Focus Features | Release Date: June 5, 2009
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 83 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
58
Mixed:
12
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
AllenSmitheeSep 30, 2009
Like watching a feature length music video by a spoiled to hell trust fund kid with a British accent who somehow got the money to make his senior year film on the subject of becoming an adult. This only gets a 1 because the cinematography Like watching a feature length music video by a spoiled to hell trust fund kid with a British accent who somehow got the money to make his senior year film on the subject of becoming an adult. This only gets a 1 because the cinematography was so gorgeous. As cringeworthy as American Beauty's floating plastic bag "the most beautiful thing". Is this how the entitled see the world? No wonder we're so fucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RikFFeb 23, 2010
Vacuous losers will love this film. The main couple combine all the characteristics of the most soulless acquaintances I have met in my life. Abysmal writing. Doesn't warrant me finishing my revi...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexPOct 9, 2009
Awful, the very first scene sets this movie up for what it is--a miserable waste of a good lead actor. Stick to being Jim on the Office, Johnny boy, your movie roles aren't up to snuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JonathanGJun 28, 2009
Precious, unfunny, smug -- the kind of "quirky" faux-indie that makes you hate indies. Booo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
stana.Jun 30, 2009
There was one kind of funny scene but that didnt make me not want my money back. I saw this 5 days ago and am still pissed off I wasted my time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndrewEDec 30, 2009
Flat uninspired writing made worse by desperate acoustic soundtrack. Eggers makes an entire generation look even more repugnant than they already are. The movie also has an expiration date of mid-2008, pretending that a freelance medical Flat uninspired writing made worse by desperate acoustic soundtrack. Eggers makes an entire generation look even more repugnant than they already are. The movie also has an expiration date of mid-2008, pretending that a freelance medical illustrator and fake insurance salesman are economically stable. If real, this couple would currently be found in the aisles of their local food pantry. Beyond a comeuppance for the Boomers, the recession is cosmic retribution for Gen Y's entitled, precious self-regard. But hey, that kid will get her Huck Finn-ey childhood fishing for her supper when there's no money! How authentic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrianHOct 30, 2009
John Krazinski is great but every other aspect of this film underachieves. Could and should have been better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JimHOct 12, 2009
I think the Salon article got it right: "An exploration of self-absorption that is itself too self-absorbed to be either entertaining or enlightening." This was like an indie movie paint by number, all the way down to "bizarre jobs for main I think the Salon article got it right: "An exploration of self-absorption that is itself too self-absorbed to be either entertaining or enlightening." This was like an indie movie paint by number, all the way down to "bizarre jobs for main characters" and "questionable wardrobe decisions" or "strangely depressing yet wildly unrealistic bit characters." The gothic strip tease scene might have been the tipping point for me, if the first scenes hadn't already crushed my pre-film morale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichR.Jun 28, 2009
A truly nauseating waste of time. The characters are all jerks, esp the wife. People keep telling her she is beautiful, but there's no way. I left the theatre after an hour. Pure bilge.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TSNov 14, 2009
Insufferable. There is one genuinely funny scene. The rest is tiresomely self-conscious and inert. It never draws you in or makes you care about any of the characters because it is too busy reminding you how preciously, bittersweetly Insufferable. There is one genuinely funny scene. The rest is tiresomely self-conscious and inert. It never draws you in or makes you care about any of the characters because it is too busy reminding you how preciously, bittersweetly meaningful it all is. Aren't they adorably quirky, and aren't we oh-so-smart for recognizing it and seeing ourselves in them? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SergeInhoApr 19, 2012
The film could be boring, but the attempt to make it funny makes it even worst. The opening scene makes you smile but the film doesn't go over that first scene, all the weirdos they meet throughout the film stop to be funny after 10 minutes.The film could be boring, but the attempt to make it funny makes it even worst. The opening scene makes you smile but the film doesn't go over that first scene, all the weirdos they meet throughout the film stop to be funny after 10 minutes. It's a film that wants to make people laugh and they try so hard that at the end everything is completely wrong. The good elements of the analysis of troubles brought by maternity are wasted in such a screwed contest. After 30 minutes you will start wondering why you are still watching such a film and it's really hard to make it to the end of it. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews