Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: On the night before an old friend's wedding, three frisky bridesmaids go searching for a little fun but find much more than they bargained for. With lovely Becky set to marry her handsome sweetheart, Dale, the remaining members of her high school clique reunite for one last bacheloretteOn the night before an old friend's wedding, three frisky bridesmaids go searching for a little fun but find much more than they bargained for. With lovely Becky set to marry her handsome sweetheart, Dale, the remaining members of her high school clique reunite for one last bachelorette bacchanal in the Big Apple. Regan is an overachieving, ueber-Maid of Honor who's secretly smarting over the fact that she's not the first to marry, while Gena is a whip-smart sarcastic who's actually a closet romantic, and Katie is a ditzy beauty who loves the good life. But when Becky insists on keeping the bachelorette party tame, the women proceed with an after-hours celebration of their own. [The Weinstein Company] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Sep 6, 2012
    90
    Bachelorette is more tartly written, better acted and less forgiving than male-centric equivalents like the "Hangover" movies.
  2. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Sep 6, 2012
    75
    The film is also less bloated than "Bridesmaids" - a comedy is always more nimble at 90 minutes than two hours - and it's less maudlin, too. It's the aberrant, foul-mouthed child of "Superbad" and "Young Adult."
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Sep 14, 2012
    70
    Bachelorette places a trio of women front and center who are so irredeemably loathsome, it's kind of refreshing. At least until a conventional third-act redemption undercuts some of the movie's sharpest insights and funniest jokes.
  4. 60
    Bachelorette has some big gaps, and it isn't what you'd call fun - it's not "Bridesmaids 2." But lovely women doing genuinely ugly things makes for a potent combination.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Sep 6, 2012
    50
    Apparently Bachelorette has been divisive, with audiences either falling hard for it or walking away disgusted. I'd have fallen harder for it if I'd walked away more disgusted.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Sep 7, 2012
    42
    As for me, I don't see why women being as slobby and gross as the guys is such a feminist breakthrough – especially since, as in Bachelorette, the slobbiness and grossness is witless.
  7. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 31, 2012
    0
    I don't often use the words "godawful" and "abomination" to describe a movie, preferring to reserve such terminology for extreme instances when I feel duped and mortally offended. Case in point: Bachelorette.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    Absolutely hilarious. I laughed from beginning to end. Can't really ask more out of a comedy. Sure, the girls aren't likable, but they wereAbsolutely hilarious. I laughed from beginning to end. Can't really ask more out of a comedy. Sure, the girls aren't likable, but they were very compelling characters, and I actually ended up caring for them. Isla Fisher gives one of the best comic performances I've seen in a long time. Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    This was over-the-top smart and funny. Excellent story and very well acted. The three girls were fantastic, and Rebel Wilson is going to be aThis was over-the-top smart and funny. Excellent story and very well acted. The three girls were fantastic, and Rebel Wilson is going to be a star. Perhaps a cult classic is in our midst? Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    I loved this movie. Many have complained about how unlikeable these characters were. Well in real life not everybody is likable. theseI loved this movie. Many have complained about how unlikeable these characters were. Well in real life not everybody is likable. these characters were realistic, nasty and funny. I thought the movie was hilarious, and not the normal type of comedy. Great movie, underrated Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    7
    I thought this film was really funny in an audacious sort of way.
    It's based on Headland's play of the same name.
    I found another
    I thought this film was really funny in an audacious sort of way.
    It's based on Headland's play of the same name.
    I found another interesting take on it here:
    http://4thdimensionfilms.wordpress.com/
    Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2014
    7
    I'll be honest: I expected a second-rate Bridesmaids copycat. What we get is a much different take on wedding mayhem... and I loved everyI'll be honest: I expected a second-rate Bridesmaids copycat. What we get is a much different take on wedding mayhem... and I loved every minute of it. Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2013
    4
    Bachelorette was just not a good movie at all. There was very little humor involved, which was surprising considering that I thought RebelBachelorette was just not a good movie at all. There was very little humor involved, which was surprising considering that I thought Rebel Wilson had a large role and she's typically hilarious but that was not the case at all. Honestly, the only two reasons this movie was worth watching was Kirsten Dunst's character was actually pretty amusing, mainly because of the chaos that surrounded her. The main reason I was able to sit through this film was Lizzy Caplan though. Obviously I'm a huge fan of hers and she and Isla Fisher were the only reasons I even bothered watching it but Lizzy's character was great. She had one of the only funny roles and there's just something about her that is just awesome. She's got a type of darker hotness that is appealing and makes her different from most other actresses. If you're a Lizzy Caplan fan then watch this movie but I don't think most people would enjoy it at all. Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2012
    0
    This is one of the worst movies I've seen in forever. Perhaps going into it with high hopes was a mistake but my friend and I were watchingThis is one of the worst movies I've seen in forever. Perhaps going into it with high hopes was a mistake but my friend and I were watching with mouths agape at our mutual failure to laugh more than a handful of times during the course of the film. The acting, story, chemistry, motives, etc. are all muddled. Avoid, and someone get me my $11 back...ick. And are people seriously saying this is better than Bridesmaids? Hugs, not drugs. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Trailers