Back to the Future Part II

Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Tom Tunney
    Feb 7, 2013
    60
    Directed and played with terrific verve, this moves so fast from one special effects set-piece to the next that there's no time at all to reflect on the basic ridiculousness of its Chinese box of a plot.
  2. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Dave Kehr
    Feb 7, 2013
    50
    A movie that must spend most of its running time explaining its hopelessly complicated premises, which leaves very little room for anything much to happen. [22 Nov 1989, p.C1]
  3. San Francisco Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Feb 7, 2013
    50
    Some of the best bits of the original movie are replayed here but lose their punch the second time around - the horse manure bit, the skate board sequence. Maybe people who never saw the first movie will get a big kick out of them. [22 Nov 1989, p.E1]
  4. Reviewed by: Desson Thomson
    Feb 7, 2013
    50
    Future II bombards you with more brand-name advertising than three hours of prime-time TV could muster, although repeat filmmakers Bob Gale and Robert Zemeckis put a humorous twist on everything.
  5. Reviewed by: Jonathan Rosenbaum
    Feb 13, 2013
    40
    The problem with all the time-travel high jinks, involving multiple versions of the major characters (a gimmick that Robert Heinlein handled much better in stories like “By His Bootstraps” and “All You Zombies—”), is that in order to make the plot even semiintelligible, writer Bob Gale and director-cowriter Robert Zemeckis have to turn all these characters into strident geeks and make the frenetic action strictly formulaic.
  6. Reviewed by: Staff
    Feb 7, 2013
    40
    The energy and heart which Robert Zemeckis and story-writing partner Bob Gale (who takes solo screenplay credit this time) poured into the ingenious story of part one is diverted into narrative mechanics and camera wizardry in Future II.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 248 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    This is my favourite chapter in the trilogy. The original is still like listening to a rock song in 1955, but the second one is like having aThis is my favourite chapter in the trilogy. The original is still like listening to a rock song in 1955, but the second one is like having a time machine to yourself while you watch it. It's smart, takes many different turns, and it didn't confuse me. I don't see why people say it's confusing. Full Review »
  2. Sep 19, 2013
    7
    Doesn't hold a candle to the first one, but Back to the Future Part II is better than most sequels. Marty McFly is back, and the premise isDoesn't hold a candle to the first one, but Back to the Future Part II is better than most sequels. Marty McFly is back, and the premise is still interesting and fresh. I still enjoyed it. Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2015
    10
    Back to the future 2 is my favorite of the trilogy providing us with a fantastic and fun look at the future along with some top notchBack to the future 2 is my favorite of the trilogy providing us with a fantastic and fun look at the future along with some top notch characters and a tone that is handled very well Full Review »