User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 645 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    A breathtaking human story of startling perception and beauty. It is wonderfully acted and achingly tangible. Brilliant, and a must see.
  2. May 6, 2011
    10
    Magnificent, emotionally charged exploration of the lines that divide us. Terrific acting, gripping plot. Ignore the loser trolls who abuse this review site; Do yourself a favor and watch this film.
  3. JulieRoberts
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    Flashing between Tokyo, Morocco and Baja Mexico, this third entry in Inarritu's triptych (along with Amores Perros and 21 Grams) is an emotionally saturated story about the interconnectedness of joy and pain in our world. While Tolstoy argued that "all happy families are alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way," Inarritu's masterpiece demonstrates the universalityFlashing between Tokyo, Morocco and Baja Mexico, this third entry in Inarritu's triptych (along with Amores Perros and 21 Grams) is an emotionally saturated story about the interconnectedness of joy and pain in our world. While Tolstoy argued that "all happy families are alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way," Inarritu's masterpiece demonstrates the universality of pain and loss in a beautiful tribute to the fragility of the human condition. As Inarritu responded to a question about Tolstoy's famous line (after a screening of Babel at the Telluride Film Festival), "he got it wrong." Expand
  4. MajedM.
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    AWESOME MOVIE. You will need to pay attention, as this movie is not for the uneducated ones. It is a mind twister....loved it. MUST SEE
  5. ElizaS.
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    Since Amores Perros, Mexican cinema has completely changed. Almost 80% of the films made in Mexico now follow this 3-story segments. Babel is a triumph, it's not perfect but the level of acting is the best of the year. The message of it is consistant, penetrating, LISTENING, this film could end up with many many noms for the Oscars.
  6. Devil'sR.
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    This is a very complex and touching film. Probably the best film from the trilogy. Great performances great screenplay. The best story was the Japanese girl, very very touching and great performance by Kikuchi. Amazing film, maybe not the best of the year, but still great.
  7. RobertV.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    I haven't seen a film that moved me as much and impressed me with its use of the medium to visually tell a story of such epic proportion as to how one single choice, mistake or moment in time can affect the lives of so many people around our world simultaneously. At times, its window on our world - in all of its complexity as well as its simplicity, its frailty and strength, its I haven't seen a film that moved me as much and impressed me with its use of the medium to visually tell a story of such epic proportion as to how one single choice, mistake or moment in time can affect the lives of so many people around our world simultaneously. At times, its window on our world - in all of its complexity as well as its simplicity, its frailty and strength, its poverty and wealth, power and hoplessness, brutality and kindness - Was so realistic I almost forgot I was watching a movie. I found myself riveted to the screen, on the edge of my seat, actually praying that each of the many developed characters stories would somehow work out ok. In all of the tragedy it communicates about our liability to communicate, tolerate, accept, allow and embrace each others crises - Which it does masterfully and visually without beating you over the head - And it took me until the actual rolling of the credits and the dedication to children - to realize that the movie was actually much more about hope than despair. I also think that people without children will not relate even remotely as powerfully to this film as those with. I haven't left a theatre in a long time considering how much my own choices can affect so many. A powerful, masterful and visually stunning piece of film as art. Expand
  8. JeffS.
    Jan 10, 2007
    9
    Brilliant film that selects 4 story-threads, playing them out to demonstrate truths about communication, time and the human condition.
  9. TracyR.
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    Has some flaws, but does so much right that it gets the high score for intentions and for delivering some of the most stirring acting and beautiful cinematography to be seen in what has been a bad movie year. Two of the other best movies of the year (regardless of the Oscars) Pan's Labyrinth and Children of Men also emanated out of Mexico and it's an extraordinary burst that Has some flaws, but does so much right that it gets the high score for intentions and for delivering some of the most stirring acting and beautiful cinematography to be seen in what has been a bad movie year. Two of the other best movies of the year (regardless of the Oscars) Pan's Labyrinth and Children of Men also emanated out of Mexico and it's an extraordinary burst that should be treasured. Expand
  10. LennonA.
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    One of the finest achievements in the world of cinema since the turn of the century. This film was breathtaking, tragic, intense, gripping, everything. A solid, unquestionable masterpiece.
  11. NickB.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    What do some of these reviewers want, THE definitive story that links all mankind and explains all of human life that ever was? This is a great film - but only a film. If the connections betweens its story strands are tenuous, so what? As each story progresses - full of intelligence and heart - that story in front of you's all you need, and each of them succeeds dramatically. What do some of these reviewers want, THE definitive story that links all mankind and explains all of human life that ever was? This is a great film - but only a film. If the connections betweens its story strands are tenuous, so what? As each story progresses - full of intelligence and heart - that story in front of you's all you need, and each of them succeeds dramatically. Don't forget - this is entertainment, albeit serious, and it delivers visceral thrills throughout via a strong script, incendiary, cutting edge film- making, and compelling performances. Expand
  12. SheenaM.
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    This was brilliant. Intelligent and emotional, subtle and powerful, adult and humane. Ten out of ten.
  13. TaN.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    Ok so I just watched Babel. Maybe it's me but basically it was a good story...that centered a crochity old white woman getting shot in the neck and the police force from the middle east, japan, and the united states frantically tried to save her. I mean come on! If this country hasn't learned or doesn't know by now that the white woman is the reason and subsequently the Ok so I just watched Babel. Maybe it's me but basically it was a good story...that centered a crochity old white woman getting shot in the neck and the police force from the middle east, japan, and the united states frantically tried to save her. I mean come on! If this country hasn't learned or doesn't know by now that the white woman is the reason and subsequently the downfall of this country then maybe they should watch this movie. Everybody who came in contact with these parasites was either killed, beaten, or arrested. Sure the Eastern kids shouldn't have been playing with a gun but what the fuck was a tourist bus doing out in the middle of the desert? Why do white people travel where they aren't wanted? I thought it was funny the passagers on the bus began to freak out because they were subject to loosing control, subject to not being mystified as white gods. Money doesn't by you safety, police anywhere can only beat to death so many people before the oppressed get tired of it. Here's this white supremacist feminine patriarch, who, as I've experienced women like her, pretend to have balls until they're someone comes along with bigger ones that is, hunched in a fetal position helpless while the world is literally in chaos. And don't forget the white kids. No maybe it was a bad choice for the housekeeper or nanny to take them to Mexico City with her...I would have just left the devil spawn and gone to my son's wedding. I can always get another job. Then she could have stayed over and if the same relative was going to drive her home the least he would have had was a hang over. I think this movie illustrated the problem with creating a social structure that caters to skin and bullies, if they can't kill you with kindness, or by you off, the rest of the world to follow along with their childish schemes. Expand
  14. AdamF.
    Nov 30, 2006
    9
    Fantastic flick. Go see it.
  15. TimM
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    This movie was awesome. i am definitely getting this on dvd. to maria, who says the themes are "illegal immigration, disablities, racial hatred, awakening sexuality, Americans & the rest of the world, parents & children just to mention a few" no, you're wrong. you are not looking at the big picture. this film is about communication and lack thereof, spanning all social levels. really This movie was awesome. i am definitely getting this on dvd. to maria, who says the themes are "illegal immigration, disablities, racial hatred, awakening sexuality, Americans & the rest of the world, parents & children just to mention a few" no, you're wrong. you are not looking at the big picture. this film is about communication and lack thereof, spanning all social levels. really really freakin good movie. this movie is different than 21 grams and amores perros, and i loved every second of all 3, tho 21 grams was the least ambitious in my opinion. Expand
  16. EmileDeB
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    I think this movie sucks...just kidding. This movie is beyond words. Mesmerizing and unsettling. The only thing I hope for now is that Brad gets that Oscar to put next to Angelina's. And not to make his ex-wife feel bad but simply because this was his best performance ever.
  17. SharmaH
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    Who knew Brad Pitt could act? This movie is a high point for him, as well as for director Alejandro González Iñárritu. Babel far surpasses Amores Perros. I never thought he'd be able to do that.
  18. JS
    Jan 2, 2007
    9
    Haunting and in some ways profound. I found its somber tone and deliberate pace refreshing.
  19. GregR.
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    Don't try to "figure it out" as you watch, if you do, you will miss the whole meaning of the movie. Just go with it, the actual connections between the different groups of people and countries really doesn't matter anyway. Babel is the best movie I've seen in a years.
  20. RichardG.
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    Tense and unforgettable movie. Brilliant in all aspects except the too neat ending(s).
  21. NiallD.
    Feb 1, 2007
    9
    This is a film about isolation and trusting when it is not easy to trust, it is about feeling alone and transparent but with an overwhelming determination to survive. Being an alien in a foreign land. being a prisoner in your own body. This film raises social questions, they are not supposed to be easliy answered, maybe some of us have failed to answer them in the past maybe thats why we This is a film about isolation and trusting when it is not easy to trust, it is about feeling alone and transparent but with an overwhelming determination to survive. Being an alien in a foreign land. being a prisoner in your own body. This film raises social questions, they are not supposed to be easliy answered, maybe some of us have failed to answer them in the past maybe thats why we get offended, maybe we would prefer to not have to deal with the issues raised in this movie, as for watching half of it and walking out before giving the movie a chance to explain itself, then having the audacity to criticise, I dont agree. Ill finish by saying I'm not interested in bandwagoning or kissing ass I just thought it was one of the better Films I've seen. Expand
  22. ArielG.
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    A very rich and rewarding movie. It was much like Crash, with the conjoined stories. Babel also gives us characters, who at first seem selfish in their own ways, but that we can feel sorry for and empathize for, as the movie goes on. It was especially heart-wrenching to step into the world of Chieko, the Japanese deaf-mute. There are lots of scenes of thought and quiet reflection, so if A very rich and rewarding movie. It was much like Crash, with the conjoined stories. Babel also gives us characters, who at first seem selfish in their own ways, but that we can feel sorry for and empathize for, as the movie goes on. It was especially heart-wrenching to step into the world of Chieko, the Japanese deaf-mute. There are lots of scenes of thought and quiet reflection, so if you prefer car chase scenes and loud explosions, you may not enjoy this movie so much. But I found Babel to be one of the greats of the 2006/2007 season, along with Blood Diamond, The Departed, Little Miss Sunshine, Last King of Scotland, Pan's Labyrinth, and Casino Royale. Expand
  23. ShawnC.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Babel reveals interconnectedness of the one. Like a pebble thrown into water. This film shows that what we do in life reflects and connects us all.
  24. roydenirvine
    Feb 24, 2007
    9
    A difficult film - but full of meaningful interconnections. I feel a lot of major media critics view the film with left brain consciousness, often replacing one's innocence/openness with the cynicism of growing old with importance . It's also interesting how the Europe generally view Inarritu's work (and cinema). European consciousness seems to have a different set of A difficult film - but full of meaningful interconnections. I feel a lot of major media critics view the film with left brain consciousness, often replacing one's innocence/openness with the cynicism of growing old with importance . It's also interesting how the Europe generally view Inarritu's work (and cinema). European consciousness seems to have a different set of 'glasses' when viewing the word. Externally and culturally. They often see the art and not just the technical cleverness. Poetry - is that understood in today's world. Close to a masterpiece. Collapse
  25. CindyN.
    Feb 27, 2007
    9
    I was struck by the lesser actors and actresses by the immense human performances. Amelia and the Moroccan families. People have so much good in them that we seldom see. It all came together in a beautiful cinematic prose.
  26. EleanorW.
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    Riveting, fascinating, but very sad.
  27. NA
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    You have to be stupid to not see the amazingness of this movie. Sure it was depressing but its was well made, the acting performances were great, it showed how all these people are connected to each other even though they are worlds apart. I thought that this was a great movie because of how realistic it was. If you gave this movie below a 6 you have no right to speak.
  28. MikeN.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    This was almost a great film. The ending, however, just ruined it. I got the feeling that that the American mother and the Japanese girl should have died, but the studio pressured the filmmakers to let them live in order to please American audiences.
  29. RichY
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    Superb film. Is the story simple? Yes. Did that take away from the movie experience? Not in the least. The movie delivers teh goods in every respect - casting, acting, direction, editing, cinematography, soundtrack, 5.1 mix...and mood. Tons of mood. Isolation. Despair. Hopelessness. Salvation. I'm sorry, people who demand more "story" should be reading Dickens or teaching English in Superb film. Is the story simple? Yes. Did that take away from the movie experience? Not in the least. The movie delivers teh goods in every respect - casting, acting, direction, editing, cinematography, soundtrack, 5.1 mix...and mood. Tons of mood. Isolation. Despair. Hopelessness. Salvation. I'm sorry, people who demand more "story" should be reading Dickens or teaching English in middle school. This is a movie, and movie is art, an art of light, sound and emotion, doing things that word on paper cannot. This is a great movie. See it and tell us what you think. Expand
  30. Rodders
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    Personally I love movies where the action / plotline doesn't necessarily have a neat beginning and end. The fact that we get so much insight into human lives, whether the 'plot' ties up at the end or not, is surely the point of this film? I had no idea what life is really like in Mexico, Japan or Morocco, having never been to any of these places, but that aspect of this Personally I love movies where the action / plotline doesn't necessarily have a neat beginning and end. The fact that we get so much insight into human lives, whether the 'plot' ties up at the end or not, is surely the point of this film? I had no idea what life is really like in Mexico, Japan or Morocco, having never been to any of these places, but that aspect of this movie is the triumph here, that you feel empathy with a 17-year old deaf-mute girl in Tokyo, a Mexican nanny in her 50s or a Moroccan goat-farming family, and the documentary-style filming makes watching it unfold all the more satisfying. Oh, the stories don't properly relate to one and other so the movie's a sham? Not the point, surely! The acting is superb without exception and I feel that I have no need for the stories to connect at all in order for me to have gained a great deal of pleasure from watching this movie. I guess people who got nothing from this because the stories are only loosely connected to each other may be better off sticking to the formulaic Hollywood crap that passes as entertainment these days. Oh and those people who don't get the fact that the call that the nanny receives at the beginning and brad pitt's character makes at the end are one and the same should give up altogether. Expand
  31. Hein
    Nov 12, 2006
    9
    Good story, good acting, good reproduction of cultures (for example the American border police, the Morrocan police and the streets Tokio) and beautiful shots: GOOD MOVIE!
  32. JeffS
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Probably the best and most inspiring dramatic film I've seen all year. A must see!
  33. RicardoGalban
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    Probably the most complex film of the year, I really think moderators should check on this, 'cause I found 21 comments from the same IP ADDRESS, somebody is just making comment after comment giving it 1s 2s or 3rs. I thought the film was very complete, not the best of the year, but it is indeed a very important film culturally, the kind of film that leaves audiences shattered, veryProbably the most complex film of the year, I really think moderators should check on this, 'cause I found 21 comments from the same IP ADDRESS, somebody is just making comment after comment giving it 1s 2s or 3rs. I thought the film was very complete, not the best of the year, but it is indeed a very important film culturally, the kind of film that leaves audiences shattered, very emotional and ambitious but never mediocre or pretentious. Expand
  34. JesusM.
    Nov 5, 2006
    10
    Awesome movie with perhaps the most important message any film has had in years. In a globilzed world where everyone is connected, we fail to communicate and understand each other. Amazing!
  35. SandraA.
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    Probably the most gripping film of the year, the Japanese segment was probably the most emotional segment in Babel. Overall great performances, great cinematography, the score was magistral. Probably the most emotional film in years, Inarritu has created a very touching film that connects and makes different cultures understand each other. Amazing performances by Adriana Barraza and BradProbably the most gripping film of the year, the Japanese segment was probably the most emotional segment in Babel. Overall great performances, great cinematography, the score was magistral. Probably the most emotional film in years, Inarritu has created a very touching film that connects and makes different cultures understand each other. Amazing performances by Adriana Barraza and Brad Pitt. Kikuchi was also great, but didn't really do much because of her limitations. Expand
  36. IsraelH.
    Dec 10, 2006
    9
    This is a great film. Gonzalez Inarritu is one of the best directors nowadays. Music, acting (Pitt and Barraza shine), script and cinematography are superb. Deserves 2 or 3 oscars.
  37. SuzanneN.
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    Every artist should see this film - powerful, emotional, uplifting.
  38. ED
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    A masterpiece , storytelling,and acting at the very best.
  39. andrew
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    Its a great film!! the performance of brad pitt was very impressive!
  40. SuziW.
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    Just saw Babel last night and was blown away. This is a must see for film lovers. Loved it and cant stop thinking about it.
  41. LewetteF.
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    Beautiful fascinating movie Interesting for a number of obvious reasons:: did anyone notice that the pivotal events - the shooting, the leaving the children in the desert were all orchestrated by men? The women seemed powerless and victimized by male decisions: the wife was dragged to morrocco; she fights the doctor to no avail; the nanny is deserted in the desert; there are no female Beautiful fascinating movie Interesting for a number of obvious reasons:: did anyone notice that the pivotal events - the shooting, the leaving the children in the desert were all orchestrated by men? The women seemed powerless and victimized by male decisions: the wife was dragged to morrocco; she fights the doctor to no avail; the nanny is deserted in the desert; there are no female protagionsts.... I wonder whether this is deliberate on the part of the filmmakers..... its always been a feminist position that wars are started by men and women and children bear the pain..... all in all a fascinating, beautiful heart-breaking film. Brad Pitt is superb and the other actors fantastic.... Expand
  42. MarianaS.
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    What a heartful film, it has to be the best surprise of the year, I loved it. One of the best films I've seen all decade. Great performances, great screenplay. Great DIRECTING!, wow, just mesmerizing. I cannot stop thinking about this masterpiece called BABEL.
  43. SilasP.
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    There's no denying the powerful acting, directing, writing, and cinematography here. It's a harrowing experience. I'm intrigued by the fact that no two people--critics included--seem to take the same meaning from this film (and I don't necessarily think that's a bad thing). To me, the movie is--as much as anything else--a comment on the devastating consequences of There's no denying the powerful acting, directing, writing, and cinematography here. It's a harrowing experience. I'm intrigued by the fact that no two people--critics included--seem to take the same meaning from this film (and I don't necessarily think that's a bad thing). To me, the movie is--as much as anything else--a comment on the devastating consequences of irresponsible choices made by adults who are entrusted, biologically or otherwise, with the care of children. "Babel" depicts this as a universal phenomenon, one shared by Americans, Moroccans, Mexicans, Japanese, and presumably most cultures on Earth: all too often, adults--even those with the best of intentions--make selfish or careless choices that leave children--those most vulnerable among us--prey to powerful forces beyond their control. Expand
  44. AlainA.
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    Cate Blanchett is great but this not a surprise. The surprise is Brad Pitt. Alejandro Gonzalez Iñarritu`s films is the bes in the year
  45. GaryT.
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    Brilliant editing and soundtrack. At times extremely moving, I read this as a strong meditation on compassion and interdependence. Annoyingly American-centric, no doubt for marketing reasons.
  46. PatriciaS.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    I think this movie was a bit too intelligent for the average viewer, hence the inanity of many of their dismaying and incredibly illiterate comments: pearls before swine. it is a tour de force in every way. superb.
  47. SameerH.
    Jan 22, 2007
    9
    An excellent movie which does not solve the problems of the world but does highlight the fact that they certainly do exist! The best thing was that although people think lowly of one another, in times of need - people from different backgrounds and cultures unite and help one another. That, I feel was the underlying message of the film. The scene where Brad Pitt offers the Moroccan some An excellent movie which does not solve the problems of the world but does highlight the fact that they certainly do exist! The best thing was that although people think lowly of one another, in times of need - people from different backgrounds and cultures unite and help one another. That, I feel was the underlying message of the film. The scene where Brad Pitt offers the Moroccan some money for his help and he refuses it was powerful because it showed that even a poor man helped because of humanity and for no other reason. Good effort but maybe a bit too long and a bad ending. Expand
  48. Malcolm
    Jan 23, 2007
    9
    Outstanding. This film is brave and ambitious, and for that alone it deserves to be applauded. The fact that it succeeds on (nearly) every level means that this film is more than worthy of the awards/nominations that have been bestowed upon it. It is bleak, yes. The links between the stories are vague to say the least, true (but, come on, it isn't meant to Lock Stock, with all the Outstanding. This film is brave and ambitious, and for that alone it deserves to be applauded. The fact that it succeeds on (nearly) every level means that this film is more than worthy of the awards/nominations that have been bestowed upon it. It is bleak, yes. The links between the stories are vague to say the least, true (but, come on, it isn't meant to Lock Stock, with all the storys interwining neatly with a nice little bow on top...it's far more REALISTIC than that). But these are the only two points you could justifiably criticise the film on. The negative reviews of the illeducated, impatient and those who only went to see it 'cos Brad was in it (for around 15 minutes...) should be ignored because this film is powerful, dramatic and MOVES you. Both Rinko Kikuchi and Adriana Barraza fully deserve their Academy award nominations, especially Kikuchi. Her debut performance as a troubled and confused deaf-mute teen are truly astonishing. The 'club scene' in her sub-plot is one of the highlights of any film of 2006. Go to see it with an open mind and you will be amazing. Fantastic. Expand
  49. ChristopherP.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    I think it's a pretty good movie, it's different, but it's not for everyone.
  50. GabrielaI.
    Jan 25, 2007
    9
    Amazing stories. Gonzalez Iññaritu at his best. Adriana Barraza, wonderful. Touching movie.
  51. ArmandoP.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    An underrated movie, is a masterpiece and is vert very intelligent
  52. SaraM.
    Jan 27, 2007
    9
    There's soimething in a good film isn't there - like it doesn't matter how bleak the matter at hand, how searing the tragedy, how painful the conclusions you are forced to draw, a great film makes you feel better going out than you did going in. Gripping, important, interesting. Go see.
  53. DeWayneP.
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    Brilliant filmaking...this is a movie which is quilted with color-drenched cinematography and is richly layered with a manuscript made from, a not often encountered, a subtle unabridged classical style of storytelling. It comes at you with an ease of plot, that may be too complex to understand for most moviegoers who are addicted to the fast orgasmic pace of American moviemaking (an Brilliant filmaking...this is a movie which is quilted with color-drenched cinematography and is richly layered with a manuscript made from, a not often encountered, a subtle unabridged classical style of storytelling. It comes at you with an ease of plot, that may be too complex to understand for most moviegoers who are addicted to the fast orgasmic pace of American moviemaking (an American style that maybe great for 'Terminator,' but inevitably it always wilts under the raw heat of real-life storytelling). This has been a lovely comeback year for the art of cinema, may it continue to assault the 'dark-American-idol-side' of moviemaking. Amen. Expand
  54. SamuelB.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    A deeply moving and beautifully acted and directed film. It does not manipulate our feelings but reaches them directly.
  55. IreneR.
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    A beautiful, engrossing, captivating, moving film that is the essence of movie-making. I deeply cared about each of the characters and so appreciated the connections: the arbitrariness of individual people's lives as they are separated from the ordinary dailiness and thrown iinto ordinary accident (of birth, class, unintended consequences of their own and others' decisions.) A beautiful, engrossing, captivating, moving film that is the essence of movie-making. I deeply cared about each of the characters and so appreciated the connections: the arbitrariness of individual people's lives as they are separated from the ordinary dailiness and thrown iinto ordinary accident (of birth, class, unintended consequences of their own and others' decisions.) Life is complicated; connections are tenuous; it's hard to control or even to predict consequences. We fear for our children! Expand
  56. MarcD.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Excellent film about confused communtication and how it can rip things appart. Loved the tension and pace of this movie.
  57. Harry
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    "Powerful". This is the first word that comes to my mind when I remember Iñarritu's excellent "Babel". A unique story, a supreme acting and an amazing directing made me schocked, thrilled and surprised as the stories are revealed. The drive is definitely wonderful and the stories really connect perfectly as well as a well ambientated screenplay gives a more realistic touch and "Powerful". This is the first word that comes to my mind when I remember Iñarritu's excellent "Babel". A unique story, a supreme acting and an amazing directing made me schocked, thrilled and surprised as the stories are revealed. The drive is definitely wonderful and the stories really connect perfectly as well as a well ambientated screenplay gives a more realistic touch and a very clear lesson to the film. The acting was without any doubt phenomenal. Every single actor makes you forget that they're acting and make you feel convinced of the character. The best performances are without any single doubt those of Rinko Kikuchi as a deaf Japanese teenager who would do anything to loose her virginity and Adriana Barraza as a nanny that takes the kids she takes care of to her son's wedding and ends up entering immigrant problems. These two portrayal were extremely intense, realistic and convincing. So please people, go see the film that is for the moment, my favorite of the year. Expand
  58. AnthonyC.
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    Great movie, makes you think.
  59. ManuelV.
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    Great Achievment, great cinematography, great script. Iñarritu and Arriaga are one of the best collaborators in the movie industry and with this film now they had closed a brilliant trilogy who started with Amores Perros and 21 Grams.
  60. CarlF.
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    Having just returned from living overseas in a developing country this film made an awful lot of sense. And it also gave me plenty of firsthand familiarity with all those fear driven, First World coddled whiners we saw on the bus. It also explains to me the rift I see traveling abroad equates to less than 5 star votes and whinny "I don't get it!" comments at home. Sure you people Having just returned from living overseas in a developing country this film made an awful lot of sense. And it also gave me plenty of firsthand familiarity with all those fear driven, First World coddled whiners we saw on the bus. It also explains to me the rift I see traveling abroad equates to less than 5 star votes and whinny "I don't get it!" comments at home. Sure you people don't get it! You're all so huddled into your inward looking groupthink suburban sprawled Martha Stewart perfectly accessoriesed lifestyle that you can't imagine anything outside of that realm. So please, by all means, do us travelers a favor, stay home, stay passportless, and do keep yourselves glued to your boob tubes. Expand
  61. AdityaS.
    Mar 21, 2007
    9
    The movie was artistic, quite like an impressionist painting. Not everyone is expected to find it beautiful, but for some, who prefer masterpieces to photographs, this'll be the best movie they'll see in a while. It helps if you've traveled around and seen different cultures.
  62. MagdalenaT.
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    Excellent Movie. I know some people didnt like it, that is mainly because they didn't want to think. This movie will require you to concentrate to what is happening. Excellent movie. Very well made and required a lot of work. MUST SEE for anyone. Educational for sure.
  63. Js.
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    What are you all waiting for exactly? Why must everything be cleverly and intricately linked together to deserve acclaim? So many of you that knock this film complain about the frailty of the connections between characters. So what? The world is not a cleverly orchestrated screenplay. Commonly, trivial events lead to catastrophic results. Worlds collide in uncommon and sometimes very What are you all waiting for exactly? Why must everything be cleverly and intricately linked together to deserve acclaim? So many of you that knock this film complain about the frailty of the connections between characters. So what? The world is not a cleverly orchestrated screenplay. Commonly, trivial events lead to catastrophic results. Worlds collide in uncommon and sometimes very strange ways. Everything doesn't (and shouldn't) magically come together like the cliche's you are used to and obviously can't live without. Many people of our society are sexually repressed, and many live in paralyzing fear over things that may seem inconsequential to you. If at the very least you cannot wrap your pedantic, hair-splitting brain around the simplicity of the storyline, show some sensitivity to the genuine FEELING that this film has. Cate's performance alone should earn this film at least three points. Giving it a zero is just plain stupid and makes me wonder if some of you are capable of compassion or empathy at all. Expand
  64. Orfeo
    May 11, 2007
    9
    Four months after I saw this, I'm still drawn to it. Not because of the plot details, or any deep philosophical message, but simply because it felt like a genuine cinematic experience. It made me FEEL things. Sometimes it was charming, and sometimes it was trying to tear my heart out. I don't know that it took me to any particular destination - and that's probably what some Four months after I saw this, I'm still drawn to it. Not because of the plot details, or any deep philosophical message, but simply because it felt like a genuine cinematic experience. It made me FEEL things. Sometimes it was charming, and sometimes it was trying to tear my heart out. I don't know that it took me to any particular destination - and that's probably what some people dislike about it - but throughout the entire film I felt like the journey itself was worth experiencing and was never dull. I've seen much shorter movies that seemed to take a lot longer. Expand
  65. SalmanHabib
    May 18, 2007
    10
    I think Carl f summed it up for me....only people who are claiming it to be unrealistic and boring are those who havent out of their cosy lillte neighbourhood....rest alone america....i have been to many countries and this movie depicted the intrinsic complexities of different cultures brilliantly and authentically....the fact that was evident in the whole movie which many american beleiveI think Carl f summed it up for me....only people who are claiming it to be unrealistic and boring are those who havent out of their cosy lillte neighbourhood....rest alone america....i have been to many countries and this movie depicted the intrinsic complexities of different cultures brilliantly and authentically....the fact that was evident in the whole movie which many american beleive as well is that their blood is somehow more important than that of others....that they are more important than the rest of the world....but somehow they dont want to accept it....oh wait yeah....they dont want to be called racist anymore.... Expand
  66. SaraG.
    May 8, 2007
    9
    I was very impressed with the whole thing, I love that it shows how our world is so connected, yet completely divided. It definitely puts you in someone else's shoes.
  67. NickA.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu has become a director so emotionally depleting that when one leaves the theater after seeing one of his films, they are left naked and vulnerable to the world
  68. JohnZ
    Jul 15, 2007
    9
    This movie tore up my guts. Great acting. I've never seen reviews of a movie that had so many either loving it or hating it, 10 all the way to 0. As effecting as it was to me, I can't understand how someone could not be involved with it, but I just figure that's their loss.
  69. Sunn-Ra
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    Moving, awakening, igniting.
  70. DanS.
    Dec 6, 2008
    9
    Well, I enjoyed it a lot, what can I say? Certainly I could say that parts were a bit slow -- for me it was totally engrossing, but it so happened that I watched it split over two evenings. But II thought it was a pretty amazing movie, with a raw realism that makes me feel like I really tapped into these connected slices of life. I found the acting compelling all around and theWell, I enjoyed it a lot, what can I say? Certainly I could say that parts were a bit slow -- for me it was totally engrossing, but it so happened that I watched it split over two evenings. But II thought it was a pretty amazing movie, with a raw realism that makes me feel like I really tapped into these connected slices of life. I found the acting compelling all around and the cinematography and locations amazing.

    The feel is almost documentary-like, and we are jumped from character to character such that we aren't deeply invested in any one. There are emotional events, but they are presented rather starkly with little comment. Rather like watching a nature video where animals struggle and some die, but we don't really know those animals, so we are left to our own devices as to the interpretation.

    I think there is a lot to think about afterwards about the the various connections and character contrasts that didn't necessarily jump out while I was watching the film. (There's more to it than just a gun.) This movie is not the best movie ever but it is quite special, if you are properly receptive to it. It requires a certain contemplativeness and willingness to look beyond the surface. You are not going to want to watch this with some buddies over beers.
    Expand
  71. CronosA.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    A love it or hate it film. You can prove that by seeing all the ratings here: 10 or 0 in most cases. Mine is ten, but why? Simply because this film may be pretentious, but in a good way, or because the job of the actors (Barraza an Kikuchi are outstanding). For those who didn't understand the film, they should pay more atention to the time frames.
  72. JohnLazar
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    amazing movie. gut-wrenching, captivating and incredible. the directing is amazing, and brad pitt, cate blanchett and adriana barraza are amazing. along with the entire cast. the writing is true, and shows the consequences of our thoughtless actions. ONLY FOR INTELLIGENT PEOPLE!! OTHERS WON'T GET IT OR APPRECIATE IT AND BE "BORED" WHEN THEY'RE TOO LAZY TO UNDERSTAND.
  73. gabec.
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    If you have seen the director's previous two movies, you are quite accustomed to the format. And this one is just as powerful and emotional draining, but ultimately wonderfully revealing what it means to be a human being, whether in joy or in distress; whether in Morocco or in Japan. The mistakes the characters made are all driven by the circumstances that anyone of us could have If you have seen the director's previous two movies, you are quite accustomed to the format. And this one is just as powerful and emotional draining, but ultimately wonderfully revealing what it means to be a human being, whether in joy or in distress; whether in Morocco or in Japan. The mistakes the characters made are all driven by the circumstances that anyone of us could have made. The stories being connected or not is not the point. It does what a movie is meant to do: let us feel and see the world differently than when we walked in the theaters. Expand
  74. SandraH.
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    There is not one single moment this film isn't riveting or fascinating for one reason or another - the acting, the sound (or lack of), the visual sweep. For those who didn't like it, I predict your mind will change itself down the line - because there are images that will stick with you a week from now, a month, a year - and more. That kind of unforgettable quality is rare. There is not one single moment this film isn't riveting or fascinating for one reason or another - the acting, the sound (or lack of), the visual sweep. For those who didn't like it, I predict your mind will change itself down the line - because there are images that will stick with you a week from now, a month, a year - and more. That kind of unforgettable quality is rare. You'll see. Expand
  75. robr
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    A harrowing interpretative tale of lone one gun that mixes the filmmakers refreshing and artistic vision within the sprawl of a star powered motion picture.
  76. MariaW
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    Moving.
  77. LouR.
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Though I wondered through about half of this film where it was going, it was worth the wait. The three subplots kept me shoving the popcorn in my mouth as each of the scenes completely sucked me into the its intense emotion as if I was experiencing it myself. I haven't walked out af a theater so satisfied in a long time...and I see alot of movies.
  78. CalebC.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    One of the Best Films I've ever seen. Right up there with American Beauty, Crash and Magnolia.
  79. SusanM.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    I loved it. We are living truly in Babel, we cant understand what the other want, even if they say it in our own language. Makes you get involved the whole time you watch it and react to various events. After the movie I still felt attached to the story. Great Movie.
  80. BilB.
    Dec 10, 2006
    10
    Very powerful, artfully shot, excellently acted, genuine, and tragic. I LOVED IT.
  81. AaronS.
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    'Babel' is the finest film of 2006. Stunning, powerful and emotinally gripping: this final part of a trilogy fashioned by director Alejandro Gonzales Inarritu is unforgettable.
  82. BillG
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    A phenomenal intriguing film with amazing depth. Acting all around is first rate with Brad Pitt giving an and very credible performance. A film you have to see twice to truly appreciate it.
  83. ElizabethL.
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    I haven't been this moved by a motion picture in years. Brad Pitt is unlike I've ever seen him before - absolutely riveting. There are two outstanding female performances in this movie that should definitely make it into the best supporting actress race: Adriana Barrazza who is just beyond brilliant and Rinko Kikuchi who is the best new face to hit the screen in years. I haven't been this moved by a motion picture in years. Brad Pitt is unlike I've ever seen him before - absolutely riveting. There are two outstanding female performances in this movie that should definitely make it into the best supporting actress race: Adriana Barrazza who is just beyond brilliant and Rinko Kikuchi who is the best new face to hit the screen in years. Everything - from the direction to the cinematography to the editing and a heart-tingling score still is in my mind from seeing the film. I was blown away!!! Expand
  84. CandyG.
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    Saw this in Chicago at the Festival and haven't been able to get it out of my heart and mind. Babel is a stunning, masterful work that brings to the screen one of the best ensemble casts on screen in years. Not only does this movie deserve an Oscar, but the Nobel Peace Prize for bringing together an international cast and crew that speaks to the humanity of all people.
  85. TonyA.
    Dec 27, 2006
    9
    Great depth and acting. Moving. Great performance from Kikuchi as Chieko
  86. JesseR
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    Oh my gosh!, what a fantastic film, it really is, it's great. Adriana Barrazza and Rinko Kikuchi gave the best performance I've seen in years. Gael rocks! Just magnificent, when of the best films I have EVER seen. So emotional, but not MEDIOCRE, like others...mmm...Crash...
  87. JSY
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    Brilliant and beautiful and heartbreaking!! Cate is spectacular with Brad amazing too!
  88. CateO
    Oct 26, 2006
    9
    My vote of nine acknowledges that the film does have some flaws - but overall - what an experience - a beautiful film - great acting from all - powerful, very emotional A true must see
  89. BradW
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    This film sticks with you long after leaving the theater. Take a date and discuss into the night - it'll be your best date ever.
  90. LisaB.
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    What can I say...A MASTERPIECE. It's brilliant, maybe a little too long but Barraza & Kikuchi were so amazing. Also Pitt deserves the Oscar win. This film will be huge, the music is so great, I don't get the mixed reviews here, but this has to be the best film of the year so far.
  91. MallinaC.
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    This was one of the best movies I've ever seen, maybe even THE best. It portrays how different yet the same every nation and everone in the world is; everyone deals with suffering and intense happiness. I also liked how a gun was what made everyone's lives so chaotic and unhappy. This movie just portrays people worldwide very honestly, something that should be done more often.
  92. MigueG.
    Jan 23, 2007
    9
    C'est la vie ... Brillant and realistic portrayal of some human misunderstandings and injustices. Is it Fate? And sad, it left me quite saddened.
  93. Dan
    Feb 19, 2007
    9
    What a movie. Brilliant in every way. Complex and greatly crafted story, great acting all round, thought provoking and beutifully shot. give this one the Oscar
  94. EnriqueP.
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Here's the story: We are all connected in the world. One way or another. So maybe the decisions are extremely coincidental in some situtations. Be it! That's reality in this world we live in. Everything we put our hands on has been created, brought from concept and distributed by someone, somewhere at some point. We have to be thankful for those people that even ourselves do not Here's the story: We are all connected in the world. One way or another. So maybe the decisions are extremely coincidental in some situtations. Be it! That's reality in this world we live in. Everything we put our hands on has been created, brought from concept and distributed by someone, somewhere at some point. We have to be thankful for those people that even ourselves do not know who they are, but we're smart enough to understand they exist (and their feeings too.) Great direction, great actors (known and unknown until now) great movie ! 10+ Inarritu. Expand
  95. BritT.
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    This movie is suppose to portray the objectives of our stereotypical behavior. Each of the stories represent our behavior towards others to perfection.
  96. BillyS.
    Nov 11, 2006
    9
    The world is a scary place. Terrorism, gun control, illegal immagration, poverty, suicide. They are all intricately woven together in four separate stories in this gripping international drama all connected by two children playing in the Moroccan desert with a high-powered rifle scaring off jackals. Alejandro Gonzales Inarritu has made a film that leaves you totally helpless, a witness to The world is a scary place. Terrorism, gun control, illegal immagration, poverty, suicide. They are all intricately woven together in four separate stories in this gripping international drama all connected by two children playing in the Moroccan desert with a high-powered rifle scaring off jackals. Alejandro Gonzales Inarritu has made a film that leaves you totally helpless, a witness to the simple breakdown of communicating on every level. The writing is excellent, though the connections between the stories is fairly obvious, it's still a tense, gripping journey to there revelations. The acting is superlative and though there is no real leads, look for atleast two supporting Oscar nominations for Brad Pitt and an amazing Adriana Barraza. Rodrigo Prieto's camera work is outstanding and Gustavo Santaolalla is becoming the Orson Welles of composers. Babel is, quite simply, one of the Best Films of the Year. Expand
  97. FredG.
    Nov 11, 2006
    9
    This movie is excellent and most importantly, relevant. There are so few movies made today that challenge the audience to examine their own agendas, and this one succeeds in doing that. It succeeds in other ways also, by being engrossing and at certain points thrilling. It is most comparable to the recent hit and award winning movie, Crash. Tolstoy believed that writers should write with This movie is excellent and most importantly, relevant. There are so few movies made today that challenge the audience to examine their own agendas, and this one succeeds in doing that. It succeeds in other ways also, by being engrossing and at certain points thrilling. It is most comparable to the recent hit and award winning movie, Crash. Tolstoy believed that writers should write with the agenda of telling the reader how to live, how to behave. This movie doesn't instruct the viewer overtly, but motivates the viewer to do better, to make a positive difference. Expand
  98. DavidA.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Pure art.
  99. Anonymous
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Spoilers follow. PLEASE READ if you're having trouble figuring out what this movie's actually about, and even if you think you know, you should try this interpretation on for size.

    People judging this movie for its feasibility or realism (this seems to be everyone) have missed the point completely. Although set in real cities with real (if, to some filmgoers, unsatisfying)
    Spoilers follow. PLEASE READ if you're having trouble figuring out what this movie's actually about, and even if you think you know, you should try this interpretation on for size.

    People judging this movie for its feasibility or realism (this seems to be everyone) have missed the point completely. Although set in real cities with real (if, to some filmgoers, unsatisfying) characters and with many handheld ("realistic") shots, this is a film that operates on a symbolic level to portray how the Western world is poisoning the so-called "Global Village". Think about the fact that the first shot is a man bringing a rifle to an "uncivilized" home. Think, then, about the effects that rifle has on their once peaceful lives. Think about the Japanese man with animal heads mounted in his home (is there a better symbol of imperialism?) that gave this man the rifle in the first place. Think about the bus full of Western tourists so paranoid about the "terrorists" they clearly have equipped. Think about Cate Blanchett being airlifted out of the country like it were Vietnam and the broadcast saying the American's finally have the "happy ending" they so proudly proclaimed when they dethroned Saddam in "Operation Iraqi Freedom". Think about the way the Mexican woman is given a job in the United States, but then treated like slime even after dedicating her life to becoming a contributing member of its society. Think about the deaf girl who begs for her body to be exploited like the sexual objects that fill every sort of media outlet in Western society. Think about how she stands naked and ashamed in the metropolis of the final shot: a human in her natural form is entirely out of place in any fully Westernized place.

    This is not some dramatic sapfest about how we should all learn to get along (see "Crash"). This is a poetic portrayal of how the West is bringing the world to its knees.

    This would have been the most important film of this year if so many critics and viewers hadn't missed the message entirely.
    Expand
  100. LarryS.
    Nov 26, 2006
    9
    Outstanding film in all respects. Not for your average North American viewer. If you appreciated 21 Grams go see this film. If you enjoy Adam Sandler movies stay away. A movie with a lot to say. Many outstanding acting performances. Don't be mislead by Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett. They are there in supporting roles.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 100
    In the year's richest, most complex and ultimately most heartbreaking film, Inarritu invites us to get past the babble of modern civilization and start listening to each other.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Effectively building dread and emotional tension as tragic incidents triggered by human stupidity and carelessness steadily multiply, this film, like "21 Grams" in particular, employs a deterministically grim mindset in the cause of its philosophical aspirations, but is gripping nearly all the way.
  3. The filmmakers succeed brilliantly in weaving these stories together, taking time to explore depth of character and relationships. The suspense builds throughout as everyone involved becomes lost in a place they don't understand with people they don't know if they can trust.