Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jun 23, 2011
    38
    Bad Teacher should be a hoot. But it isn't. Love the theory here, hate the practice.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 23, 2011
    38
    Misanthropic to the extreme, Bad Teacher fails across the board.
  3. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 23, 2011
    38
    This fitfully funny but mostly dull misfire defines exactly where the line can be drawn between truly subversive humor and lazy cynicism.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jun 22, 2011
    38
    Despite aping its title in order to suggest quality by association, Bad Teacher has nothing in common with "Bad Santa" -- including, alas, a genuinely nasty sense of humor.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 23, 2011
    30
    It's all just an embarrassment, the kind of pointless slog you'll encounter on Netflix in two years and wonder, How the hell did that get made?
  6. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Jun 21, 2011
    30
    In a role hardly larger than a cameo despite the fact that he's ostensibly the male romantic lead, Segel never tries to hide that he's only here to pay his mortgage - which makes him the most likeable presence on-screen
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jun 23, 2011
    25
    Most of the cast doesn't know what to do with their shallow characterizations and lackluster dialogue. The best lines were harvested for the trailer - so if you've seen that, you've seen it all.
  8. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Jun 23, 2011
    25
    You don't want to think, what would Preston Sturges or Alexander Payne do with this material? But there is a seed of satirical cynicism in this movie that a smart, clear mind could have finessed. Jake Kasdan is not that director. He doesn't appear to know what to do.
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 23, 2011
    10
    How much do I loathe this film? A lottico is putting it mildico.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 82
  2. Negative: 26 out of 82
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    7
    Just when I was beginning to feel Stan Marsh cynical about the summer, what a welcome relief! I had little expectation save for a few solidJust when I was beginning to feel Stan Marsh cynical about the summer, what a welcome relief! I had little expectation save for a few solid laughs. I laughed, a LOT - far more than I expected to. With all of the cookie cutter schlock that has "something for everyone" box office appeal these days, my standards have become ridiculously low for comedies. This raised them right back up there, kinda like the original Hangover did. Cameron Diaz's Teacher is as fun as Billy Bob's Santa was. Hollywood should embrace the antihero more and the superhero less. Full Review »
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    0
    Bad Teacher. Bad movie.
    The woman was horrible til the very and I mean very end. Her rival through the movie, though annoying, got everything
    Bad Teacher. Bad movie.
    The woman was horrible til the very and I mean very end. Her rival through the movie, though annoying, got everything bad she didn't deserve happen to her! It's something I wish I hadn't waste my time on. I went to the bathroom during it just so I could leave the room for a while. Also, not enough Jason Segal...
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 9, 2011
    5
    I'm surprised that this movie let me down at so many points. The characters were unlikeable and disappointing. I thought that Scott DelacorteI'm surprised that this movie let me down at so many points. The characters were unlikeable and disappointing. I thought that Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake) was the funny nerd guy, but he wasn't. The plot is stupid (I mean come on, her goal his to win the bonus so she can get a breast surgery to please a guy). In my opinion, there were a lot of weird and awkward teachers in this movie (something we can all relate to). Some parts were cliche, that I already saw in other '' school '' type of movies. Cameron Diaz was okay as Elizabeth Halsey. I had a few chuckles while watching this film. I'm not giving it a lower mark because I manage to get entertained a little bit. Still, this movie could have been better if the characters were more developed and that it took itself more seriously. Full Review »