Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: August 29, 2008
4.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 113 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
31
Mixed:
39
Negative:
43
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
ThegodfathersonMay 18, 2013
Babylon A.D. is Vin Diesel’s entire career in microcosm. He starts out as a gritty, amoral, selfish murderer a la Pitch Black, gets in a few car chases, pulls off some X-Games stunts, attempts some dramatic stuff which never really works,Babylon A.D. is Vin Diesel’s entire career in microcosm. He starts out as a gritty, amoral, selfish murderer a la Pitch Black, gets in a few car chases, pulls off some X-Games stunts, attempts some dramatic stuff which never really works, gets all sci-fi with confusing futuristic plot exposition, and by the end he’s morphed into The Pacifier, a glorified babysitter who has given up his guns for polo shirts and awkwardness with kids. As with every recent Vin Diesel project, when the credits roll, you’ll kick yourself for having been suckered into watching yet another one of his crummy movies.
The one thing all bad Vin Diesel movies have in common is that the film’s problems are never actually his fault. Vin delivers his usual solid, gruff performance in Babylon A.D., but the movie doesn’t deserve him. The film’s director Mathieu Kassovitz has already come out and blamed this disaster on studio interference, and that may be the case. I’m not here to assign blame though, simply to review what shows up on screen. What we have here is a mess.
It starts well enough, with Vin wandering around in a near-future Eastern Europe which looks a lot like the 80s near-future Detroit from Robocop. Vin is a mercenary named Toorop, hired to smuggle a girl named Aurora and her nun caretaker Rebeka into America. The set off through Russia, planning to sneak across the Bering Straight into Canada, even though the Bering Straight connects Russia to Alaska. Perhaps in the future Alaska has been conquered by the Canucks, there’s no real explanation for that or most of the sillier conceits going on in the movie. Even with its completely inconsistent characters, Babylon A.D. might have been sort of fun. In fact it is, for the first 40 or 50 minutes. There’s some mildly entertaining action sequences, done with average stunts and practical effects. It feels like you’re watching a particularly well executed episode of post apocalyptic thriller on the Sci Fi channel. At some point though, the fun stops and it becomes such a total mess that all you can do is laugh at it. The movie has no idea how to wrap things up and even worse, no idea how to explain any of what’s been going on. There’s some mumbo jumbo about virgin births which never amounts to anything, and some vague allusions to a cultish, corporate religion, but not enough explanation to connect the dots between any of it. I still have no idea why we were following around most of the people in this movie, and I don’t know that the actors in it do either. If they don’t know what they’re doing, then it’s doubtful you will. Don’t bother buying a ticket.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
TimoVMar 13, 2009
Utter bs with the world's most pretentious story. How on earth sh*t like this can cost 70 MILLION DOLLARS?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
Danny197Aug 21, 2010
Whilst the film's portrayal of a dystopian future is intriguing, the rest of the film was poor, with sub-par acting, a plot that trailed off into non-existence by the twenty-minute mark, and a main character that has little to no realWhilst the film's portrayal of a dystopian future is intriguing, the rest of the film was poor, with sub-par acting, a plot that trailed off into non-existence by the twenty-minute mark, and a main character that has little to no real motivation. The film's ending seems nonsensical, feeling as though there should be more beyond. The opening sequence is enough to grab your attention and the technology used throughout is interesting, but don't let this fool you: Babylon AD is one to avoid. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
avatar16Jan 7, 2012
Babylon A. D. avait, sur le papier, tout ce qu'il fallait pour être le nouveau Blade Runner, à commencer par un réalisateur de talent (Mathieu Kassovitz), un fond scénaristiqueBabylon A. D. avait, sur le papier, tout ce qu'il fallait pour être le nouveau Blade Runner, à commencer par un réalisateur de talent (Mathieu Kassovitz), un fond scénaristique intéressant dans le domaine de la science-fiction et quelques pensées philosophiques sur notre société. Mais malheureusement, le film est très loin d'atteindre ce sommet. Surtout qu'au lieu d'être un long-métrage puissant tel Les Fils de l'Homme, Babylon A. D. a les airs d'une série B américaine ou bien d'une production Besson (au choix) qui , en plus, n'explose à aucun moment pour satisfaire les férus d'action (les scènes étant peu nombreuses et inintéressantes). Sans parler d'un scénario à la fois incompréhensible (cette société futuriste est juste survolée et non détaillé) et trop fade (tout comme l'ambiance, rendue énervante par la bande son). Et puis, c'est quoi cette voix française donnée à Vin Diesel? Reste un hônnete casting. Mais l'intérêt du film reste bien mystérieux... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
SachiDec 14, 2011
"Babylon A.D." is a poorly rendered film that is messy, incomprehensible, and just plain bad. The plot is very confusing as I did not understand what the hell was going on, the film is just messy and has like no visual flair at all so it is"Babylon A.D." is a poorly rendered film that is messy, incomprehensible, and just plain bad. The plot is very confusing as I did not understand what the hell was going on, the film is just messy and has like no visual flair at all so it is uneasy on the eyes. The action sequences are poorly rendered and very boring and the acting is kinda lame as well. Do not watch this train wreck of a movie, you will be left going "What?" at the end and feel that you just wasted two hours of your life watching this convoluted train wreck. Breakdown for "Babylon A.D.": Presentation: 2, Plot: 1.3, Acting: 2.3, Script: 1.7, Lasting Appeal: 0.5, Verdict: 1.1 out of 10 "Awful". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
popeOct 22, 2011
I have a lot of pleasure! Foolish hollywood movie. And - i live in Troizk. No any common with reality. Movie to make an foolish teens more and more foolish
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
sil3nt_nickMar 27, 2013
A mess of a plot line and utterly depressing film with weird and unlikable characters.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
JasonDeatherageFeb 9, 2009
I would have to say that this is by far the worst movie that I saw in 2008. Everything about the movie was bad. The acting was poor, the story was bad, and the directing and storytelling was terrible. After I saw the trailer it looked like I would have to say that this is by far the worst movie that I saw in 2008. Everything about the movie was bad. The acting was poor, the story was bad, and the directing and storytelling was terrible. After I saw the trailer it looked like it had potential to be a decent film. Boy was I wrong. The beginning seemed to start out interesting. Then the movie took a quick turn down boring lane. One of the worst things about the film is that you are wondering the entire time what is with the girl. I even suffered through the whole film just so I could find out. Only to be dissapointed by an ending that never really explained anything. So not only is it boring but it is confusing and never really ends. Just when it seems like things may get interesting and you may find out what is going on, it ends and your left asking yourself what just happened. I noticed that when this film first came out in the video store it was all rented out and seemed to be a popular movie. I feel sorry for all of those innocent people who had subject themselves to this garbage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BADNADMar 1, 2009
The movie was so timing wasting, I cant believe they chose such a great actor like Van Diesel for a pathetic role. Movie finished so quickly, it seemed like the director was in a hurry to make a second part!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EmmanuelStallingOct 6, 2009
After watching this film I looked up the director to make a note to stay away from his movies. It was that bad. When you see Vin Diesel in the credits, you don't expect Dances With Wolves. but you do expect good mindless action (e.g.After watching this film I looked up the director to make a note to stay away from his movies. It was that bad. When you see Vin Diesel in the credits, you don't expect Dances With Wolves. but you do expect good mindless action (e.g. XXX). The action in this so-called action movie was mindless, without the good. Each fight scene seemed to be over before it started, down the the 'final' confrontation that saw Toorop defeat two cars by throwing a grenade into a window. Seriously, that was the final fight scene. Anticlimactic much? And no matter how much Kassovitz makes excuses, he adapted the script. which is the worst part of the movie. At one point, the doctor actually said to Diesel's character "You are her only hope.", an example of a line that was overused by the early 90's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
janedMar 18, 2009
This was appalling. I saw it on dvd so maybe some scenes were removed, and also we had to watch it on my brothers computer where you can't turn the subtitles off. However. The future always looks either poor or rich in futuristic films This was appalling. I saw it on dvd so maybe some scenes were removed, and also we had to watch it on my brothers computer where you can't turn the subtitles off. However. The future always looks either poor or rich in futuristic films and this one chose the cheap option - poor. But having everyone living in burnt out apartment blocks warming their hands over 40 gallon drums is not very imaginative. Frying up a cat was vaguely interesting. Then all the action scenes are cut to buggery to disguise the fact there is no fight choreography. That is also cheap n nasty, and a waste of Michelle Yeoh. By the time you discover there is no story, for example they NEVER REVEAL what is so special about the damn babies, you don't care anyway. Any entertainment you derive from this movie comes from inside your own head, and I failed and went to make hot drinks. The only visually imaginative bit was the submarine. Also, Toorop, who is meant to be protecting his clients, keeps stomping off through the crowded market leaving them to follow. Even if you go to a rock concert with your mates you make better sticking-together arrangements than that. Charlotte Rampling was just doing a Judi Dench imitation. Female villainy needs to diversify a bit. Yeah, so, I can't think of a good thing to say about it. The first half of the movie has hardly any story at all and no background, and the second half summarises some world-changing climax without giving any details. It's not even so bad it's good, and you will regret watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EssiSMar 18, 2009
Well it wasn´t good... I thought it started out some what interestingly, but it quickly turned into boring and pointless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeF.Aug 29, 2008
One has to approach this turkey with the same trepidation as walking a tightrope with a blindfold on. It looks like it will be a bad movie from the get go, but a couple of moments during the trailer make it look like a fun throwaway action One has to approach this turkey with the same trepidation as walking a tightrope with a blindfold on. It looks like it will be a bad movie from the get go, but a couple of moments during the trailer make it look like a fun throwaway action movie. This however is not the case, in fact, there Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
OllieAug 30, 2008
What an absolute waste of money. The ploy made absoluty no sense and the ending made it seem like they had run out of money halfway through. Vin diesel's acting is more wooden then a garden bench. Pure crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RasheedO.Sep 1, 2008
I went with my friend to watch this movie. We were really excited until the movie started. It was horrible and made no sense. Very disappointing and gives a very bad image to Vin Diesel. Horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndrewB.Sep 11, 2008
Babylon A.D. is a bad serious movie. In the respects of acting, writing, plot, and camera use Babylon A.D. fails horribly. The acting is poor with little or no emotion shown by any of the main actors which fails to draw the audience into the Babylon A.D. is a bad serious movie. In the respects of acting, writing, plot, and camera use Babylon A.D. fails horribly. The acting is poor with little or no emotion shown by any of the main actors which fails to draw the audience into the writing. The dialogue, characterization, and cause-effect actions are all poorly done. The dialogue sounds like something out of a bad fanfiction with come-back lines that offer no deep meaning and just try to sound cool but end up being laughably bad. The plot seems to develop on-the-go of the movie with scenes offering little continuity logic. The narration by Vin Diesel just seems to have a bunch of scenes and lines to make him seem like a badass who is always right rather than the fool that he really seems to be. The film is packed with action-scenes with shaky camera perspectives that make the scene difficult to understand what Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
johnlJan 14, 2009
this is one of the worst movies ive ever seen, it was so stupid that it was just laughable and towards the middle i was tempted to watch it in fast forward, it honestly wouldn't have made any difference bec the dialogue is crap anyway
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EnzoP.Jul 16, 2009
Babylon A.D. is one of the worst action films I have ever seen. Once I start to get interested again something stupid happens that ruins my charming moment. It's a good idea it is just made very badly. Mathieu Kassovitz has made the Babylon A.D. is one of the worst action films I have ever seen. Once I start to get interested again something stupid happens that ruins my charming moment. It's a good idea it is just made very badly. Mathieu Kassovitz has made the worst action/thriller of 2008. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LoRevisorJan 8, 2015
Jesus Babylon A.D. parece um excelente filme futurístico mas é primitivo igual a babilônia e muito imbecil,uma das piores ficção ciêntifica de todos os tempos nada no filme funciona. Entendiante!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Zanessa250QIJul 6, 2015
...................................................................................................................Péssimo pra kralho Vin Diesel que merda é essa.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
raciocinioOct 21, 2015
A Really one of WORST MOVIES OF ALL TIME AND WITH vin diesel............................. don't could be worse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews