User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 103
  2. Negative: 41 out of 103
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TimoV
    Mar 13, 2009
    1
    Utter bs with the world's most pretentious story. How on earth sh*t like this can cost 70 MILLION DOLLARS?
  2. Aug 21, 2010
    1
    Whilst the film's portrayal of a dystopian future is intriguing, the rest of the film was poor, with sub-par acting, a plot that trailed off into non-existence by the twenty-minute mark, and a main character that has little to no real motivation. The film's ending seems nonsensical, feeling as though there should be more beyond. The opening sequence is enough to grab your attention and theWhilst the film's portrayal of a dystopian future is intriguing, the rest of the film was poor, with sub-par acting, a plot that trailed off into non-existence by the twenty-minute mark, and a main character that has little to no real motivation. The film's ending seems nonsensical, feeling as though there should be more beyond. The opening sequence is enough to grab your attention and the technology used throughout is interesting, but don't let this fool you: Babylon AD is one to avoid. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2012
    2
    Babylon A. D. avait, sur le papier, tout ce qu'il fallait pour être le nouveau Blade Runner, à commencer par un réalisateur de talent (Mathieu Kassovitz), un fond scénaristique intéressant dans le domaine de la science-fiction et quelques pensées philosophiques sur notre société. MaisBabylon A. D. avait, sur le papier, tout ce qu'il fallait pour être le nouveau Blade Runner, à commencer par un réalisateur de talent (Mathieu Kassovitz), un fond scénaristique intéressant dans le domaine de la science-fiction et quelques pensées philosophiques sur notre société. Mais malheureusement, le film est très loin d'atteindre ce sommet. Surtout qu'au lieu d'être un long-métrage puissant tel Les Fils de l'Homme, Babylon A. D. a les airs d'une série B américaine ou bien d'une production Besson (au choix) qui , en plus, n'explose à aucun moment pour satisfaire les férus d'action (les scènes étant peu nombreuses et inintéressantes). Sans parler d'un scénario à la fois incompréhensible (cette société futuriste est juste survolée et non détaillé) et trop fade (tout comme l'ambiance, rendue énervante par la bande son). Et puis, c'est quoi cette voix française donnée à Vin Diesel? Reste un hônnete casting. Mais l'intérêt du film reste bien mystérieux... Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2011
    1
    "Babylon A.D." is a poorly rendered film that is messy, incomprehensible, and just plain bad. The plot is very confusing as I did not understand what the hell was going on, the film is just messy and has like no visual flair at all so it is uneasy on the eyes. The action sequences are poorly rendered and very boring and the acting is kinda lame as well. Do not watch this train wreck of a"Babylon A.D." is a poorly rendered film that is messy, incomprehensible, and just plain bad. The plot is very confusing as I did not understand what the hell was going on, the film is just messy and has like no visual flair at all so it is uneasy on the eyes. The action sequences are poorly rendered and very boring and the acting is kinda lame as well. Do not watch this train wreck of a movie, you will be left going "What?" at the end and feel that you just wasted two hours of your life watching this convoluted train wreck. Breakdown for "Babylon A.D.": Presentation: 2, Plot: 1.3, Acting: 2.3, Script: 1.7, Lasting Appeal: 0.5, Verdict: 1.1 out of 10 "Awful". Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2011
    0
    I have a lot of pleasure! Foolish hollywood movie. And - i live in Troizk. No any common with reality. Movie to make an foolish teens more and more foolish
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    1
    A mess of a plot line and utterly depressing film with weird and unlikable characters.
  7. JasonDeatherage
    Feb 9, 2009
    1
    I would have to say that this is by far the worst movie that I saw in 2008. Everything about the movie was bad. The acting was poor, the story was bad, and the directing and storytelling was terrible. After I saw the trailer it looked like it had potential to be a decent film. Boy was I wrong. The beginning seemed to start out interesting. Then the movie took a quick turn down boring I would have to say that this is by far the worst movie that I saw in 2008. Everything about the movie was bad. The acting was poor, the story was bad, and the directing and storytelling was terrible. After I saw the trailer it looked like it had potential to be a decent film. Boy was I wrong. The beginning seemed to start out interesting. Then the movie took a quick turn down boring lane. One of the worst things about the film is that you are wondering the entire time what is with the girl. I even suffered through the whole film just so I could find out. Only to be dissapointed by an ending that never really explained anything. So not only is it boring but it is confusing and never really ends. Just when it seems like things may get interesting and you may find out what is going on, it ends and your left asking yourself what just happened. I noticed that when this film first came out in the video store it was all rented out and seemed to be a popular movie. I feel sorry for all of those innocent people who had subject themselves to this garbage. Expand
  8. BADNAD
    Mar 1, 2009
    1
    The movie was so timing wasting, I cant believe they chose such a great actor like Van Diesel for a pathetic role. Movie finished so quickly, it seemed like the director was in a hurry to make a second part!!!
  9. EmmanuelStalling
    Oct 6, 2009
    0
    After watching this film I looked up the director to make a note to stay away from his movies. It was that bad. When you see Vin Diesel in the credits, you don't expect Dances With Wolves. but you do expect good mindless action (e.g. XXX). The action in this so-called action movie was mindless, without the good. Each fight scene seemed to be over before it started, down the theAfter watching this film I looked up the director to make a note to stay away from his movies. It was that bad. When you see Vin Diesel in the credits, you don't expect Dances With Wolves. but you do expect good mindless action (e.g. XXX). The action in this so-called action movie was mindless, without the good. Each fight scene seemed to be over before it started, down the the 'final' confrontation that saw Toorop defeat two cars by throwing a grenade into a window. Seriously, that was the final fight scene. Anticlimactic much? And no matter how much Kassovitz makes excuses, he adapted the script. which is the worst part of the movie. At one point, the doctor actually said to Diesel's character "You are her only hope.", an example of a line that was overused by the early 90's. Expand
  10. janed
    Mar 18, 2009
    1
    This was appalling. I saw it on dvd so maybe some scenes were removed, and also we had to watch it on my brothers computer where you can't turn the subtitles off. However. The future always looks either poor or rich in futuristic films and this one chose the cheap option - poor. But having everyone living in burnt out apartment blocks warming their hands over 40 gallon drums is not This was appalling. I saw it on dvd so maybe some scenes were removed, and also we had to watch it on my brothers computer where you can't turn the subtitles off. However. The future always looks either poor or rich in futuristic films and this one chose the cheap option - poor. But having everyone living in burnt out apartment blocks warming their hands over 40 gallon drums is not very imaginative. Frying up a cat was vaguely interesting. Then all the action scenes are cut to buggery to disguise the fact there is no fight choreography. That is also cheap n nasty, and a waste of Michelle Yeoh. By the time you discover there is no story, for example they NEVER REVEAL what is so special about the damn babies, you don't care anyway. Any entertainment you derive from this movie comes from inside your own head, and I failed and went to make hot drinks. The only visually imaginative bit was the submarine. Also, Toorop, who is meant to be protecting his clients, keeps stomping off through the crowded market leaving them to follow. Even if you go to a rock concert with your mates you make better sticking-together arrangements than that. Charlotte Rampling was just doing a Judi Dench imitation. Female villainy needs to diversify a bit. Yeah, so, I can't think of a good thing to say about it. The first half of the movie has hardly any story at all and no background, and the second half summarises some world-changing climax without giving any details. It's not even so bad it's good, and you will regret watching it. Expand
  11. EssiS
    Mar 18, 2009
    2
    Well it wasn´t good... I thought it started out some what interestingly, but it quickly turned into boring and pointless.
  12. MikeF.
    Aug 29, 2008
    2
    One has to approach this turkey with the same trepidation as walking a tightrope with a blindfold on. It looks like it will be a bad movie from the get go, but a couple of moments during the trailer make it look like a fun throwaway action movie. This however is not the case, in fact, there
  13. Ollie
    Aug 30, 2008
    1
    What an absolute waste of money. The ploy made absoluty no sense and the ending made it seem like they had run out of money halfway through. Vin diesel's acting is more wooden then a garden bench. Pure crap.
  14. RasheedO.
    Sep 1, 2008
    1
    I went with my friend to watch this movie. We were really excited until the movie started. It was horrible and made no sense. Very disappointing and gives a very bad image to Vin Diesel. Horrible.
  15. AndrewB.
    Sep 11, 2008
    1
    Babylon A.D. is a bad serious movie. In the respects of acting, writing, plot, and camera use Babylon A.D. fails horribly. The acting is poor with little or no emotion shown by any of the main actors which fails to draw the audience into the writing. The dialogue, characterization, and cause-effect actions are all poorly done. The dialogue sounds like something out of a bad fanfiction Babylon A.D. is a bad serious movie. In the respects of acting, writing, plot, and camera use Babylon A.D. fails horribly. The acting is poor with little or no emotion shown by any of the main actors which fails to draw the audience into the writing. The dialogue, characterization, and cause-effect actions are all poorly done. The dialogue sounds like something out of a bad fanfiction with come-back lines that offer no deep meaning and just try to sound cool but end up being laughably bad. The plot seems to develop on-the-go of the movie with scenes offering little continuity logic. The narration by Vin Diesel just seems to have a bunch of scenes and lines to make him seem like a badass who is always right rather than the fool that he really seems to be. The film is packed with action-scenes with shaky camera perspectives that make the scene difficult to understand what Expand
  16. johnl
    Jan 14, 2009
    0
    this is one of the worst movies ive ever seen, it was so stupid that it was just laughable and towards the middle i was tempted to watch it in fast forward, it honestly wouldn't have made any difference bec the dialogue is crap anyway
  17. EnzoP.
    Jul 16, 2009
    1
    Babylon A.D. is one of the worst action films I have ever seen. Once I start to get interested again something stupid happens that ruins my charming moment. It's a good idea it is just made very badly. Mathieu Kassovitz has made the worst action/thriller of 2008.
  18. May 18, 2013
    2
    Babylon A.D. is Vin Diesel’s entire career in microcosm. He starts out as a gritty, amoral, selfish murderer a la Pitch Black, gets in a few car chases, pulls off some X-Games stunts, attempts some dramatic stuff which never really works, gets all sci-fi with confusing futuristic plot exposition, and by the end he’s morphed into The Pacifier, a glorified babysitter who has given up hisBabylon A.D. is Vin Diesel’s entire career in microcosm. He starts out as a gritty, amoral, selfish murderer a la Pitch Black, gets in a few car chases, pulls off some X-Games stunts, attempts some dramatic stuff which never really works, gets all sci-fi with confusing futuristic plot exposition, and by the end he’s morphed into The Pacifier, a glorified babysitter who has given up his guns for polo shirts and awkwardness with kids. As with every recent Vin Diesel project, when the credits roll, you’ll kick yourself for having been suckered into watching yet another one of his crummy movies.
    The one thing all bad Vin Diesel movies have in common is that the film’s problems are never actually his fault. Vin delivers his usual solid, gruff performance in Babylon A.D., but the movie doesn’t deserve him. The film’s director Mathieu Kassovitz has already come out and blamed this disaster on studio interference, and that may be the case. I’m not here to assign blame though, simply to review what shows up on screen. What we have here is a mess.
    It starts well enough, with Vin wandering around in a near-future Eastern Europe which looks a lot like the 80s near-future Detroit from Robocop. Vin is a mercenary named Toorop, hired to smuggle a girl named Aurora and her nun caretaker Rebeka into America. The set off through Russia, planning to sneak across the Bering Straight into Canada, even though the Bering Straight connects Russia to Alaska. Perhaps in the future Alaska has been conquered by the Canucks, there’s no real explanation for that or most of the sillier conceits going on in the movie. Even with its completely inconsistent characters, Babylon A.D. might have been sort of fun. In fact it is, for the first 40 or 50 minutes. There’s some mildly entertaining action sequences, done with average stunts and practical effects. It feels like you’re watching a particularly well executed episode of post apocalyptic thriller on the Sci Fi channel. At some point though, the fun stops and it becomes such a total mess that all you can do is laugh at it. The movie has no idea how to wrap things up and even worse, no idea how to explain any of what’s been going on. There’s some mumbo jumbo about virgin births which never amounts to anything, and some vague allusions to a cultish, corporate religion, but not enough explanation to connect the dots between any of it. I still have no idea why we were following around most of the people in this movie, and I don’t know that the actors in it do either. If they don’t know what they’re doing, then it’s doubtful you will. Don’t bother buying a ticket.
    Expand
  19. Jan 8, 2015
    0
    Jesus Babylon A.D. parece um excelente filme futurístico mas é primitivo igual a babilônia e muito imbecil,uma das piores ficção ciêntifica de todos os tempos nada no filme funciona. Entendiante!!!!
  20. Jul 6, 2015
    0
    ...................................................................................................................Péssimo pra kralho Vin Diesel que merda é essa.
Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 10 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    40
    A noisier, costlier version of "Children of Men," yet lacking that film's social-political significance and jaw-dropping direction.
  2. Reviewed by: James Dyer
    40
    Brawny but brainless techno-twaddle.
  3. The plot makes absolutely no sense.