American Broadcasting Company (ABC) | Release Date: August 4, 1995
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 91 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
66
Mixed:
23
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AndrewGJun 1, 2009
Heartwarming and beautifully made, with great special effects. I've always loved this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
kev_i_nJun 3, 2014
Summary
+ Clever use of visuals
+ Fantastic voice acting + Good story with interesting themes that at times are quite depressing - Some bad elements of character developments. - Limited dialogue - Quite dull at times In brief it is a
Summary
+ Clever use of visuals
+ Fantastic voice acting
+ Good story with interesting themes that at times are quite depressing
- Some bad elements of character developments.
- Limited dialogue
- Quite dull at times
In brief it is a great family adventure full of good blights, which is and entertaining. As a result I would recommend it as it is worth a watch.

Full Review
Perhaps the first striking thing about Babe is how well directed it is. The use of animals as the main characters would undoubtable presents its own challenges, but the way the film is directed makes the character/ animal interaction feel really. It is strangely entertaining to watch animals interact and speak to each just as humans would. Particularly like the little elements that help make Babe feel that little bit more special as a film, e.g. moments when Fly lick Babe as a sign of love. Such an approach helps to increase the uniqueness of Babe.

The next thing that really stands out about Babe is the voice acting. All the characters feel unique and at the same time display emotions within their voices. This is particularly the case with Cavanaugh and his voice over of Babe, which emphasises the innocent nature of Babe as a character, while at the same time still depicting Babe as brave and a character who develops throughout the film. Likewise Margolyes depiction of Fly (a female dog) is great as it helps to set Fly as a heart-warming character who takes care of Babe. Such voice acting is enhanced by the acting of James Cromwell as Arthur (the Boss) and Magda Szubanski as Esme Hoggett (the Boss’ wife). Both actors depict real life conflicts of a couple. As a result such acting helps to enhance the film as a whole.

However the main element I found to be good about Babe is that of how it has a really interesting story with elements of cheerful moments which are particularly provided by Ferdinand, and at the end. However such moments, are balanced out with themes within the film that are quite depressing. Such themes include obedience to rules and defining conventions, life and death. In particularly I found it quite saddening when a character close to Babe dies, which not only comes as a surprise but also strengthens Babe as a character. Likewise the challenging by Ferdinand of challenging conventionality in order to save his life is entertaining. I also enjoyed the conflicts between Fly and Rex (male dog who acts like the leader of all the animals on the farm) and the deceptive nature of the cat. Such elements help to make it so Babe is a film that peaks in happiness and sadness. However unlike other kid films that have sad moment like the Lion King, I found babe to be unique because of how it consistently goes back and forth in whether it is sad or happy. The nature of the story helps to make Babe a film that is entertaining for both children and adults.

However there are so elements of Babe I did not find particularly enjoyable. I think the first one is that of how some of the characters are undeveloped/ poory portrayed. This is particularly the case with the Hoggett family members who are hollow shells, except the grand-daughter who is a spoilt brat. However the main character who I feel is under-developed is that of Rex who develops a hatred of Babe. While the source of his anger is well explained, it contradicts his great sense of loyalty to the Boss. However, this is hardly a major criticism given that these characters play a limited role.

The second major issue is how the dialogue of the characters is pretty limited. This is particularly the case with Arthur who seems to lack the verbal capacity to say words beyond that will do, good, pig, dog, and nothing. Likewise I find the narrator to be a bit too simple.

The final complaint I have with the film is that of how within the story there are elements I found to be a bit boring, in particular the start when Babe tries to settle in to his new home.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeApr 30, 2016
At first, I thought I was watching some sort of mediocre film, but the next moment I keep my eyes on the pig, Babe has some sort of secrets hidden in those eyes of the pig. Great film for kids.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MichelleP.Nov 12, 2002
Look, I tried. All right? I tried. I tried to like Babe, but for some reason, couldn't. Maybe it was just too depressing for me to handle since it had to do with animals (I love animals, and can't stand seeing them die). Or maybe I Look, I tried. All right? I tried. I tried to like Babe, but for some reason, couldn't. Maybe it was just too depressing for me to handle since it had to do with animals (I love animals, and can't stand seeing them die). Or maybe I just couldn't feel any warmth from the setting(s). But heck! I haven't read the book! What do I know? I think there'll be plenty more people out there who liked this movie better than I did, but I can't stand seeing ... [Spoiler omitted]. Sorry, that's just how I feel. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
Very boring story line with some laughs provided by Ferdinand the duck. The first half of the film was fine, but the second half was uninteresting. The acting was decent.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ErikY.Aug 6, 2006
Excellent film. No matter what age, there's always something to take with it; whether a strong message on hierarchy or a heartwarming story, this movie will always be fresh. Admittedly this is a family flick, but at my age I still found Excellent film. No matter what age, there's always something to take with it; whether a strong message on hierarchy or a heartwarming story, this movie will always be fresh. Admittedly this is a family flick, but at my age I still found something to take with it. With a neat plot, cute animals, and a pleasant ending, you can't go wrong watching this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoseSAug 25, 2008
A Perfect Film! Best animal movie ever, best kids film ever.. should have won Best Picture, much better than Titanic. Totally unique and unpredictable, with a giant heart, terrific voices and humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulFFeb 15, 2009
I rarely give a perfect score though I have given many 8's and 9's because I am extremely selective about which movies I watch. In this case babe really came through all the way to the end. Often movies can do well but kind of flub I rarely give a perfect score though I have given many 8's and 9's because I am extremely selective about which movies I watch. In this case babe really came through all the way to the end. Often movies can do well but kind of flub the ending by carrying on longer than the "Ah ha" moment. Babe however ended just right leaving you with glowing warm feelings. Babe was entertaining, funny, somewhat thought provoking, and even a tad spiritual. Babe really prods the viewer to reconsider how they think about animals. Even though these animals are obviously anthropomorphized the movie still manages to break through our preconceptions. I'm not sure how much of an animal rights bent this movie intended but for me it seemed obvious that deeper issues were implied. Ultimately though, even without much thought this is an easy movie to watch with its positive and wholesome values. I was heartened to see something so benign and at the same time well done movie (often a hard combination to be had) come out of Hollywood. In a time when it often seems almost anything goes this was a most welcome alternative. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
davezJul 20, 2007
Terrific! Seldom do I fall fully immersed into a film. I thought it childish to not only view this film but to outright buy it before seeing it or hearing any reviews about it. I was a full grown adult when I saw it and found it refreshing Terrific! Seldom do I fall fully immersed into a film. I thought it childish to not only view this film but to outright buy it before seeing it or hearing any reviews about it. I was a full grown adult when I saw it and found it refreshing to feel like a giddy little child again. My wife thought I was nuts when I offered to watch it while we were dating (I guess she was hoping for a romance or a comedy that we could cuddle up with... This is the best cuddle movie for a young couple who want to watch a film and put off making out until after) Goose bumps my friend... I wanted to roar with the crowd that I was watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
Babe fofo, e super bem produzido com uma bela história e ótimos personagens com certeza foi um dos filmes que mais marcaram a minha infancia........
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989May 29, 2013
It has been a long time since I've watched Babe and I guess I'd forgotten how sad it actually it is! While its a great family film with very good themes and morals, there are also some rather depressing moments in it too. Cromwell & SzubanskiIt has been a long time since I've watched Babe and I guess I'd forgotten how sad it actually it is! While its a great family film with very good themes and morals, there are also some rather depressing moments in it too. Cromwell & Szubanski breathe life into the Farmers and all the voice actors are spot on for their roles, especially Cavanaugh as Babe. It's a great storyline about a pig finding his place in the world and just one of those feel good films that was nice to re-watch Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SEROJNov 10, 2016
Adorable story about a pig who plays the role of a dog. A bit unfinished, predictable (although there were scenes that really were unexpected and inappropriate). So overall a decent movie that you may like or dislike.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
117dilushamcJul 25, 2013
Great movie! A different movie of a different kind! No wonder of being nominated for Oscars! Great performances from both men and Animal! Sounds weird! but perfect! This is the best animal movie! A very heartwarming movie with an immenseGreat movie! A different movie of a different kind! No wonder of being nominated for Oscars! Great performances from both men and Animal! Sounds weird! but perfect! This is the best animal movie! A very heartwarming movie with an immense charm carried by Babe and everyone! Cutest movie of course! With a brilliant cinematography and perfect directing of Miller! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysMar 12, 2014
A heartwarming kid-friendly movie, Babe tells a great story with lots of sentiment and emotion. It's almost impossible not to be affected by it in some way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
harryjcAug 2, 2015
Despite being a movie for children "Babe" has many adult oriented themes, and addresses issues we would otherwise not think of. It is not only about death, and love, but about being who you want to be, and pursuing your dreams. It has a depthDespite being a movie for children "Babe" has many adult oriented themes, and addresses issues we would otherwise not think of. It is not only about death, and love, but about being who you want to be, and pursuing your dreams. It has a depth that most movies for kids do not have, and cinematically, there is a beauty, and charm that to this day has not been duplicated. The story will touch almost anyone's heart, whether young, or old. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jakamanMar 14, 2015
A great movie. The best movie I have ever seen so far. So touched and reminds me of how to be more aware to animals. We should love such animals starting from now
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews