Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 230 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Some teachers just don't give an F. For example, there's Elizabeth. She's foul-mouthed, ruthless, and inappropriate. She drinks, she gets high, and she can't wait to marry her meal ticket and get out of her bogus day job. When she's dumped by her fiancé, she sets her plan in motion to win over a rich, handsome substitute – competing for his affections with an overly energetic colleague, Amy. When Elizabeth also finds herself fighting off the advances of a sarcastic, irreverent gym teacher, the consequences of her wild and outrageous schemes give her students, her coworkers, and even herself an education like no other. (Sony Pictures)

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 23, 2011
    85
    Bad Teacher is hardly a perfect picture, but in the context of every other comedy on the summer movie landscape - from the faux empowerment of "Bridesmaids" to the neurotic frat-guy heteromania of "The Hangover Part II" - it feels revolutionary.
  2. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jun 23, 2011
    75
    Teacher underutilizes a smartly cast-against-type Timberlake and the perpetually winning Segel, but Diaz ultimately earns a rooting interest in the unlikely redemption of her scheming opportunist.
  3. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Jun 23, 2011
    63
    Thank Segal in part, because the guy is always funny, and Timberlake gets some of the biggest laughs in a particularly crude sex scene (though the song with which his character woos Miss Squirrel is perhaps the film's funniest moment).
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jun 22, 2011
    50
    Bad Teacher is a pulled punch, a pot-smoking/kid cussing/teacher copulating farce that is less than the sum of its parts.
  5. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 24, 2011
    50
    Most of the laughs are collected by Lucy Punch as chirpy, borderline-psychotic teacher named Squirrel.
  6. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 26, 2011
    40
    From time to time, Bad Teacher gestures vaguely at the movie it could have been. Diaz slouches and snarls effectively through the early scenes. It isn't till we realize her redemption will be unsatisfying that the character starts to curdle.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 23, 2011
    10
    How much do I loathe this film? A lottico is putting it mildico.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 81
  2. Negative: 25 out of 81
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Far funnier than I expected, and way better than the critics' reviews suggest. So many recycled rom-coms out there, nice to see something different. Timberlake makes a great nerd, and it doesn't hurt that Cameron Diaz is still smoking hot. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    7
    Just when I was beginning to feel Stan Marsh cynical about the summer, what a welcome relief! I had little expectation save for a few solid laughs. I laughed, a LOT - far more than I expected to. With all of the cookie cutter schlock that has "something for everyone" box office appeal these days, my standards have become ridiculously low for comedies. This raised them right back up there, kinda like the original Hangover did. Cameron Diaz's Teacher is as fun as Billy Bob's Santa was. Hollywood should embrace the antihero more and the superhero less. Collapse
  3. Oct 29, 2011
    6
    Bad Teacher is a crude disrespectful movie that should not be viewed by children because of nudity, foul language, crude humor, and sexual content. But overall if youâ Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2011
    5
    I'm kinda disappointed ! its not as good as i thought ! there's some black-comedy that made me laugh but the whole movie is dull and full of crap ! as for the acting Diaz was like she is , always charming . Lucy punch is a good actor her character is sunny and she made it funnier . as for the 2 lead actor Justin & Jason were not good at all ! After the social network i thought Justin would be good but he really wasn't and Jason really let me down ! as a Fan of sitcom "How i met your mother" i was expecting a lot from him ! while seeing i was like "what the hell is this ? why is he so nervous " . he was so good in FSM !
    Story : 1.4/2 (The teacher is really really bad)
    Directing :1.3/2 (Could do better)
    Acting : 1.1/2 (Lucy was good ,Diaz was normal but actors did so bad)
    Sound : 1.3/2 (not bad but not good at all)
    As a Comedy movie : .7/2 (not funny just some black comedy)
    OVERALL : 5.7 out of 10
    Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2012
    4
    Bad teacher is one of those movies that looked funny from the trailer but watching it, the trailer only used the funny parts which was about 2 lines in a over hour and half movie. Just another movie that tried to be funny and came up way way to short. Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2011
    3
    Decent movie, held interest. Unfortunately though not a single laugh-out-loud moment for my wife or I (couple in mid-30s). Since this is how I rate comedies (the LOL factor), I cannot score this highly. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    This movie was truly horrendous. I didn't laugh a single time. Sure, I smiled during one scene, but that's it. I've seen some really awful comedies in my time, but most of them manage to get at least one laugh out of me. But not with Bad Teacher. Whatever you do, do not waste your hard earned money on this. There is nothing worth seeing here. I hated every single one of the characters, especially Cameron Diaz (when was the last time she was in a good movie?). What, are we supposed to be charmed by her whorish, disgusting behavior? I wasn't. In fact, I found myself hating her more and more with each scene I saw her in, until I felt like beating her senseless at the end of the movie. Also, the premise is completely ridiculous: are you telling me the school was so blind that they hired this woman in the first place? And did none of the kids mention to their parents that their teacher was, you know, a legitimate prostitute? I can't count how many times I facepalmed during this movie. Thanks to Bad Teacher, I now have a permanent imprint of my hand on my forehead. Please, for the love of God, don't see this movie. You'd be better off sticking your ten bucks in a pipe and smoking it. Expand

See all 81 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.