Paramount Vantage | Release Date: October 27, 2006
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 798 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
498
Mixed:
99
Negative:
201
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
StevenH.May 26, 2007
A banal treatment of 6 degrees of separation the famous graph theory of human connectedness. It lacks any coherence and progresses as if it is simply reporting the tenuous connections. I am amazed that it was even produced.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnD.Jun 22, 2007
This movie was infuriating beyond compare!!! The thought that I wasted two hours of my life watching this "movie" makes me sick to my stomach! Where is the second disc? The credits came but the end did not. I felt less intelligent as a This movie was infuriating beyond compare!!! The thought that I wasted two hours of my life watching this "movie" makes me sick to my stomach! Where is the second disc? The credits came but the end did not. I felt less intelligent as a person while I dragged through the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DeniseB.Oct 21, 2008
I just finished watching this unbelievably boring piece of crap on cable. Thank God I didn't get sucked into paying to suffer through this boring maudlin mess in the theater. At home, with the glory of the fast forward function, I was I just finished watching this unbelievably boring piece of crap on cable. Thank God I didn't get sucked into paying to suffer through this boring maudlin mess in the theater. At home, with the glory of the fast forward function, I was able to move things along in a way the director could not seem to do. And the ending made no sense whatsoever. Utter crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PiperL.Dec 28, 2008
I agree this movie was way too long and a bit too pretentious. Its happy ending is also a bit ugly....did any one else notice that it was only happy for the white people? The mom lived, and the kids were found...but the Moroccan boy was I agree this movie was way too long and a bit too pretentious. Its happy ending is also a bit ugly....did any one else notice that it was only happy for the white people? The mom lived, and the kids were found...but the Moroccan boy was dead, the other Moroccans sent to prison, the Mexican woman shamed and deported, and the Asian teen still a virgin, still deaf, oh, and naked on the terrace with her dad...what the? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BtvalleyFeb 13, 2009
This was a masterful piece. Truthfully one of the best pictures I have ever seen. To Piper L: Did you ever think that this is what the director wanted you to see, that Americans are egocentric, and ethnocentric on their own values and This was a masterful piece. Truthfully one of the best pictures I have ever seen. To Piper L: Did you ever think that this is what the director wanted you to see, that Americans are egocentric, and ethnocentric on their own values and customs, not of those of others. This happens everyday in many countries but becasue we as an American Cultrue are to blind, with our starbucks coffee and big screen tv's, to see how much we really impact the world and those in it. Step outside the box my friend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DJFeb 26, 2009
Possibly the worst movie I have ever seen. Entire 2.5 hr plot could have been told in 15mins. 150 mins of my life I'll never get back. Absolutely horrible! Ridiculous waste of time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Nov 11, 2006
The world is a scary place. Terrorism, gun control, illegal immagration, poverty, suicide. They are all intricately woven together in four separate stories in this gripping international drama all connected by two children playing in the The world is a scary place. Terrorism, gun control, illegal immagration, poverty, suicide. They are all intricately woven together in four separate stories in this gripping international drama all connected by two children playing in the Moroccan desert with a high-powered rifle scaring off jackals. Alejandro Gonzales Inarritu has made a film that leaves you totally helpless, a witness to the simple breakdown of communicating on every level. The writing is excellent, though the connections between the stories is fairly obvious, it's still a tense, gripping journey to there revelations. The acting is superlative and though there is no real leads, look for atleast two supporting Oscar nominations for Brad Pitt and an amazing Adriana Barraza. Rodrigo Prieto's camera work is outstanding and Gustavo Santaolalla is becoming the Orson Welles of composers. Babel is, quite simply, one of the Best Films of the Year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FredG.Nov 11, 2006
This movie is excellent and most importantly, relevant. There are so few movies made today that challenge the audience to examine their own agendas, and this one succeeds in doing that. It succeeds in other ways also, by being engrossing and This movie is excellent and most importantly, relevant. There are so few movies made today that challenge the audience to examine their own agendas, and this one succeeds in doing that. It succeeds in other ways also, by being engrossing and at certain points thrilling. It is most comparable to the recent hit and award winning movie, Crash. Tolstoy believed that writers should write with the agenda of telling the reader how to live, how to behave. This movie doesn't instruct the viewer overtly, but motivates the viewer to do better, to make a positive difference. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidA.Nov 12, 2006
Pure art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
johnmcNov 18, 2006
It struggles but in the end it's pointless. Whatever ponderous point it was trying to make never developes. Good acting for naught.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SamanthaJ.Nov 19, 2006
I was truly disturbed by this movie. I thought it was going to inspire me and make me see how communication is important but it was gross and perverted. And if you like Brad Pitt he's not even in it that much and he isn't that good I was truly disturbed by this movie. I thought it was going to inspire me and make me see how communication is important but it was gross and perverted. And if you like Brad Pitt he's not even in it that much and he isn't that good in this movie either. Seriously a waste of time!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousNov 19, 2006
Spoilers follow. PLEASE READ if you're having trouble figuring out what this movie's actually about, and even if you think you know, you should try this interpretation on for size.

People judging this movie for its feasibility
Spoilers follow. PLEASE READ if you're having trouble figuring out what this movie's actually about, and even if you think you know, you should try this interpretation on for size.

People judging this movie for its feasibility or realism (this seems to be everyone) have missed the point completely. Although set in real cities with real (if, to some filmgoers, unsatisfying) characters and with many handheld ("realistic") shots, this is a film that operates on a symbolic level to portray how the Western world is poisoning the so-called "Global Village". Think about the fact that the first shot is a man bringing a rifle to an "uncivilized" home. Think, then, about the effects that rifle has on their once peaceful lives. Think about the Japanese man with animal heads mounted in his home (is there a better symbol of imperialism?) that gave this man the rifle in the first place. Think about the bus full of Western tourists so paranoid about the "terrorists" they clearly have equipped. Think about Cate Blanchett being airlifted out of the country like it were Vietnam and the broadcast saying the American's finally have the "happy ending" they so proudly proclaimed when they dethroned Saddam in "Operation Iraqi Freedom". Think about the way the Mexican woman is given a job in the United States, but then treated like slime even after dedicating her life to becoming a contributing member of its society. Think about the deaf girl who begs for her body to be exploited like the sexual objects that fill every sort of media outlet in Western society. Think about how she stands naked and ashamed in the metropolis of the final shot: a human in her natural form is entirely out of place in any fully Westernized place.

This is not some dramatic sapfest about how we should all learn to get along (see "Crash"). This is a poetic portrayal of how the West is bringing the world to its knees.

This would have been the most important film of this year if so many critics and viewers hadn't missed the message entirely.
Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZiboscoZ.Nov 22, 2006
My wife asked me to leave several times and I would have...but I paid 20.00 to try and figure out what the hell the director Gonzales was smoking. What ever happened to the John Ford movies? No wonder Hollywood is losing us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryS.Nov 26, 2006
Outstanding film in all respects. Not for your average North American viewer. If you appreciated 21 Grams go see this film. If you enjoy Adam Sandler movies stay away. A movie with a lot to say. Many outstanding acting performances. Outstanding film in all respects. Not for your average North American viewer. If you appreciated 21 Grams go see this film. If you enjoy Adam Sandler movies stay away. A movie with a lot to say. Many outstanding acting performances. Don't be mislead by Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett. They are there in supporting roles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BevMNov 26, 2006
The scenery was beautiful and fascinating, but the story line left me empty, especially the Japanese segment. At the end, there were no subtitles for that story ... what was the point? It the point was to frustrate me, it could have been The scenery was beautiful and fascinating, but the story line left me empty, especially the Japanese segment. At the end, there were no subtitles for that story ... what was the point? It the point was to frustrate me, it could have been done in much less time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BandANov 26, 2006
This movie really really sucks. Really 3 subplots tied together with a measly relation so they can tell 3 different stories and call it a movie. Way too long and Brads acting suck, a face to draw people to see a crap movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AurLNov 27, 2006
So depressing, you have to wonder what therapy the director and authors need. Even the talented cast are immaterial as you watch the painful tale that was already completely revealed in the trailer. No purpose, no message, just misery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristineW.Dec 18, 2006
Four unforgettable famliles set in four different countries, all tied together by one rifle. Interesting how it is the poorest families who suffer the greatest casualties within the length of the movie. Masterful storytelling. Authentic Four unforgettable famliles set in four different countries, all tied together by one rifle. Interesting how it is the poorest families who suffer the greatest casualties within the length of the movie. Masterful storytelling. Authentic depiction of the current societal issues in each location... Watchers may be surprised by the depiction of youth in Japan, Yet this is so accurate a portrayal of a section of young society in Asia today. Brutally honest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SandyS.Dec 19, 2006
A great film; highly impactful with terrific performances by Pitt and the Japanese teenager. A very clever blending of disparate lives with a common thread that impacts all. Leaves one with a powerful after taste and tightening of the A great film; highly impactful with terrific performances by Pitt and the Japanese teenager. A very clever blending of disparate lives with a common thread that impacts all. Leaves one with a powerful after taste and tightening of the stomach - excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MangG.Dec 22, 2006
Perhaps the most cosmically overrated film of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EnriqueDec 26, 2006
Not Inarritu's best, but still great cinema with an intriguing, thought provoking story line. Great acting by the whole cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
kobij.Dec 29, 2006
A great looking movie with a terrible script. Banal message, primitive co incentental hotel de Paris type of a drivel. Give this taleted dirctor a script, for God sake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kingshahidJul 27, 2011
This movie was fabulous. It captured the connections of the world and how everything is related. This movie can represent how one can not be blamed for anything alone. The movie was intriguing moreso than being suspenseful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ApocalypseGamerFeb 14, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really didn't get this film. I mean, the only good part about it was the American POV (Pitt and Blanchett) and the plot seemed really confusing even though it's told in different perspectives. One of the most confusing but weirdest films of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dheerajiJun 19, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, but am not exactly sure what I liked about it. It's somewhat depressing and certainly isn't action-packed. Definitely worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
anothercoolguyDec 5, 2012
Great movie .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleMay 7, 2016
A beautifully interwoven story of the human condition and dealing with loss that spans continents, Babel is a truly marvelous work from director Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu. The film crafts wonderfully deep characters who walk, talk, and actA beautifully interwoven story of the human condition and dealing with loss that spans continents, Babel is a truly marvelous work from director Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu. The film crafts wonderfully deep characters who walk, talk, and act like real human beings experiencing these events. Even better, it treats them all equally and never points fingers, instead making us feeling incredible amounts of sympathy even for those who made mistakes. The acting is superb and this compliment extends to the entire cast, not just Hollywood a-listers Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett. The writing is fantastic and the film never drags, even in its slower parts. Additionally, the nonlinear storytelling is never a problem and the film lets you know when each piece is taking place with no confusion. Overall, Babel is a stirring and deeply touching examination of loss and humanity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
It tries to do so much, but this nonlinear mess of a film has nothing to offer but some short snippets of great acting. It is original, but not all original ideas are good ones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Jun 21, 2013
The performances are poignant, the camerawork is stimulating, the four stories interlock brilliantly, and in spite of some moderate pacing issues, "Babel" makes for a supremely thought-provoking trip.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonMay 20, 2013
Babel, which borrows its title from the Genesis 11 account of the moment in history when God scrambled humankind's languages and locations to limit our effectiveness at achieving corporate evil, is a masterpiece of raw cinematic emotion hungBabel, which borrows its title from the Genesis 11 account of the moment in history when God scrambled humankind's languages and locations to limit our effectiveness at achieving corporate evil, is a masterpiece of raw cinematic emotion hung on a framework of muddled messages and extreme content. As an exercise in empathy, Iñárritu's stories nailed me. Once I bought into the characters and their settings (and to the director's credit, I bought hard), every moment of the film was drenched in anxiety, sorrow and dread. The fact that not all of the tales end in utter loss offered little relief. And the movie's sadness hung with me long after I left the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysMay 30, 2016
One of Inarritu's finest earlier works, Babel succeeds as a drama with a real human heart, and gets its message across easily. It requires patience to watch, but is a must-see for film buffs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelJacobDec 8, 2013
I thought that overall it was a pretty well-made movie. At the start I thought the subtitles were going to be distracting, but after a while it became second nature. I thought that the transitions between each of the different stories workedI thought that overall it was a pretty well-made movie. At the start I thought the subtitles were going to be distracting, but after a while it became second nature. I thought that the transitions between each of the different stories worked really well and wee well timed and that most camera angles worked well. The acting was plain up until half way through the film, and I thought that Brad Pitt's character grew throughout the film. The storyline itself, was pretty good, except I would have loved to see a bit more knots tied toward the end of the film, answering some questions that are still left unanswered. The Lighting throughout the film worked well, as it was used in good detail and helped to tell the story better. The lighting wasn't too dark either, which is good. I think the music and sounds worked really well, I especially love when the audience is put in inaudible as it makes the audience fell that sense of hopelessness. The film didn't contain many special effects and I think in some cases, these could have been used to enhanced the film. I particularly like the scene where they are in the nightclub in Japan, I think that the lighting in this scene is great, the way it confuses the audience, but yet still shows them what they are supposed to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLOct 20, 2015
Una obra maestra en todo sentido. Babel se desarrolla en 4 lugares distintos cada lugar tiene a sus personajes y cada personaje tiene sus conflictos pero en general todos los personajes comparten una relación con los demás, aunque algunosUna obra maestra en todo sentido. Babel se desarrolla en 4 lugares distintos cada lugar tiene a sus personajes y cada personaje tiene sus conflictos pero en general todos los personajes comparten una relación con los demás, aunque algunos nunca se llegan a ver en toda la película, eso es lo grandioso de esta película, que podemos conocer profundamente la historia y situación de cada personaje y ademas de compartir un conflicto mundial con los demás personajes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoJul 21, 2015
This movie is a symbol of power to seek peace and reconciliation in each country and a help for the human superation and equality. Gonzalez Inarritu makes magnificent award-winning films such as " Birdman" go forward by " The Revenant" .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RobertBroganSep 28, 2015
Babel is a mixed bag.While it does not feel very long, its main defect is its length. A shorter movie with tighter focus would have had a greater dramatic impact without having to sacrifice its social message. The colonialist attitudes killedBabel is a mixed bag.While it does not feel very long, its main defect is its length. A shorter movie with tighter focus would have had a greater dramatic impact without having to sacrifice its social message. The colonialist attitudes killed any sympathy for the central characters. But overall, it is still engaging and still worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TriggrdDec 14, 2015
One of the most underrated movies about the development of human nature in wilderness, urban surroundings. It also tells very emotional and comprehensible stories about miscommunication as the source for conflict and personal tragedies

|
One of the most underrated movies about the development of human nature in wilderness, urban surroundings. It also tells very emotional and comprehensible stories about miscommunication as the source for conflict and personal tragedies

|
BUT
|

prepare some snacks cause that movie unfortunately got stretched way too long for his own good
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chris247482Jan 3, 2016
This film is similar to Crash in the way the narrative is setup, although it is tackling different issues. I just got around to watching it in 2015, although it came out in 2006. The directing and camera work were well done, but really whatThis film is similar to Crash in the way the narrative is setup, although it is tackling different issues. I just got around to watching it in 2015, although it came out in 2006. The directing and camera work were well done, but really what moved me was some of the supporting acting. Brad Pitt is in the film and while I am a fan and he did well, his is not the acting I am referring to. In specific two of the supporting actresses (who were nominated for academy awards as a result of this film) really stood out and those are Adriana Barraza and Rinko Kikuchi.

Jennifer Hudson ended up winning the academy award and that was such a mistake. I think either of these other two actresses deserved it more. Of the two Kikuchi who plays a teenage deaf girl in Japan provided one of the most moving performances I have seen in a very long time and she did it without speaking any English, actually without speaking at all with the exception of sign language or writing notes. Many of the scenes where she has to convey what her character is feeling and experiencing she does so with her eyes and facial expressions.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
enzartoJan 9, 2016
Babel tells the story of intertwining narratives across several characters and their lives, and how their predicaments are interrelated. A nanny is eager to attend her son's wedding, but she is unable to find a temporary babysitter for twoBabel tells the story of intertwining narratives across several characters and their lives, and how their predicaments are interrelated. A nanny is eager to attend her son's wedding, but she is unable to find a temporary babysitter for two children she is charged with guardianship over. Thus she decides to take the children with her across border to Mexico. The children's parents are travelling in Morocco, and while on a touring bus, the wife is shot by a native Moroccan boy, who is with his brother trying out a his father's rifle on a mountaintop. The father of the two boys, Ibrahim Hassad, is now wanted by the local police and for a part of the plot, attempts his escape after discovering the shooting which has now also become an international story. Finally the rife was given to him prior to the events of the story by a Japanese man who was hunting in Morocco. The man believed he had a formidable hunting guide, and as a token of his gratitude, gives the guide this rifle, which eventually is sold to the father of these two boys.

The film itself overall was very engaging, and due to the multiple characters and the dimensional plot, the audience will remain very interested in what happens next, and ultimately how it ends. However, the necessity of some of the characters certainly comes into question as the film draws to its close.

For example, the Japanese man's purpose in the story was solely that he had given a rifle to a Moroccan hunting guide. However there is a subplot to his life, in that he has a daughter who deals with how her peers perceive her deafness, and a wife who committed suicide, however her method of suicide is purposely posed in the film as an undiscovered truth with some suggestions. The daughter's character is probably the most interesting character in the film, and the director's portrayal of her deaf experience is admirable and prone to empathy. However, the daughter's purpose in the overall plot that attempts to bring narratives to crossroads is a painfully pointless appendix, and a frustrating hindrance to the story.
She does not affect the film in anyway if she were to be removed, especially the detail of the dead wife.

Besides the daughter who is actually a character that poses dimension, humanized situations that create an engaging audience, the other characters, with the slight exception of the boy who shot the American woman, are very uninteresting. In a general sense, one would wish that the American women survives, but sadly if she did not, hearts wouldn't be broken. She isn't a character that the story makes you care for, and neither is Brad Pitt's.

Some of the events are also rather implausible and poorly conveyed. For instance, a nanny who is both an an illegal immigrant and employee of these two American parents, would certainly take extra caution and perhaps sacrifice her opportunity to attend her son's wedding in order to avoid putting the two children in serious danger, and to keep her own life secure and prevent deportation. Regardless of this very true point, the plot still, has this way of being very engaging. While the Japanese daughter is the most interesting character in the film, she takes serious risks with a legal official, by attempting to lure to perform sexual activity with her. While her desire for a sexual life which perhaps remains deprived and unexperimented with her condition, her choice of risk is not believable.

The story was very well presented and the film was beautifully expressed. But expression can be beautiful and also pointless, and the film tends to possess this quality of great plot drive, but to no avail. The film is a journey with a destination that is frustrating, because the journey should not have set off in the first place, but for reasons unmentioned it simply fails to be a great movie, and a bad movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
LiteralYoyoJan 23, 2016
I think, and I am being completely serious here, that this might just be the worst movie I have ever seen. It's just so bloody boring and predictable and don't get me started on the bloody Japanese girl because Jesus Christ was that painfulI think, and I am being completely serious here, that this might just be the worst movie I have ever seen. It's just so bloody boring and predictable and don't get me started on the bloody Japanese girl because Jesus Christ was that painful to sit through. Even Brad Pitt can't pull this movie out of the dips of hell. It's just that bad! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews