User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 645 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    2
    What a boring movie, it might have a background message but to me it seemed a totally UNNECESSARY MOVIE, brings nothing fresh to the viewer and it's nothing that you haven't seen in the news. It's like watching the news but with actors.
  2. Feb 22, 2013
    0
    This is one of the five worst films I have ever seen. Insanely boring and pointless. Dullness for the sake of dullness. Saying nothing as a pretentious "message." Spare me.
  3. sinosino
    Aug 17, 2009
    3
    What a disappointment. Relentlessly miserable, relentlessly predictable, no engaging characters, portentious, pretentious, cliched. To paraphrase EM Forster 'well said, but not worth saying".
  4. Feb 2, 2012
    0
    Absolutely horrible. Most boring movie I've seen to date. Anyone who claims artsy, "deep" movies like this are anything but crap has eaten one too many retard sandwiches. The same kind of people that think someone like Jackson Pollack has talent, and created "art." It's all a pantload.
  5. MichaelS
    Aug 14, 2009
    3
    This movie was nominated for best picture of the year? Really? I will say this much, the acting is well done. However, the plot is not great. Why are you telling me a story of the daughter of this Asian guy who sold the rifle to the Moroccan man? Why not show the scene where you sold the rifle? Why am I supposed to care about this Asian girl that's trying to seduce everyone? So the This movie was nominated for best picture of the year? Really? I will say this much, the acting is well done. However, the plot is not great. Why are you telling me a story of the daughter of this Asian guy who sold the rifle to the Moroccan man? Why not show the scene where you sold the rifle? Why am I supposed to care about this Asian girl that's trying to seduce everyone? So the Mexican lady is taking the kids to a wedding in Mexico and there is a border confrontation on their way back. How did they get into Mexico? Did they just drive in without checking passports of parents' consent? So Brad Pitt is talking to his kid and the Mexican lady at the end. What happened to a scene showing how the kids were found? What happened to the Mexican dude who drove away and left the lady and their kids? It's not as bad as "21 Grams." "21 Grams" has some of the worst editing in any movie that I have ever seen. It's such a frustrating movie. "Babel" tries to make a point by having all of these small connections. Why not add another hour telling me the life of the Asian girl's mother and have the connection be that it was her mother? Seriously, how stupid are these connections? Who takes tour on a bus that's driving in the middle of nowhere in Morocco? I'm sorry Academy. You could chose any other movie in 2006 to take Babel's spot. The movie has 0 replay value. I take nothing from this. 0 value. Expand
  6. BillBlast
    Nov 11, 2006
    0
    Oh come on - this movie sucks. We left after 1:15 and I heard the movie went downhill from there. Unconnected, I did not care about the characters. Lame mysterious past events won't make may stay to watch a movie that gets nowhere in 1:15. Don't waste your money... even at the matinee. Rent an classic movie, pop some popcorn and stay at home.
  7. May 31, 2012
    1
    I was thinking about the possible things I could colour my life with after seeing this ..yeah what exactly was it, sure it wasn't a movie. So don't masturbate behind rocks or your brother will euhm..miss. Don't spy on your sister or your father will do the clap-dance. Never travel or your kids may die in the desert. If you're in a desert, then don't leave any kids behind, sure I'llI was thinking about the possible things I could colour my life with after seeing this ..yeah what exactly was it, sure it wasn't a movie. So don't masturbate behind rocks or your brother will euhm..miss. Don't spy on your sister or your father will do the clap-dance. Never travel or your kids may die in the desert. If you're in a desert, then don't leave any kids behind, sure I'll remember that one. Never leave the bus area if your wife is about to die by bleeding to death or they will continue their journey without you...yep, gotcha. And the most important one: don't you ever ever dare to decline a deaf-mute naked lady or she might jump of the balcony. My god, I'm pretty sure that Alejandro Gonzales still sucks his thumb way too long when he falls asleep. Expand
  8. JamesM.
    Mar 5, 2007
    1
    Conceptually beautiful and cinematically hideous. I was lulled into seeing Babel by its national acclaim and avid reviews. However, this movie offers a far cry from anything that could represent characterisation or entertainment. A dull, overrated attempt at a masterpiece.
  9. sarahk.
    Dec 2, 2006
    4
    Too drawn out - the length of the movie didn't add to developing the story/stories.
  10. SethH.
    Dec 2, 2006
    3
    Babel attempts to be the next syriana mixed with city of god, yet fails. The story lines are not nearly connected enough. The story about the girl in Tokyo has nothing to do with the rest of the movie. All the movie did was depress me and make me wonder why I didn't see the departed again instead of wasting my 10 new york dollars.
  11. KathleenL.
    Jan 4, 2007
    3
    Too fractured and predictable--seen it before, derivative, morally murky.
  12. MarkE.
    Sep 13, 2008
    3
    A fragmented, frustrating film. The three strands of the film are so loosely tied together that the finished product comes apart at the seams. Yes, I'm aware the overriding messages of global responsibility and the 'butterfly effect' of our actions, and the self-important, self-indulgent nature of these themes shines through nauseatingly.
  13. GinaC
    Nov 28, 2006
    4
    This movie could have been a lot better and I'm sorry I can't compare it to "Crash". That movie was great. I don't see the relevance in showing a young boy pleasing himself and a young girl showing us her vagina and her naked body. The movie didn't need that to make its point. It was kinda gross and unneeded. I'm not sure how many normal adults wanted to see This movie could have been a lot better and I'm sorry I can't compare it to "Crash". That movie was great. I don't see the relevance in showing a young boy pleasing himself and a young girl showing us her vagina and her naked body. The movie didn't need that to make its point. It was kinda gross and unneeded. I'm not sure how many normal adults wanted to see children in that matter. They should have left that out and kept to the storyline. Expand
  14. countZr0
    Feb 11, 2007
    0
    Their is no point. It tried to be Crash and Traffic but it was neither. Nobody changes. Nobody grows. Just stupid decisions and sorrow. Painful to sit through. Thank god I didn't pay to see it.
  15. KenA.
    Feb 8, 2007
    4
    Ambtious but very tedious.
  16. AnonymousAnonymous
    Apr 8, 2007
    0
    This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Extremely unintelligent with overt attempts to be dark and mysterious. Flawed plot lines abound. Don't waste your money on this garbage. This is yet another example of how terrible the filmmaking industry has become. The only thing I can say positive about this movie is that it is not another ex-saturday night live actor pumping out This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Extremely unintelligent with overt attempts to be dark and mysterious. Flawed plot lines abound. Don't waste your money on this garbage. This is yet another example of how terrible the filmmaking industry has become. The only thing I can say positive about this movie is that it is not another ex-saturday night live actor pumping out another potboiler film. Iit sucked... badly! Expand
  17. BlakeW.
    May 20, 2007
    2
    This is indeed a well made film. However, the film they decided to make is a pretentious piece of political-statement garbage. If you are stupid enough to not realize that people are interconnected in small, ultimately meaningless ways, check this movie out and realize it at last...at the same time you can contemplate suicide as you witness an incredibly pessimistic outlook on life.
  18. TannerJ
    Jun 5, 2009
    4
    Very overrated. The acting is very good but this movie is so long and boring! The exact same structure is used in 21 grams but that movie was fantastic. Babel is just disappointing.
  19. MickP.
    Nov 1, 2006
    1
    Too long and too boring!
  20. DanS.
    Nov 16, 2006
    3
    This film was amateurish. If the makers of it bother to read user reviews (which I seriously doubt, based on their self-indulgent attitude, evident from the film), let me explain something to you. For a story to work, character behavior must be BELIEVABLE to the audience, which means the characters must be PROPERLY MOTIVATED. You can't make characters do things just because it's This film was amateurish. If the makers of it bother to read user reviews (which I seriously doubt, based on their self-indulgent attitude, evident from the film), let me explain something to you. For a story to work, character behavior must be BELIEVABLE to the audience, which means the characters must be PROPERLY MOTIVATED. You can't make characters do things just because it's "cool" or would make a good scene. [***SPOILER***] For example, two little boys raised in a strict Muslim family do not suddenly decide to shoot a rifle at a passing tourist bus. Shy, deaf teenage girls do not suddenly decide to take off their panties and shoot beavers at the guys making fun of them in the school cafeteria. Nor do they take off all their clothes and throw themselves at police detectives, who also do not hang around with naked underage girls in the middle of the night at the girl's rich father's swanky apartment, when the father might come home (and does so) at any second...not to mention that when a father comes home and finds his teenage daugther standing out on the balcony completely nude walk out and embrace the girl--he says "Put on some clothes and come inside." Mexican women who've been illegally living in the USA for 16 years do not suddenly decide to go back to Mexico for her son's wedding with no idea how to get back inside the States. I could go on, but it would take pages to do so. If the badly motivated, unbelievable character actions weren't bad enough, we're supposed to believe that the Bradd Pitt character just happens to be the unluckiest bastard ever born on earth. Not only does his wife get randomly shot while on vacation, his idiot housekeeper decides to illlegally take his two little children out of the country! Do you think we, too, as viewers and ticket purchasers, are idiots? On top of all this, the film consists of three stories that might have been good in their own right had they been developed more. But instead of doing that (that would be too hard--you would have to THINK), you do a superficial job on all three and then toss them together hoping that the final result will somehow improve things. It doesn't, it makes it worse. For example, we, as viewers, wonder what the hell the third story about the cute Japanese schoolgirl who so enjoys shooting beavers and getting naked had to do with the price of eggs in New Delhi. I suspect that the filmmakers get off on cute Japanese schoolgirls who so enjoy shooting beavers and getting naked--that is the only explanation for the inclusion of this story into the film. [***END SPOILER***] Next time you make a movie and expect intelligent moviegoers to pay for a ticket, please show us a little respect. And show yourself some respect. Now, having said all that, I would like to compliment the director of photography--you are the only one of the group who knows what you are doing. Expand
  21. BrianBall
    Dec 16, 2006
    2
    I give this a movie a 2 becuase it did seem well filmed However what it was filming is still a mystery how this movie was ever made. It made me feel like i was in a round about for 2 hours the scenery may change but it all seemed the same and you never felt like you went anywhere. Where was the Brad pitt I know and appreciate havent seen him since 7 now that was a good film
  22. LennyM
    Dec 4, 2006
    0
    People must really like the exploitation of the young girl. That is exactly what that part of the movie is meant to be. And the proof is in the way not many people see it for what it is. Because we are so used to it and so enamored of sexual provocation that we grovel in it.
  23. NickF.
    Dec 6, 2006
    2
    A handful of unconvincing plotlines interconnected in the most contrived manner. Breath-takingly undeveloped characters suffer various traumas as a result of idiotic judgment on their part, poor psychology on the part of the screenwriter, or his overuse of deus ex machina (you might call it 'chance' or 'accident', but dramturgically, the principle remains the same). A handful of unconvincing plotlines interconnected in the most contrived manner. Breath-takingly undeveloped characters suffer various traumas as a result of idiotic judgment on their part, poor psychology on the part of the screenwriter, or his overuse of deus ex machina (you might call it 'chance' or 'accident', but dramturgically, the principle remains the same). Exactly what do the director and his screenwriter have to say on the subject of globalization, intercultural (mis)communication, tradition vs. modernity or whatever else they happen to stumble upon in this broadly, too broadly, conceived project? For all the lavish/frantic cinematography, I could not understand what one of these people were put on screen for, yet I could smell the semen spilt over the editing console. Highly missable. Expand
  24. AlexW.
    Nov 27, 2007
    0
    The connections that link the characters are terribly selected, and send the wrong message, the long drawn out scenes and blatantly manipulative score were key markers to the hollowness of the entire work, totally devoid of substance, and definitely lacking subtlety, yet over saturated with pompous pretentiousness, this movie is wrong on so many levels.
  25. JonathanH.
    Jan 16, 2007
    0
    The only plausible reason why anyone would give this piece of nonsense, this succession of non sequitur after non sequitur, more than 0 points would be if they worked for the film maker, the studio and the actor's agents. An irritation without compare from the first minute to last, or at the very least up to the moment the border guard asks the Mexican nanny, who has just emerged The only plausible reason why anyone would give this piece of nonsense, this succession of non sequitur after non sequitur, more than 0 points would be if they worked for the film maker, the studio and the actor's agents. An irritation without compare from the first minute to last, or at the very least up to the moment the border guard asks the Mexican nanny, who has just emerged utterly exhausted from the desert, to put her hands behind her back so he can handcuff her. This was when I finally walked out. Expand
  26. JuanM.
    Jan 22, 2007
    4
    I agree that the acting was good, the scenery, locations and photography fantastic. Nevertheless after the final scene one feels empty, hopeless and tired of the suffering and pain shown. A very negative and pessimistic movie.
  27. Chea
    Jan 23, 2007
    4
    Babel maybe the most predictable movie to win a golden globe, Alejandro González Iñárritu idea that we are all connected in some way no matter how small
  28. ErnestoT.
    Jan 27, 2007
    3
    Child sexploitation and abuse, racsim and stereortyping, malady-drama, unnecessary length and structure for an unpleasant experience--THIS MOVIE HAS EVERYTHING! The problem for the name star leads was that there was no character, they had to play situations. Impressive cinema for folk who haven't been to those countries or had much life experience.
  29. Daved.
    Jan 28, 2007
    3
    Best picture? This iS a movie that can be used as a classroom example of story telling gone wrong. If one watched the nightly news as opposed to seeing the picture, one would find more clarity of events than the amatuerish writing that dooms this movie. The performances are good and the cineamatography is fair, but again the story is truly pathetic. Reading professional reviews, makes me Best picture? This iS a movie that can be used as a classroom example of story telling gone wrong. If one watched the nightly news as opposed to seeing the picture, one would find more clarity of events than the amatuerish writing that dooms this movie. The performances are good and the cineamatography is fair, but again the story is truly pathetic. Reading professional reviews, makes me wonder if the cast and the melodrama led the critics astray. It's a pointless exercise that really never draws us in to care very much about the characters. It's too bewildering and slow to give much credence to anything that happens in it. A story needs to be more than merely a slice of life, it has to have a distinct purpose. The movie Crash, for instance showed how we tend to judge each other based on our prejudices. This movie doesn't come close to telling a story with meaning. Expand
  30. AnB.
    Jan 29, 2007
    2
    This was a criminal waste of talent. I absolutely hated this movie. It was beautiful, had great performances, was well directed and still was just awful. It was like watching Bobby Flay make a mud pie. I "got it" (who didn't, it was hardly subtle) and still hated it. I found it pretentious and really poorly written with lots of writing decisions made purely to make the story happen. This was a criminal waste of talent. I absolutely hated this movie. It was beautiful, had great performances, was well directed and still was just awful. It was like watching Bobby Flay make a mud pie. I "got it" (who didn't, it was hardly subtle) and still hated it. I found it pretentious and really poorly written with lots of writing decisions made purely to make the story happen. It felt very forced and every few minutes I was assaulted by something grotesque and gratuitous (teenage bush, masturbating kids, my God!) Neary every other seen was based on improbable decisions or inserted for "gritty" shock value. I have a hard time believing this was written as a single piece, it feels like leftovers pushed togther and called a meal. Expand
  31. JoshC
    Jan 4, 2007
    0
    I don't want to be dragged into a Babel beat-down, but why not? With all the enthusiasm being dumped on it, the film can withstand a kick to the crotch, particularly since, as far as I can tell, it has no balls. A good friend of mine once wrote that movies should never be good for you. And that is what nags me about Babel. Unlike anything in David Lynch's Inland Empire or I don't want to be dragged into a Babel beat-down, but why not? With all the enthusiasm being dumped on it, the film can withstand a kick to the crotch, particularly since, as far as I can tell, it has no balls. A good friend of mine once wrote that movies should never be good for you. And that is what nags me about Babel. Unlike anything in David Lynch's Inland Empire or Melville's Army of Shadows or whoever else you would accuse of pretentiously aestheticizing anomie or pleasurelessness, Iñárritu seems to want his movies to be good for you on those same terms. Babel demands to be taken as more than a mere movie, as more than an entertainment. It's a big vitamin you can get at Whole Foods, near the yoga mats. At some point on their getaway from their parental misery (who escapes from the blues to that part of Morocco, anyway?), Cate Blanchett asks Brad Pitt why they're here. And all you can think is, you poor Hollywood actress, you're in Babel where you and some other less famous people will be written into one massive implausibility after the next. But you'll all suffer for a worthy cause: the audience's enlightenment. Cue the harps. This is a movie that people leave under the impression that something amazing has happened, that they've seen a high cinematic work, when all they've gotten is a flu shot. Last year, there were many more emotionally chilling manipulations that pull their strings without all the noise and blubbering and trashy entrapment of its characters. I mean, really, having the maid, good as Adriana Barraza is in the movie, doing all that grotesque desert drifting? The movie is shameless. The Mexican maid is devoted to her employers and their children at the expense of every ounce of her common sense. She has to be stupid and suffer so we can see/feel/know the full extent of how terribly illegal immigrants are treated. Barraza dragged to every station of the sociopolitical cross. Unclean! These are the medicine movies people are going for Expand
  32. OlafJ.
    Feb 10, 2007
    4
    [***SPOILERS***] Ok first ill list the limited amounts of quality in the movie. the camera work is clever and occasionally there is a bit that will be great,the acting is constant and is one of the few areas the movie can't be highly flawed. I really hated how we saw a masterbating morocan muslim, firstly even if these muslims were not strict this would still be a huge violation it [***SPOILERS***] Ok first ill list the limited amounts of quality in the movie. the camera work is clever and occasionally there is a bit that will be great,the acting is constant and is one of the few areas the movie can't be highly flawed. I really hated how we saw a masterbating morocan muslim, firstly even if these muslims were not strict this would still be a huge violation it seems a very unusual thing to happen.The killing also seems very far fetched as two children start sooting at a bus, now the thing with movies like these is they always seem to have some thing showing racism but infact make racist events happen quiet a bit.think about it why would any child shoot a bus secondly why would any seemingly happy child shoot a bus-the movie seems to try and make us think that because they are morocan they are fools well ive been in moroco and thats not the case. In fact one of the things you would knotice in moroco is there remarkable respect and love of children. buses leaving a person whos been shot-why because someone is dehydrated.And guess what its the fat english guy who turns out to be a prick and wants them to leave.Now I find that highly stereotypical and im irish.Ireland a country that does have a grudge against britain and i think that is unfair. the bus leaves without the dehydrated man getting water from the village which should havewater with that kind of population of healty people.the town has opium i think they would have some water available for the rich tourists.That goes with the gas problem. the bus doesnt have enough fuel to make it to the next hospital yet we have seen alot of cars driving around this village surely someone here as petrol to be bought. the mexican story is pertty horrible too with a house maid who can not find one person in the area who can look after the children for a day. the children witness a beheading and minutes later are full of joy-ok???? then see get in the car with a drunk with too kids she seems to want to protect. she knows he is drunk too,then we come across some asshole police at the border where it is very clear she is there nanny and the police dont let them explain furthermore the police have nothing on them but precist why i cant tell. i was actualy so depressed watching this movie after hearing all its great reviews and when I think people will have seen this horrific story intead of a great film like princess mononoke. Expand
  33. JasonT.
    Feb 13, 2007
    0
    Saw an eight year old boy whacking off. Turned the movie off.
  34. JagoS.
    Feb 18, 2007
    3
    Insipid, pretentious, twee, banal, and fundamentally trite. This film kept me interested for less than 4 minutes before the sheer brutality with which the director forces his audience turned me off entirely. The film then got worse - with idiotic plot developments hinched upon sheer character stupidity rather than any semblance of genuine humanity. This film is awful.
  35. JoelH.
    Feb 23, 2007
    3
    What a huge disappointment!! A terrible story line. More a travel film with some wonderful scenes. The two big stars are hardly in the film. It needed some critical editing -- far too long for so little indepth story. Pure political crap from the Liberal film establishment and the nutty Liberal film critics that so hyped the film. The biggest theme: people are stupid all over the globe. What a huge disappointment!! A terrible story line. More a travel film with some wonderful scenes. The two big stars are hardly in the film. It needed some critical editing -- far too long for so little indepth story. Pure political crap from the Liberal film establishment and the nutty Liberal film critics that so hyped the film. The biggest theme: people are stupid all over the globe. Big message: white Americans end up doing well. Expand
  36. BillB.
    Feb 26, 2007
    1
    The movie was a poor "crash" of languages and left too many loose ends. Horrible movie, I truely think this film is not worth your time watching for any reason.
  37. JoF.
    Feb 20, 2007
    1
    What was the purpose of showing the Arab boy masturbating? How does that advance the story? And for that matter, how does his voyerism matter? Are eight year olds who are developing sexual interests likely to shoot at tourist buses? What is th meaning of the deaf mute Japanese girl"s naked embrace with her father? Are we implying that an incestual relationship was involved in the suicide What was the purpose of showing the Arab boy masturbating? How does that advance the story? And for that matter, how does his voyerism matter? Are eight year olds who are developing sexual interests likely to shoot at tourist buses? What is th meaning of the deaf mute Japanese girl"s naked embrace with her father? Are we implying that an incestual relationship was involved in the suicide of the mother? And, women don't usually commit suicide by gun, especially in Japan. What was in the letter to the police detective? Would that have enlightened this totally murky ending? I did not like this movie, not because it was dreary and full of impending doom, but because it was confusing for no good reason and full of gratuitous sexual innuendo. My rating is for the exception alphotography. Expand
  38. Jonweere
    Feb 28, 2007
    0
    Racist Racist Racist. Was I the only one that noticed the only perps in this movie were of color and the only victims were the white family? Not only was it bad people from one county or ethnicity but they seemed to have made it a point to show these negative stereotypes accross the world. I'm sad they missed out on ripping into black people and native americans because then weRacist Racist Racist. Was I the only one that noticed the only perps in this movie were of color and the only victims were the white family? Not only was it bad people from one county or ethnicity but they seemed to have made it a point to show these negative stereotypes accross the world. I'm sad they missed out on ripping into black people and native americans because then we would have had a full circle. How anybody got an anti-American message out of this is beyond me. The only two instances in this movie that didn't portray non whites as bad people were the guy that helped Brad and his wife the whole time and the scene with the nanny getting deported. This movie was overwhelmingly racist and it makes me sick to my stomach that it was in the mainstream and no one seems to have noticed Expand
  39. AndyH.
    Feb 28, 2007
    3
    I never bother to comment on stuff like this but Babel was such a disappointment I have to say something. If you're looking for something vaguely original, thought provoking or meaningful then you're watching the wrong film. The contrived nature of each interlinking sub plot comes off as a mere a gimmick, which cannot be rescued by this film
  40. maö
    Feb 4, 2007
    3
    The musical score was used too, in The Informer; It´s a great photo, in terms of reality; but in cinematographic terms, as an "ouvre", lacks absolutely of the "poesis" that has to run through its veins...There is a Sting song, that was taken too, as a plot line: I hung my Head, from mercury falling....And in terms of PR and Lobby around the film, Iñarritu claims to love The musical score was used too, in The Informer; It´s a great photo, in terms of reality; but in cinematographic terms, as an "ouvre", lacks absolutely of the "poesis" that has to run through its veins...There is a Sting song, that was taken too, as a plot line: I hung my Head, from mercury falling....And in terms of PR and Lobby around the film, Iñarritu claims to love Mexico with his "humanitarian/empathetic/mexican-folklor flag" yet he portraits a buncho of drunken, mindless "bato" lossers, as always. Expand
  41. mattmiller
    Feb 5, 2007
    2
    Could have imagined more terrible things that could have happened to the children - like getting bit by AIDS infested rattle snakes. The children grow up to have 2 AIDS babies who get hit by cars. One loses its arms and the other its legs. Together they learn to survive, only to be trapped in a landslide etc etc etc... like this movie.
  42. EmarnT.
    Feb 9, 2007
    3
    POOR! I rarely rate films on the internet but this just had to be done. Throughout the film we feel like we are waiting. Waiting for that Sixth Sense or Usual Suspects moment. As the 2hr mark approaches it becomes more apparent that this moment is not going to arrive. I think this film had potential but the stories just didnt tie in enough for me. It almost seemed like there was no point POOR! I rarely rate films on the internet but this just had to be done. Throughout the film we feel like we are waiting. Waiting for that Sixth Sense or Usual Suspects moment. As the 2hr mark approaches it becomes more apparent that this moment is not going to arrive. I think this film had potential but the stories just didnt tie in enough for me. It almost seemed like there was no point to it. Very dissapointed. Expand
  43. SarahW.
    Mar 12, 2007
    0
    I'm still wondering why there were any favorable reviews on this movie. I still don't understand why any nudity or sexual situations were necessary in the overall theme of this movie. The fact that this movie was awarded "Best Picutre" is very disturbing if you realize the enormity of the issues they portray in such a "fairytale" kind of way. Illegals crossing into this country I'm still wondering why there were any favorable reviews on this movie. I still don't understand why any nudity or sexual situations were necessary in the overall theme of this movie. The fact that this movie was awarded "Best Picutre" is very disturbing if you realize the enormity of the issues they portray in such a "fairytale" kind of way. Illegals crossing into this country are not all nice sweet nannies, nor are the terrorists little kids playing with guns.....and Japan was brought into this because a Japanese man gave his gun away?? Expand
  44. LinH.
    Mar 2, 2007
    2
    Disappointing. I was so looking forward to seeing this movie. While the acting was ok, and it even grabbed you at the beginning, in the end it was just a poor storyline, not believable, not in the least inspirational, but instead contrived and depressing. I'm glad we rented it, and didn't spend money to see it at the theater.
  45. IrisS.
    Mar 2, 2007
    1
    Terrible movie. Mr Pitt's worst movie ever. Hollywood propaganda agendas.
  46. StephM
    Mar 4, 2007
    2
    This movie tried too hard and didn't deliver. I found it overly pretentious and self-conscious. The tone of "I'm about important things, events and people" was a theme it couldn't live up to. I never cared about the Pitt or Blanchet characters. Who were they and why, exactly, were they in Morocco? I really didn't know or care. The nanny character was sympathetic and This movie tried too hard and didn't deliver. I found it overly pretentious and self-conscious. The tone of "I'm about important things, events and people" was a theme it couldn't live up to. I never cared about the Pitt or Blanchet characters. Who were they and why, exactly, were they in Morocco? I really didn't know or care. The nanny character was sympathetic and rather tragic, in the end. The ignorance of a Moroccan father giving a gun to children was, unfortunately, just a stupid thing to do. The story with the Asian girl went on much too long and her acting out became more and more annoying. All I could ask, when the movie was over, was "What was the point?" The fact that there was a connection between the characters did not give it significance, just coincidence. This movie was endless and as painful as a bullet in the neck. Expand
  47. MattA.
    Mar 9, 2007
    4
    People giving 0's are being irrational. Although, they aren't too far off base. Amores Perrros was a masterpiece, not only because this various storylines but all somehow conncected was still fresh back then, but also because the stories were the strongest. 21 Grams was a failure, not only because Sean Penn is an overracting hack (see I Am Sam and All The King's Men for People giving 0's are being irrational. Although, they aren't too far off base. Amores Perrros was a masterpiece, not only because this various storylines but all somehow conncected was still fresh back then, but also because the stories were the strongest. 21 Grams was a failure, not only because Sean Penn is an overracting hack (see I Am Sam and All The King's Men for further evidence), but because there was no depth or real honesty to the story. Here we have three again, and only one is truly fascinating-the one set in Japan. Pitt and Blanchett's part is just kind of boring, (not to mention Pitt is only here to try and get back some credibility) and the Bernal one is just merely okay (and it only manages to achieve that level thanks to Bernal). Let's be honest here: Rinko Kikuchi was robbed. Her performance here was clearly the best supporting turn of the year. Kikuchi has more acting chops in her oft-flashed vagina than Jennifer Hudson has in her whole, fat body. The Japan segment is tragic, mysterious, strange and beautiful all at once. It could be the best storyline in any of Inarritu's films yet. It would have been great if he had set aside the whole mulitple-storyline obsession for once and just focused on this utterly unique segment. Shame. If he had, he might have the oscar he was so obviously wanting. Expand
  48. AnthonyW.
    Apr 4, 2007
    1
    Such plodding rubbish, apart from cinematography and performance of deaf-mute Japanese character, nothing to like about this film. What a con, worldview made for the Fox generation.
  49. MonicaF.
    Apr 5, 2007
    2
    I see the thread that linked each character to the other but seriously I was bored whilst watching the movie - waiting for it to start only to have it end almost where it began and feeling a huge sense of frustration that THIS was a best picture nominee. To be honest I felt cheated. Acting was believeable - scenery shots wonderful - capturing Morocco very realistic....the story simply sucked.
  50. DouglasR.
    May 29, 2007
    2
    Two and a half hours of obtuse obsurity, held together by only the thinest of story lines. Gratuitously sad and dull, goes nowhere. Pointless.
  51. JasonH.
    Jun 4, 2007
    1
    There is a glaring plot flaw near the end of this pretentious self conscious movie that makes me wonder why it's not mentioned by anyone. Maybe I didn't get this little twist and somebody can explain it to me. How could the nanny be putting the daughter on the phone to speak with the father (Brad Pitt) if she's been deported? I give it a 1 for an example of how not to make a movie.
  52. Mark
    Jun 8, 2007
    1
    Pretentious is the best way to describe this silly movie. Tries hard and gets nowhere.
  53. CraigB.
    Jul 28, 2007
    1
    just because other people tell you a movie is deep and meaningful covering race, relationships and terrorism, doesn't mean they're right. this movie is absolute rubbish. it has nothing to keep you watching other than you desperately what to see something happen. it doesn't. ever. people need to get a pair and tell it like it is, instead of pandering to the media guru's just because other people tell you a movie is deep and meaningful covering race, relationships and terrorism, doesn't mean they're right. this movie is absolute rubbish. it has nothing to keep you watching other than you desperately what to see something happen. it doesn't. ever. people need to get a pair and tell it like it is, instead of pandering to the media guru's and trying to be right. please never see this film, you'll thank me. Expand
  54. MikeS.
    Apr 25, 2008
    0
    This is the worst movie I have ever seen! I cannot believe the amount of time I wasted waiting for to get the main plot of the movie and it never happened. Sorry Brad Pitt, good acting but awful sorry line.
  55. VanshV
    Jul 10, 2009
    1
    Ridiculous movie. It feels as if five year olds could have done a better job. There were too many pointless nude scenes. Bored me to death. Another example where user reviews are more accurate than critic reviews.
  56. AudreyF.
    Nov 19, 2006
    2
    Gripping but ultimately meaningless. This is essentially about poor people making poor decisions and the consequences.
  57. JS.
    Nov 23, 2006
    4
    Did not like this movie at all. Too chopped up, lack luster plot. 3 terrible movies in one that intertwine in a useless plot.
  58. ShirleyC.
    Nov 25, 2006
    0
    This was the most terrible movie. Over the top dramatic. Made me physically ill because of the confused, babeling stories. Good character development but badly edited.
  59. NathanH.
    Nov 30, 2006
    4
    Artistic Crap. Everyone gets screwed except the Americans. The movie makes no point except to say that the White Americans always end up okay. Great.
  60. StephenB.
    Dec 30, 2006
    1
    Complete crap! Don't waste your money - unless you're into long drawn out depressing movies!
  61. LesleyY
    Dec 3, 2006
    0
    This film was absolute crap. The story, while interesting, was told in a medium that is now becoming quite cliché, and to be honest, didn't grab me at all. In addition, the entire nanny storyline was ridiculous to Requiem for a Dream proportions; I kept expecting the nanny, while running through the desert, to start screaming about her red dress. I was actually giving this This film was absolute crap. The story, while interesting, was told in a medium that is now becoming quite cliché, and to be honest, didn't grab me at all. In addition, the entire nanny storyline was ridiculous to Requiem for a Dream proportions; I kept expecting the nanny, while running through the desert, to start screaming about her red dress. I was actually giving this film a chance until [***SPOILERS***] Santiago left her and the kids in the desert. That was where I was pretty much done. Not only did I not give a toss about Mr. and Mrs. America, as their characters had no depth whatsoever, but the nanny storyline lost me when it got absurd, and the Japanese storyline - well, that deserves its own paragraph. The Japanese storyline was the only storyline that I could be bothered to care about; the characters were developed, the story was interesting. The problem with it was that it had positively nothing, and I do mean nothing, to do with the rest of the theme of connections. [***SPOILERS***] They had to concoct some half-baked explanation about the dad owning the gun at one point to even make it have any relevance, and we weren't even made aware of that until later in the film, whereas we knew the connection of the other two storylines. Major consistency problem there. I firmly believe that this storyline existed to redeem the movie, because without it, I might have just walked out. And I never walk out on a film. I had been looking forward to Babel, and I was very, very disappointed with the end result. The Japanese storyline was great, but out of place, and Gael Garcia Bernal was amazing in the four scenes that he was in. Other than that? I could have spent my two and a half hours doing something that I cared a lot more about. Expand
  62. JasonS.
    Dec 9, 2006
    1
    They tried for a Pulp Fiction type format and failed miserably. The movie has no plot, no conclusion, no redeeming qualities.
  63. YockoD.
    Oct 29, 2006
    3
    What a piece of pretentious crap. I loved amores perros and 21 grams, but this is the emprorers new clothes. Full of inconsistencies, pathetic, ugly, cheap. what crap. Why does everyone love this so much?
  64. ElliottM.
    Jan 15, 2007
    3
    Babel is an artfully made, annoyingly overreaching melodramatic mess. The plotline involving the Japanese girl was the most interesting and heartfelt, though it felt completely tangential considering the frailty of the narrative thread connecting her to the rest of the movie. The rest of the movie was just contrived -- parts of it were so shameful and opportunistic I almost laughed.
  65. KymD.
    Jan 16, 2007
    1
    It was derivative. You would have thought it was first movie of all time to use interlinked narratives. The story line was predictable--the only surpise I got was that the Japanese chick did not fly off the balcony. It was laboured--why show us endless footage of the chopper flying the wonded Blanchett to hospital? As soon as the juiced up mexican nephew decided to drive back to the It was derivative. You would have thought it was first movie of all time to use interlinked narratives. The story line was predictable--the only surpise I got was that the Japanese chick did not fly off the balcony. It was laboured--why show us endless footage of the chopper flying the wonded Blanchett to hospital? As soon as the juiced up mexican nephew decided to drive back to the states you knew there would be tears before bed time. This was a crock. Critics and the public have been sucked in big time. The only analogy you can safely make with this and the real Babel is the collaborators on this movie clearly never spoke the same language or were ever on the same page--much like those who tried to build the tower to heaven. Save your money. Expand
  66. LisaN
    Dec 18, 2007
    0
    Terribly put together. Although you can link how all the parties relate to each other, it was done horribly. I was surprised any big name actors/actresses were willing to put their name to this film.
  67. Jon
    Jan 22, 2007
    4
    What? This is the same guy that made Amores Perros and 21 Grams, right? The difference is, those movies made sense and were put together for a reason. Two out of three storylines that work, yet are interrupted by one that makes absolutely no sense, that's sounds more like a recipe for Ba-Balogna.
  68. DavidG.
    Jan 22, 2007
    0
    The average movie watcher will think this is the biggest piece of crap ever put on the screen. Leave it at the Cannes festival and give us some real entertainment. Everyone just sat in the theatre afterward wandering what just happened and feeling like they had the life sucked out of them. Stupid piece of anti-american political propaganda witten and produced by a foreign person and The average movie watcher will think this is the biggest piece of crap ever put on the screen. Leave it at the Cannes festival and give us some real entertainment. Everyone just sat in the theatre afterward wandering what just happened and feeling like they had the life sucked out of them. Stupid piece of anti-american political propaganda witten and produced by a foreign person and supported by the Hollwood crowd which makes them feel better about themselves because in real life they live such a self indulgent life. Cate Blanchette gets nominated for playing half dead for 10 minutes. Once again, if it wins Oscars and Golden Globes-be very weary. Expand
  69. JamesD.
    Jan 23, 2007
    1
    Just got back from seeing it and I can honestly say it was the most tedious 2.5 hrs I have spent in quite some time. At times it looks like it might pick up the pace, but it never does. It seems like the film equivalent of a really badly put together essay - all of the stories only very tenuously linked, with no strong structure or progression in ideas, as if he had 3 completely different Just got back from seeing it and I can honestly say it was the most tedious 2.5 hrs I have spent in quite some time. At times it looks like it might pick up the pace, but it never does. It seems like the film equivalent of a really badly put together essay - all of the stories only very tenuously linked, with no strong structure or progression in ideas, as if he had 3 completely different "stories" (it's hard to even call them that) and had to rush to find some excuse to stitch them together. It's hard to empathise with anyone in the film other than the deaf japanese girl, and that's only because of her exceptionally unfortunate circumstances. I don't think I was the only one getting restless in the cinema either, after an hour half the audience were shifting around in their seats and at least 2 people I saw walked out before the end. It's a shame, as Amores Perres was great, in my opinion. Expand
  70. BradleyP.
    Jan 23, 2007
    1
    The story line, the acting, the interconnection of each story, the 2 hour plus the movies lasted. I get it
  71. RJM.
    Jan 25, 2007
    2
    As the old saying goes, "if you can't dazzle 'em with brilliance, baffle 'em with bullshit". Excellently made tedium. Performance by the Mexican nanny a standout. Ms. Blanchett is given a role which offers her nothing more than to pretend to suffer for the duration of her screen time. Mr. Pitt gets to pretend he's enraged and concerned. Their most compassionate moment As the old saying goes, "if you can't dazzle 'em with brilliance, baffle 'em with bullshit". Excellently made tedium. Performance by the Mexican nanny a standout. Ms. Blanchett is given a role which offers her nothing more than to pretend to suffer for the duration of her screen time. Mr. Pitt gets to pretend he's enraged and concerned. Their most compassionate moment is when he helps her urinate into a pan. The filmmakers have very vast concepts built of very small, highly inflated subject matter. Expand
  72. MayaB.
    Jan 28, 2007
    0
    As a mexican, I´m supposed to be real glad this movie is up for the Oscars. I´m not. While others find it touching and human, I think it´s incredibly racist and elitist. No one seems to notice that, although all these characters live through tragedy, the tragedies of the rich struck because of a bad twist of fate and turn out Ok in the end. Meanwhile, the poor live As a mexican, I´m supposed to be real glad this movie is up for the Oscars. I´m not. While others find it touching and human, I think it´s incredibly racist and elitist. No one seems to notice that, although all these characters live through tragedy, the tragedies of the rich struck because of a bad twist of fate and turn out Ok in the end. Meanwhile, the poor live tragedies as a punishment for their stupid decisions: giving a rifle to children, taking your baby sitting charges across the border, getting drunk and getting into trouble with the border patrol. And the worse part is the makers are going all over the place, praising themselves and probably thinking they are intercultural dialogue. Expand
  73. MariaP.
    Jan 28, 2007
    1
    Stupid movie. nothing really ties together. emotionless. unessasary nudity. stupid stupid ending.
  74. ClaudioF.
    Jan 31, 2007
    1
    Those who praised this movie are probably some teenage girls in love with Brad Pitt. But the truth is this movie is one of the worst I have ever seen and it doesn't deserve an oscar nomination! It is incredible! Everything is so banal and simple.
  75. BrettM.
    Feb 13, 2007
    0
    This is the worst, most boring movie I have ever seen. Do not see this film.
  76. PadraigJ.
    Feb 2, 2007
    3
    This movie was strictly carried along on the backs of the two women nominated for Supporting Actress, and the cinematographer. Who would have guessed that critics would have supported anything with a story this shallow, with its little wafts of political import, and characters who would have been ethnnographic cartoons if all the actors couldn't manage their very-best "show me This movie was strictly carried along on the backs of the two women nominated for Supporting Actress, and the cinematographer. Who would have guessed that critics would have supported anything with a story this shallow, with its little wafts of political import, and characters who would have been ethnnographic cartoons if all the actors couldn't manage their very-best "show me anguish" faces. I KNEW I shouldn't have gone last night! Expand
  77. RandyS.
    Feb 22, 2007
    1
    I have been an avid movie goer all of my life. I am 53. I came out of this film saying "So what"! This film does not deserve an academy award nomiation or win. My vote if I had one would go to the Departed.
  78. MVicki
    Feb 24, 2007
    1
    So very dissapointing. Great directing, beautiful scenes linked together with horrible story telling. I didn't even care about any of the characters. I kept searching for some sort of lesson -- Don't leave your country? Get therapy for your daughter after her mother dies? Treat your nannies better?
  79. JerryM
    Feb 24, 2007
    4
    Best picture?? No way.......Loved the cast, but it was slow going. Shocked that is got so much attention. Would not recommend it.
  80. JoelT.
    Feb 27, 2007
    0
    Wow...total crap. I know Crash..and you sir are no Crash.
  81. BreanV.
    Feb 3, 2007
    0
    WORST MOVIE EVER! I actually thought things would tie in and make a good plot. I'm amazed Brad Pitt would waste his time with such a movie. Sure, the events happened at the same time, but it was SO BORING! I'm thinking of throwing out a movie of my life, as Hollywood seems to be accepting ANYTHING these days. WOW. Seriously I don't understand how any person in the world WORST MOVIE EVER! I actually thought things would tie in and make a good plot. I'm amazed Brad Pitt would waste his time with such a movie. Sure, the events happened at the same time, but it was SO BORING! I'm thinking of throwing out a movie of my life, as Hollywood seems to be accepting ANYTHING these days. WOW. Seriously I don't understand how any person in the world could enjoy this movie or even sit there and not be suffering one of the worst and slow punishments of all time. For real TERRIBLE.....The most dissappointing thing about this horrible movie is the fact that nothing is fully explained in the end. I feel terrible for any human being that had to pay money to see this film......I think they should be paying people to see the film instead. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE.......SERIOUSLY HORRIBLE. Expand
  82. Elise
    Mar 10, 2007
    0
    This movie was a waste of my time. Depressing and pointless. What was in the Asian girl's letter? Do the connections between the characters really matter? Why should I care about American woman? she was not a likable character. Why were they in Morocco to begin with? Americans in foreign countries who get shot get helicopters? Is that a theme? Did the Moroccan boy get a helicopter? This movie was a waste of my time. Depressing and pointless. What was in the Asian girl's letter? Do the connections between the characters really matter? Why should I care about American woman? she was not a likable character. Why were they in Morocco to begin with? Americans in foreign countries who get shot get helicopters? Is that a theme? Did the Moroccan boy get a helicopter? Does it matter? Waste of my time. Stupid questions with no answers. Expand
  83. Alison
    Mar 12, 2007
    1
    Too hard to follow without a complete end.
  84. TheProphet
    Mar 13, 2007
    1
    What the hell! This movie got such great reviews from everyone, though I really can't see how. This was one of the most boring movies I have ever seen.
  85. TomB.
    Mar 17, 2007
    1
    This may be the worst movie I've seen since "Smoke". It has to be a conspiracy as to way this movie has Oscar nominations. I wasted $3.99 + tax to rent this movie the only good thing is that I didn't buy it but i'll never get the 144 minutes back.
  86. EricC.
    Mar 26, 2007
    0
    Wow. Two jerks back to back. Magdalena T. and Majed M., your ignorance is mindblowing. This movie isn't as depthful as you would like to think. The huge amounts of us who didn't like this trash are not "uneducated", and we're not mindless viewers. I completely understand what this movie tried to do, and yes, a world as chaotic as ours needs to be brought together and Wow. Two jerks back to back. Magdalena T. and Majed M., your ignorance is mindblowing. This movie isn't as depthful as you would like to think. The huge amounts of us who didn't like this trash are not "uneducated", and we're not mindless viewers. I completely understand what this movie tried to do, and yes, a world as chaotic as ours needs to be brought together and connected. But this movie failed so bad at doing this. The "connections" were ridiculous and insignifficant, horribly thought out. Stranger Than Fiction did a better job of this, and it was only a side note in that movie. The character studies were bad for the sole reason the characters were inhuman. Find me people like this. I challenge you. Kid in puberty turned on by his sister, deaf girl who desperately wants sex to "cope", nagging wife who just happens to get shot in a place she hates because of its exaggerated violent image (which is confirmed by her injury, completely ruining the point). Stop me when they stop sounding laughable. And sorry,Carl F., we don't have to be world weary travellers like you to "get" it. We all encounter racism from all around. We all happen to know about world affairs and cultures (I pride myself on it). And sorry, we're not all apart of the suburban culture. Crawl out of your little superiorority shell. You're not as special as you think. Sorry we haven't lived in your "developing country". We've been living in a decaying one. Go kiss a mirror or something, you seem way to proud of yourself. I'll just go to K-Mart and accessorise with Martha Stewart's latest, like I apparently should be doing. And all this is unimportant anyway. A crap movie is a crap movie. Nothing in the world could change that. Expand
  87. BillS.
    Mar 28, 2007
    0
    Don't waste your time on this one. This is one bad film. First, a kid shoots a tourist by accident, ok I can buy that. The hubby goes bonkers because his wife got shot. Ok I can buy that. After that the movie is all down hill from there. This move is a 142 minute bore. Save your money buy a pizza instead.
  88. Josh
    Mar 3, 2007
    4
    Babel is a film so stuffed with self-importance it confuses those around it into believing it's delusions. It might have been an interesting plot if it wasn't just a couple of incomplete stories taped together for the sake of "interconnection". It felt disjointed, empty and a rehash in style of several other easily nameable films (Traffic, Crash and 21 Grams to name a few). It Babel is a film so stuffed with self-importance it confuses those around it into believing it's delusions. It might have been an interesting plot if it wasn't just a couple of incomplete stories taped together for the sake of "interconnection". It felt disjointed, empty and a rehash in style of several other easily nameable films (Traffic, Crash and 21 Grams to name a few). It looks like the formula for critical success is filming a bunch of characters then intersecting them at the end of the film. Blah. Expand
  89. LlilianaD.
    Mar 3, 2007
    3
    I hate it. Topical, slow, obvious. I wanted to leave the theater before the end. The worst I have seen lately
  90. BillK.
    Mar 4, 2007
    0
    Quite Possibly the dumbest movie ever made. I think that I would rather watch "Dude Where's My Car." In fact I believe that Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett should pay US to watch the movie
  91. TrevaR.
    Mar 8, 2007
    0
    Why did I waste my time on this film, I am still asking myself that question? I find the movie's leaping around between stories frustratingly annoying with little thread or reason between them until the end which was too late in the game for me to care why there was a connection. The filming of the Asian girl exposing herself to the boys was totally unnecessary. Hitchcock never Why did I waste my time on this film, I am still asking myself that question? I find the movie's leaping around between stories frustratingly annoying with little thread or reason between them until the end which was too late in the game for me to care why there was a connection. The filming of the Asian girl exposing herself to the boys was totally unnecessary. Hitchcock never needed to show someone's head being blown off, and we didn't need to see her naked body to understand her pain. SKIP THIS ONE! Expand
  92. anonimous
    Apr 11, 2007
    1
    This movie is not stupid, it's dumb. I wonder how much the writer of this movie knows about Morocco, Japan and Mexico...?
    it's a pity for people who don't know much about these cultures to watch this garbage and think that this is how things are.
    I wonder if it is illegal immigration, pauvrety, ignorance or simply, greatness of america in the whole world that this movie
    This movie is not stupid, it's dumb. I wonder how much the writer of this movie knows about Morocco, Japan and Mexico...?
    it's a pity for people who don't know much about these cultures to watch this garbage and think that this is how things are.
    I wonder if it is illegal immigration, pauvrety, ignorance or simply, greatness of america in the whole world that this movie is trying to show here???
    it has beautiful pictures though of all these 3 countries, that's why I give it 1.
    Expand
  93. ghostly
    Apr 24, 2007
    3
    when i saw this film i was in laos in a tourist trap town where all the blonds and europeens and privileged israeli went for vacation..to do tubbing...
    anyways..they were all sitting in this restaurant watching this movie...of Moroccan berbers eating couscous at a table...and looking so boring and primitive in the eyes of the camera. Truly this movie was made by an american who only knows
    when i saw this film i was in laos in a tourist trap town where all the blonds and europeens and privileged israeli went for vacation..to do tubbing...
    anyways..they were all sitting in this restaurant watching this movie...of Moroccan berbers eating couscous at a table...and looking so boring and primitive in the eyes of the camera. Truly this movie was made by an american who only knows america...now the filmakers name is hispanic but how much of Morocco does he know? He just showed them like aloof people with no intelleigence..i mean shit..i was in morocco and tought video to the adolescents and they had very fine minds...
    America is so scared of herself...and being unloved...that she projects her fears on everyone.
    IT is a shame that we never hear the voice of the Moroccan people. They are just fucking scenery for the glorification of Mr armpit and Mme aerian race blondy herself...
    America the WHTIE
    although u made a film about internation...it was once again about self importance of the whites colonnizers.
    Expand
  94. CarlosG.
    Apr 24, 2007
    0
    Possibly, the worst of it all i that everything happens to one single white American family!
  95. ChrisB.
    Apr 5, 2007
    2
    This movie is not very good. It is amazing how much everyone seems to hate each other over their opinions about movies. Our lives have very little to do with anything that happened in this movie and our opinions of this film are an equally small insight into our intellectual value in the world. I suggest not watching this movie though. It is boring and unimporportant. There are a few This movie is not very good. It is amazing how much everyone seems to hate each other over their opinions about movies. Our lives have very little to do with anything that happened in this movie and our opinions of this film are an equally small insight into our intellectual value in the world. I suggest not watching this movie though. It is boring and unimporportant. There are a few memorable scenes, but they have virtually nothing to do with reality yet the movie seems to suggest that they are supposed to. I was mad about my lost two hours after it was over. Watch that Volkswagon commercial. Its thirty seconds and conveys the same point...only it is less boring. Expand
  96. KateO
    Apr 6, 2007
    3
    Ugh. Extremely pompous movie about unlikeable characters.
  97. PhilG.
    Jun 18, 2007
    1
    The movie tries hard to be like some European movies and just fails badly. The director has not mastered the art of creating a movie without a plot and yet captivating the audience. He has a lot to learn from the Italian, French and Spanish masters.
  98. danwilson
    Jun 18, 2007
    0
    this movie was the shittest thing i have ever watched...things which i have gazed upon so far in my life which have succsessfully satisfied me more than this so called film include... paint drying, snails crawling and big brother live nominations... as far as im concerned you owe me one hundred and forty two minutes of my life back.... as for it being a so called suspense slash thriller...this movie was the shittest thing i have ever watched...things which i have gazed upon so far in my life which have succsessfully satisfied me more than this so called film include... paint drying, snails crawling and big brother live nominations... as far as im concerned you owe me one hundred and forty two minutes of my life back.... as for it being a so called suspense slash thriller... if u tried to make the most boringest randomest crappest movie ever, this would beat u. yours sincerely dan wilson... better luck next time Expand
  99. RobB.
    Jul 21, 2007
    1
    Looks fantastic. Terrible Story.
  100. DO
    Aug 21, 2007
    0
    This had to be the worst movie my husband and I have ever seen. We kept waiting for something to really make sense. BIG WASTE of time.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 100
    In the year's richest, most complex and ultimately most heartbreaking film, Inarritu invites us to get past the babble of modern civilization and start listening to each other.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Effectively building dread and emotional tension as tragic incidents triggered by human stupidity and carelessness steadily multiply, this film, like "21 Grams" in particular, employs a deterministically grim mindset in the cause of its philosophical aspirations, but is gripping nearly all the way.
  3. The filmmakers succeed brilliantly in weaving these stories together, taking time to explore depth of character and relationships. The suspense builds throughout as everyone involved becomes lost in a place they don't understand with people they don't know if they can trust.