Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Sep 25, 2013
    30
    Although there’s a strong likability quotient for everyone onscreen here, which ought to keep the movie minimally afloat among its target audience of black viewers starved for a new Tyler Perry offering, Baggage Claim should be left behind at the carousel.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Sep 20, 2013
    30
    Chemistry you can fake, but charm is far harder to pull off, and Baggage Claim never quite succeeds on that front.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Oct 11, 2013
    20
    Romcom fans deserve something with more heart.
  4. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Sep 26, 2013
    30
    Predictability and clichés get in the way of comedy here, especially with a lead character who rarely comes across as more than blandly sweet.
  5. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Sep 25, 2013
    25
    Without a coherent lead performance, all Baggage Claim has left are its generic rom-com plot — which has flight-attendant Patton jetting around the country to meet the perfect man in time for her younger sister’s wedding — and profoundly shoddy production values.
  6. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Sep 30, 2013
    25
    Nothing in this movie would actually happen, so what’s irritating is that it presents itself as a savvy, “Am I right, ladies?” dating commentary.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Sep 26, 2013
    38
    “You don’t need a man to define you!” Very true, and so much for feminism. The rest of the film takes a long, convoluted, predictable, and mostly unfunny route to prove that the opposite is the case.
  8. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Sep 27, 2013
    38
    Baggage Claim is so archaic in its depiction of feminine self-worth — and, frankly, so insulting — it's amazing that it's coming out in 2013, not 1963.
  9. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Sep 25, 2013
    25
    Writer-director David E. Talbert adapts his own 2003 novel into something as useless as it is implosive.
User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    baggage claim is amazing romantic black comedy David E Talbert is basically Tyler Perry put 10x times better. for example like Tyler Perry he makes dumb stupid comedy an stories ( Meet the Browns )that no one cares or understands also When Perry writes a play or directs he adds these humor quotes who noone likes thats why i hate plays. Talbert created a story about a woman ( Paula patton ) an how she tries to find a husband in 30 days before her sister weeding her key is the plane. that was not the answer til the ending it does teach us human beings a lesson in true love but how Talbert shows love he may over done it by black a- fying it like Mr Perry but i am not gonna judge #still enjoyed it. Grade A- Full Review »
  2. Oct 13, 2013
    0
    When I walked out of Baggage Claim, I thought- I payed $20 bucks to get good seats and thought that I went to see a funny movie. Well, it turns out that Baggage Claim is a pile of It's not a comedy and it's not funny at all. It's just another banana puke rom coms that aims towards love affairs. It's not that I don't like these type of movies- look at Think Like A Man, that movie was great. Baggage Claim is stupid and unfunny, DONT WATCH IT. SAVE YOUR MONEY. I saw the teaser for Tyler Perry's Madea Christmas and it totally kicked ass- i would pay $100 to just see that cheap laugh that Perry cooked. It's better than Baggage Claim. Full Review »
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    0
    Baggage Claim is trying to be a romantic comedy with a heartfelt message and sweet atmosphere to it, but it turns into a goopy, false-feeling romcom with almost no feeling or spirit. Full Review »