Paramount Vantage | Release Date: October 27, 2006
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 797 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
497
Mixed:
99
Negative:
201
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
LinH.Mar 2, 2007
Disappointing. I was so looking forward to seeing this movie. While the acting was ok, and it even grabbed you at the beginning, in the end it was just a poor storyline, not believable, not in the least inspirational, but instead contrived Disappointing. I was so looking forward to seeing this movie. While the acting was ok, and it even grabbed you at the beginning, in the end it was just a poor storyline, not believable, not in the least inspirational, but instead contrived and depressing. I'm glad we rented it, and didn't spend money to see it at the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
IrisS.Mar 2, 2007
Terrible movie. Mr Pitt's worst movie ever. Hollywood propaganda agendas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HC.Mar 24, 2007
First off, insulting people who "don't get it" as Carl F. did is so ironic it's almost pitiful. Carl F. sounds terribly upset over something that has nothing to do with a movie called "Babel". I don't think this movie was First off, insulting people who "don't get it" as Carl F. did is so ironic it's almost pitiful. Carl F. sounds terribly upset over something that has nothing to do with a movie called "Babel". I don't think this movie was horrible --however I did think it was so overtly contrived I couldn't rate it past a five. I "get" what the director did and I don't think it worked that well . Certain performances really shone through the horribly didactic 'plot'--the japanese deaf-mute especially, as well as a key scene between Pitt and Blanchette. The director of photography and the person who did the score were first rate--probably the most successful things about "Babel". however, rest assured, if you liked Babel, I will not insult you or think you an idiot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
StephMMar 4, 2007
This movie tried too hard and didn't deliver. I found it overly pretentious and self-conscious. The tone of "I'm about important things, events and people" was a theme it couldn't live up to. I never cared about the Pitt or This movie tried too hard and didn't deliver. I found it overly pretentious and self-conscious. The tone of "I'm about important things, events and people" was a theme it couldn't live up to. I never cared about the Pitt or Blanchet characters. Who were they and why, exactly, were they in Morocco? I really didn't know or care. The nanny character was sympathetic and rather tragic, in the end. The ignorance of a Moroccan father giving a gun to children was, unfortunately, just a stupid thing to do. The story with the Asian girl went on much too long and her acting out became more and more annoying. All I could ask, when the movie was over, was "What was the point?" The fact that there was a connection between the characters did not give it significance, just coincidence. This movie was endless and as painful as a bullet in the neck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattA.Mar 9, 2007
People giving 0's are being irrational. Although, they aren't too far off base. Amores Perrros was a masterpiece, not only because this various storylines but all somehow conncected was still fresh back then, but also because the People giving 0's are being irrational. Although, they aren't too far off base. Amores Perrros was a masterpiece, not only because this various storylines but all somehow conncected was still fresh back then, but also because the stories were the strongest. 21 Grams was a failure, not only because Sean Penn is an overracting hack (see I Am Sam and All The King's Men for further evidence), but because there was no depth or real honesty to the story. Here we have three again, and only one is truly fascinating-the one set in Japan. Pitt and Blanchett's part is just kind of boring, (not to mention Pitt is only here to try and get back some credibility) and the Bernal one is just merely okay (and it only manages to achieve that level thanks to Bernal). Let's be honest here: Rinko Kikuchi was robbed. Her performance here was clearly the best supporting turn of the year. Kikuchi has more acting chops in her oft-flashed vagina than Jennifer Hudson has in her whole, fat body. The Japan segment is tragic, mysterious, strange and beautiful all at once. It could be the best storyline in any of Inarritu's films yet. It would have been great if he had set aside the whole mulitple-storyline obsession for once and just focused on this utterly unique segment. Shame. If he had, he might have the oscar he was so obviously wanting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NAApr 30, 2007
You have to be stupid to not see the amazingness of this movie. Sure it was depressing but its was well made, the acting performances were great, it showed how all these people are connected to each other even though they are worlds apart. I You have to be stupid to not see the amazingness of this movie. Sure it was depressing but its was well made, the acting performances were great, it showed how all these people are connected to each other even though they are worlds apart. I thought that this was a great movie because of how realistic it was. If you gave this movie below a 6 you have no right to speak. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AnthonyW.Apr 4, 2007
Such plodding rubbish, apart from cinematography and performance of deaf-mute Japanese character, nothing to like about this film. What a con, worldview made for the Fox generation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MonicaF.Apr 5, 2007
I see the thread that linked each character to the other but seriously I was bored whilst watching the movie - waiting for it to start only to have it end almost where it began and feeling a huge sense of frustration that THIS was a best I see the thread that linked each character to the other but seriously I was bored whilst watching the movie - waiting for it to start only to have it end almost where it began and feeling a huge sense of frustration that THIS was a best picture nominee. To be honest I felt cheated. Acting was believeable - scenery shots wonderful - capturing Morocco very realistic....the story simply sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeN.Apr 8, 2007
This was almost a great film. The ending, however, just ruined it. I got the feeling that that the American mother and the Japanese girl should have died, but the studio pressured the filmmakers to let them live in order to please American This was almost a great film. The ending, however, just ruined it. I got the feeling that that the American mother and the Japanese girl should have died, but the studio pressured the filmmakers to let them live in order to please American audiences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DouglasR.May 29, 2007
Two and a half hours of obtuse obsurity, held together by only the thinest of story lines. Gratuitously sad and dull, goes nowhere. Pointless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JasonH.Jun 4, 2007
There is a glaring plot flaw near the end of this pretentious self conscious movie that makes me wonder why it's not mentioned by anyone. Maybe I didn't get this little twist and somebody can explain it to me. How could the nanny There is a glaring plot flaw near the end of this pretentious self conscious movie that makes me wonder why it's not mentioned by anyone. Maybe I didn't get this little twist and somebody can explain it to me. How could the nanny be putting the daughter on the phone to speak with the father (Brad Pitt) if she's been deported? I give it a 1 for an example of how not to make a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MarkJun 8, 2007
Pretentious is the best way to describe this silly movie. Tries hard and gets nowhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CraigB.Jul 28, 2007
just because other people tell you a movie is deep and meaningful covering race, relationships and terrorism, doesn't mean they're right. this movie is absolute rubbish. it has nothing to keep you watching other than you just because other people tell you a movie is deep and meaningful covering race, relationships and terrorism, doesn't mean they're right. this movie is absolute rubbish. it has nothing to keep you watching other than you desperately what to see something happen. it doesn't. ever. people need to get a pair and tell it like it is, instead of pandering to the media guru's and trying to be right. please never see this film, you'll thank me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichYSep 18, 2007
Superb film. Is the story simple? Yes. Did that take away from the movie experience? Not in the least. The movie delivers teh goods in every respect - casting, acting, direction, editing, cinematography, soundtrack, 5.1 mix...and mood. Tons Superb film. Is the story simple? Yes. Did that take away from the movie experience? Not in the least. The movie delivers teh goods in every respect - casting, acting, direction, editing, cinematography, soundtrack, 5.1 mix...and mood. Tons of mood. Isolation. Despair. Hopelessness. Salvation. I'm sorry, people who demand more "story" should be reading Dickens or teaching English in middle school. This is a movie, and movie is art, an art of light, sound and emotion, doing things that word on paper cannot. This is a great movie. See it and tell us what you think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeS.Apr 25, 2008
This is the worst movie I have ever seen! I cannot believe the amount of time I wasted waiting for to get the main plot of the movie and it never happened. Sorry Brad Pitt, good acting but awful sorry line.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
caporegimeJun 10, 2009
If it were not for the cast and the crew then, this movie will be dumb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
VanshVJul 10, 2009
Ridiculous movie. It feels as if five year olds could have done a better job. There were too many pointless nude scenes. Bored me to death. Another example where user reviews are more accurate than critic reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RoddersSep 13, 2009
Personally I love movies where the action / plotline doesn't necessarily have a neat beginning and end. The fact that we get so much insight into human lives, whether the 'plot' ties up at the end or not, is surely the point Personally I love movies where the action / plotline doesn't necessarily have a neat beginning and end. The fact that we get so much insight into human lives, whether the 'plot' ties up at the end or not, is surely the point of this film? I had no idea what life is really like in Mexico, Japan or Morocco, having never been to any of these places, but that aspect of this movie is the triumph here, that you feel empathy with a 17-year old deaf-mute girl in Tokyo, a Mexican nanny in her 50s or a Moroccan goat-farming family, and the documentary-style filming makes watching it unfold all the more satisfying. Oh, the stories don't properly relate to one and other so the movie's a sham? Not the point, surely! The acting is superb without exception and I feel that I have no need for the stories to connect at all in order for me to have gained a great deal of pleasure from watching this movie. I guess people who got nothing from this because the stories are only loosely connected to each other may be better off sticking to the formulaic Hollywood crap that passes as entertainment these days. Oh and those people who don't get the fact that the call that the nanny receives at the beginning and brad pitt's character makes at the end are one and the same should give up altogether. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RobertNov 10, 2006
There are lots of problems in this overbaked turnip, but they start with pitt, who is wonderful when all he needs to get by is charm (mr and mrs smith, the ocean movies)...but when asked to act. gulp....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HeinNov 12, 2006
Good story, good acting, good reproduction of cultures (for example the American border police, the Morrocan police and the streets Tokio) and beautiful shots: GOOD MOVIE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CarlM.Nov 19, 2006
Absolutely gut wrenching. I left the theater more exhausted than a 500 mile bicycle race. Some great perfomances however. Particularly by Adriana Barraza.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AudreyF.Nov 19, 2006
Gripping but ultimately meaningless. This is essentially about poor people making poor decisions and the consequences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffSNov 20, 2006
Probably the best and most inspiring dramatic film I've seen all year. A must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JS.Nov 23, 2006
Did not like this movie at all. Too chopped up, lack luster plot. 3 terrible movies in one that intertwine in a useless plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ShirleyC.Nov 25, 2006
This was the most terrible movie. Over the top dramatic. Made me physically ill because of the confused, babeling stories. Good character development but badly edited.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LucyNov 27, 2006
This movie overall was good. I think Brad did a great job in it compared to some movies he has done. Most of the stories had a good way of coming together at the end but it left me hanging at the end and that made me not like it so much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NathanH.Nov 30, 2006
Artistic Crap. Everyone gets screwed except the Americans. The movie makes no point except to say that the White Americans always end up okay. Great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RicardoGalbanNov 3, 2006
Probably the most complex film of the year, I really think moderators should check on this, 'cause I found 21 comments from the same IP ADDRESS, somebody is just making comment after comment giving it 1s 2s or 3rs. I thought the film wasProbably the most complex film of the year, I really think moderators should check on this, 'cause I found 21 comments from the same IP ADDRESS, somebody is just making comment after comment giving it 1s 2s or 3rs. I thought the film was very complete, not the best of the year, but it is indeed a very important film culturally, the kind of film that leaves audiences shattered, very emotional and ambitious but never mediocre or pretentious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesusM.Nov 5, 2006
Awesome movie with perhaps the most important message any film has had in years. In a globilzed world where everyone is connected, we fail to communicate and understand each other. Amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SandraA.Nov 7, 2006
Probably the most gripping film of the year, the Japanese segment was probably the most emotional segment in Babel. Overall great performances, great cinematography, the score was magistral. Probably the most emotional film in years, InarrituProbably the most gripping film of the year, the Japanese segment was probably the most emotional segment in Babel. Overall great performances, great cinematography, the score was magistral. Probably the most emotional film in years, Inarritu has created a very touching film that connects and makes different cultures understand each other. Amazing performances by Adriana Barraza and Brad Pitt. Kikuchi was also great, but didn't really do much because of her limitations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IsraelH.Dec 10, 2006
This is a great film. Gonzalez Inarritu is one of the best directors nowadays. Music, acting (Pitt and Barraza shine), script and cinematography are superb. Deserves 2 or 3 oscars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SuzanneN.Oct 22, 2006
Every artist should see this film - powerful, emotional, uplifting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EDOct 22, 2006
A masterpiece , storytelling,and acting at the very best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JimC.Dec 27, 2006
Superb acting wedded to a fragmented plot that dragged on for me. One of the most overrated films of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
andrewDec 28, 2006
Its a great film!! the performance of brad pitt was very impressive!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
StephenB.Dec 30, 2006
Complete crap! Don't waste your money - unless you're into long drawn out depressing movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LesleyYDec 3, 2006
This film was absolute crap. The story, while interesting, was told in a medium that is now becoming quite cliché, and to be honest, didn't grab me at all. In addition, the entire nanny storyline was ridiculous to Requiem for a This film was absolute crap. The story, while interesting, was told in a medium that is now becoming quite cliché, and to be honest, didn't grab me at all. In addition, the entire nanny storyline was ridiculous to Requiem for a Dream proportions; I kept expecting the nanny, while running through the desert, to start screaming about her red dress. I was actually giving this film a chance until [***SPOILERS***] Santiago left her and the kids in the desert. That was where I was pretty much done. Not only did I not give a toss about Mr. and Mrs. America, as their characters had no depth whatsoever, but the nanny storyline lost me when it got absurd, and the Japanese storyline - well, that deserves its own paragraph. The Japanese storyline was the only storyline that I could be bothered to care about; the characters were developed, the story was interesting. The problem with it was that it had positively nothing, and I do mean nothing, to do with the rest of the theme of connections. [***SPOILERS***] They had to concoct some half-baked explanation about the dad owning the gun at one point to even make it have any relevance, and we weren't even made aware of that until later in the film, whereas we knew the connection of the other two storylines. Major consistency problem there. I firmly believe that this storyline existed to redeem the movie, because without it, I might have just walked out. And I never walk out on a film. I had been looking forward to Babel, and I was very, very disappointed with the end result. The Japanese storyline was great, but out of place, and Gael Garcia Bernal was amazing in the four scenes that he was in. Other than that? I could have spent my two and a half hours doing something that I cared a lot more about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SuziW.Oct 28, 2006
Just saw Babel last night and was blown away. This is a must see for film lovers. Loved it and cant stop thinking about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LewetteF.Oct 29, 2006
Beautiful fascinating movie Interesting for a number of obvious reasons:: did anyone notice that the pivotal events - the shooting, the leaving the children in the desert were all orchestrated by men? The women seemed powerless and Beautiful fascinating movie Interesting for a number of obvious reasons:: did anyone notice that the pivotal events - the shooting, the leaving the children in the desert were all orchestrated by men? The women seemed powerless and victimized by male decisions: the wife was dragged to morrocco; she fights the doctor to no avail; the nanny is deserted in the desert; there are no female protagionsts.... I wonder whether this is deliberate on the part of the filmmakers..... its always been a feminist position that wars are started by men and women and children bear the pain..... all in all a fascinating, beautiful heart-breaking film. Brad Pitt is superb and the other actors fantastic.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarianaS.Oct 29, 2006
What a heartful film, it has to be the best surprise of the year, I loved it. One of the best films I've seen all decade. Great performances, great screenplay. Great DIRECTING!, wow, just mesmerizing. I cannot stop thinking about this What a heartful film, it has to be the best surprise of the year, I loved it. One of the best films I've seen all decade. Great performances, great screenplay. Great DIRECTING!, wow, just mesmerizing. I cannot stop thinking about this masterpiece called BABEL. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JasonS.Dec 9, 2006
They tried for a Pulp Fiction type format and failed miserably. The movie has no plot, no conclusion, no redeeming qualities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
YockoD.Oct 29, 2006
What a piece of pretentious crap. I loved amores perros and 21 grams, but this is the emprorers new clothes. Full of inconsistencies, pathetic, ugly, cheap. what crap. Why does everyone love this so much?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SilasP.Oct 30, 2006
There's no denying the powerful acting, directing, writing, and cinematography here. It's a harrowing experience. I'm intrigued by the fact that no two people--critics included--seem to take the same meaning from this film There's no denying the powerful acting, directing, writing, and cinematography here. It's a harrowing experience. I'm intrigued by the fact that no two people--critics included--seem to take the same meaning from this film (and I don't necessarily think that's a bad thing). To me, the movie is--as much as anything else--a comment on the devastating consequences of irresponsible choices made by adults who are entrusted, biologically or otherwise, with the care of children. "Babel" depicts this as a universal phenomenon, one shared by Americans, Moroccans, Mexicans, Japanese, and presumably most cultures on Earth: all too often, adults--even those with the best of intentions--make selfish or careless choices that leave children--those most vulnerable among us--prey to powerful forces beyond their control. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KhayrA.Jan 1, 2007
Thought provoking film about the things we take for granted and the mistakes in judgement we make, especially those attributed to loss and/or gain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlainA.Jan 11, 2007
Cate Blanchett is great but this not a surprise. The surprise is Brad Pitt. Alejandro Gonzalez Iñarritu`s films is the bes in the year
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SoniaG.Jan 13, 2007
All the ingredients but lacked the punch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaryT.Jan 14, 2007
Brilliant editing and soundtrack. At times extremely moving, I read this as a strong meditation on compassion and interdependence. Annoyingly American-centric, no doubt for marketing reasons.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ElliottM.Jan 15, 2007
Babel is an artfully made, annoyingly overreaching melodramatic mess. The plotline involving the Japanese girl was the most interesting and heartfelt, though it felt completely tangential considering the frailty of the narrative thread Babel is an artfully made, annoyingly overreaching melodramatic mess. The plotline involving the Japanese girl was the most interesting and heartfelt, though it felt completely tangential considering the frailty of the narrative thread connecting her to the rest of the movie. The rest of the movie was just contrived -- parts of it were so shameful and opportunistic I almost laughed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KymD.Jan 16, 2007
It was derivative. You would have thought it was first movie of all time to use interlinked narratives. The story line was predictable--the only surpise I got was that the Japanese chick did not fly off the balcony. It was laboured--why show It was derivative. You would have thought it was first movie of all time to use interlinked narratives. The story line was predictable--the only surpise I got was that the Japanese chick did not fly off the balcony. It was laboured--why show us endless footage of the chopper flying the wonded Blanchett to hospital? As soon as the juiced up mexican nephew decided to drive back to the states you knew there would be tears before bed time. This was a crock. Critics and the public have been sucked in big time. The only analogy you can safely make with this and the real Babel is the collaborators on this movie clearly never spoke the same language or were ever on the same page--much like those who tried to build the tower to heaven. Save your money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveA.Jan 19, 2007
This movie had some very good acting. The movie had a realistic feel to it, if not gritty and ugly. However, the movie felt long, and it was hard to watch that much suffering. The movie just seemed to get more miserable and hopeless as it This movie had some very good acting. The movie had a realistic feel to it, if not gritty and ugly. However, the movie felt long, and it was hard to watch that much suffering. The movie just seemed to get more miserable and hopeless as it progressed...spoiler, spoiler...until, at the end, you had one child being killed, two more children barely clinging to life, another one begging to die, and one stripping naked in an attempt to be loved. Pretty harrowing stuff, but extremely well made, nonetheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatriciaS.Jan 20, 2007
I think this movie was a bit too intelligent for the average viewer, hence the inanity of many of their dismaying and incredibly illiterate comments: pearls before swine. it is a tour de force in every way. superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LisaNDec 18, 2007
Terribly put together. Although you can link how all the parties relate to each other, it was done horribly. I was surprised any big name actors/actresses were willing to put their name to this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SameerH.Jan 22, 2007
An excellent movie which does not solve the problems of the world but does highlight the fact that they certainly do exist! The best thing was that although people think lowly of one another, in times of need - people from different An excellent movie which does not solve the problems of the world but does highlight the fact that they certainly do exist! The best thing was that although people think lowly of one another, in times of need - people from different backgrounds and cultures unite and help one another. That, I feel was the underlying message of the film. The scene where Brad Pitt offers the Moroccan some money for his help and he refuses it was powerful because it showed that even a poor man helped because of humanity and for no other reason. Good effort but maybe a bit too long and a bad ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndyJan 20, 2007
A movie worth seeing but one I could probably never watch again. The acting is superb and the stories are only slightly flawed but the whole tone of the movie is not something I wanted to sit through for nearly 2.5 hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JonJan 22, 2007
What? This is the same guy that made Amores Perros and 21 Grams, right? The difference is, those movies made sense and were put together for a reason. Two out of three storylines that work, yet are interrupted by one that makes absolutely no What? This is the same guy that made Amores Perros and 21 Grams, right? The difference is, those movies made sense and were put together for a reason. Two out of three storylines that work, yet are interrupted by one that makes absolutely no sense, that's sounds more like a recipe for Ba-Balogna. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AjazKhanDec 28, 2007
The only message apparent in the entire film was: "Americans are the best! Rest all (contextually the Mexicans & Afghanis) are uncouth and gruff. Though the direction was superb and the script was excellent. The placing of stories was thoughThe only message apparent in the entire film was: "Americans are the best! Rest all (contextually the Mexicans & Afghanis) are uncouth and gruff. Though the direction was superb and the script was excellent. The placing of stories was though not very creative, but was impactful. The Thai story acted as a lachrymorosing agent for the film, while the Afghani & the Mexican parts were the substance of the movie. Babel should be considered as a mild answer to the all-time-legend "Crash" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidG.Jan 22, 2007
The average movie watcher will think this is the biggest piece of crap ever put on the screen. Leave it at the Cannes festival and give us some real entertainment. Everyone just sat in the theatre afterward wandering what just happened and The average movie watcher will think this is the biggest piece of crap ever put on the screen. Leave it at the Cannes festival and give us some real entertainment. Everyone just sat in the theatre afterward wandering what just happened and feeling like they had the life sucked out of them. Stupid piece of anti-american political propaganda witten and produced by a foreign person and supported by the Hollwood crowd which makes them feel better about themselves because in real life they live such a self indulgent life. Cate Blanchette gets nominated for playing half dead for 10 minutes. Once again, if it wins Oscars and Golden Globes-be very weary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MalcolmJan 23, 2007
Outstanding. This film is brave and ambitious, and for that alone it deserves to be applauded. The fact that it succeeds on (nearly) every level means that this film is more than worthy of the awards/nominations that have been bestowed upon Outstanding. This film is brave and ambitious, and for that alone it deserves to be applauded. The fact that it succeeds on (nearly) every level means that this film is more than worthy of the awards/nominations that have been bestowed upon it. It is bleak, yes. The links between the stories are vague to say the least, true (but, come on, it isn't meant to Lock Stock, with all the storys interwining neatly with a nice little bow on top...it's far more REALISTIC than that). But these are the only two points you could justifiably criticise the film on. The negative reviews of the illeducated, impatient and those who only went to see it 'cos Brad was in it (for around 15 minutes...) should be ignored because this film is powerful, dramatic and MOVES you. Both Rinko Kikuchi and Adriana Barraza fully deserve their Academy award nominations, especially Kikuchi. Her debut performance as a troubled and confused deaf-mute teen are truly astonishing. The 'club scene' in her sub-plot is one of the highlights of any film of 2006. Go to see it with an open mind and you will be amazing. Fantastic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JamesD.Jan 23, 2007
Just got back from seeing it and I can honestly say it was the most tedious 2.5 hrs I have spent in quite some time. At times it looks like it might pick up the pace, but it never does. It seems like the film equivalent of a really badly put Just got back from seeing it and I can honestly say it was the most tedious 2.5 hrs I have spent in quite some time. At times it looks like it might pick up the pace, but it never does. It seems like the film equivalent of a really badly put together essay - all of the stories only very tenuously linked, with no strong structure or progression in ideas, as if he had 3 completely different "stories" (it's hard to even call them that) and had to rush to find some excuse to stitch them together. It's hard to empathise with anyone in the film other than the deaf japanese girl, and that's only because of her exceptionally unfortunate circumstances. I don't think I was the only one getting restless in the cinema either, after an hour half the audience were shifting around in their seats and at least 2 people I saw walked out before the end. It's a shame, as Amores Perres was great, in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BradleyP.Jan 23, 2007
The story line, the acting, the interconnection of each story, the 2 hour plus the movies lasted. I get it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherP.Dec 4, 2007
I think it's a pretty good movie, it's different, but it's not for everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GabrielaI.Jan 25, 2007
Amazing stories. Gonzalez Iññaritu at his best. Adriana Barraza, wonderful. Touching movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RJM.Jan 25, 2007
As the old saying goes, "if you can't dazzle 'em with brilliance, baffle 'em with bullshit". Excellently made tedium. Performance by the Mexican nanny a standout. Ms. Blanchett is given a role which offers her nothing more As the old saying goes, "if you can't dazzle 'em with brilliance, baffle 'em with bullshit". Excellently made tedium. Performance by the Mexican nanny a standout. Ms. Blanchett is given a role which offers her nothing more than to pretend to suffer for the duration of her screen time. Mr. Pitt gets to pretend he's enraged and concerned. Their most compassionate moment is when he helps her urinate into a pan. The filmmakers have very vast concepts built of very small, highly inflated subject matter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArmandoP.Oct 26, 2007
An underrated movie, is a masterpiece and is vert very intelligent
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SaraM.Jan 27, 2007
There's soimething in a good film isn't there - like it doesn't matter how bleak the matter at hand, how searing the tragedy, how painful the conclusions you are forced to draw, a great film makes you feel better going out There's soimething in a good film isn't there - like it doesn't matter how bleak the matter at hand, how searing the tragedy, how painful the conclusions you are forced to draw, a great film makes you feel better going out than you did going in. Gripping, important, interesting. Go see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MayaB.Jan 28, 2007
As a mexican, I´m supposed to be real glad this movie is up for the Oscars. I´m not. While others find it touching and human, I think it´s incredibly racist and elitist. No one seems to notice that, although all these As a mexican, I´m supposed to be real glad this movie is up for the Oscars. I´m not. While others find it touching and human, I think it´s incredibly racist and elitist. No one seems to notice that, although all these characters live through tragedy, the tragedies of the rich struck because of a bad twist of fate and turn out Ok in the end. Meanwhile, the poor live tragedies as a punishment for their stupid decisions: giving a rifle to children, taking your baby sitting charges across the border, getting drunk and getting into trouble with the border patrol. And the worse part is the makers are going all over the place, praising themselves and probably thinking they are intercultural dialogue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MariaP.Jan 28, 2007
Stupid movie. nothing really ties together. emotionless. unessasary nudity. stupid stupid ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ClaudioF.Jan 31, 2007
Those who praised this movie are probably some teenage girls in love with Brad Pitt. But the truth is this movie is one of the worst I have ever seen and it doesn't deserve an oscar nomination! It is incredible! Everything is so banal Those who praised this movie are probably some teenage girls in love with Brad Pitt. But the truth is this movie is one of the worst I have ever seen and it doesn't deserve an oscar nomination! It is incredible! Everything is so banal and simple. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeWayneP.Jan 30, 2007
Brilliant filmaking...this is a movie which is quilted with color-drenched cinematography and is richly layered with a manuscript made from, a not often encountered, a subtle unabridged classical style of storytelling. It comes at you with Brilliant filmaking...this is a movie which is quilted with color-drenched cinematography and is richly layered with a manuscript made from, a not often encountered, a subtle unabridged classical style of storytelling. It comes at you with an ease of plot, that may be too complex to understand for most moviegoers who are addicted to the fast orgasmic pace of American moviemaking (an American style that maybe great for 'Terminator,' but inevitably it always wilts under the raw heat of real-life storytelling). This has been a lovely comeback year for the art of cinema, may it continue to assault the 'dark-American-idol-side' of moviemaking. Amen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrankO.Jan 7, 2007
Very well acted, story arc similar to last year's Crash; interweaving story lines involving three different cultures. Felt long but changing story locations made it move along.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JanieC.Feb 11, 2007
I think this movie was so deep and made you really think about serious issues. I have read the idea of the movie's theme being one of cultural difference and/or family and I agree that is makes you think about such topics. I also I think this movie was so deep and made you really think about serious issues. I have read the idea of the movie's theme being one of cultural difference and/or family and I agree that is makes you think about such topics. I also thought the incident of guns and violence was huge in how it effects people in general. Especially, the idea that cultures and authorities seemed more interested in why and how the violence happened vs. the devistating impact it had on the lives of those involved. I was thinking if they were able to track a gun to Japan before helping a woman shot that is a sad reality. They also seemed more interested in arrested the Mexican immigrants, ignoring the welfare of the children and the emotions the nanny was showing for them. Also, the Japanese father emphasizing "how" the mother died. I definitely think it was a great reminder how culturally we all have failed to emphasize the importance on human emotion and wellbeing and put it second to power, authority, and blame. We really are insensitive to the notions that all humans suffer and maybe helping each other should be top priority. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamuelB.Feb 11, 2007
A deeply moving and beautifully acted and directed film. It does not manipulate our feelings but reaches them directly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrettM.Feb 13, 2007
This is the worst, most boring movie I have ever seen. Do not see this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IreneR.Feb 14, 2007
A beautiful, engrossing, captivating, moving film that is the essence of movie-making. I deeply cared about each of the characters and so appreciated the connections: the arbitrariness of individual people's lives as they are separated A beautiful, engrossing, captivating, moving film that is the essence of movie-making. I deeply cared about each of the characters and so appreciated the connections: the arbitrariness of individual people's lives as they are separated from the ordinary dailiness and thrown iinto ordinary accident (of birth, class, unintended consequences of their own and others' decisions.) Life is complicated; connections are tenuous; it's hard to control or even to predict consequences. We fear for our children! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcD.Feb 19, 2007
Excellent film about confused communtication and how it can rip things appart. Loved the tension and pace of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChristopherW.Feb 21, 2007
'Babel' has four compelling stories that might indeed make four interesting films. Unfortunately, even though the narrative holding them together is more clearly defined than in his last two features, the interconnections between 'Babel' has four compelling stories that might indeed make four interesting films. Unfortunately, even though the narrative holding them together is more clearly defined than in his last two features, the interconnections between these four stories make each of them feel a bit like tangents instead of revelations. The cast is superb and the film is fascinating and emotionally arresting throughout, but the ending doesn't really bring these four seemingly disparate stories together as one might expect, and, as a result, the film as a whole is slightly unsatisfying. Nonetheless, 'Babel' has much to offer the patient, perceptive viewer and is most certainly worth watching! As a note, 2006 was a great year for Spanish directors. 'Volver,' 'Pan's Labrynth, 'Children of Men,' and, of course, 'Babel' are all great examples of the talent and artistry that reside outside of Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PadraigJ.Feb 2, 2007
This movie was strictly carried along on the backs of the two women nominated for Supporting Actress, and the cinematographer. Who would have guessed that critics would have supported anything with a story this shallow, with its little wafts This movie was strictly carried along on the backs of the two women nominated for Supporting Actress, and the cinematographer. Who would have guessed that critics would have supported anything with a story this shallow, with its little wafts of political import, and characters who would have been ethnnographic cartoons if all the actors couldn't manage their very-best "show me anguish" faces. I KNEW I shouldn't have gone last night! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarryFeb 2, 2007
"Powerful". This is the first word that comes to my mind when I remember Iñarritu's excellent "Babel". A unique story, a supreme acting and an amazing directing made me schocked, thrilled and surprised as the stories are "Powerful". This is the first word that comes to my mind when I remember Iñarritu's excellent "Babel". A unique story, a supreme acting and an amazing directing made me schocked, thrilled and surprised as the stories are revealed. The drive is definitely wonderful and the stories really connect perfectly as well as a well ambientated screenplay gives a more realistic touch and a very clear lesson to the film. The acting was without any doubt phenomenal. Every single actor makes you forget that they're acting and make you feel convinced of the character. The best performances are without any single doubt those of Rinko Kikuchi as a deaf Japanese teenager who would do anything to loose her virginity and Adriana Barraza as a nanny that takes the kids she takes care of to her son's wedding and ends up entering immigrant problems. These two portrayal were extremely intense, realistic and convincing. So please people, go see the film that is for the moment, my favorite of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RandyS.Feb 22, 2007
I have been an avid movie goer all of my life. I am 53. I came out of this film saying "So what"! This film does not deserve an academy award nomiation or win. My vote if I had one would go to the Departed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DavidT.Feb 23, 2007
Unimpressive...the use of multi layering storylines is a mere cover up to a less than complex plot/theme. Try Again...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MVickiFeb 24, 2007
So very dissapointing. Great directing, beautiful scenes linked together with horrible story telling. I didn't even care about any of the characters. I kept searching for some sort of lesson -- Don't leave your country? Get therapy So very dissapointing. Great directing, beautiful scenes linked together with horrible story telling. I didn't even care about any of the characters. I kept searching for some sort of lesson -- Don't leave your country? Get therapy for your daughter after her mother dies? Treat your nannies better? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JerryMFeb 24, 2007
Best picture?? No way.......Loved the cast, but it was slow going. Shocked that is got so much attention. Would not recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyC.Feb 25, 2007
Great movie, makes you think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoelT.Feb 27, 2007
Wow...total crap. I know Crash..and you sir are no Crash.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManuelV.Feb 3, 2007
Great Achievment, great cinematography, great script. Iñarritu and Arriaga are one of the best collaborators in the movie industry and with this film now they had closed a brilliant trilogy who started with Amores Perros and 21 Grams.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BreanV.Feb 3, 2007
WORST MOVIE EVER! I actually thought things would tie in and make a good plot. I'm amazed Brad Pitt would waste his time with such a movie. Sure, the events happened at the same time, but it was SO BORING! I'm thinking of throwing WORST MOVIE EVER! I actually thought things would tie in and make a good plot. I'm amazed Brad Pitt would waste his time with such a movie. Sure, the events happened at the same time, but it was SO BORING! I'm thinking of throwing out a movie of my life, as Hollywood seems to be accepting ANYTHING these days. WOW. Seriously I don't understand how any person in the world could enjoy this movie or even sit there and not be suffering one of the worst and slow punishments of all time. For real TERRIBLE.....The most dissappointing thing about this horrible movie is the fact that nothing is fully explained in the end. I feel terrible for any human being that had to pay money to see this film......I think they should be paying people to see the film instead. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE.......SERIOUSLY HORRIBLE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
WendyB.Feb 4, 2007
Watching "Babel" is like looking at a very abstract painting - the type that leaves the viewer searching for interpretation. At the same time, "Babel" appears to be a terribly tragic abstraction, offering the viewet little hope about the Watching "Babel" is like looking at a very abstract painting - the type that leaves the viewer searching for interpretation. At the same time, "Babel" appears to be a terribly tragic abstraction, offering the viewet little hope about the human conditon. Characters are poorly developed due to limited dialgue, forcing the viewer to rely on his'her knowledge of stereotypes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HowardS.Feb 7, 2007
Kindness and indifference are indelibly linked to whether an action is based upon fear or courage. The tourists acting out of fear demonstrate the most obvious indifference with no shortage of words to justify their actions. Playing the Kindness and indifference are indelibly linked to whether an action is based upon fear or courage. The tourists acting out of fear demonstrate the most obvious indifference with no shortage of words to justify their actions. Playing the terrorist card indiscriminantly appeals to fear,not courage. The japanese deaf mute, probably the most courageous and yet vulnerable character in the film, exists without speech yet demonstrates the greatest power of communication and empathy by the squeezing of her father's hand. The point is not to rid oneself of language, as the elaborate note given to the Japanese police officer bears witness, but rather to recognize how language itself has the capacity to distort. Without exception the most unambivalent acts of kindness are perpetuated without words in this film, from the elderly morrocan lady to the local doctor whose actions saved the life of Blanchett's character. This film is growing on me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BrutusO.Mar 11, 2007
Well acted, but unforgiveably over-wrought and unnecessarily manipulative. Frankly, it would be hard to not be affected by any such series of contrived, highly stressful human interactions, especially when they are laid out before you by Well acted, but unforgiveably over-wrought and unnecessarily manipulative. Frankly, it would be hard to not be affected by any such series of contrived, highly stressful human interactions, especially when they are laid out before you by skilled film technicians in a (vaguely) interconneceted narrative. But if you strip away the multi-ethnic gloss, the rapid cutting and the star power, all this really represents is nothing more substantial than four of those dreadful telemovies on the Hallmark channel. Deaf schoolgirl sexually repressed! Childminder kidnaps children and disappears to Mexico! American tourists get trapped in terrorist incident and amazingly find out that the dirty natives are actually human after all! Children shoot someone by accident and this brings about unexpected tragedy! All a bit trite, really. But despite everything in this movie that grates, nevertheles some degree of genuine humanism emerges, and the stars acquit themselves pretty well. Ultimately I suspect we have the "Finnegan's Wake" of modern film here, when Inarittu was probably aiming more at directing the modern "Ulysses". And cheers to the Academy for not getting too transfixed by the hype. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ThomasB.Mar 11, 2007
Really did a number on me emotionally, many scenes I will always remember.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EliseMar 10, 2007
This movie was a waste of my time. Depressing and pointless. What was in the Asian girl's letter? Do the connections between the characters really matter? Why should I care about American woman? she was not a likable character. Why were This movie was a waste of my time. Depressing and pointless. What was in the Asian girl's letter? Do the connections between the characters really matter? Why should I care about American woman? she was not a likable character. Why were they in Morocco to begin with? Americans in foreign countries who get shot get helicopters? Is that a theme? Did the Moroccan boy get a helicopter? Does it matter? Waste of my time. Stupid questions with no answers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlisonMar 12, 2007
Too hard to follow without a complete end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TheProphetMar 13, 2007
What the hell! This movie got such great reviews from everyone, though I really can't see how. This was one of the most boring movies I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlF.Mar 16, 2007
Having just returned from living overseas in a developing country this film made an awful lot of sense. And it also gave me plenty of firsthand familiarity with all those fear driven, First World coddled whiners we saw on the bus. It also Having just returned from living overseas in a developing country this film made an awful lot of sense. And it also gave me plenty of firsthand familiarity with all those fear driven, First World coddled whiners we saw on the bus. It also explains to me the rift I see traveling abroad equates to less than 5 star votes and whinny "I don't get it!" comments at home. Sure you people don't get it! You're all so huddled into your inward looking groupthink suburban sprawled Martha Stewart perfectly accessoriesed lifestyle that you can't imagine anything outside of that realm. So please, by all means, do us travelers a favor, stay home, stay passportless, and do keep yourselves glued to your boob tubes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TomB.Mar 17, 2007
This may be the worst movie I've seen since "Smoke". It has to be a conspiracy as to way this movie has Oscar nominations. I wasted $3.99 + tax to rent this movie the only good thing is that I didn't buy it but i'll never get This may be the worst movie I've seen since "Smoke". It has to be a conspiracy as to way this movie has Oscar nominations. I wasted $3.99 + tax to rent this movie the only good thing is that I didn't buy it but i'll never get the 144 minutes back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdityaS.Mar 21, 2007
The movie was artistic, quite like an impressionist painting. Not everyone is expected to find it beautiful, but for some, who prefer masterpieces to photographs, this'll be the best movie they'll see in a while. It helps if The movie was artistic, quite like an impressionist painting. Not everyone is expected to find it beautiful, but for some, who prefer masterpieces to photographs, this'll be the best movie they'll see in a while. It helps if you've traveled around and seen different cultures. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JR.Mar 24, 2007
I enjoyed this movie even though I thought I'd hate it because it would be like seeing Crash again. I found all the characters and their performences very entertaining. I could also name 100 flaws with Babel but its best to just exept I enjoyed this movie even though I thought I'd hate it because it would be like seeing Crash again. I found all the characters and their performences very entertaining. I could also name 100 flaws with Babel but its best to just exept it for what it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EricC.Mar 26, 2007
Wow. Two jerks back to back. Magdalena T. and Majed M., your ignorance is mindblowing. This movie isn't as depthful as you would like to think. The huge amounts of us who didn't like this trash are not "uneducated", and we're Wow. Two jerks back to back. Magdalena T. and Majed M., your ignorance is mindblowing. This movie isn't as depthful as you would like to think. The huge amounts of us who didn't like this trash are not "uneducated", and we're not mindless viewers. I completely understand what this movie tried to do, and yes, a world as chaotic as ours needs to be brought together and connected. But this movie failed so bad at doing this. The "connections" were ridiculous and insignifficant, horribly thought out. Stranger Than Fiction did a better job of this, and it was only a side note in that movie. The character studies were bad for the sole reason the characters were inhuman. Find me people like this. I challenge you. Kid in puberty turned on by his sister, deaf girl who desperately wants sex to "cope", nagging wife who just happens to get shot in a place she hates because of its exaggerated violent image (which is confirmed by her injury, completely ruining the point). Stop me when they stop sounding laughable. And sorry,Carl F., we don't have to be world weary travellers like you to "get" it. We all encounter racism from all around. We all happen to know about world affairs and cultures (I pride myself on it). And sorry, we're not all apart of the suburban culture. Crawl out of your little superiorority shell. You're not as special as you think. Sorry we haven't lived in your "developing country". We've been living in a decaying one. Go kiss a mirror or something, you seem way to proud of yourself. I'll just go to K-Mart and accessorise with Martha Stewart's latest, like I apparently should be doing. And all this is unimportant anyway. A crap movie is a crap movie. Nothing in the world could change that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BillS.Mar 28, 2007
Don't waste your time on this one. This is one bad film. First, a kid shoots a tourist by accident, ok I can buy that. The hubby goes bonkers because his wife got shot. Ok I can buy that. After that the movie is all down hill from Don't waste your time on this one. This is one bad film. First, a kid shoots a tourist by accident, ok I can buy that. The hubby goes bonkers because his wife got shot. Ok I can buy that. After that the movie is all down hill from there. This move is a 142 minute bore. Save your money buy a pizza instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JoshMar 3, 2007
Babel is a film so stuffed with self-importance it confuses those around it into believing it's delusions. It might have been an interesting plot if it wasn't just a couple of incomplete stories taped together for the sake of Babel is a film so stuffed with self-importance it confuses those around it into believing it's delusions. It might have been an interesting plot if it wasn't just a couple of incomplete stories taped together for the sake of "interconnection". It felt disjointed, empty and a rehash in style of several other easily nameable films (Traffic, Crash and 21 Grams to name a few). It looks like the formula for critical success is filming a bunch of characters then intersecting them at the end of the film. Blah. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful