Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Staff
    Feb 7, 2013
    90
    Recovers the style, wit and grandiose fantasy elements of the original. The simplicity of plot, and the wide expansiveness of its use of space, are a refreshing change from the convoluted, visually cramped and cluttered second part.
  2. Reviewed by: Jay Boyar
    Feb 13, 2013
    88
    Although I would rate Part III beneath Part I, the final installment does have the blessing of closure: There's something undeniably satisfying about seeing all those loose ends tied up. [25 May 1990, p.7]
  3. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Feb 7, 2013
    80
    A clever and enjoyable wrapping-up of the time-travelling adventures.
  4. Reviewed by: Desmond Ryan
    Feb 7, 2013
    63
    Zemeckis and Gale obviously paid attention to quality control in finishing the trilogy. They could not, however, hope to reach the quality of their first effort. [25 May 1990, p.5]
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Cosford
    Feb 13, 2013
    63
    Back to the Future Part III nicely concludes the threesome (calling this a "trilogy" confers just a bit too much honor on an extended, live-action cartoon). Unlike the second, III is quite satisfying -- often funny, and ultimately thrilling. [25 May 1990, p.G5]
  6. 50
    If nothing else (and there isn't much else), Part III rises above the wholesale clutter of its immediate predecessor, then contents itself with settling into an easy commercial groove. What remains is amiable kid's stuff, as sweetly forgettable as an orange Popsicle on a summer's day. [25 May 1990, p.C4]
  7. Reviewed by: Julie Salamon
    Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Doc says: "I can't believe this is happening." …That sentence may be the only one uttered in the entire film that contains an ounce of true feeling. Certainly that was the thought on my mind as I watched this depressing rehash of material that seemed original just five years ago, when it was. And "I can't believe this is happening" seemed to be what most of the actors were thinking as they gamely trudged through their paces yet again. [31 May 1990, p.A12]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    An excellent conclusion to the movie trilogy. It packs the same humor and charm that made the previous movies so loved. The western settingAn excellent conclusion to the movie trilogy. It packs the same humor and charm that made the previous movies so loved. The western setting gives the movie a unique fell that sets it apart from the previous two movies. As always there are references to the previous two films and it even answers some left over question from Back to the Future Part II, like about Marty's accident. As always everyone gives a fantastic performance as their respective characters. In conclusion this is an excellent movie and I loved every second of it. It might even be my favorite of the trilogy. Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    While it is not as good as the previous two films, this film is still a good hit that takes us to a completely different period in time. TheWhile it is not as good as the previous two films, this film is still a good hit that takes us to a completely different period in time. The cast is again perfect- the music is good, the story is lacking a bit. But the film is entertaining in every way, which is why it scores so high in my book. Expand
  3. May 26, 2013
    8
    This was the final chapter of the series and while when I first watched it I didn't remember liking it, I thoroughly enjoyed it second timeThis was the final chapter of the series and while when I first watched it I didn't remember liking it, I thoroughly enjoyed it second time 'round! It probably isn't as good as the first two films but its still good and a great way to finish off the series. Great to have both Fox & Lloyd back also as the film wouldn't be much without them. The final scenes are really great, in particular that final scene with the train, but as a whole it's a great film and one I would easily recommend Collapse
  4. Mar 15, 2015
    8
    While the first two were better, Back to the Future Part Three is a fitting end to the series, the cast is as good as ever, the music isWhile the first two were better, Back to the Future Part Three is a fitting end to the series, the cast is as good as ever, the music is awesome, and the ending doesn't leave anymore questions Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    7
    This movie still has its humor as the past two films, but it doesn't have that special thing that made the first two good. I can sit throughThis movie still has its humor as the past two films, but it doesn't have that special thing that made the first two good. I can sit through this film many times, but it doesn't bring out the good thing like the past two. Now, the acting is good, except for a couple of characters that did not make a good impression on this movie. Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2015
    5
    back to the future part ||| is not a good film but its not a awful movie. its kind of silly but it's not a bad film it's a really good timeback to the future part ||| is not a good film but its not a awful movie. its kind of silly but it's not a bad film it's a really good time killer and that's all I can give it. Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2014
    4
    back to the future part 3 is not violent enough if you wanna do a good movie add violence do not make it western make it as the future likeback to the future part 3 is not violent enough if you wanna do a good movie add violence do not make it western make it as the future like part 2 . expect it is dumb ending the train fly into the sky . shouldnt there be a back to the future 4 instead of back to the future trilogy . Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers