User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 99
  2. Negative: 39 out of 99
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ZarghevI
    May 3, 2009
    8
    I found that it's a pleasant science-fiction movie. Probably, it's cultural. I watched "Southland Tales" and "Babylon A.D." back to back - I fail to understand how "Southland Tales" could even remotely have better ratings, but for some reason it has. Every flaw you can find in Babylon, is about ten times worse in "Southland Tales". I found that interesting.
  2. Jake
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    All I can say to all the negative reviews of this movie is this: There are most certainly worse movies in all aspects. While some events in the film were a bit confusing, the plot did make you think, and also left you to draw some conclusions for yourself rather than spelling everything out for you, which I find very refreshing. Additionally, I found the action to be, at worst, different, All I can say to all the negative reviews of this movie is this: There are most certainly worse movies in all aspects. While some events in the film were a bit confusing, the plot did make you think, and also left you to draw some conclusions for yourself rather than spelling everything out for you, which I find very refreshing. Additionally, I found the action to be, at worst, different, and at best, pretty cool. Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    6
    The storyline didn't work well for me, the girl was pretty annoying and overall the movie is really average, but there are some thing that seemed positive. The first one is very thick atmosphere of a poor, crowded and collapsing world of the future. The second one is Vin Diesel's performance, he is badass as always!
  4. TimoV
    Mar 13, 2009
    1
    Utter bs with the world's most pretentious story. How on earth sh*t like this can cost 70 MILLION DOLLARS?
  5. Aug 21, 2010
    1
    Whilst the film's portrayal of a dystopian future is intriguing, the rest of the film was poor, with sub-par acting, a plot that trailed off into non-existence by the twenty-minute mark, and a main character that has little to no real motivation. The film's ending seems nonsensical, feeling as though there should be more beyond. The opening sequence is enough to grab your attention and theWhilst the film's portrayal of a dystopian future is intriguing, the rest of the film was poor, with sub-par acting, a plot that trailed off into non-existence by the twenty-minute mark, and a main character that has little to no real motivation. The film's ending seems nonsensical, feeling as though there should be more beyond. The opening sequence is enough to grab your attention and the technology used throughout is interesting, but don't let this fool you: Babylon AD is one to avoid. Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2012
    2
    Babylon A. D. avait, sur le papier, tout ce qu'il fallait pour être le nouveau Blade Runner, à commencer par un réalisateur de talent (Mathieu Kassovitz), un fond scénaristique intéressant dans le domaine de la science-fiction et quelques pensées philosophiques sur notre société. MaisBabylon A. D. avait, sur le papier, tout ce qu'il fallait pour être le nouveau Blade Runner, à commencer par un réalisateur de talent (Mathieu Kassovitz), un fond scénaristique intéressant dans le domaine de la science-fiction et quelques pensées philosophiques sur notre société. Mais malheureusement, le film est très loin d'atteindre ce sommet. Surtout qu'au lieu d'être un long-métrage puissant tel Les Fils de l'Homme, Babylon A. D. a les airs d'une série B américaine ou bien d'une production Besson (au choix) qui , en plus, n'explose à aucun moment pour satisfaire les férus d'action (les scènes étant peu nombreuses et inintéressantes). Sans parler d'un scénario à la fois incompréhensible (cette société futuriste est juste survolée et non détaillé) et trop fade (tout comme l'ambiance, rendue énervante par la bande son). Et puis, c'est quoi cette voix française donnée à Vin Diesel? Reste un hônnete casting. Mais l'intérêt du film reste bien mystérieux... Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2011
    1
    "Babylon A.D." is a poorly rendered film that is messy, incomprehensible, and just plain bad. The plot is very confusing as I did not understand what the hell was going on, the film is just messy and has like no visual flair at all so it is uneasy on the eyes. The action sequences are poorly rendered and very boring and the acting is kinda lame as well. Do not watch this train wreck of a"Babylon A.D." is a poorly rendered film that is messy, incomprehensible, and just plain bad. The plot is very confusing as I did not understand what the hell was going on, the film is just messy and has like no visual flair at all so it is uneasy on the eyes. The action sequences are poorly rendered and very boring and the acting is kinda lame as well. Do not watch this train wreck of a movie, you will be left going "What?" at the end and feel that you just wasted two hours of your life watching this convoluted train wreck. Breakdown for "Babylon A.D.": Presentation: 2, Plot: 1.3, Acting: 2.3, Script: 1.7, Lasting Appeal: 0.5, Verdict: 1.1 out of 10 "Awful". Expand
  8. Oct 22, 2011
    0
    I have a lot of pleasure! Foolish hollywood movie. And - i live in Troizk. No any common with reality. Movie to make an foolish teens more and more foolish
  9. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 just to try balance out all the ridiculous low scores it's getting. This movie is great, it's atmospheric, the action is brilliant, sci-fi fans will LOVE this. The acting isn't the best BUT it DEFINITELY isn't as bad as everyone makes it out to be. Watch the movie and decide for yourself. I guarantee you'll enjoy it
  10. Mar 27, 2013
    1
    A mess of a plot line and utterly depressing film with weird and unlikable characters.
  11. zacks
    Jan 7, 2009
    9
    I highly enjoyed this movie after watching it last night i really cant get it out of my mind i want to go watch it again. Only grip i have is the ending could of been a little better but this is one of the better movies to come out recently.
  12. HugeVinVinD.Fan
    Sep 2, 2008
    6
    I love Vin, but this one made no sense! The movie leaves you with more unanswered questions.. like is there a book? Vin is the eye candy that's the only reason to watch, there are some interesting technologies, but poorly developed story lines leave you with questions... unfortunately, disappointing. Will be waiting for the dvd, hopefully there are some extended scenes, that explain I love Vin, but this one made no sense! The movie leaves you with more unanswered questions.. like is there a book? Vin is the eye candy that's the only reason to watch, there are some interesting technologies, but poorly developed story lines leave you with questions... unfortunately, disappointing. Will be waiting for the dvd, hopefully there are some extended scenes, that explain something! Expand
  13. BelindaT.
    Sep 2, 2008
    4
    This was no worse than your usual futuristic sci-fi claptrap that we're fed these days. The critics made it sound worse than Gigli! Vin's lucky I fell soooo in love with him in Saving Private Ryan. He;s sorely testing his fans' patience. The only thing (well, not only) that would have helped is more exposition and an actual intimate relationship with Aurora. Thank goodness This was no worse than your usual futuristic sci-fi claptrap that we're fed these days. The critics made it sound worse than Gigli! Vin's lucky I fell soooo in love with him in Saving Private Ryan. He;s sorely testing his fans' patience. The only thing (well, not only) that would have helped is more exposition and an actual intimate relationship with Aurora. Thank goodness she wasn't your typical vapid, whiny sci-fi disposa- chick. Cross Blade Runner with The Children of Men and add a dollop of The Fifth Element and you've got this movie. Which just goes to show how difficult it is to make fresh sci-fi. Catch the matinee, then you won't be so angry. Expand
  14. DanaM.
    Aug 30, 2008
    4
    If you're going to a Vin Diesel movie you have to expect that your not going to see Oscar material. But this movie was not well written and was very fragmented with unconnected segments. Not sure why the writers and directors vision of futuristic Russia is of total chaos. What can I say. It was entertaining in a liimited sense but frustrating in that it was so poorly written. Worth If you're going to a Vin Diesel movie you have to expect that your not going to see Oscar material. But this movie was not well written and was very fragmented with unconnected segments. Not sure why the writers and directors vision of futuristic Russia is of total chaos. What can I say. It was entertaining in a liimited sense but frustrating in that it was so poorly written. Worth renting but not worth the ten bucks to see it on the big screen. Expand
  15. JayH.
    Jan 2, 2009
    5
    Cold and meandering, decently acted but the story just isn't always involving. It lacks excitement, the action scenes aren't very effective. It is visually good though, with some fine cinematography.
  16. JasonDeatherage
    Feb 9, 2009
    1
    I would have to say that this is by far the worst movie that I saw in 2008. Everything about the movie was bad. The acting was poor, the story was bad, and the directing and storytelling was terrible. After I saw the trailer it looked like it had potential to be a decent film. Boy was I wrong. The beginning seemed to start out interesting. Then the movie took a quick turn down boring I would have to say that this is by far the worst movie that I saw in 2008. Everything about the movie was bad. The acting was poor, the story was bad, and the directing and storytelling was terrible. After I saw the trailer it looked like it had potential to be a decent film. Boy was I wrong. The beginning seemed to start out interesting. Then the movie took a quick turn down boring lane. One of the worst things about the film is that you are wondering the entire time what is with the girl. I even suffered through the whole film just so I could find out. Only to be dissapointed by an ending that never really explained anything. So not only is it boring but it is confusing and never really ends. Just when it seems like things may get interesting and you may find out what is going on, it ends and your left asking yourself what just happened. I noticed that when this film first came out in the video store it was all rented out and seemed to be a popular movie. I feel sorry for all of those innocent people who had subject themselves to this garbage. Expand
  17. BADNAD
    Mar 1, 2009
    1
    The movie was so timing wasting, I cant believe they chose such a great actor like Van Diesel for a pathetic role. Movie finished so quickly, it seemed like the director was in a hurry to make a second part!!!
  18. ChadS.
    Aug 30, 2008
    6
    There's more than one way to skin a cat, except when you skin a cat for the expressed intention of processing the cat as meat, which in that case, there is actually only one way to skin a cat: with a sharp knife. Nobody knocks anymore in post-apocalyptical Eastern Europe, knocking is for p******. Toorop(Vin Diesel) never finishes his cat and glass of red wine; the home invasion took There's more than one way to skin a cat, except when you skin a cat for the expressed intention of processing the cat as meat, which in that case, there is actually only one way to skin a cat: with a sharp knife. Nobody knocks anymore in post-apocalyptical Eastern Europe, knocking is for p******. Toorop(Vin Diesel) never finishes his cat and glass of red wine; the home invasion took care of that. "Babylon A.D." asks the question, "Guess who's coming to dinner?" "Children of Men", that's who. Two nuns accompany the mercenary to America, non-Judeo Christian nuns, who could topple the dominant religion should Aurora's secret package fall in the hands of the High Preistess(Charlotte Rampling). "Babylon A.D.", intentional or not, endorses the ruiling theology by using film and its bane, product placement, as an analogy. Product placement, to some, is an affront to cinema, whose true believers attest to the celluloidal image as having a religiosity, albeit a secularized one. The filmmaker not-so-subtly expresses his disdain for the Coca-Cola brand name plastered on an airliner, by having his star walk past two dead polar bears(remember the commercial in which the white Arctic mammals stare at the aurora borealis?). Both product placement and Aurora(Melanie Thierry) have an intertextuality that threatens each respective belief systems. Aurora's condition blasphemizes the Old Testament, which is why she has to go out the same ways as the bears. Expand
  19. BorgeT.
    Sep 15, 2008
    8
    Babylon A.D. is probably the only legitimate science fiction fare since Aronofsky's 'The Fountain'. As an adaptation of Maurice Dantec's 'Babylon Bablies' it's probably in the mode of epic Langian fare, which offsets the literary ejaculativeness of Dantec. These sets are the best encapsulation of debatables regarding the use of videogame stages in film Babylon A.D. is probably the only legitimate science fiction fare since Aronofsky's 'The Fountain'. As an adaptation of Maurice Dantec's 'Babylon Bablies' it's probably in the mode of epic Langian fare, which offsets the literary ejaculativeness of Dantec. These sets are the best encapsulation of debatables regarding the use of videogame stages in film design. Dantec's a powerful prose presence in world science fiction, and the fantasy aspects of the film's sets emphasizes a post-cyberpunk Lecarre quality. Obviously, the writer's talents are unheralded, while the purity of science fiction as a future discourse is ignored. Science fiction in cinema represents cinema's purity. The story is more comparable to an espionage genre than classic films(bladerunner, minority report, matrix). Expand
  20. JohnD.
    Sep 9, 2008
    4
    This lackluster movie fell far short of its attempt to create an action packed futuristic film. Vin Diesel
  21. RobertTT
    Jan 11, 2009
    5
    The story is just too difficult to follow to be enjoyable. The action sequences, are OK, but certainly not good, and there are many better movies with just as much action and a plot that is at least understandable. The aesthetic of the film is quite good actually, but its not enough to make the film worth watching.
  22. EmmanuelStalling
    Oct 6, 2009
    0
    After watching this film I looked up the director to make a note to stay away from his movies. It was that bad. When you see Vin Diesel in the credits, you don't expect Dances With Wolves. but you do expect good mindless action (e.g. XXX). The action in this so-called action movie was mindless, without the good. Each fight scene seemed to be over before it started, down the theAfter watching this film I looked up the director to make a note to stay away from his movies. It was that bad. When you see Vin Diesel in the credits, you don't expect Dances With Wolves. but you do expect good mindless action (e.g. XXX). The action in this so-called action movie was mindless, without the good. Each fight scene seemed to be over before it started, down the the 'final' confrontation that saw Toorop defeat two cars by throwing a grenade into a window. Seriously, that was the final fight scene. Anticlimactic much? And no matter how much Kassovitz makes excuses, he adapted the script. which is the worst part of the movie. At one point, the doctor actually said to Diesel's character "You are her only hope.", an example of a line that was overused by the early 90's. Expand
  23. RobbieB
    Feb 2, 2009
    4
    Poor Vin, he works up this film for all it's worth. But it's not nothing to watch. It wasn't bad, not good either. Vin Diesel was good, Michelle was also. But it was bland in a way that I felt the movie was running a bit long, and we've seen all the stunts before. The effects weren't to bad, neither were the preformances. But it's still nothing to waste money Poor Vin, he works up this film for all it's worth. But it's not nothing to watch. It wasn't bad, not good either. Vin Diesel was good, Michelle was also. But it was bland in a way that I felt the movie was running a bit long, and we've seen all the stunts before. The effects weren't to bad, neither were the preformances. But it's still nothing to waste money on...... Just wait for it to come on HBO or Starz! Or, if all else fails, wait for the price to go down and pay $4 for it. Expand
  24. janed
    Mar 18, 2009
    1
    This was appalling. I saw it on dvd so maybe some scenes were removed, and also we had to watch it on my brothers computer where you can't turn the subtitles off. However. The future always looks either poor or rich in futuristic films and this one chose the cheap option - poor. But having everyone living in burnt out apartment blocks warming their hands over 40 gallon drums is not This was appalling. I saw it on dvd so maybe some scenes were removed, and also we had to watch it on my brothers computer where you can't turn the subtitles off. However. The future always looks either poor or rich in futuristic films and this one chose the cheap option - poor. But having everyone living in burnt out apartment blocks warming their hands over 40 gallon drums is not very imaginative. Frying up a cat was vaguely interesting. Then all the action scenes are cut to buggery to disguise the fact there is no fight choreography. That is also cheap n nasty, and a waste of Michelle Yeoh. By the time you discover there is no story, for example they NEVER REVEAL what is so special about the damn babies, you don't care anyway. Any entertainment you derive from this movie comes from inside your own head, and I failed and went to make hot drinks. The only visually imaginative bit was the submarine. Also, Toorop, who is meant to be protecting his clients, keeps stomping off through the crowded market leaving them to follow. Even if you go to a rock concert with your mates you make better sticking-together arrangements than that. Charlotte Rampling was just doing a Judi Dench imitation. Female villainy needs to diversify a bit. Yeah, so, I can't think of a good thing to say about it. The first half of the movie has hardly any story at all and no background, and the second half summarises some world-changing climax without giving any details. It's not even so bad it's good, and you will regret watching it. Expand
  25. EssiS
    Mar 18, 2009
    2
    Well it wasn´t good... I thought it started out some what interestingly, but it quickly turned into boring and pointless.
  26. IgnacioT.
    Oct 5, 2008
    8
    Its an intristing movie, but they cut a lot of scenes so thats because people doesnt like it
  27. DanielD.
    Oct 7, 2008
    4
    Confusing, ending without proper explanation, are words i would use to describe this movie. I'm sure if i was to read the book from which it came, it would of made more sense. I feel that their budget was low or in production ran out of money.
  28. MikeF.
    Aug 29, 2008
    2
    One has to approach this turkey with the same trepidation as walking a tightrope with a blindfold on. It looks like it will be a bad movie from the get go, but a couple of moments during the trailer make it look like a fun throwaway action movie. This however is not the case, in fact, there
  29. Ollie
    Aug 30, 2008
    1
    What an absolute waste of money. The ploy made absoluty no sense and the ending made it seem like they had run out of money halfway through. Vin diesel's acting is more wooden then a garden bench. Pure crap.
Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 10 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    40
    A noisier, costlier version of "Children of Men," yet lacking that film's social-political significance and jaw-dropping direction.
  2. Reviewed by: James Dyer
    40
    Brawny but brainless techno-twaddle.
  3. The plot makes absolutely no sense.