User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 656 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    A breathtaking human story of startling perception and beauty. It is wonderfully acted and achingly tangible. Brilliant, and a must see.
  2. May 6, 2011
    10
    Magnificent, emotionally charged exploration of the lines that divide us. Terrific acting, gripping plot. Ignore the loser trolls who abuse this review site; Do yourself a favor and watch this film.
  3. JulieRoberts
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    Flashing between Tokyo, Morocco and Baja Mexico, this third entry in Inarritu's triptych (along with Amores Perros and 21 Grams) is an emotionally saturated story about the interconnectedness of joy and pain in our world. While Tolstoy argued that "all happy families are alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way," Inarritu's masterpiece demonstrates the universalityFlashing between Tokyo, Morocco and Baja Mexico, this third entry in Inarritu's triptych (along with Amores Perros and 21 Grams) is an emotionally saturated story about the interconnectedness of joy and pain in our world. While Tolstoy argued that "all happy families are alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way," Inarritu's masterpiece demonstrates the universality of pain and loss in a beautiful tribute to the fragility of the human condition. As Inarritu responded to a question about Tolstoy's famous line (after a screening of Babel at the Telluride Film Festival), "he got it wrong." Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2010
    7
    The title of the movie it explains it well..The definition of babel is a scene of confusion and noise, which is based off the biblical definition. The movie wasn't bad but the music was horrible and the story of the asian girl is irrelevant and has hardly anything to do with the main story. It is worth watching if you have netflix or something. To the people who overly sensitive peopleThe title of the movie it explains it well..The definition of babel is a scene of confusion and noise, which is based off the biblical definition. The movie wasn't bad but the music was horrible and the story of the asian girl is irrelevant and has hardly anything to do with the main story. It is worth watching if you have netflix or something. To the people who overly sensitive people complaining about the "graphic" parts of the movie you need to stick with Disney movies if you don't like it. They are simply showing real things that happen in this world, it is rated R for a reason and even explains the graphic natures of the movie before you watch it. Overall the movie was good, it just could use some touches to make it better. Expand
  5. MajedM.
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    AWESOME MOVIE. You will need to pay attention, as this movie is not for the uneducated ones. It is a mind twister....loved it. MUST SEE
  6. ElizaS.
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    Since Amores Perros, Mexican cinema has completely changed. Almost 80% of the films made in Mexico now follow this 3-story segments. Babel is a triumph, it's not perfect but the level of acting is the best of the year. The message of it is consistant, penetrating, LISTENING, this film could end up with many many noms for the Oscars.
  7. Devil'sR.
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    This is a very complex and touching film. Probably the best film from the trilogy. Great performances great screenplay. The best story was the Japanese girl, very very touching and great performance by Kikuchi. Amazing film, maybe not the best of the year, but still great.
  8. RobertV.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    I haven't seen a film that moved me as much and impressed me with its use of the medium to visually tell a story of such epic proportion as to how one single choice, mistake or moment in time can affect the lives of so many people around our world simultaneously. At times, its window on our world - in all of its complexity as well as its simplicity, its frailty and strength, its I haven't seen a film that moved me as much and impressed me with its use of the medium to visually tell a story of such epic proportion as to how one single choice, mistake or moment in time can affect the lives of so many people around our world simultaneously. At times, its window on our world - in all of its complexity as well as its simplicity, its frailty and strength, its poverty and wealth, power and hoplessness, brutality and kindness - Was so realistic I almost forgot I was watching a movie. I found myself riveted to the screen, on the edge of my seat, actually praying that each of the many developed characters stories would somehow work out ok. In all of the tragedy it communicates about our liability to communicate, tolerate, accept, allow and embrace each others crises - Which it does masterfully and visually without beating you over the head - And it took me until the actual rolling of the credits and the dedication to children - to realize that the movie was actually much more about hope than despair. I also think that people without children will not relate even remotely as powerfully to this film as those with. I haven't left a theatre in a long time considering how much my own choices can affect so many. A powerful, masterful and visually stunning piece of film as art. Expand
  9. JeffS.
    Jan 10, 2007
    9
    Brilliant film that selects 4 story-threads, playing them out to demonstrate truths about communication, time and the human condition.
  10. TracyR.
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    Has some flaws, but does so much right that it gets the high score for intentions and for delivering some of the most stirring acting and beautiful cinematography to be seen in what has been a bad movie year. Two of the other best movies of the year (regardless of the Oscars) Pan's Labyrinth and Children of Men also emanated out of Mexico and it's an extraordinary burst that Has some flaws, but does so much right that it gets the high score for intentions and for delivering some of the most stirring acting and beautiful cinematography to be seen in what has been a bad movie year. Two of the other best movies of the year (regardless of the Oscars) Pan's Labyrinth and Children of Men also emanated out of Mexico and it's an extraordinary burst that should be treasured. Expand
  11. ElliotP.
    Feb 4, 2007
    8
    If you want to see Brad Pitt, go see another of his movies, because his role in this one, while excellently portrayed, is little more than a cameo appearance. The movie ending was an interesting segment, in a film of segments, but was baffling, and less than satisfying. The acting in all parts was beautiful to watch; I am not sure the director really had a unifying vision. I suspect the If you want to see Brad Pitt, go see another of his movies, because his role in this one, while excellently portrayed, is little more than a cameo appearance. The movie ending was an interesting segment, in a film of segments, but was baffling, and less than satisfying. The acting in all parts was beautiful to watch; I am not sure the director really had a unifying vision. I suspect the name Babel is supposed to explain and excuse a lot of this disjointed and empty feelings away. Expand
  12. LennonA.
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    One of the finest achievements in the world of cinema since the turn of the century. This film was breathtaking, tragic, intense, gripping, everything. A solid, unquestionable masterpiece.
  13. CaroleD.
    Apr 26, 2007
    8
    Engaging, phenomenal acting and script writing. If I have to fault it, the story doesn't hang together as it might, and there are various political statements with no development, like the housekeeper's deportation back to MX.
  14. MartinS.
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    I thought the movie was very effective in portraying American attitudes towards immigrants even when traveling abroad. Having traveled quite a bit in Africa, India and the Middle East I can vouch for the authenticity: People with barely a pot to pee in extending hospitality rarely seen in this country.
  15. NickB.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    What do some of these reviewers want, THE definitive story that links all mankind and explains all of human life that ever was? This is a great film - but only a film. If the connections betweens its story strands are tenuous, so what? As each story progresses - full of intelligence and heart - that story in front of you's all you need, and each of them succeeds dramatically. What do some of these reviewers want, THE definitive story that links all mankind and explains all of human life that ever was? This is a great film - but only a film. If the connections betweens its story strands are tenuous, so what? As each story progresses - full of intelligence and heart - that story in front of you's all you need, and each of them succeeds dramatically. Don't forget - this is entertainment, albeit serious, and it delivers visceral thrills throughout via a strong script, incendiary, cutting edge film- making, and compelling performances. Expand
  16. SheenaM.
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    This was brilliant. Intelligent and emotional, subtle and powerful, adult and humane. Ten out of ten.
  17. TaN.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    Ok so I just watched Babel. Maybe it's me but basically it was a good story...that centered a crochity old white woman getting shot in the neck and the police force from the middle east, japan, and the united states frantically tried to save her. I mean come on! If this country hasn't learned or doesn't know by now that the white woman is the reason and subsequently the Ok so I just watched Babel. Maybe it's me but basically it was a good story...that centered a crochity old white woman getting shot in the neck and the police force from the middle east, japan, and the united states frantically tried to save her. I mean come on! If this country hasn't learned or doesn't know by now that the white woman is the reason and subsequently the downfall of this country then maybe they should watch this movie. Everybody who came in contact with these parasites was either killed, beaten, or arrested. Sure the Eastern kids shouldn't have been playing with a gun but what the fuck was a tourist bus doing out in the middle of the desert? Why do white people travel where they aren't wanted? I thought it was funny the passagers on the bus began to freak out because they were subject to loosing control, subject to not being mystified as white gods. Money doesn't by you safety, police anywhere can only beat to death so many people before the oppressed get tired of it. Here's this white supremacist feminine patriarch, who, as I've experienced women like her, pretend to have balls until they're someone comes along with bigger ones that is, hunched in a fetal position helpless while the world is literally in chaos. And don't forget the white kids. No maybe it was a bad choice for the housekeeper or nanny to take them to Mexico City with her...I would have just left the devil spawn and gone to my son's wedding. I can always get another job. Then she could have stayed over and if the same relative was going to drive her home the least he would have had was a hang over. I think this movie illustrated the problem with creating a social structure that caters to skin and bullies, if they can't kill you with kindness, or by you off, the rest of the world to follow along with their childish schemes. Expand
  18. JohnF.
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    Good story and pace with beleivable characters. I really enjoyed this movie.
  19. Chads.
    Aug 19, 2007
    8
    i enjoyed this movie. it isnt the best movie ever, but its unique, memorable, and an overall entertaining story. the plot unfortunately can be slow at times, but if you are interested in babel you should check it out.
  20. AdamF.
    Nov 30, 2006
    9
    Fantastic flick. Go see it.
  21. HumbertoT.
    Nov 6, 2006
    7
    The recurring theme I found in this film is the difficulty of communication between us humans--whether due to language barriers, prejudices, and personal agendas. The main characters in each of the three storylines ultimately suffer due to the inability to make one's intentions and purposes understood by others. They are all victims of particular circumstances but the circumstances The recurring theme I found in this film is the difficulty of communication between us humans--whether due to language barriers, prejudices, and personal agendas. The main characters in each of the three storylines ultimately suffer due to the inability to make one's intentions and purposes understood by others. They are all victims of particular circumstances but the circumstances are in a way universal. The title of the film is itself a nod to this theme...after all 'Babel' was the biblical event in which God confounded the universal language so that mankind could no longer work together constructing a ziggurat that would reach the heavens...the film Babel offers no opinion as to the truth of that biblical tale, but rather a meditation on a state of affairs where it takes a crisis for people to truly listen to one another, and even then at times tragically fail to get the message. Expand
  22. VicG
    Dec 17, 2006
    8
    Breathtaking cinematography. Claustrophobic. Makes you want to scream 'just shut up and listen'.
  23. TimM
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    This movie was awesome. i am definitely getting this on dvd. to maria, who says the themes are "illegal immigration, disablities, racial hatred, awakening sexuality, Americans & the rest of the world, parents & children just to mention a few" no, you're wrong. you are not looking at the big picture. this film is about communication and lack thereof, spanning all social levels. really This movie was awesome. i am definitely getting this on dvd. to maria, who says the themes are "illegal immigration, disablities, racial hatred, awakening sexuality, Americans & the rest of the world, parents & children just to mention a few" no, you're wrong. you are not looking at the big picture. this film is about communication and lack thereof, spanning all social levels. really really freakin good movie. this movie is different than 21 grams and amores perros, and i loved every second of all 3, tho 21 grams was the least ambitious in my opinion. Expand
  24. LouD.
    Oct 27, 2006
    8
    Challenging, slow to unfold, yet ultimately rewarding. Logistically, the film-making process had to be a nightmare, which makes the end result more astounding. The acting was terrific and fearless, especially Rinko Kikuchi, and the sound was as much a charcter of the film as any of the credited cast.
  25. EmileDeB
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    I think this movie sucks...just kidding. This movie is beyond words. Mesmerizing and unsettling. The only thing I hope for now is that Brad gets that Oscar to put next to Angelina's. And not to make his ex-wife feel bad but simply because this was his best performance ever.
  26. SharmaH
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    Who knew Brad Pitt could act? This movie is a high point for him, as well as for director Alejandro González Iñárritu. Babel far surpasses Amores Perros. I never thought he'd be able to do that.
  27. JS
    Jan 2, 2007
    9
    Haunting and in some ways profound. I found its somber tone and deliberate pace refreshing.
  28. GregR.
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    Don't try to "figure it out" as you watch, if you do, you will miss the whole meaning of the movie. Just go with it, the actual connections between the different groups of people and countries really doesn't matter anyway. Babel is the best movie I've seen in a years.
  29. MarkB.
    Jan 5, 2007
    7
    Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu and screenwriter Guillermo Arriaga (Amores Perros and 21 Grams, their best film) reunite again for this exceedingly well-made but punishing tower of human misery, misunderstanding and the consequences of making mind-roastingly terrible mistakes that, like Vittorio DeSica's neorealist classic The Bicycle Thief, is a film I'm glad I saw once...and ONLY Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu and screenwriter Guillermo Arriaga (Amores Perros and 21 Grams, their best film) reunite again for this exceedingly well-made but punishing tower of human misery, misunderstanding and the consequences of making mind-roastingly terrible mistakes that, like Vittorio DeSica's neorealist classic The Bicycle Thief, is a film I'm glad I saw once...and ONLY once. Two Moroccan kids use a gun recently received as a gift in the worst possible way; parties directly or indirectly involved in the fallout include a U.S. couple (Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett) suddenly stranded in unfamiliar surroundings as they fight for life, a domestic (Adrianna Barraza) working here who hits an immigration wall when she decides to attend a wedding, and--most obscurely--a Japanese businessman and his deaf, seriously sexually disturbed teen daughter. Like their other films (and Paul Haggis' Crash) this deals heavily with the capriciousness of both fate and human error; while reaching the perhaps inevitable conclusion that fortune often favors those who are already quite well-off (and American), it commendably doesn't try to score easy points with facile U.S.-bashing. Equally notable is that, in keeping with its theme of people of many nations inextricably connected to one another by human experience but tragically separated by their inability to understand each other (which is actually an inversion of the Biblical account of the Tower of Babel, in which God punishes the nations of the world for attempting to form a common language and government, leaving Him out in the proceedings) Babel doesn't create any real villains. There are no Iagos, Medeas or Stanley Kowalskis here acting out of pure evil, cruelty or psychopathic self-interest; at worst, there are just people in authority doing their jobs the best they can. I hope the Motion Picture academy of Arts and Sciences sees fit to look beyond the usual corral of science fiction/ action epics that usual fill the editing and sound effects categories and honor this film there: Inarritu's work with sound, especially in a sequence where the deaf girl enters a disco, is truly phenomenal. However, despite all of Babel's excellences, its worldview is so unrelentingly bleak, and most of its stories play out that way, that I left the theater wanting as desperately to watch a musical or romantic comedy to cleanse the old palate as I'm beginning to think that Inarritu and Arriaga truly need to make one. Unfortunately, given their output at this point, I'm also beginning to suspect that I'M more capable of making one than they'll ever be! Expand
  30. RichardG.
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    Tense and unforgettable movie. Brilliant in all aspects except the too neat ending(s).
  31. NiallD.
    Feb 1, 2007
    9
    This is a film about isolation and trusting when it is not easy to trust, it is about feeling alone and transparent but with an overwhelming determination to survive. Being an alien in a foreign land. being a prisoner in your own body. This film raises social questions, they are not supposed to be easliy answered, maybe some of us have failed to answer them in the past maybe thats why we This is a film about isolation and trusting when it is not easy to trust, it is about feeling alone and transparent but with an overwhelming determination to survive. Being an alien in a foreign land. being a prisoner in your own body. This film raises social questions, they are not supposed to be easliy answered, maybe some of us have failed to answer them in the past maybe thats why we get offended, maybe we would prefer to not have to deal with the issues raised in this movie, as for watching half of it and walking out before giving the movie a chance to explain itself, then having the audacity to criticise, I dont agree. Ill finish by saying I'm not interested in bandwagoning or kissing ass I just thought it was one of the better Films I've seen. Expand
  32. ArielG.
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    A very rich and rewarding movie. It was much like Crash, with the conjoined stories. Babel also gives us characters, who at first seem selfish in their own ways, but that we can feel sorry for and empathize for, as the movie goes on. It was especially heart-wrenching to step into the world of Chieko, the Japanese deaf-mute. There are lots of scenes of thought and quiet reflection, so if A very rich and rewarding movie. It was much like Crash, with the conjoined stories. Babel also gives us characters, who at first seem selfish in their own ways, but that we can feel sorry for and empathize for, as the movie goes on. It was especially heart-wrenching to step into the world of Chieko, the Japanese deaf-mute. There are lots of scenes of thought and quiet reflection, so if you prefer car chase scenes and loud explosions, you may not enjoy this movie so much. But I found Babel to be one of the greats of the 2006/2007 season, along with Blood Diamond, The Departed, Little Miss Sunshine, Last King of Scotland, Pan's Labyrinth, and Casino Royale. Expand
  33. MartinZ.
    Feb 19, 2007
    8
    I went to see this with a slight sense of trepidation. I'd recentely seen '21 Grams' which seemed, at best, a kind of pretentious, well-filmed soap-opera. I've always been suspicious of these portmanteau plots that play with time, if only because so many people think that if a movie confuses them, it must be good (oh, say... Pulp Fiction, for one...). However, my fears I went to see this with a slight sense of trepidation. I'd recentely seen '21 Grams' which seemed, at best, a kind of pretentious, well-filmed soap-opera. I've always been suspicious of these portmanteau plots that play with time, if only because so many people think that if a movie confuses them, it must be good (oh, say... Pulp Fiction, for one...). However, my fears were quickly allayed. 'Babel' has little of '21 Grams' pretension or melodrama, showing convincing characters too wrapped up in their own problems to listen to each other. The plots link well and Inarritu avoids teasing his audience with obscure connections between them. The only thing which holds back a higher rating is that I have a sneaking suspicion that movies are supposed to be enjoyable, and while there was a certain pleasure to be derived from this, it's rather akin to the pleasure derived from punching a brick wall... repeatedly... for two and a half hours... A great film - one to see once, but not buy, and one that will actually make you glad to get back to the real, less painful, world. Expand
  34. ShawnC.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Babel reveals interconnectedness of the one. Like a pebble thrown into water. This film shows that what we do in life reflects and connects us all.
  35. roydenirvine
    Feb 24, 2007
    9
    A difficult film - but full of meaningful interconnections. I feel a lot of major media critics view the film with left brain consciousness, often replacing one's innocence/openness with the cynicism of growing old with importance . It's also interesting how the Europe generally view Inarritu's work (and cinema). European consciousness seems to have a different set of A difficult film - but full of meaningful interconnections. I feel a lot of major media critics view the film with left brain consciousness, often replacing one's innocence/openness with the cynicism of growing old with importance . It's also interesting how the Europe generally view Inarritu's work (and cinema). European consciousness seems to have a different set of 'glasses' when viewing the word. Externally and culturally. They often see the art and not just the technical cleverness. Poetry - is that understood in today's world. Close to a masterpiece. Expand
  36. CindyN.
    Feb 27, 2007
    9
    I was struck by the lesser actors and actresses by the immense human performances. Amelia and the Moroccan families. People have so much good in them that we seldom see. It all came together in a beautiful cinematic prose.
  37. EleanorW.
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    Riveting, fascinating, but very sad.
  38. RG
    Mar 2, 2007
    7
    This was a let down. huge fan of Inarritu and writer arriaga, but there is just too much being hammered on scene after scene. not to say its a bad effort. gorgeous looking film and some solid acting: while jenifer hudson sang in dreamgirls rinko kikuchi played a deaf and mute to get feelings across (brilliant actn). pitt and the rest are strong as well but the movie just lags. where prev This was a let down. huge fan of Inarritu and writer arriaga, but there is just too much being hammered on scene after scene. not to say its a bad effort. gorgeous looking film and some solid acting: while jenifer hudson sang in dreamgirls rinko kikuchi played a deaf and mute to get feelings across (brilliant actn). pitt and the rest are strong as well but the movie just lags. where prev two movies felt a little looser, this felt more contrived. i cannot help but draw comparison to crash, but this is still way better than that. the movie is def worth checking for the rikus story(some real powerful moments there), even though everything connects has been beaten to death. 5 without Rinko. Expand
  39. NA
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    You have to be stupid to not see the amazingness of this movie. Sure it was depressing but its was well made, the acting performances were great, it showed how all these people are connected to each other even though they are worlds apart. I thought that this was a great movie because of how realistic it was. If you gave this movie below a 6 you have no right to speak.
  40. MikeN.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    This was almost a great film. The ending, however, just ruined it. I got the feeling that that the American mother and the Japanese girl should have died, but the studio pressured the filmmakers to let them live in order to please American audiences.
  41. RichY
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    Superb film. Is the story simple? Yes. Did that take away from the movie experience? Not in the least. The movie delivers teh goods in every respect - casting, acting, direction, editing, cinematography, soundtrack, 5.1 mix...and mood. Tons of mood. Isolation. Despair. Hopelessness. Salvation. I'm sorry, people who demand more "story" should be reading Dickens or teaching English in Superb film. Is the story simple? Yes. Did that take away from the movie experience? Not in the least. The movie delivers teh goods in every respect - casting, acting, direction, editing, cinematography, soundtrack, 5.1 mix...and mood. Tons of mood. Isolation. Despair. Hopelessness. Salvation. I'm sorry, people who demand more "story" should be reading Dickens or teaching English in middle school. This is a movie, and movie is art, an art of light, sound and emotion, doing things that word on paper cannot. This is a great movie. See it and tell us what you think. Expand
  42. caporegime
    Jun 10, 2009
    7
    If it were not for the cast and the crew then, this movie will be dumb.
  43. Rodders
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    Personally I love movies where the action / plotline doesn't necessarily have a neat beginning and end. The fact that we get so much insight into human lives, whether the 'plot' ties up at the end or not, is surely the point of this film? I had no idea what life is really like in Mexico, Japan or Morocco, having never been to any of these places, but that aspect of this Personally I love movies where the action / plotline doesn't necessarily have a neat beginning and end. The fact that we get so much insight into human lives, whether the 'plot' ties up at the end or not, is surely the point of this film? I had no idea what life is really like in Mexico, Japan or Morocco, having never been to any of these places, but that aspect of this movie is the triumph here, that you feel empathy with a 17-year old deaf-mute girl in Tokyo, a Mexican nanny in her 50s or a Moroccan goat-farming family, and the documentary-style filming makes watching it unfold all the more satisfying. Oh, the stories don't properly relate to one and other so the movie's a sham? Not the point, surely! The acting is superb without exception and I feel that I have no need for the stories to connect at all in order for me to have gained a great deal of pleasure from watching this movie. I guess people who got nothing from this because the stories are only loosely connected to each other may be better off sticking to the formulaic Hollywood crap that passes as entertainment these days. Oh and those people who don't get the fact that the call that the nanny receives at the beginning and brad pitt's character makes at the end are one and the same should give up altogether. Expand
  44. Hein
    Nov 12, 2006
    9
    Good story, good acting, good reproduction of cultures (for example the American border police, the Morrocan police and the streets Tokio) and beautiful shots: GOOD MOVIE!
  45. JeffS
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Probably the best and most inspiring dramatic film I've seen all year. A must see!
  46. RicardoGalban
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    Probably the most complex film of the year, I really think moderators should check on this, 'cause I found 21 comments from the same IP ADDRESS, somebody is just making comment after comment giving it 1s 2s or 3rs. I thought the film was very complete, not the best of the year, but it is indeed a very important film culturally, the kind of film that leaves audiences shattered, veryProbably the most complex film of the year, I really think moderators should check on this, 'cause I found 21 comments from the same IP ADDRESS, somebody is just making comment after comment giving it 1s 2s or 3rs. I thought the film was very complete, not the best of the year, but it is indeed a very important film culturally, the kind of film that leaves audiences shattered, very emotional and ambitious but never mediocre or pretentious. Expand
  47. JesusM.
    Nov 5, 2006
    10
    Awesome movie with perhaps the most important message any film has had in years. In a globilzed world where everyone is connected, we fail to communicate and understand each other. Amazing!
  48. SandraA.
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    Probably the most gripping film of the year, the Japanese segment was probably the most emotional segment in Babel. Overall great performances, great cinematography, the score was magistral. Probably the most emotional film in years, Inarritu has created a very touching film that connects and makes different cultures understand each other. Amazing performances by Adriana Barraza and BradProbably the most gripping film of the year, the Japanese segment was probably the most emotional segment in Babel. Overall great performances, great cinematography, the score was magistral. Probably the most emotional film in years, Inarritu has created a very touching film that connects and makes different cultures understand each other. Amazing performances by Adriana Barraza and Brad Pitt. Kikuchi was also great, but didn't really do much because of her limitations. Expand
  49. IsraelH.
    Dec 10, 2006
    9
    This is a great film. Gonzalez Inarritu is one of the best directors nowadays. Music, acting (Pitt and Barraza shine), script and cinematography are superb. Deserves 2 or 3 oscars.
  50. SuzanneN.
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    Every artist should see this film - powerful, emotional, uplifting.
  51. ED
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    A masterpiece , storytelling,and acting at the very best.
  52. andrew
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    Its a great film!! the performance of brad pitt was very impressive!
  53. SuziW.
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    Just saw Babel last night and was blown away. This is a must see for film lovers. Loved it and cant stop thinking about it.
  54. LewetteF.
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    Beautiful fascinating movie Interesting for a number of obvious reasons:: did anyone notice that the pivotal events - the shooting, the leaving the children in the desert were all orchestrated by men? The women seemed powerless and victimized by male decisions: the wife was dragged to morrocco; she fights the doctor to no avail; the nanny is deserted in the desert; there are no female Beautiful fascinating movie Interesting for a number of obvious reasons:: did anyone notice that the pivotal events - the shooting, the leaving the children in the desert were all orchestrated by men? The women seemed powerless and victimized by male decisions: the wife was dragged to morrocco; she fights the doctor to no avail; the nanny is deserted in the desert; there are no female protagionsts.... I wonder whether this is deliberate on the part of the filmmakers..... its always been a feminist position that wars are started by men and women and children bear the pain..... all in all a fascinating, beautiful heart-breaking film. Brad Pitt is superb and the other actors fantastic.... Expand
  55. MarianaS.
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    What a heartful film, it has to be the best surprise of the year, I loved it. One of the best films I've seen all decade. Great performances, great screenplay. Great DIRECTING!, wow, just mesmerizing. I cannot stop thinking about this masterpiece called BABEL.
  56. SilasP.
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    There's no denying the powerful acting, directing, writing, and cinematography here. It's a harrowing experience. I'm intrigued by the fact that no two people--critics included--seem to take the same meaning from this film (and I don't necessarily think that's a bad thing). To me, the movie is--as much as anything else--a comment on the devastating consequences of There's no denying the powerful acting, directing, writing, and cinematography here. It's a harrowing experience. I'm intrigued by the fact that no two people--critics included--seem to take the same meaning from this film (and I don't necessarily think that's a bad thing). To me, the movie is--as much as anything else--a comment on the devastating consequences of irresponsible choices made by adults who are entrusted, biologically or otherwise, with the care of children. "Babel" depicts this as a universal phenomenon, one shared by Americans, Moroccans, Mexicans, Japanese, and presumably most cultures on Earth: all too often, adults--even those with the best of intentions--make selfish or careless choices that leave children--those most vulnerable among us--prey to powerful forces beyond their control. Expand
  57. KhayrA.
    Jan 1, 2007
    7
    Thought provoking film about the things we take for granted and the mistakes in judgement we make, especially those attributed to loss and/or gain.
  58. AlainA.
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    Cate Blanchett is great but this not a surprise. The surprise is Brad Pitt. Alejandro Gonzalez Iñarritu`s films is the bes in the year
  59. SoniaG.
    Jan 13, 2007
    7
    All the ingredients but lacked the punch.
  60. GaryT.
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    Brilliant editing and soundtrack. At times extremely moving, I read this as a strong meditation on compassion and interdependence. Annoyingly American-centric, no doubt for marketing reasons.
  61. SteveA.
    Jan 19, 2007
    7
    This movie had some very good acting. The movie had a realistic feel to it, if not gritty and ugly. However, the movie felt long, and it was hard to watch that much suffering. The movie just seemed to get more miserable and hopeless as it progressed...spoiler, spoiler...until, at the end, you had one child being killed, two more children barely clinging to life, another one begging to This movie had some very good acting. The movie had a realistic feel to it, if not gritty and ugly. However, the movie felt long, and it was hard to watch that much suffering. The movie just seemed to get more miserable and hopeless as it progressed...spoiler, spoiler...until, at the end, you had one child being killed, two more children barely clinging to life, another one begging to die, and one stripping naked in an attempt to be loved. Pretty harrowing stuff, but extremely well made, nonetheless. Expand
  62. PatriciaS.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    I think this movie was a bit too intelligent for the average viewer, hence the inanity of many of their dismaying and incredibly illiterate comments: pearls before swine. it is a tour de force in every way. superb.
  63. SameerH.
    Jan 22, 2007
    9
    An excellent movie which does not solve the problems of the world but does highlight the fact that they certainly do exist! The best thing was that although people think lowly of one another, in times of need - people from different backgrounds and cultures unite and help one another. That, I feel was the underlying message of the film. The scene where Brad Pitt offers the Moroccan some An excellent movie which does not solve the problems of the world but does highlight the fact that they certainly do exist! The best thing was that although people think lowly of one another, in times of need - people from different backgrounds and cultures unite and help one another. That, I feel was the underlying message of the film. The scene where Brad Pitt offers the Moroccan some money for his help and he refuses it was powerful because it showed that even a poor man helped because of humanity and for no other reason. Good effort but maybe a bit too long and a bad ending. Expand
  64. Malcolm
    Jan 23, 2007
    9
    Outstanding. This film is brave and ambitious, and for that alone it deserves to be applauded. The fact that it succeeds on (nearly) every level means that this film is more than worthy of the awards/nominations that have been bestowed upon it. It is bleak, yes. The links between the stories are vague to say the least, true (but, come on, it isn't meant to Lock Stock, with all the Outstanding. This film is brave and ambitious, and for that alone it deserves to be applauded. The fact that it succeeds on (nearly) every level means that this film is more than worthy of the awards/nominations that have been bestowed upon it. It is bleak, yes. The links between the stories are vague to say the least, true (but, come on, it isn't meant to Lock Stock, with all the storys interwining neatly with a nice little bow on top...it's far more REALISTIC than that). But these are the only two points you could justifiably criticise the film on. The negative reviews of the illeducated, impatient and those who only went to see it 'cos Brad was in it (for around 15 minutes...) should be ignored because this film is powerful, dramatic and MOVES you. Both Rinko Kikuchi and Adriana Barraza fully deserve their Academy award nominations, especially Kikuchi. Her debut performance as a troubled and confused deaf-mute teen are truly astonishing. The 'club scene' in her sub-plot is one of the highlights of any film of 2006. Go to see it with an open mind and you will be amazing. Fantastic. Expand
  65. ChristopherP.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    I think it's a pretty good movie, it's different, but it's not for everyone.
  66. GabrielaI.
    Jan 25, 2007
    9
    Amazing stories. Gonzalez Iññaritu at his best. Adriana Barraza, wonderful. Touching movie.
  67. ArmandoP.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    An underrated movie, is a masterpiece and is vert very intelligent
  68. SaraM.
    Jan 27, 2007
    9
    There's soimething in a good film isn't there - like it doesn't matter how bleak the matter at hand, how searing the tragedy, how painful the conclusions you are forced to draw, a great film makes you feel better going out than you did going in. Gripping, important, interesting. Go see.
  69. DeWayneP.
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    Brilliant filmaking...this is a movie which is quilted with color-drenched cinematography and is richly layered with a manuscript made from, a not often encountered, a subtle unabridged classical style of storytelling. It comes at you with an ease of plot, that may be too complex to understand for most moviegoers who are addicted to the fast orgasmic pace of American moviemaking (an Brilliant filmaking...this is a movie which is quilted with color-drenched cinematography and is richly layered with a manuscript made from, a not often encountered, a subtle unabridged classical style of storytelling. It comes at you with an ease of plot, that may be too complex to understand for most moviegoers who are addicted to the fast orgasmic pace of American moviemaking (an American style that maybe great for 'Terminator,' but inevitably it always wilts under the raw heat of real-life storytelling). This has been a lovely comeback year for the art of cinema, may it continue to assault the 'dark-American-idol-side' of moviemaking. Amen. Expand
  70. FrankO.
    Jan 7, 2007
    8
    Very well acted, story arc similar to last year's Crash; interweaving story lines involving three different cultures. Felt long but changing story locations made it move along.
  71. JanieC.
    Feb 11, 2007
    8
    I think this movie was so deep and made you really think about serious issues. I have read the idea of the movie's theme being one of cultural difference and/or family and I agree that is makes you think about such topics. I also thought the incident of guns and violence was huge in how it effects people in general. Especially, the idea that cultures and authorities seemed more I think this movie was so deep and made you really think about serious issues. I have read the idea of the movie's theme being one of cultural difference and/or family and I agree that is makes you think about such topics. I also thought the incident of guns and violence was huge in how it effects people in general. Especially, the idea that cultures and authorities seemed more interested in why and how the violence happened vs. the devistating impact it had on the lives of those involved. I was thinking if they were able to track a gun to Japan before helping a woman shot that is a sad reality. They also seemed more interested in arrested the Mexican immigrants, ignoring the welfare of the children and the emotions the nanny was showing for them. Also, the Japanese father emphasizing "how" the mother died. I definitely think it was a great reminder how culturally we all have failed to emphasize the importance on human emotion and wellbeing and put it second to power, authority, and blame. We really are insensitive to the notions that all humans suffer and maybe helping each other should be top priority. Expand
  72. SamuelB.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    A deeply moving and beautifully acted and directed film. It does not manipulate our feelings but reaches them directly.
  73. IreneR.
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    A beautiful, engrossing, captivating, moving film that is the essence of movie-making. I deeply cared about each of the characters and so appreciated the connections: the arbitrariness of individual people's lives as they are separated from the ordinary dailiness and thrown iinto ordinary accident (of birth, class, unintended consequences of their own and others' decisions.) A beautiful, engrossing, captivating, moving film that is the essence of movie-making. I deeply cared about each of the characters and so appreciated the connections: the arbitrariness of individual people's lives as they are separated from the ordinary dailiness and thrown iinto ordinary accident (of birth, class, unintended consequences of their own and others' decisions.) Life is complicated; connections are tenuous; it's hard to control or even to predict consequences. We fear for our children! Expand
  74. MarcD.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Excellent film about confused communtication and how it can rip things appart. Loved the tension and pace of this movie.
  75. ChristopherW.
    Feb 21, 2007
    7
    'Babel' has four compelling stories that might indeed make four interesting films. Unfortunately, even though the narrative holding them together is more clearly defined than in his last two features, the interconnections between these four stories make each of them feel a bit like tangents instead of revelations. The cast is superb and the film is fascinating and emotionally 'Babel' has four compelling stories that might indeed make four interesting films. Unfortunately, even though the narrative holding them together is more clearly defined than in his last two features, the interconnections between these four stories make each of them feel a bit like tangents instead of revelations. The cast is superb and the film is fascinating and emotionally arresting throughout, but the ending doesn't really bring these four seemingly disparate stories together as one might expect, and, as a result, the film as a whole is slightly unsatisfying. Nonetheless, 'Babel' has much to offer the patient, perceptive viewer and is most certainly worth watching! As a note, 2006 was a great year for Spanish directors. 'Volver,' 'Pan's Labrynth, 'Children of Men,' and, of course, 'Babel' are all great examples of the talent and artistry that reside outside of Hollywood. Expand
  76. Harry
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    "Powerful". This is the first word that comes to my mind when I remember Iñarritu's excellent "Babel". A unique story, a supreme acting and an amazing directing made me schocked, thrilled and surprised as the stories are revealed. The drive is definitely wonderful and the stories really connect perfectly as well as a well ambientated screenplay gives a more realistic touch and "Powerful". This is the first word that comes to my mind when I remember Iñarritu's excellent "Babel". A unique story, a supreme acting and an amazing directing made me schocked, thrilled and surprised as the stories are revealed. The drive is definitely wonderful and the stories really connect perfectly as well as a well ambientated screenplay gives a more realistic touch and a very clear lesson to the film. The acting was without any doubt phenomenal. Every single actor makes you forget that they're acting and make you feel convinced of the character. The best performances are without any single doubt those of Rinko Kikuchi as a deaf Japanese teenager who would do anything to loose her virginity and Adriana Barraza as a nanny that takes the kids she takes care of to her son's wedding and ends up entering immigrant problems. These two portrayal were extremely intense, realistic and convincing. So please people, go see the film that is for the moment, my favorite of the year. Expand
  77. AnthonyC.
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    Great movie, makes you think.
  78. ManuelV.
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    Great Achievment, great cinematography, great script. Iñarritu and Arriaga are one of the best collaborators in the movie industry and with this film now they had closed a brilliant trilogy who started with Amores Perros and 21 Grams.
  79. HowardS.
    Feb 7, 2007
    8
    Kindness and indifference are indelibly linked to whether an action is based upon fear or courage. The tourists acting out of fear demonstrate the most obvious indifference with no shortage of words to justify their actions. Playing the terrorist card indiscriminantly appeals to fear,not courage. The japanese deaf mute, probably the most courageous and yet vulnerable character in the Kindness and indifference are indelibly linked to whether an action is based upon fear or courage. The tourists acting out of fear demonstrate the most obvious indifference with no shortage of words to justify their actions. Playing the terrorist card indiscriminantly appeals to fear,not courage. The japanese deaf mute, probably the most courageous and yet vulnerable character in the film, exists without speech yet demonstrates the greatest power of communication and empathy by the squeezing of her father's hand. The point is not to rid oneself of language, as the elaborate note given to the Japanese police officer bears witness, but rather to recognize how language itself has the capacity to distort. Without exception the most unambivalent acts of kindness are perpetuated without words in this film, from the elderly morrocan lady to the local doctor whose actions saved the life of Blanchett's character. This film is growing on me. Collapse
  80. ThomasB.
    Mar 11, 2007
    8
    Really did a number on me emotionally, many scenes I will always remember.
  81. CarlF.
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    Having just returned from living overseas in a developing country this film made an awful lot of sense. And it also gave me plenty of firsthand familiarity with all those fear driven, First World coddled whiners we saw on the bus. It also explains to me the rift I see traveling abroad equates to less than 5 star votes and whinny "I don't get it!" comments at home. Sure you people Having just returned from living overseas in a developing country this film made an awful lot of sense. And it also gave me plenty of firsthand familiarity with all those fear driven, First World coddled whiners we saw on the bus. It also explains to me the rift I see traveling abroad equates to less than 5 star votes and whinny "I don't get it!" comments at home. Sure you people don't get it! You're all so huddled into your inward looking groupthink suburban sprawled Martha Stewart perfectly accessoriesed lifestyle that you can't imagine anything outside of that realm. So please, by all means, do us travelers a favor, stay home, stay passportless, and do keep yourselves glued to your boob tubes. Expand
  82. AdityaS.
    Mar 21, 2007
    9
    The movie was artistic, quite like an impressionist painting. Not everyone is expected to find it beautiful, but for some, who prefer masterpieces to photographs, this'll be the best movie they'll see in a while. It helps if you've traveled around and seen different cultures.
  83. JR.
    Mar 24, 2007
    7
    I enjoyed this movie even though I thought I'd hate it because it would be like seeing Crash again. I found all the characters and their performences very entertaining. I could also name 100 flaws with Babel but its best to just exept it for what it is.
  84. MagdalenaT.
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    Excellent Movie. I know some people didnt like it, that is mainly because they didn't want to think. This movie will require you to concentrate to what is happening. Excellent movie. Very well made and required a lot of work. MUST SEE for anyone. Educational for sure.
  85. DonQ.
    Mar 4, 2007
    8
    Not a 10, it had some flaws. Not a 3 or a 0 either, it wasn't that bad. I admit I'm in a small minority, but I was predicting AND hoping that this would win best picture. Beautifully directed, well-acted, and original (as opposed to a movie based on a 2002 Hong Kong thriller). Yeah, so it didn't come together in a nice resolution in the end. Real life doesn't always Not a 10, it had some flaws. Not a 3 or a 0 either, it wasn't that bad. I admit I'm in a small minority, but I was predicting AND hoping that this would win best picture. Beautifully directed, well-acted, and original (as opposed to a movie based on a 2002 Hong Kong thriller). Yeah, so it didn't come together in a nice resolution in the end. Real life doesn't always have a nice resolution. Also, anyone notice this: 2005 winner Crash's Metacritic score: 69 2006 nominee Babel's Metacritic score: 69. Expand
  86. Js.
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    What are you all waiting for exactly? Why must everything be cleverly and intricately linked together to deserve acclaim? So many of you that knock this film complain about the frailty of the connections between characters. So what? The world is not a cleverly orchestrated screenplay. Commonly, trivial events lead to catastrophic results. Worlds collide in uncommon and sometimes very What are you all waiting for exactly? Why must everything be cleverly and intricately linked together to deserve acclaim? So many of you that knock this film complain about the frailty of the connections between characters. So what? The world is not a cleverly orchestrated screenplay. Commonly, trivial events lead to catastrophic results. Worlds collide in uncommon and sometimes very strange ways. Everything doesn't (and shouldn't) magically come together like the cliche's you are used to and obviously can't live without. Many people of our society are sexually repressed, and many live in paralyzing fear over things that may seem inconsequential to you. If at the very least you cannot wrap your pedantic, hair-splitting brain around the simplicity of the storyline, show some sensitivity to the genuine FEELING that this film has. Cate's performance alone should earn this film at least three points. Giving it a zero is just plain stupid and makes me wonder if some of you are capable of compassion or empathy at all. Expand
  87. Orfeo
    May 11, 2007
    9
    Four months after I saw this, I'm still drawn to it. Not because of the plot details, or any deep philosophical message, but simply because it felt like a genuine cinematic experience. It made me FEEL things. Sometimes it was charming, and sometimes it was trying to tear my heart out. I don't know that it took me to any particular destination - and that's probably what some Four months after I saw this, I'm still drawn to it. Not because of the plot details, or any deep philosophical message, but simply because it felt like a genuine cinematic experience. It made me FEEL things. Sometimes it was charming, and sometimes it was trying to tear my heart out. I don't know that it took me to any particular destination - and that's probably what some people dislike about it - but throughout the entire film I felt like the journey itself was worth experiencing and was never dull. I've seen much shorter movies that seemed to take a lot longer. Expand
  88. SalmanHabib
    May 18, 2007
    10
    I think Carl f summed it up for me....only people who are claiming it to be unrealistic and boring are those who havent out of their cosy lillte neighbourhood....rest alone america....i have been to many countries and this movie depicted the intrinsic complexities of different cultures brilliantly and authentically....the fact that was evident in the whole movie which many american beleiveI think Carl f summed it up for me....only people who are claiming it to be unrealistic and boring are those who havent out of their cosy lillte neighbourhood....rest alone america....i have been to many countries and this movie depicted the intrinsic complexities of different cultures brilliantly and authentically....the fact that was evident in the whole movie which many american beleive as well is that their blood is somehow more important than that of others....that they are more important than the rest of the world....but somehow they dont want to accept it....oh wait yeah....they dont want to be called racist anymore.... Expand
  89. SaraG.
    May 8, 2007
    9
    I was very impressed with the whole thing, I love that it shows how our world is so connected, yet completely divided. It definitely puts you in someone else's shoes.
  90. RussellL.
    Jun 15, 2007
    8
    Jason, you're an idiot! The reason she could take the call was because it happened before she even went to Mexico. Weren't you paying attention? This was the link between the different threads in the movie, but the time frames were different, that's all.
  91. NickA.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu has become a director so emotionally depleting that when one leaves the theater after seeing one of his films, they are left naked and vulnerable to the world
  92. JohnZ
    Jul 15, 2007
    9
    This movie tore up my guts. Great acting. I've never seen reviews of a movie that had so many either loving it or hating it, 10 all the way to 0. As effecting as it was to me, I can't understand how someone could not be involved with it, but I just figure that's their loss.
  93. Sunn-Ra
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    Moving, awakening, igniting.
  94. DanS.
    Dec 6, 2008
    9
    Well, I enjoyed it a lot, what can I say? Certainly I could say that parts were a bit slow -- for me it was totally engrossing, but it so happened that I watched it split over two evenings. But II thought it was a pretty amazing movie, with a raw realism that makes me feel like I really tapped into these connected slices of life. I found the acting compelling all around and theWell, I enjoyed it a lot, what can I say? Certainly I could say that parts were a bit slow -- for me it was totally engrossing, but it so happened that I watched it split over two evenings. But II thought it was a pretty amazing movie, with a raw realism that makes me feel like I really tapped into these connected slices of life. I found the acting compelling all around and the cinematography and locations amazing.

    The feel is almost documentary-like, and we are jumped from character to character such that we aren't deeply invested in any one. There are emotional events, but they are presented rather starkly with little comment. Rather like watching a nature video where animals struggle and some die, but we don't really know those animals, so we are left to our own devices as to the interpretation.

    I think there is a lot to think about afterwards about the the various connections and character contrasts that didn't necessarily jump out while I was watching the film. (There's more to it than just a gun.) This movie is not the best movie ever but it is quite special, if you are properly receptive to it. It requires a certain contemplativeness and willingness to look beyond the surface. You are not going to want to watch this with some buddies over beers.
    Expand
  95. CronosA.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    A love it or hate it film. You can prove that by seeing all the ratings here: 10 or 0 in most cases. Mine is ten, but why? Simply because this film may be pretentious, but in a good way, or because the job of the actors (Barraza an Kikuchi are outstanding). For those who didn't understand the film, they should pay more atention to the time frames.
  96. JohnLazar
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    amazing movie. gut-wrenching, captivating and incredible. the directing is amazing, and brad pitt, cate blanchett and adriana barraza are amazing. along with the entire cast. the writing is true, and shows the consequences of our thoughtless actions. ONLY FOR INTELLIGENT PEOPLE!! OTHERS WON'T GET IT OR APPRECIATE IT AND BE "BORED" WHEN THEY'RE TOO LAZY TO UNDERSTAND.
  97. NancyH.
    Nov 11, 2006
    7
    Heart wrenching and tragic. Makes you want to take out emergency evacuation insurance when traveling. Rinko Kikuchi was astounding--she had a lot to communicate. The plight of everone was human and painful. The movie is long, so if you have bad knees, watch out.
  98. gabec.
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    If you have seen the director's previous two movies, you are quite accustomed to the format. And this one is just as powerful and emotional draining, but ultimately wonderfully revealing what it means to be a human being, whether in joy or in distress; whether in Morocco or in Japan. The mistakes the characters made are all driven by the circumstances that anyone of us could have If you have seen the director's previous two movies, you are quite accustomed to the format. And this one is just as powerful and emotional draining, but ultimately wonderfully revealing what it means to be a human being, whether in joy or in distress; whether in Morocco or in Japan. The mistakes the characters made are all driven by the circumstances that anyone of us could have made. The stories being connected or not is not the point. It does what a movie is meant to do: let us feel and see the world differently than when we walked in the theaters. Expand
  99. SandraH.
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    There is not one single moment this film isn't riveting or fascinating for one reason or another - the acting, the sound (or lack of), the visual sweep. For those who didn't like it, I predict your mind will change itself down the line - because there are images that will stick with you a week from now, a month, a year - and more. That kind of unforgettable quality is rare. There is not one single moment this film isn't riveting or fascinating for one reason or another - the acting, the sound (or lack of), the visual sweep. For those who didn't like it, I predict your mind will change itself down the line - because there are images that will stick with you a week from now, a month, a year - and more. That kind of unforgettable quality is rare. You'll see. Expand
  100. robr
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    A harrowing interpretative tale of lone one gun that mixes the filmmakers refreshing and artistic vision within the sprawl of a star powered motion picture.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 100
    In the year's richest, most complex and ultimately most heartbreaking film, Inarritu invites us to get past the babble of modern civilization and start listening to each other.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Effectively building dread and emotional tension as tragic incidents triggered by human stupidity and carelessness steadily multiply, this film, like "21 Grams" in particular, employs a deterministically grim mindset in the cause of its philosophical aspirations, but is gripping nearly all the way.
  3. The filmmakers succeed brilliantly in weaving these stories together, taking time to explore depth of character and relationships. The suspense builds throughout as everyone involved becomes lost in a place they don't understand with people they don't know if they can trust.