Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 249 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Some teachers just don't give an F. For example, there's Elizabeth. She's foul-mouthed, ruthless, and inappropriate. She drinks, she gets high, and she can't wait to marry her meal ticket and get out of her bogus day job. When she's dumped by her fiancé, she sets her plan in motion to winSome teachers just don't give an F. For example, there's Elizabeth. She's foul-mouthed, ruthless, and inappropriate. She drinks, she gets high, and she can't wait to marry her meal ticket and get out of her bogus day job. When she's dumped by her fiancé, she sets her plan in motion to win over a rich, handsome substitute – competing for his affections with an overly energetic colleague, Amy. When Elizabeth also finds herself fighting off the advances of a sarcastic, irreverent gym teacher, the consequences of her wild and outrageous schemes give her students, her coworkers, and even herself an education like no other. (Sony Pictures)

    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 23, 2011
    85
    Bad Teacher is hardly a perfect picture, but in the context of every other comedy on the summer movie landscape - from the faux empowerment of "Bridesmaids" to the neurotic frat-guy heteromania of "The Hangover Part II" - it feels revolutionary.
  2. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jun 23, 2011
    75
    Teacher underutilizes a smartly cast-against-type Timberlake and the perpetually winning Segel, but Diaz ultimately earns a rooting interest in the unlikely redemption of her scheming opportunist.
  3. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Jun 23, 2011
    63
    Thank Segal in part, because the guy is always funny, and Timberlake gets some of the biggest laughs in a particularly crude sex scene (though the song with which his character woos Miss Squirrel is perhaps the film's funniest moment).
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jun 22, 2011
    50
    Bad Teacher is a pulled punch, a pot-smoking/kid cussing/teacher copulating farce that is less than the sum of its parts.
  5. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 24, 2011
    50
    Most of the laughs are collected by Lucy Punch as chirpy, borderline-psychotic teacher named Squirrel.
  6. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 26, 2011
    40
    From time to time, Bad Teacher gestures vaguely at the movie it could have been. Diaz slouches and snarls effectively through the early scenes. It isn't till we realize her redemption will be unsatisfying that the character starts to curdle.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 23, 2011
    10
    How much do I loathe this film? A lottico is putting it mildico.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 85
  2. Negative: 26 out of 85
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Far funnier than I expected, and way better than the critics' reviews suggest. So many recycled rom-coms out there, nice to see somethingFar funnier than I expected, and way better than the critics' reviews suggest. So many recycled rom-coms out there, nice to see something different. Timberlake makes a great nerd, and it doesn't hurt that Cameron Diaz is still smoking hot. Collapse
  2. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    Bad Teacher is fun! Cameron Diaz has never been a favorite of mine, but she plays a selfish, ruthless **** with such ease that it makes oneBad Teacher is fun! Cameron Diaz has never been a favorite of mine, but she plays a selfish, ruthless **** with such ease that it makes one wonder...Anyway, I actually liked her in this. The supporting cast is wonderful and Jason Segal is charming and handsome. Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2011
    7
    This film was surprising in it's charm, humor and story line. I found it to be a unique take on school teacher comedy and it was nice to see aThis film was surprising in it's charm, humor and story line. I found it to be a unique take on school teacher comedy and it was nice to see a female f+ck up instead of the typical male oriented crap. Cameron Diaz, Jason Segal, and Phyllis Smith were fantastic. Justin Timberlake's character and acting seemed forced and uncomfortable [not intentional] but didn't tarnish the film too much. Not the greatest comedy of all time, but there are a lot worse movies out there. Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2011
    5
    This was an interesting and funny premise, but it's squandered by a weak script and cruel characters who all have no redeeming qualities. TheThis was an interesting and funny premise, but it's squandered by a weak script and cruel characters who all have no redeeming qualities. The cast gives it their all, and there are many funny moments, but the film is way too mean spirited for it's own good. Overall, the film doesn't work, and any humorous moments are quickly extinguished by cruelty. Don't get me wrong - the characters in the Hangover had questionable morals and that's one of the funniest movies of all time, a solid 10. Bad Teacher isn't. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    Very predictable, but still a few good laughs. I really thought that Cameron Diaz was a little to old to play opposite Timberlake - it reallyVery predictable, but still a few good laughs. I really thought that Cameron Diaz was a little to old to play opposite Timberlake - it really made her look her age... Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2011
    3
    Went into this one expecting at least a couple of laughs, and yes there are a few funny moments, ultimately thought this movie is just poorlyWent into this one expecting at least a couple of laughs, and yes there are a few funny moments, ultimately thought this movie is just poorly made. Cameron Diaz's character is meant to be a bad teacher, yes we get it, but does she also have to be an unlikable **** for 90% of the film? How is the audience meant to empathize/sympathize or identify with this character? It just gets to the point where you don't care what happens next because the character is just so unlikable. Yes I understand that to some extent this is mean to be the point, that it is a "funny" story of redemption, but that redemption and arc comes way too late, by which you point you've already lost interest. I would've probably enjoyed this more if the character was a fraction more believable and little more likeable. Definitely save your time and your money - unless you like watching unlikeable characters that will piss you off and accomplish nothing but learn to be a "little" nicer by the end, wow, what a pathetic resolution. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    This movie was truly horrendous. I didn't laugh a single time. Sure, I smiled during one scene, but that's it. I've seen some really awfulThis movie was truly horrendous. I didn't laugh a single time. Sure, I smiled during one scene, but that's it. I've seen some really awful comedies in my time, but most of them manage to get at least one laugh out of me. But not with Bad Teacher. Whatever you do, do not waste your hard earned money on this. There is nothing worth seeing here. I hated every single one of the characters, especially Cameron Diaz (when was the last time she was in a good movie?). What, are we supposed to be charmed by her whorish, disgusting behavior? I wasn't. In fact, I found myself hating her more and more with each scene I saw her in, until I felt like beating her senseless at the end of the movie. Also, the premise is completely ridiculous: are you telling me the school was so blind that they hired this woman in the first place? And did none of the kids mention to their parents that their teacher was, you know, a legitimate prostitute? I can't count how many times I facepalmed during this movie. Thanks to Bad Teacher, I now have a permanent imprint of my hand on my forehead. Please, for the love of God, don't see this movie. You'd be better off sticking your ten bucks in a pipe and smoking it. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.