Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 24, 2011
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 273 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
82
Mixed:
132
Negative:
59
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
nohoboboJan 8, 2012
Far funnier than I expected, and way better than the critics' reviews suggest. So many recycled rom-coms out there, nice to see something different. Timberlake makes a great nerd, and it doesn't hurt that Cameron Diaz is still smoking hot.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
tompaineJun 24, 2011
Just when I was beginning to feel Stan Marsh cynical about the summer, what a welcome relief! I had little expectation save for a few solid laughs. I laughed, a LOT - far more than I expected to. With all of the cookie cutter schlock that hasJust when I was beginning to feel Stan Marsh cynical about the summer, what a welcome relief! I had little expectation save for a few solid laughs. I laughed, a LOT - far more than I expected to. With all of the cookie cutter schlock that has "something for everyone" box office appeal these days, my standards have become ridiculously low for comedies. This raised them right back up there, kinda like the original Hangover did. Cameron Diaz's Teacher is as fun as Billy Bob's Santa was. Hollywood should embrace the antihero more and the superhero less. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
CinesnatchJul 9, 2011
Elizabeth Halsey (Diaz) is the World's Worst Teacher. Her goal in life is to mooch off a rich husband and her latest target is new guy Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake), a vanilla nerdy virgin who has a fondness for huge breasts. Diaz,Elizabeth Halsey (Diaz) is the World's Worst Teacher. Her goal in life is to mooch off a rich husband and her latest target is new guy Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake), a vanilla nerdy virgin who has a fondness for huge breasts. Diaz, down-on-her-luck, living with a roommate, makes it her life's mission to turn her A-cups in double-D's and will find the money at all costs. It's a silly premise, which the filmmakers make no bones about; they're only interest is mining the situation to the audience's delight.

Elizabeth is textbook manipulative, and the script is balanced enough to enjoy her dishonesty every step of the way. She's a horrible teacher and person, but the few slaps on the wrist she gets for her behavior are more than enough. And when she's not getting a free pass, her character is tempered with just the right amount of ridicule. My memory may be fuzzy, but in Mary (as unsatisfying to me as Teacher was a pleasure), a type of comedy not dissimilar to her latest, I recall Diaz playing a more reactive role. It was essentially the boys Ben Stiller and Matt Dillon who drove the plot; she was more along for the ride with special gel in her hair to keep the wind from ruining it. Here, she's in the driver's seat. She is comfortable at the wheel and has her foot all the way down on the gas. In her element, she has never been better. She was born to the play this role. The trailer for Teacher set the curve for success high. And like the subsequent previews, the final result lives up to the promise. It's un-PC in all the right ways and doesn't pander to the audience. It has been a while since there has been a Hollywood comedy that has absolute respect for its audience and aware of exactly what it's doing. There aren't any shocking moments it builds to, there's just a heavy dose of acerbic wit consistent throughout the script cowritten by Gene Stupnitsky and Lee Eisenberg (producer/writers for the American version of The Office). There's no fat to be seen, as the venture is premium grade-A steak. Yet, it also has some of the shrewdest editing in a comedy I have seen in a long while. After the ironically homely credits, the story bursts out of the gate and remains full force until the end, and director Jake Kasdan (Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story) keeps things clipping along completely conscious of its absurdity. It has too many jokes to tell; there is no time to dilly-dally. There are a few brief random moments that even work despite themselves. The supporting cast is stellar; they all stand and deliver. Timberlake is fine as the dippy liberal who isn't as progressive as he thinks he is. But the standouts are TV actors from such sitcoms as The Class, How I Met Your Mother and The Office. Lucy Punch's comic chops first came to my attention in Annette Being's period Being Julia. She joined The Class shortly thereafter, but since its premature cancellation, she hasn't had much to chew on other than taking over a role for Nicole Kidman and standing out in the subpar You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger. Here, as over-achieving Amy Squirrel, she plays the foil to Diaz, just as Diaz did to Julia Roberts in Wedding. Besides batting all of her lines out of the park, she improvisationally employs weird facial gestures, conducts a simple, yet stealthy monologue about math with an accent and squeezes into a men's urinal while discussing matters of import. Jason Siegel is downright adorable and makes a great partner for Diaz. Not really a spoiler, they're obviously going to end up together from the get-go and their banter doesn't make it hard to accept. However, the crown for best supporting player has to go to Phyllis Smith as Lynn, Diaz' sidekick. I don't watch The Office and I haven't seen her anywhere else to my knowledge, but it appears she doesn't have the ability to not be funny, whether it's with a look or her uniquely meek voice. The woman is a comic secret weapon and her chemistry with Diaz is phenomenal. With the CBS and NBC networks represented in this movie, ABC isn't left out either, but the actor's presence is such a surprise and so unrecognizable at first, I'm not going to spoil anything. You'll just have to figure it out. Additionally, there's another surprise actor (her name is in the opening credits) who has a small, but delightful role. If you're a fan like I am, my bet is that you'll kick your legs in the air and "love it." Read the rest of the review by googling Cinesnatch Bad Teacher.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ArkonBladeOct 22, 2011
i thought it was a pretty funny film . the idea is pretty funny a teacher who hates teaching and just wants to find a rich man so she can mooch off him and live a easy life . camron diaz does a pretty good job and this and is pretty funny .i thought it was a pretty funny film . the idea is pretty funny a teacher who hates teaching and just wants to find a rich man so she can mooch off him and live a easy life . camron diaz does a pretty good job and this and is pretty funny . the guy who plays the gym teacher (i cant think of his name) i felt should have had amuch bigger role. over all it has some pretty good moments that gave me a good laugh . it certainly isnt the best commedy your gona see but its a pretty decent one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
wishmasterJul 29, 2011
This really that funny, is not the best movie, but entertaining it is. The entire cast gives very good performances, it is generally recommended and passed a good time laughing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bama72Jun 26, 2011
This is a wonderfully funny movie. I missed some of the funny lines because I was laughing at the ones before. Cameron Diaz was splendid. I couldn't stand Justin Timberlake but I think that was because his character was so unlikable. IThis is a wonderfully funny movie. I missed some of the funny lines because I was laughing at the ones before. Cameron Diaz was splendid. I couldn't stand Justin Timberlake but I think that was because his character was so unlikable. I highly recommend this for a no stress good time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jrmintAug 6, 2011
This film was surprising in it's charm, humor and story line. I found it to be a unique take on school teacher comedy and it was nice to see a female f+ck up instead of the typical male oriented crap. Cameron Diaz, Jason Segal, and PhyllisThis film was surprising in it's charm, humor and story line. I found it to be a unique take on school teacher comedy and it was nice to see a female f+ck up instead of the typical male oriented crap. Cameron Diaz, Jason Segal, and Phyllis Smith were fantastic. Justin Timberlake's character and acting seemed forced and uncomfortable [not intentional] but didn't tarnish the film too much. Not the greatest comedy of all time, but there are a lot worse movies out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Khunter4382Oct 19, 2011
I enjoyed this film. Albeit occasionally raunchy, politically incorrect, and hilariously wrong on so many levels, Diaz does a good job in this role. The entire film is really ridiculous, but that's what makes it fun. The cast is great withI enjoyed this film. Albeit occasionally raunchy, politically incorrect, and hilariously wrong on so many levels, Diaz does a good job in this role. The entire film is really ridiculous, but that's what makes it fun. The cast is great with many of the current comic actors sprinkled in here and there. However, I am glad I trusted my reaction to the trailers and saved this one for a $1 rental! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VicDec 5, 2011
Simply awesome movie! Great actors, lifelike screenplay, I love they kept mature language it makes this movie more realistic. Very lifelike comedy, unlike "The Other Guys" which is also an awesome comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Reddy71Aug 6, 2011
Despite what a lot of critics may say, I found this to be a thoroughly entertaining film. The only bad point being the casting of Justin Timberlake as Scottt DeLacorte. I normally like JT and I know this film, or any of this genre, aren'tDespite what a lot of critics may say, I found this to be a thoroughly entertaining film. The only bad point being the casting of Justin Timberlake as Scottt DeLacorte. I normally like JT and I know this film, or any of this genre, aren't exactly in the "best actor" oscar nomination basket but he just didn't suit the part. If you go in with an open mind a lot of points in the film are laugh-out-loud funny and as a whole it came together to to provide an really funny hour and a half. The humour ranges from stupidity to slapstick to gross to shocking and back. Who doesn't laugh at a well-timed fart gag? This is a genuinely funny film. If you want to laugh, go and watch it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Anotherday1787Aug 12, 2011
Bad Teacher is fun! Cameron Diaz has never been a favorite of mine, but she plays a selfish, ruthless **** with such ease that it makes one wonder...Anyway, I actually liked her in this. The supporting cast is wonderful and Jason Segal isBad Teacher is fun! Cameron Diaz has never been a favorite of mine, but she plays a selfish, ruthless **** with such ease that it makes one wonder...Anyway, I actually liked her in this. The supporting cast is wonderful and Jason Segal is charming and handsome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pedrohtdAug 23, 2011
so I looked at the trailer for bad teacher, I said oh my god this movie will be perfect, funny, I was crazy to watch. so I went to the movies to watch, sad to say But I know with that empty feeling the movie accomplishes nothing and doesso I looked at the trailer for bad teacher, I said oh my god this movie will be perfect, funny, I was crazy to watch. so I went to the movies to watch, sad to say But I know with that empty feeling the movie accomplishes nothing and does nothing, take Justin and the area it says cameroz as a drugged and nn was so nice to nonsense, couples with no chemistry teacher no''bad''failed in your field! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheMovieFreakNov 17, 2011
Bad Teacher is a hilarious film I've seen! Cameron Diaz plays a funny role so does Jason Segal. Pretty much everyone plays a funny role. Although it was 97 minutes long, it went by so fast. Bad Teacher reminded me a little bit of Bad Santa.Bad Teacher is a hilarious film I've seen! Cameron Diaz plays a funny role so does Jason Segal. Pretty much everyone plays a funny role. Although it was 97 minutes long, it went by so fast. Bad Teacher reminded me a little bit of Bad Santa. This is not a bad film to watch. It's actually worth your time. So, yes I'd say recommend it.
Funniest scene: When she showed the classroom the scream films.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pluess13Nov 29, 2011
We started watching this film with our 13yr old kid but I have to say with the language and the sex talk that goes off there is no way it should be rated a 12+ ...............................we turned it off and watched when the kids were inWe started watching this film with our 13yr old kid but I have to say with the language and the sex talk that goes off there is no way it should be rated a 12+ ...............................we turned it off and watched when the kids were in bed but even then it was not a good film.............................................such a dissapointment ...................... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MegWhiteleyMar 3, 2012
One of the most interesting films ever, is not very funny, but the performance of Cameron Diaz is awesome, is good film. Bad Teacher is a good normal film. That's all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ScarTissue1990Jan 20, 2013
This movie gets more and more annoying every time it comes on. Which is every day. The only reason I turn to it for less than a minute is to see Justin Timberlake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Sep 2, 2012
The movie looked great from the trailer, except the only problem was....those seemed to be all the funny parts. I liked that the main character didn't change in the end. I still liked it though. The setting was funny coming from a teacher'sThe movie looked great from the trailer, except the only problem was....those seemed to be all the funny parts. I liked that the main character didn't change in the end. I still liked it though. The setting was funny coming from a teacher's perspective. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
A_NorthernerJul 28, 2012
Bad Teacher is 2011 comedy from the writers of The US Office starring Cameron Diaz as a gold-digging, unscrupulous and rule-breaking high school teacher.

Diaz plays the renegade teacher role with relish and is the highlight of the film.
Bad Teacher is 2011 comedy from the writers of The US Office starring Cameron Diaz as a gold-digging, unscrupulous and rule-breaking high school teacher.

Diaz plays the renegade teacher role with relish and is the highlight of the film. The Office style humour comes through in the form of some quirky characters, none more so than Lucy Punch's angelic and sugary sweet contrast to Diaz's character and the dolphin obsessed principal.

The concept of a teacher not really giving a damn, not learning her pupil's names, providing education through the showing of films and turning up hungover most days is a promising one that could have yielded stronger material. That being said, I don't understand some of the low reviews this film received. Without being laugh out loud funny, Bad Teacher is a decent enough comedy providing you accept it for what it is, a fairly trashy comedy with a predictable ending.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JalalBlackApr 2, 2016
It surprised me , I didn't think they'll go all the way with the wild anti-hero story line , I thought they'd mellow down half way through but thankfully they didn't , Diaz's performance carried the film .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysSep 24, 2013
Cameron Diaz is raunchy, profane, and not fit to be a teacher at all, but you have to admit she succeeds with fulfilling these terms pretty well, as well as being quite shocking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lukechristianscNov 14, 2015
It's not perfect but a mucky fun comedy, it's cheesy but overall Diaz shines exceedingly well as this mean-spirited gold digger and the supporting cast is comedy gold also equally funny. After her fiancee breaks up with Elizabeth (played byIt's not perfect but a mucky fun comedy, it's cheesy but overall Diaz shines exceedingly well as this mean-spirited gold digger and the supporting cast is comedy gold also equally funny. After her fiancee breaks up with Elizabeth (played by Cameron Diaz) who's a gold digger, who returns to teach at the middle school. She's a mean spirited,reckless, selfish pothead who's awful at her job (I'm surprised they didn't fire her) who doesn't pay attention to her colleagues or students, lets her students watch movies. The sweet teacher Amy Squirrel (Lucy Punch) who's right across from Elizabeth, who doesn't like Elizabeth and questions her and her teaching styles. When Elizabeth sees a substitute teacher Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake), she discovers he's rich and she tries to get with him, she learns that he likes woman who have big breasts and she tries to get silicone-implants. She wants a raise 10,000.00 for the surgery, what she learns is that the teacher with the best scores in the state exam who gets the 5,700.00 bonus. She changes her attitude and actually teaches the kids something. She tries to get the answers for the state test and makes her students prepare for the test. Amy gets suspicious and tries to get proof that Elizabeth is cheating. Timberlake was good and brings so much sweetness, like ability into his character that it's charming and Punch is so elegant and sweet as well. Jason Segel is really funny, maybe the best character in this film. Grade B+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ClubsocialMay 4, 2015
ore. You can tell all of her songs came from the heart. The only thing that I have to say is that I don't think "Run The World (Girls)" fits into the album AT ALL. Other than that, the album is flawle
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews