the first AvP film? HELL YES. It's a I personally don't see what people hate about this film. Is it a masterpiece? No. Is it better than the Alien and Predator films? Sorta....if you count Alien Resurrection. Is it better than the first AvP film? HELL YES. It's a great action romp. Mindless fun. I think critics keep basing their reviews on each film being the next great Citizen Cane. This film is quite enjoyable, and, in my opinion, a great addition to the franchise! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SeanCMar 14, 2009
It was a good movie. Non stop action and a few scares. The fight sequences were well executed maybe slightly dark with a good scene involving the national guard and another good scene with the predator fighting the aliens in the hospital
0 of 3 users found this helpful
7
JakobMar 8, 2009
I am a big fan of all the alien and predator movies, i liked this movie. I really wanted this movie to be great but the directors made the movie cheap and maybe that's why it got dark, to hide they mistakes. I also think they rushedI am a big fan of all the alien and predator movies, i liked this movie. I really wanted this movie to be great but the directors made the movie cheap and maybe that's why it got dark, to hide they mistakes. I also think they rushed through the movie, if they ever make a third i hope it will astonish the fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WilliamTJul 23, 2009
If you're looking for a movie that you can just sit down and watch and have lots of gory fun while doing so, then look no further than AVP2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Dec 20, 2007
I saw this movie last year and it rocks. It's so much better than the first one. Like 5 times better, maybe even 6. I can't wait to see it in the theater!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
VektaDec 26, 2007
Amazing. Intense, exciting massacre from start to finish. Effects and action sequences were some of top notch. Also a movie that ranks high with a huige death count, all throughout someone is dieing. Awesome sequel. Extremely Recommended.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
NickBDec 26, 2007
Saw it Xmas day. Great monster movie. It lacked depth for the poor human characters who were beings laughtered left and right, but we all know this movie's real star was the Predator and his hunt to contain an alien infestation, so Saw it Xmas day. Great monster movie. It lacked depth for the poor human characters who were beings laughtered left and right, but we all know this movie's real star was the Predator and his hunt to contain an alien infestation, so there ya go. Better than the first AvP and Alien Resurrection, I'd say. And the predalien was a worthy addition to the mythos of the Aliens. Warning: I wouldn't take little kids to this. Children, pregnant women, and even babies are made short work of in this film when the predalien takes up residence in the hopsital. Nice to see a horror film actually go for the jugular....gonna anger a lot of people who think that even an AvP film should be PC! Good bloody charnel fun. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PhilS.Dec 27, 2007
Immeasurably better than the first movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerW.Dec 28, 2007
It is what it is, a movie about Aliens and Predators. There is a semblance of a plot there, and it gives the fans what they wanted. It does not have the good human relationships a la Alien, Aliens. This movie should be reviewed by fans and It is what it is, a movie about Aliens and Predators. There is a semblance of a plot there, and it gives the fans what they wanted. It does not have the good human relationships a la Alien, Aliens. This movie should be reviewed by fans and not critics because that is who it was made for. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JoelW.Dec 28, 2007
Well developed characters, a compeling love stories, heart felt emotional experiences.....no! This is Aliens killing humans, and a predator killing all. What more do you expect from the franchise. The critics seem to expect Shakespeare or Well developed characters, a compeling love stories, heart felt emotional experiences.....no! This is Aliens killing humans, and a predator killing all. What more do you expect from the franchise. The critics seem to expect Shakespeare or Jane Austen, they complain about the exploitation of a franchise, please Predator had Arnie for pits sake. I loved this movie, if you want a Sci-Fi action movie with a high body count and great effects see this movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
PhilC.Dec 31, 2007
Ask yourself, why are you watching this movie? If it is for any other reason than to see Aliens and a Predator go toe-to-toe I guarantee you will not like it one bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattM.Dec 31, 2007
AvP: R is teh swweetest film in a decade. Aylesworth's brilliance on screen in transcedant. I can't wait for the next foray into this, possibly the greatest of all stories told by humans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveR.Dec 30, 2007
The best movie in the series period. Absoute genius.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JuniorW.Dec 30, 2007
Good stuff. Back to the R raiting
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarkA.Jan 1, 2008
I liked this movie alot. It was much better than the original. THough i would perfer to see predator 3 and Alien 5 before another AVP,. But the ending left a sequel open so who knows.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A.W.Jan 1, 2008
I'll give it a 10 to balance the bad reviews, at least a bit. I got wht I paid for and wasn't disappointed. You don't go to this kind of movie expecting Ingmar Bergman with photon torpedos, for goodness' sake!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Marc.D.Jan 1, 2008
It's infinitely better than the first. No way in hell is this movie worse than Alvin and the Chipmunks. The critics need to get the collective stick of pompousity out of their asses before I will give them an ounce of credibility It's infinitely better than the first. No way in hell is this movie worse than Alvin and the Chipmunks. The critics need to get the collective stick of pompousity out of their asses before I will give them an ounce of credibility following this debacle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulB.Jan 19, 2008
Lets start with a simple question- do you like Aliens, do you like predator. If the answer to those questions is no, or you havn't grown up, watched and loved both movies (and sequals) as many people my age, then really what are you Lets start with a simple question- do you like Aliens, do you like predator. If the answer to those questions is no, or you havn't grown up, watched and loved both movies (and sequals) as many people my age, then really what are you even reading this review for, and why are you contemplating watching this movie? Avid fans of both films will have a blast watching this - it's everything the first AVP film was not - mainly Aliens and Predators batteling it out in fully gory detail! I still havn't worked out how they managed to turn this concept into such a boring movie the first time around, but dont worry kids this short but sweeet flick more than makes up for it! The movie is fan fest from start to finish and at just over 93 mins keeps the plot to a minimum, instead letting the stars of the movie (ie the aliens) do the talking. The humans are almost superfluous to the story and at the end you wont really care about the ones that survived - you'll just be comiserating that the didnt put a few more predators in for good measure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BradTJan 6, 2008
Critics piss me off. No it doesn't have the best character development or story of any movie. But it has F-in aliens and predators tearing shit up. I don't know what you people expect to get when you go see a movie like this. It Critics piss me off. No it doesn't have the best character development or story of any movie. But it has F-in aliens and predators tearing shit up. I don't know what you people expect to get when you go see a movie like this. It was extremely entertaining and I thought it kicked ass. 100 times better than the first one too, I thought that one was pretty shitty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeatherJan 7, 2008
This is an excellent movie. And what was expected? A blood/slimebath... why yes. That is what was in the preview was it not?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenL.Dec 24, 2007
SO. SO. So. much better than the Lathan version.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Rakai'ThweiDec 25, 2007
This movie was perhaps one of the best I have ever seen. If anything, it may as well be the best movie of 2007!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
DanL.Dec 26, 2007
MUCH MUCH better than Water horse!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DanP.Dec 26, 2007
For prentious movie snobs, this will not be another No Country for Old Men. For fans of the Alien, Predator and AVP universes--this IS better than Anderson's vision. The movie is homage to the previous movies and sets up the possibility For prentious movie snobs, this will not be another No Country for Old Men. For fans of the Alien, Predator and AVP universes--this IS better than Anderson's vision. The movie is homage to the previous movies and sets up the possibility for a higher budget sequel that could tie everything up niciely. Excellent popcorn movie for teens and adults. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MendesR.Dec 28, 2007
This film is not a perfect movie but promises a lot of action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BenB.Dec 30, 2007
Before I say anything else about 'AVP: Requiem', let me first say this: it's actually pretty crummy cinema. The lighting is near always dark and murky, the action sequences are filmed in such a disorienting way that it's Before I say anything else about 'AVP: Requiem', let me first say this: it's actually pretty crummy cinema. The lighting is near always dark and murky, the action sequences are filmed in such a disorienting way that it's near impossible to tell who's winning, the characters are little more than one note cardboard cutouts, and the plot itself is little more than-you guessed it- Aliens and Predators going at it for 86 minutes. BUT, if all you want for your buck is two of the most beloved monster franchises ever battling their way through an R-rated sci-fi schlock fest, then here you go. Not only is this AVP immeasurably better than the first, PG-13 rated entry, but it's also way more reverent of both franchises' roots- unlike the first film, this one actually feels like an Alien or Predator movie, and the Brother's Strause should be commended for capturing the mood of the classic films. But don't take that as suggesting that this is as good as Ridley Scott's 'Alien', James Cameron's 'Aliens', or John McTiernan's 'Predator'- 'AVP: Requiem' has more in common with 'Alien 3' and 'Predator 2' in terms of quality and origninality. But that doesn't stop it from being bloody good entertainment, which leads me to say what I thought I would never say: all hail 'AVP 3'! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KurtK.Nov 11, 2008
This movie is way better than AvP 1. But still way below any of the Alien trilogy (yes trilogy !) or Predator movies. I only have one large complaint: In 90 percent of the action sequences I couldn't see diddly dick. I watched this in This movie is way better than AvP 1. But still way below any of the Alien trilogy (yes trilogy !) or Predator movies. I only have one large complaint: In 90 percent of the action sequences I couldn't see diddly dick. I watched this in the theater and on dvd with hight contrast settings. In swear to every thing that is holy - I could not see anything! There was a scene where the camera panned for 2min over absolute blackness while epic battle music was playing. What I liked about his movie was how the predator was practically not a hunter but janitor cleaning up the mess. Some characters were likable but mostly flat - which is OK because they are redshirts anyway. I love how this movie has action from beginning to end, and doesn't take to long to pick up the pace. That the plot was not very deep is a OK in my book. I mean the the title is Alien vs. Predator. Any movie with something vs. something in the title is not going to be an intelectula challenge. Trying to make the plot deeper would make it only pretentious. AvP Reqiuem is good monster and horror flick. Nothing more - nothing less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TimothyPJan 15, 2008
Weak story line but good fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
koonhJan 16, 2008
i liked the effects, gore, and the costumes. the best!!! why the hell would you give the movie a 0 just for there ******* story!!!!!!!!! its literally the best movie i've ever seen!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
5HTDec 25, 2007
At times, it felt like they were trying too hard to be shocking. A good sci-fi horror film. Plenty of gore. Predator is much cooler in this film. As it should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JustinC.Dec 26, 2007
A fan service film that does what it was designed to do, entertain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Danh.Dec 26, 2007
The 9 is based on how entertaining the film is. Is it a B movie yeah but it offers fan of the series exactly what there looking for peolpe getting eaten by aliens or hunted by predators or the ill battles and the cool weapon. I didn't The 9 is based on how entertaining the film is. Is it a B movie yeah but it offers fan of the series exactly what there looking for peolpe getting eaten by aliens or hunted by predators or the ill battles and the cool weapon. I didn't hate the first one, but i didn't really like it, and all the people who were dissaponited with this one should be shot, because sequeals usually aren't 10 time better then predcessor. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ColinFDec 27, 2007
CRITICS ARE IDIOTS!!! Above all else this movie ENTERTAINS and does a great job at that. There is a lot of cheesiness to it but on purpose and the fighting and special effects are really fun and true to the series. GO SEE IT!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DavidF.Dec 27, 2007
For me, this was potentially the best movie of the year. Why? because i love the franchise. It gave me exactly what i wanted to see, lots of humans dying, some hints as to how the canon universe came about. I can forgive the shortcomings For me, this was potentially the best movie of the year. Why? because i love the franchise. It gave me exactly what i wanted to see, lots of humans dying, some hints as to how the canon universe came about. I can forgive the shortcomings such as the too-close battle scenes to make up for the probably horrible models, because it was still a rollicking good tale to watch. To all those who can't see why only one predator came to earth, perhaps you should stop thinking like a human and take it from the whole 'death and the glory of the hunt perspective' he's a predator, he does what he wants. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdamH.Dec 27, 2007
You know, I love how people give this movie a bad review. It's rather amusing considering how a good 90% of the people who have gone to see this movie have never played the game series and never read the books or the comics. Therefore, You know, I love how people give this movie a bad review. It's rather amusing considering how a good 90% of the people who have gone to see this movie have never played the game series and never read the books or the comics. Therefore, most reviews are ignorant. This movie upheld many aspects of AvP lore created by the games, comics, and books while holding its own story that was turned around from the shameful first movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeA.Dec 27, 2007
By far this is waaaay better then the last AVP movie. of course, there will another one. should be predators against aliens. nice job on the alien-ator creature. now! that's original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MickG.Dec 29, 2007
AVP-R seemed to me like a B movie with outrageous action. The aliens and the predators were very well done and the crappy actors just provided cannon fodder for good monster fight scenes. If you liked the previous alien or predator movies, AVP-R seemed to me like a B movie with outrageous action. The aliens and the predators were very well done and the crappy actors just provided cannon fodder for good monster fight scenes. If you liked the previous alien or predator movies, then this movie is well worth the price of admission! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ChrisNov 16, 2008
To be honest, it really depends on what you wanted. Me? I wanted Aliens, Predators, and violence. OMG it's not as good as the Aliens movies!? Duh, those were actually good movies. OMG the acting is bad?! Obviously, what do you expect To be honest, it really depends on what you wanted. Me? I wanted Aliens, Predators, and violence. OMG it's not as good as the Aliens movies!? Duh, those were actually good movies. OMG the acting is bad?! Obviously, what do you expect with a zero-cast and a story that is a sequel to "AVP"? OMG it's not retarded campy TBS-style garabage? No, it's not. I can understand some people not liking it, but it did what it meant to do almost perfectly (it is a bit pooly lit admittedly). Here's the story. Aliens drop onto a quiet little mountain town. Predator follows it into a quiet little mountain town. The obvious ensues. If you wanted something else, then no it's not for you. But if you can appreciate and enjoy that being done well, then it's a very good movie. My only issue is that the pregnancy scene was completely unnecessary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful