User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 249 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 249
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    5
    What a letdown!

    I wouldn't say its bad, but its not at the top of its class either. It seems this movie gave me only mild chuckles and a couple moments where I laughed, but it just seemed to be basic and didn't try to make the grade on original jokes (in other words, the writers didn't seem to try). Cameron Diaz was not bad in this movie. In fact, she played her role pretty well, but she
    What a letdown!

    I wouldn't say its bad, but its not at the top of its class either. It seems this movie gave me only mild chuckles and a couple moments where I laughed, but it just seemed to be basic and didn't try to make the grade on original jokes (in other words, the writers didn't seem to try).

    Cameron Diaz was not bad in this movie. In fact, she played her role pretty well, but she seemed to be the only "good" performance in the film.

    Its that it seemed a little predictable because it was more like Spy vs. Spy between Diaz and Punch, harming one another, from Punch's snitching to Diaz's schemes, it seems very bland. Rent it! Its not worth your $12!
    Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2011
    4
    I went into this movie excited for a good heartfelt comedy and left with four people who simultaneously said this sucked when the credits went up. This movie had one believable character of more than ten and is really disappointing in a cast that had three huge stars and what looked like a great supporting cast. Jason Segel was the only redeeming part of the film. Cameron Diaz wasn'tI went into this movie excited for a good heartfelt comedy and left with four people who simultaneously said this sucked when the credits went up. This movie had one believable character of more than ten and is really disappointing in a cast that had three huge stars and what looked like a great supporting cast. Jason Segel was the only redeeming part of the film. Cameron Diaz wasn't just a bad teacher but a terrible and unrealistic person. Justin Timberlake was supposed to be funny as a quirky character but had zero realistic qualities and was really unlikable. The same goes for the girl who played Amy Squirrel who was just awful to watch. The message of the whole movie is be as terrible as you want and life will work out but the teacher who tries ends up having her life ruined. Message aside there were a few cheap laughs but overall this no heart terrible message movie disappoints on a big level Expand
  3. Jul 9, 2011
    5
    I'm surprised that this movie let me down at so many points. The characters were unlikeable and disappointing. I thought that Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake) was the funny nerd guy, but he wasn't. The plot is stupid (I mean come on, her goal his to win the bonus so she can get a breast surgery to please a guy). In my opinion, there were a lot of weird and awkward teachers in this movieI'm surprised that this movie let me down at so many points. The characters were unlikeable and disappointing. I thought that Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake) was the funny nerd guy, but he wasn't. The plot is stupid (I mean come on, her goal his to win the bonus so she can get a breast surgery to please a guy). In my opinion, there were a lot of weird and awkward teachers in this movie (something we can all relate to). Some parts were cliche, that I already saw in other '' school '' type of movies. Cameron Diaz was okay as Elizabeth Halsey. I had a few chuckles while watching this film. I'm not giving it a lower mark because I manage to get entertained a little bit. Still, this movie could have been better if the characters were more developed and that it took itself more seriously. Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2011
    5
    While watching the movie I discovered that some of the language used was not only inappropriate but inexplicable unnecessary. The movie did have its humorous moments but that was only on occasion. I expected more from Justin, but Cameron was not surprising seeing how she acts as a host for other producers. I have lost most respect for her for the roles she agrees to act in. She should beWhile watching the movie I discovered that some of the language used was not only inappropriate but inexplicable unnecessary. The movie did have its humorous moments but that was only on occasion. I expected more from Justin, but Cameron was not surprising seeing how she acts as a host for other producers. I have lost most respect for her for the roles she agrees to act in. She should be more classy. All in all it would only be a one time movie to see for me. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    Cameron Diaz stretches believabilityâ
  6. Oct 29, 2011
    6
    Bad Teacher is a crude disrespectful movie that should not be viewed by children because of nudity, foul language, crude humor, and sexual content. But overall if youâ
  7. Oct 12, 2011
    6
    Yes, "Bad Teacher" may have quite a few plot-holes and over-the top ridiculousness. I mean, who would believe that they would have asked her for a 2nd year in a row of "teaching." One's gotta wonder what kind of results the kids had the first year she taught them... Anyway, as I said, definitely inconsistent and full of plot issues. However, it is so damn funny!! Cameron Diaz's performanceYes, "Bad Teacher" may have quite a few plot-holes and over-the top ridiculousness. I mean, who would believe that they would have asked her for a 2nd year in a row of "teaching." One's gotta wonder what kind of results the kids had the first year she taught them... Anyway, as I said, definitely inconsistent and full of plot issues. However, it is so damn funny!! Cameron Diaz's performance is flawless (not Oscar-type, of course, it's flawless for the film's intent) and she pulls it off effortlessly. Just a rather entertaining film overall, with some very good laughs and some very nice looks from Diaz. Very sexy, very polished performance, which goes to prove that women in their 40es can still be extremely sexy. The ending was, sadly, oh-so-typical for rom-coms, but what could one expect? It was obvious from the first 30 minutes of the film so I had already made my peace with the ending an hour before it actually happened. As I said, overall pretty funny with some very good moments and good acting by Diaz. Expand
  8. Jul 17, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bad actress(person). Is she? In a spoofing worse than Heath Ledger impersonating Val Kilmer in "Lords of Dogtown", Anna Faris sends up Cameron Diaz in "Lost in Translation", playing the megastar as the ultimate ditz, because filmmaker Sofia Coppola apparently was angered by how Diaz would flirt with then-husband Spike Jonze on the set of "Being John Malkovich". In a pointed scene, Scarlett Johansson(standing in for Coppola) and Giovanni Ribisi(likewise, for Jonze) walk through the lobby of the five-star Tokyo hotel they're staying at, and run into Faris, who channels Diaz's trademark gregariousness that we're accustomed to seeing on her late-night talk shows. With John's wife standing only inches away, Kelly comes on to the photographer with the sort of entitlement that comes with being famous. "I'm staying as Evelyn Waugh," the actress tells John, her favorite shutterbug, confirming in Charlotte's mind as to the vacuousness of this horribly proprietary woman. Waugh is a man, Charlotte, a Yale graduate, points out, much to the annoyance of her husband, who thinks he married a snob and ends up defending the intellectually impaired actress. Bad singer. In "My Best Friend's Wedding", Diaz hits all the wrong notes on the Burt Bacharach/Hal David-penned "I Just Don't Know What to Do with Myself", a karaoke scene that Coppola references with a karaoke scene of her own(not the good one in which Bill Murray makes like a lobotomized Bryan Ferry on "More Than This"), where Kelly gives Kimmy a run for her money by slogging her way through "Nobody Does it Better", the theme song for the James Bond flick "The Spy Who Loved Me". The guy who loved Diaz at the time, Justin Timberlake, in a less-reported item, probably takes the form of Kelly's equally vacuous musician boyfriend, an inarticulate hip-hop artist whose superficiality inspires Charlotte to seek better company at another table. Coppola, as evidenced by this wholesale character assassination, makes Diaz out to be a home-wrecker, a promiscuous tramp who can't keep her hands off other women's husbands. In particular, hers. The look of trepidation that washes across Ribisi's visage says it all when he realizes that Kelly doesn't know the first thing about poker faces. Seven years has passed since "Lost in Translation" hit theaters. Finally, at long last, Evelyn(Cameron is also a unisex name) strikes back. In "Bad Teacher", Diaz does little to tone down the sex-kitten persona that Coppola helped cultivate. Playing a foul-mouthed, pot-smoking, perpetually hung-over middle-school educator named Elizabeth, "Bad Teacher" makes good on Coppola's paranoia, in which Diaz's character makes no qualms about stealing Scott(Timberlake, with an axe to grind of his own), the school's latest hire, away from the conspicuously-named Amy Squirrel, who could very well be the surrogate for Coppola, a Francophile(Aimee is a French name) of Italian descent. It can't be a coincidence that Scott is a musician just like the filmmaker's second husband(Thomas Mars of the French indie-rockers Phoenix), and as the Period 5 lead singer, the vaguely effeminate substitute performs a self-penned song that he dedicates to Amy called "Simpatico", an English word of Italian origin, which also acknowledges both the filmmaker's ethnicity, and the wedding in Bernalda(a southern Italian town). Made livid by Scott's growing interest in Lucy, the bad teacher rubs poison ivy on her rival's apple, giving the good teacher a bad case of the hives. No longer able to chaperon a field trip, Elizabeth fills in for the stricken woman, then sets her sights on seducing the stricken woman's beau, culminating in an odd set-piece that recalls the hardcore puppet sex scenes in "Team America: World Police". Technically, in the strictest sense of the word, no betrayal takes place, since Scott insists on the relatively chaste act of dry humping. Nothing happened. In the crudest way possible, that's what Diaz communicates to Coppola when Elizabeth sends Lucy the lurid, but harmless images via camera phone. While Diaz is made out to be a tramp, Coppola self-congratulatingly paints herself as a woman of virtue. At the lounge bar, Charlotte tells Bob, "I wish I could sleep," leaving out the "with you," because unlike her philandering husband, marriage means something to her, as it does for the American actor, who says, "Me, too." This time, it's Coppola who plays the fool, in which her proxy is sent to Malcolm X High School, a dig, perhaps, at the filmmaker's preference to work in a mostly white milieu. It's not the most satisfying of endings because the moviegoer doesn't get what it paid for, a really bad teacher. With all the sex scandals involving educators and their charges, Elizabeth's homage to Tawny Kitaen during the benefit car wash scene just doesn't cut it. David Straitham in Karen Moncrieff's "Blue Car". Now that's a bad teacher. Expand
  9. Jun 24, 2011
    6
    Ultimately, Bad Teacher doesn't end up as a good or bad movie. It's not destined to be a cult classic or a â
  10. Jun 29, 2011
    6
    This movie was just alright, it was nothing special. Cameron Diaz was pretty funny, but Jason Segel, Justin Timberlake and Lucy Punch were all hilarious. That didn't save this movie though, too cliched and predictable.
  11. Jun 30, 2011
    6
    The cast pushes this so-so flick into the green...slightly. It's impressive to see the generosity Cameron Diaz bestows on her co-stars. Lucy Punch runs away with all of her scenes in a dead-on parody of a Midwestern Nice teacher Ms. Squrrel. Beyond the cast, Bad Teacher flounders. C+
  12. Jun 23, 2012
    4
    That little F toy, Diaz, is really hot and her outlandish behavior are the best things about the movie. Not much else to care about this movie. Had some laughs but really only a one time rental.
  13. Jul 9, 2011
    5
    Let me first say that it's not a terrible movie; it's just really not all that good. Cameron Diaz is certainly game, and she pushes the movie past mediocrity. The movie itself seems to let her down as it refuses to really push any boundaries. If she had only been REALLY bad, or if the movie didn't completely wimp out in the end, it could've been a whole lot more.
  14. Aug 6, 2011
    5
    This Cameron Diaz's movie always serves only to spend time, it doesn't add absolutely nothing, the script is generally pretty weak, as well for the photography. But still thus, I could laugh onto some funny scenes and it's enjoyable to watch, though. It also could have been more elaborated.
  15. Jun 24, 2011
    4
    Bad Teacher is Bad Santa in a middle school instead of a mall. This is Cameron Diazâ
  16. Oct 18, 2011
    5
    This was an interesting and funny premise, but it's squandered by a weak script and cruel characters who all have no redeeming qualities. The cast gives it their all, and there are many funny moments, but the film is way too mean spirited for it's own good. Overall, the film doesn't work, and any humorous moments are quickly extinguished by cruelty. Don't get me wrong - the characters inThis was an interesting and funny premise, but it's squandered by a weak script and cruel characters who all have no redeeming qualities. The cast gives it their all, and there are many funny moments, but the film is way too mean spirited for it's own good. Overall, the film doesn't work, and any humorous moments are quickly extinguished by cruelty. Don't get me wrong - the characters in the Hangover had questionable morals and that's one of the funniest movies of all time, a solid 10. Bad Teacher isn't. Expand
  17. Jul 10, 2011
    5
    It's not a good film, but it's not a bad film. Very predictable, but worth it for a few cheap laughs. Jason Segel is rather enjoyable, but Justin Timberlake steels the show.
  18. May 25, 2013
    5
    Watching Bad Teacher I couldn't help but feel things were played a little safe and are never quite as controversial the writers would want you to believe. Sure lead character Elizabeth (Diaz) smokes pot and swears but when compared to characters like Mr Gilbert in The Inbetweeners she is not really all that bad and unfortunately the movie suffers as a result.

    The plot itself is also
    Watching Bad Teacher I couldn't help but feel things were played a little safe and are never quite as controversial the writers would want you to believe. Sure lead character Elizabeth (Diaz) smokes pot and swears but when compared to characters like Mr Gilbert in The Inbetweeners she is not really all that bad and unfortunately the movie suffers as a result.

    The plot itself is also rather predictable but in amongst the lazy narrative there are some fairly amusing set-pieces. Diaz is fairly good in the lead role but is more often than not upstaged by the excellent Lucy Punch as the passive-aggressive Miss Squirrel. As for Justin Timberlake, well lets just say that he wasn't given much to work with playing one of the most one-note characters I've seen in a while.

    If you have an hour and a half to kill you could do a lot worse than Bad Teacher but its not really a movie worth watching more than once.
    Expand
  19. Jul 5, 2011
    5
    This movie was ok, thats the best i can give it, i thought it looked funny in the trailer but, honestly, about 90% of the funny scenes were in the trailer, and it was a pretty dumb story, and i knew from the very start how it was going to end, it was cliche, bad story, but i give it a 5 because Justin Timberlake was hilarious and I really thing he has found something in acting, he hasThis movie was ok, thats the best i can give it, i thought it looked funny in the trailer but, honestly, about 90% of the funny scenes were in the trailer, and it was a pretty dumb story, and i knew from the very start how it was going to end, it was cliche, bad story, but i give it a 5 because Justin Timberlake was hilarious and I really thing he has found something in acting, he has potential, and Cammeron Diaz was hot, and she was pretty funny at times, but her rude and bi**hy attitude got old about halfway through the movie, but its was and ok movie, i believe im being overly generous by giving it a 5/10 Expand
  20. Jul 3, 2011
    4
    A fairly boring film with many attempts and fails at humor. An easy to follow plot and an expected ending makes this film seem to somewhat drag on. Cameron Diaz plays the role of the nasty, mean teacher quite well but it was not enough to make this a good film. Granted, it starts to seem a little better during the falling action but doesn't get too much better. Now, don't get me wrong,A fairly boring film with many attempts and fails at humor. An easy to follow plot and an expected ending makes this film seem to somewhat drag on. Cameron Diaz plays the role of the nasty, mean teacher quite well but it was not enough to make this a good film. Granted, it starts to seem a little better during the falling action but doesn't get too much better. Now, don't get me wrong, this was not a complete waste of money seeing as how I believed a few parts to be rather funny. This film would probably appeal largely to adolescents but many other viewers will most likely find at least one funny bit in the film. Expand
  21. Jul 10, 2011
    5
    I actually quite liked the the movie for the first 20-30 minutes or so. Then the plot begin to be more and more contrived - there is also sudden jumps in plot progression where something happens just like that without some kind of smooth transition / build up. I laughed here and there. The main character played by Cameron Diaz is not very likeable; for one, she doesn't seem to have anyI actually quite liked the the movie for the first 20-30 minutes or so. Then the plot begin to be more and more contrived - there is also sudden jumps in plot progression where something happens just like that without some kind of smooth transition / build up. I laughed here and there. The main character played by Cameron Diaz is not very likeable; for one, she doesn't seem to have any redeeming quality except for the occasional quip or advice. I thought Lucy Punch did a great job portraying the over-the-top, overenthusiastic Squirrel, so did Justin Timberlake as the hot and clueless (arguably idealistic) math teacher. Jason Segel was alright, but his performance seemed lethargic but passable. I also liked Phyllis Smith's awkward character. Overall, a few laughs to be had here and there. The actors are competent, but the plot over-stretches believability without the articulation and brilliance to pull it through. Expand
  22. Jul 13, 2011
    6
    I had high hopes for this movie as the premise seemed promising. However, alot of the jokes fell flat and ultimately just didn't care too much about her character. There are some funny moments but the opportunity to make something really cool and hilarious was missed. I think if the characters would have been fleshed out more as opposed to focusing on gags it could have been something special.
  23. Aug 18, 2011
    5
    I'm kinda disappointed ! its not as good as i thought ! there's some black-comedy that made me laugh but the whole movie is dull and full of crap ! as for the acting Diaz was like she is , always charming . Lucy punch is a good actor her character is sunny and she made it funnier . as for the 2 lead actor Justin & Jason were not good at all ! After the social network i thought Justin wouldI'm kinda disappointed ! its not as good as i thought ! there's some black-comedy that made me laugh but the whole movie is dull and full of crap ! as for the acting Diaz was like she is , always charming . Lucy punch is a good actor her character is sunny and she made it funnier . as for the 2 lead actor Justin & Jason were not good at all ! After the social network i thought Justin would be good but he really wasn't and Jason really let me down ! as a Fan of sitcom "How i met your mother" i was expecting a lot from him ! while seeing i was like "what the hell is this ? why is he so nervous " . he was so good in FSM !
    Story : 1.4/2 (The teacher is really really bad)
    Directing :1.3/2 (Could do better)
    Acting : 1.1/2 (Lucy was good ,Diaz was normal but actors did so bad)
    Sound : 1.3/2 (not bad but not good at all)
    As a Comedy movie : .7/2 (not funny just some black comedy)
    OVERALL : 5.7 out of 10
    Expand
  24. Sep 4, 2011
    4
    The only thing that kept me watching was a few memorable lines and the reoccurring hope of getting a glimpse of some bare Diaz (which, to my disappointment, didn't happen.)
  25. Sep 5, 2011
    6
    All in all, Bad Teacher will keep you entertained whether youâ
  26. Oct 15, 2011
    6
    Bad teacher is a movie that gave me motivation to be an actor and the actors, especially Cameron Diaz and Justin Timberlake, the scenery was good, but had some flaws, the mistakes of pucos was that the end was not surprised, I finally give 6
  27. Oct 25, 2011
    5
    wow hmm.this movie was kinda good,but after watching it i wanted to kill cameron diaz.LOL.
    because the movie was pretty unfair.So it's a one time see movie only.
  28. Dec 16, 2011
    4
    Unfortunately, like most Hollywood comedies, Bad Teacher is weighed down by all the heavy plot that stunts Cameron Diazâ
  29. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    Bad Teacher is a bad movie. Billed as the raunchiest film since Bad Santa, my expectations were high. As far as I'm concerned, the raunchier the better, but seldom is a film that calls itself raunchy, actually raunchy. Cameron Diaz was terrific, but the story was extremely weak. There is zero character development, I wanted to punch most of the supporting cast, and as far as being funny,Bad Teacher is a bad movie. Billed as the raunchiest film since Bad Santa, my expectations were high. As far as I'm concerned, the raunchier the better, but seldom is a film that calls itself raunchy, actually raunchy. Cameron Diaz was terrific, but the story was extremely weak. There is zero character development, I wanted to punch most of the supporting cast, and as far as being funny, it's only good for a snicker here and there. It's a predictable story about a gold digging whore seeking money to get her boobs done. Parts of it are painful and the rest of it is just stupid. Honestly, if it wasn't for the word this movie would be rated PG-13. Diaz is a fantastic actress and the story had so many possibilities, but they were all overlooked. The result, another mediocre, overrated comedy billing itself as raunchy. Expand
  30. Mar 17, 2012
    5
    It has it's moments, but not enough. Cameron Diaz is great in the lead role but that doesn't over shadow the fact that pretty much all of the characters are unlikeable and that its premise is really weak. The sad fact is that these problems maybe could have been forgiven if the film was just funnier.
  31. Mar 25, 2012
    4
    Bad teacher is one of those movies that looked funny from the trailer but watching it, the trailer only used the funny parts which was about 2 lines in a over hour and half movie. Just another movie that tried to be funny and came up way way to short.
  32. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    Very predictable, but still a few good laughs. I really thought that Cameron Diaz was a little to old to play opposite Timberlake - it really made her look her age...
  33. Aug 25, 2012
    5
    The film is alright but it relies to heavily on Cameron Diaz's ability to get away with extremely crude references. I thought that Jason Segal was brilliant but him aside, the film was a little of a bore at times. I also enjoyed the cameo from Modern Family's Eric Stonestreet, who plays a slightly contrasting mod biker.
  34. Aug 10, 2012
    5
    A funny but, ultimately, unmemorable film, as this falls into the "typical studio comedy" trap, where plot points are telegraphed from miles away and any originality has been stripped away and replaced with marketability. Sad that this is what Cameron Diaz's career has come to, as she (and Timberlake/Segel) is better than this material.
  35. Nov 7, 2012
    4
    The purpose of the similarly titled 'Bad Santa' was to exploit something society thought of as innocent to the highest level possible. Bad Teacher attempts to do the same, but the supporting characters are so dreadful that we begin to root for Diaz, thwarting the film's entire objective.
  36. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Cameron Diaz is terrific in this, the best I've seen her in years. The big problem with Bad Teacher (and Young Adult with Charlize Theron) is that the ending is sympathetic towards a character that's anything but sympathetic. Besides those inconsistencies, Bad Teacher is hilarious and entertaining.
  37. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    i expected less from this movie but it just impressed me when I saw it. It has some great actors, cameron diaz was a great actor to be the bad teacher and the plot is not that bad. I laughed at some moments and that's all. just another american comedy. only that this one was a bit of funny
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jun 30, 2011
    50
    It IS consistently funny. Its trash-can humor is tasteless, no doubt, but hey, that doesn't make it unpalatable.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Jun 26, 2011
    50
    Bad Teacher revels in being distasteful. But it can't just let a bad woman be bad; she also has to be burdened with physical insecurity, even if it makes no sense. Can you imagine if Billy Bob Thornton's character had become Bad Santa so he could steal to fund his penis implant?
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 26, 2011
    40
    From time to time, Bad Teacher gestures vaguely at the movie it could have been. Diaz slouches and snarls effectively through the early scenes. It isn't till we realize her redemption will be unsatisfying that the character starts to curdle.