Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Staff
    Feb 7, 2013
    90
    Recovers the style, wit and grandiose fantasy elements of the original. The simplicity of plot, and the wide expansiveness of its use of space, are a refreshing change from the convoluted, visually cramped and cluttered second part.
  2. Reviewed by: Harper Barnes
    Feb 13, 2013
    88
    'Back to the Future Part III is somewhat overlong and a little slow in getting started, but on the whole it provides an entertaining and emotionally satisfying conclusion to a memorable series. [25 May 1990, p.3F]
  3. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Feb 7, 2013
    80
    A clever and enjoyable wrapping-up of the time-travelling adventures.
  4. Reviewed by: Desmond Ryan
    Feb 7, 2013
    63
    Zemeckis and Gale obviously paid attention to quality control in finishing the trilogy. They could not, however, hope to reach the quality of their first effort. [25 May 1990, p.5]
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Cosford
    Feb 13, 2013
    63
    Back to the Future Part III nicely concludes the threesome (calling this a "trilogy" confers just a bit too much honor on an extended, live-action cartoon). Unlike the second, III is quite satisfying -- often funny, and ultimately thrilling. [25 May 1990, p.G5]
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Feb 7, 2013
    50
    It too has no particular reason for being (except, of course, to complete the series and cash in). It's sprightly and inoffensive, though. And, for those who care, it satisfyingly ties up the various plot strands that were flapping in the breeze from the last installment. Back to the Future futurists will feel complete. [25 May 1990, p.C1]
  7. Reviewed by: Julie Salamon
    Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Doc says: "I can't believe this is happening." …That sentence may be the only one uttered in the entire film that contains an ounce of true feeling. Certainly that was the thought on my mind as I watched this depressing rehash of material that seemed original just five years ago, when it was. And "I can't believe this is happening" seemed to be what most of the actors were thinking as they gamely trudged through their paces yet again. [31 May 1990, p.A12]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    An excellent conclusion to the movie trilogy. It packs the same humor and charm that made the previous movies so loved. The western setting gives the movie a unique fell that sets it apart from the previous two movies. As always there are references to the previous two films and it even answers some left over question from Back to the Future Part II, like about Marty's accident. As always everyone gives a fantastic performance as their respective characters. In conclusion this is an excellent movie and I loved every second of it. It might even be my favorite of the trilogy. Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    While it is not as good as the previous two films, this film is still a good hit that takes us to a completely different period in time. The cast is again perfect- the music is good, the story is lacking a bit. But the film is entertaining in every way, which is why it scores so high in my book. Expand
  3. May 26, 2013
    8
    This was the final chapter of the series and while when I first watched it I didn't remember liking it, I thoroughly enjoyed it second time 'round! It probably isn't as good as the first two films but its still good and a great way to finish off the series. Great to have both Fox & Lloyd back also as the film wouldn't be much without them. The final scenes are really great, in particular that final scene with the train, but as a whole it's a great film and one I would easily recommend Collapse
  4. Apr 18, 2014
    8
    "The Different One" is how to define Back to the Future III, I guess.

    If the first one was flawless and the second one was almost as good
    but with a few minor issues, this one just can't be compared the same way.

    Its setting in the Old West for most of the movie, its story, which is simpler and focuses a lot less on Marty McFly and much more on Emmett Brown, its climactic action scene, its general storytelling, it's all quite different and sets it apart from the rest.

    Is it good? Yes, no doubt about it. But the complex plots of the two last ones aren't as complex. It boils down to Emmet Brown having to go to the future or not, with or without his love interest, and Marty dealing with his own pride issues and face Buford Tannen or not. Not a bad plot, but not as interesting or complex.

    The talents of Marty and Doc are interchanged when Marty becomes the voice of reason and Doc becomes the "born again teenager" when he falls in love. A twist with potential, but not very fulfilling, although it does lead to several very fun comedic scenes, and some more sad ones. Character-wise, apart from Clara, whom I thought to be sort of underplayed and not a strongly established character(she goes from almost dying due to a carriage accident, to chasing at high speed after a train about to self-destruct, on shoes with heels, with little to no real explanation as to how the same woman can be in both situations!), I was happy with everyone, minor or major character, Strickland, the bartender Chester, most other people all felt good to me.

    As for general directing/screenplay, well, if the second one was a downgrade from the first one, I'd say this one is on par with the second one...but with a less complex plot that leaves a lot of room for more, this movie comes off as less good.

    Ultimately BttF was flawless and did everything right. BttF II had a few flaws and reused the formula less well, and BttF III does something different, does it quite well, but does have more flaws than BttF II in my eyes, the plot is less good, the characters are better but that doesn't make up for it, the plot inconsistencies are more numerous, especially the ending which contradicts a lot of what has been asked by Doc Brown in 2 and 3, and so on.

    As flawed and different as it is, if you liked the characters from 1 and 2, you'll surely enjoy this one, but I'm not sure that it should be taken as being quite the same as 1 and 2, nor being as good. It's still a solid 8/10 movie with high quality acting, good comedy and action all around.
    Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    7
    This movie still has its humor as the past two films, but it doesn't have that special thing that made the first two good. I can sit through this film many times, but it doesn't bring out the good thing like the past two. Now, the acting is good, except for a couple of characters that did not make a good impression on this movie. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    5
    Only hitting mediocrity, Back to the Future Part III is when the series starts getting desperate. But, at least they got this far before starting the descent to empty sequels, so that's actually a plus! Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2014
    4
    back to the future part 3 is not violent enough if you wanna do a good movie add violence do not make it western make it as the future like part 2 . expect it is dumb ending the train fly into the sky . shouldnt there be a back to the future 4 instead of back to the future trilogy . Expand