Lions Gate Films | Release Date: May 4, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 89 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
6
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
averycAug 8, 2009
This is a minor masterpiece. This isn't a film about illness. It's a film about love and a film about, what Proust always knew to be, the great tragedy of forgetting. What does the player king in 'Hamlet' say? "Memory is This is a minor masterpiece. This isn't a film about illness. It's a film about love and a film about, what Proust always knew to be, the great tragedy of forgetting. What does the player king in 'Hamlet' say? "Memory is but the slave of passion?". It's about how people sometime trade love for the solace of similarity. It's about the fact that sometimes the most loving gesture one can make is to let the other go. Regardless of how much you can bench or how straight you drink your Maker's, if you've recently left a long, troubled relationship, you will cry and cry. Nobody knows how to say goodbye. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
Viper8787Apr 24, 2014
Had to watch this movie in class today and I was surprised buy this movie. The acting was great and the storyline hit the emotions really well. Also it is a Canadian movie with a Canadian Director so there were a lot of references to placesHad to watch this movie in class today and I was surprised buy this movie. The acting was great and the storyline hit the emotions really well. Also it is a Canadian movie with a Canadian Director so there were a lot of references to places in Canada and Canadian things. Which I loved because I am Canadian so they story felt close to home. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
PhilippeM.May 9, 2007
Just saw it in Montreal. Very touching, and extremely true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DBMay 23, 2007
Absolutely astonishing. Plain and simple. Not my kind of movie, but it just blew me away. Obviously, it's not for everyone; those who are incredibly stupid might not like this movie. But if you have a heart or a brain, you will at least Absolutely astonishing. Plain and simple. Not my kind of movie, but it just blew me away. Obviously, it's not for everyone; those who are incredibly stupid might not like this movie. But if you have a heart or a brain, you will at least appreciate this film as a quiet, revelatory masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
roberti.Jan 5, 2008
The love between this man and woman will break your heart. Julie Christie's elegant beauty takes your breath away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatriciaM.Feb 27, 2008
This is a stunning movie, beautifully filmed, replete with a superb cast, bittersweet undertones, and quiet victories. The script builds nicely on the Alice Munro story with some lovely additions resulting in first rate movie making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarbaraP.Oct 3, 2007
Moving, heartbreaking and very very romantic in the best send of the word. Oh yes, and unabashedly Canadian. Bravo to Sarah Polley for a superb directorial debut, and to uniformly excellent cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JosephMay 20, 2007
A mostly satisfying film. The film was quiet, slow-moving, character-driven, and intelligent. It's not perfect, though. Julie Christie's performance was admirable except for her eyes, which betrayed the fact that she was acting. In A mostly satisfying film. The film was quiet, slow-moving, character-driven, and intelligent. It's not perfect, though. Julie Christie's performance was admirable except for her eyes, which betrayed the fact that she was acting. In real life you can recognize Alzheimer's in someone just by the vacant eyes. I agree with John C.: the nuring home manager's performance was a bit over-the-top. Why did this film need a "villain"? Isn't Alzheimer's enough? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HelenVMay 20, 2007
Fabulous performances from Christie and Pinsent. (And isn't it great to see older actors who've eschewed the knife?) From my experience, it was pretty accurate. From the superintendent to the caregiver to the various stages of Fabulous performances from Christie and Pinsent. (And isn't it great to see older actors who've eschewed the knife?) From my experience, it was pretty accurate. From the superintendent to the caregiver to the various stages of decline among the patients, that Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BarbaraR.May 23, 2007
A tour de force, a must-see film, not so much for those of 60+ but for those younger who may benefit by learning a bit about the agony of dementia experienced by far too many elders--including eventually the loved ones whose understanding of A tour de force, a must-see film, not so much for those of 60+ but for those younger who may benefit by learning a bit about the agony of dementia experienced by far too many elders--including eventually the loved ones whose understanding of Alzheimer's is limited to the comedy circuit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanaM.Jun 11, 2007
Wow. What a well done movie. Incredible acting. Sorrowful love story dealing with the crushing tragedy of Alzeimers disease. What a refreshing change from the trash movies out in the cimemas at present. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnH.Jun 1, 2007
Well written and acted. Welcome break from the highly commercialized Summer of Sequels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AttaBoyJun 4, 2007
So deep, poignant, and textured that it is almost unbelievable that a 28-year old had the maturity and sensitivity to pull this off. marvelous performances, writing, and directing; highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewE.Jan 21, 2008
This incredibly deeply perceptive depiction of the agony and mystery of one of life's most cruel twists of fate is brilliantly realized by director and cast .It is horrifying yet uplifting in its glowing humanity, especially realized by This incredibly deeply perceptive depiction of the agony and mystery of one of life's most cruel twists of fate is brilliantly realized by director and cast .It is horrifying yet uplifting in its glowing humanity, especially realized by the performances of Julie Christie and Gordon Pinsent....I won't get away from her or him or this film for a very very long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnP.Jan 20, 2008
I have to shake my head at Tony B.'s comment "the ending unsatisfactory" Since when is there a satisfactory ending to this horrible affliction?? The pace was slow and deliberate this was a movie about mostly septuagenarians and I have to shake my head at Tony B.'s comment "the ending unsatisfactory" Since when is there a satisfactory ending to this horrible affliction?? The pace was slow and deliberate this was a movie about mostly septuagenarians and octogenarians. Were they supposed to break out in song and break-dance?? No I think that everyone especially the great Julie Christie did a amazing job in giving us an idea of what it must be like to have to deal with such a debilitating disease. And Mr. Pinsent Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterF.Apr 26, 2007
A movie experience that will linger in your memory long after you leave the theatre. A timely topic for boomers as they reach what are supposed to be their golden years. The unassuming, lowkey yet poignantly atmospheric Away From Her is a A movie experience that will linger in your memory long after you leave the theatre. A timely topic for boomers as they reach what are supposed to be their golden years. The unassuming, lowkey yet poignantly atmospheric Away From Her is a must see and antidote to some of the big budget blockbusters on the screens this summer. Away From Her cost a modest $5 million but that modest budget says nothing about the impact on the eyes and mind of the viewer. Go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BicMay 12, 2007
Powerful, moving, superb. Reminded me of an Ingmar Bergman movie at its best
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VanceG.May 16, 2007
I don't understand the negative reviews at all. I think the film's fantastic. It's the old-age love story you never get to see. Julie Christie is wonderful, and Gordon Pinsent matches her. This whole "they have no children, no I don't understand the negative reviews at all. I think the film's fantastic. It's the old-age love story you never get to see. Julie Christie is wonderful, and Gordon Pinsent matches her. This whole "they have no children, no pets and no friends - how depressing!" thing is ridiculous: first of all, not everyone has to have kids in movies and in life, just for the sake of having kids. There are too many half-hearted parents already. And second of all, the story is about the relationship between two people who have no one else... why is that a negative? If you want to be reassured in a flick like Nancy E., go watch Georgie Rule. If you want something intelligent and stimulating, watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.May 21, 2007
I can tell you what an amazing, moving, inspirational movie Away From Her is in just two simple words - JULIE CHRISTIE!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilR.May 26, 2007
Gordon Pinsent's performance is among the finest of any male actor in recent memory. Despite the gravity of its subject, AWAY FROM HER is a film that provides its characters with redemption. Polley's script reflects an Gordon Pinsent's performance is among the finest of any male actor in recent memory. Despite the gravity of its subject, AWAY FROM HER is a film that provides its characters with redemption. Polley's script reflects an understanding of Alzheimer's and of marriage that is too rare in books and films. A beautiful, life affirming movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.May 29, 2007
Leave it to Sarah Polley to make the most uncommercial film possible. Maybe she saw "Winter Light" and thought- I want to make a film like Ingmar Bergman. Lots of old people. Bleak.- But she failed. "Away from Her" is not bleak. It's a Leave it to Sarah Polley to make the most uncommercial film possible. Maybe she saw "Winter Light" and thought- I want to make a film like Ingmar Bergman. Lots of old people. Bleak.- But she failed. "Away from Her" is not bleak. It's a more mature approach to the adaptation of Nicholas Sparks' "The Notebook". As Grant (Gordon Pinsent) watches Fiona(Julie Christie) conduct an extra-marital affair with Aubrey(Michael Murphy), the cuckolded husband must be reflecting on how he "forgot" his wife when the professor emeritus professor was screwing around with his students. He hangs around the nursing home as some sort of penitence. It's great how the caregivers slowly lose their initial sheen of cheerfulness after Grant's first visit. It's a job, after all. They're not saints. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CaladoniaK.May 5, 2007
Heartbreaking and beautiful. An extremely important film. I would rate it higher if I could.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LonnieB.May 6, 2007
Gordon Pinsent and Julie Christie were just wonderful to watch. Hated to see it end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Jun 15, 2007
The minor character portrayals were stereotypical: the abrasive assisted living director; the caring, overly involved nurse, etc. The main storyline was fascinating and unconventional. Some may find the pace and material boring, but this is The minor character portrayals were stereotypical: the abrasive assisted living director; the caring, overly involved nurse, etc. The main storyline was fascinating and unconventional. Some may find the pace and material boring, but this is a worthy adaptation. See it, if you can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisCJun 17, 2007
Beautiful movie. Very well written screenplay and some of the best subtle performances I've seen since Lost in Translation. A lot of the complaints against it seem to be closed minded rejections of the characters' introverted Beautiful movie. Very well written screenplay and some of the best subtle performances I've seen since Lost in Translation. A lot of the complaints against it seem to be closed minded rejections of the characters' introverted lifestyle: "The characters don't think like me, so they must not be believable". "Icelandic poems cheered her up? Icelandic poems would never cheer me up!!" If you accept that an intellectual introvert can have a lifestyle that isn't 'bleak', the characters are very believable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnPJul 24, 2007
Brilliant performances by Julie Christie, Gordon Pinset,Olympia Dukakis and the supporting cast. Sarah Polley creates a quiet masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlakeJJan 30, 2008
A movie that knows what it is trying to get across and gets it across. A feat that not very many movies these days accomplish. Julie Christie is amazing...her portrayal of Fiona is dead on, a definite front-runner for the Best Actress Oscar A movie that knows what it is trying to get across and gets it across. A feat that not very many movies these days accomplish. Julie Christie is amazing...her portrayal of Fiona is dead on, a definite front-runner for the Best Actress Oscar come Feb. A movie so sad I never want to watch it again but I will never forget it. Sarah Polley is a new voice and force to be reckoned with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankyP.Feb 23, 2008
Profoundly beautiful and moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnAFeb 16, 2009
'Away From Her' is not so subtle as it is heartbreaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KayM.May 11, 2007
Hauntingly, heartbreaking, tears streamed down my face during the first half-hour. Then I got my strength back due to the amazing acting in this fine film. I saw it with a 78 yr. old gentlemen. He, too, absolutley loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MMMay 29, 2007
a familiar tale, exquisitely and compassionately told.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveM.Jun 13, 2007
I thought this film was amazing....and surprising. The performances were spot on. Julie Christie was a revelation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelL.Jun 19, 2007
I haven't cried at the movies in a long while. This poignant gem brought the tears--and not through manipulation, but through quiet beauty and intense reality. Such a fine, understated film--the "Brokeback Mountain" of 2007. Those I haven't cried at the movies in a long while. This poignant gem brought the tears--and not through manipulation, but through quiet beauty and intense reality. Such a fine, understated film--the "Brokeback Mountain" of 2007. Those seeking histrionics had best avoid Polley's touching masterpiece. There's no anger, no broken glass, no temper tantrums--just a profound sadness, an urgent sense of loss, and a reflection of missed opportunities. A true ode to the realities of true love--not the Hollywood version of it. And Julie Christie, character lines intact, is lovelier than any botoxed startlet--she is luminous. A wonderous perfromance. Olympia Dukakis is stirringly real. Polley has a phenomenal career ahead of her. She has always shunned Hollywood claptrap, and here's proof she will continue to do so. Bravo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeC.Sep 13, 2007
Poignant and moving, this movie has it all, great performaces, terrific directiong, and a beautiful story. It really captures the realities of loving who suffers from dementia. Both Pinsent and Christy do a terrific job with Pinsent giving Poignant and moving, this movie has it all, great performaces, terrific directiong, and a beautiful story. It really captures the realities of loving who suffers from dementia. Both Pinsent and Christy do a terrific job with Pinsent giving the movie its heart and Christy stealing the show and the heart of the audience as she "disappears" as she puts it. It's heartbreaking stuff and Poley does a fantastic job with a tough script, she's someone to lookout for in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Sep 14, 2007
Beautifully acted by Julie Christy but some elements of the story seemed formulaic and unreal.l
0 of 0 users found this helpful