Rogue Pictures | Release Date: August 29, 2007
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 73 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
26
Mixed:
21
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
imedl.Feb 3, 2008
I love ping pong, when i watch this movie, i laugh from the start to the end.. the jokes is very chaos to me, you know, everything is exaggerated, but thats the point, this is a fun movie type that you dont have to bother the quality of the I love ping pong, when i watch this movie, i laugh from the start to the end.. the jokes is very chaos to me, you know, everything is exaggerated, but thats the point, this is a fun movie type that you dont have to bother the quality of the film. just watch and enjoy the movie, you'll get a lots of laugh, dont expect anything, JUST ENJOY! definately my favorite. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
BDotySep 2, 2007
Now this movie really only deserves a 7-8 but it really needs a 10 to get its average up.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SimonM.Sep 3, 2007
It wasn't perfect but still I didn't feel ripped off.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SimonWOct 21, 2007
Great movie, do yourself a favor and go watch this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ChuckM.Sep 10, 2007
Like most, I was a little put off by all the bad reviews. But then I thought about all the bad reviews for Transformers (which I enjoyed) and I decided to check it out anyway. After all, with the same writers and director as Let's Go To Like most, I was a little put off by all the bad reviews. But then I thought about all the bad reviews for Transformers (which I enjoyed) and I decided to check it out anyway. After all, with the same writers and director as Let's Go To Prison -- another one I really liked -- how bad could it be? Well, it was pretty bad. It was weird. It felt like the entire audience, and it was a pretty good turnout, was just sitting there waiting to laugh. I mean, we were just looking for any excuse to chuckle and the movie seemed to sabotage itself (and our expectations) again and again. I know Lennon and Garant are talented guys and I know Odenkirk is funny too so I honestly can't figure out where it all went wrong. I disagree with just about every post here. The German villain was one of the few bright spots in the movie. Dan Fogler was the other bright spot. In the right movie, he could really do great things. He could be BIGGER than Jack Black and I am a longtime Tenacious D fan. Walken was kind of on auto-pilot but he did have a few funny moments. Patton Oswald was good (as usual) but he essentially only had one scene. You're better off waiting for the DVD. I'm sure the director's cut/unrated version will be a lot funnier. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AndyM.Sep 1, 2007
Predicable. Mindless. Groin Kick. These words pretty much sum up the movie "Balls of Fury". That's not to say it was ALL bad. I liked satirical-feel the movie had, making fun of Kung Fu movies and such. Unfortunately they don't Predicable. Mindless. Groin Kick. These words pretty much sum up the movie "Balls of Fury". That's not to say it was ALL bad. I liked satirical-feel the movie had, making fun of Kung Fu movies and such. Unfortunately they don't pull it off. Watch "Kung Pow" for a stupid comedy in that genre. My friend and I laughed hysterically in one part of "BoF", where this blond chick kept making these weird faces behind the back of a Russian player. That, however, was inadvertent humor, so it doesn't even count. This is a "watch-on-the-web-for-free" movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KenanH.Nov 23, 2007
It was too over the top for me. I love ping pong and thats why it got a 2.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KingT.Jan 30, 2008
I hate to say it but this movie was just plain crap. Did you all see the trailer because that was all the funny parts and they were not that funny. The worst part is you can tell when a joke is made and see it is intended to be funny but you I hate to say it but this movie was just plain crap. Did you all see the trailer because that was all the funny parts and they were not that funny. The worst part is you can tell when a joke is made and see it is intended to be funny but you just wont laugh. Plus Christopher Walken seems sotned or just borred through out the movie. And Dan frougles part was obviously ment for jack black and i can see why he didnt want it. i never really HATE movies but i do this one. Offical grade F. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Dec 18, 2007
Pure sh*t if you watch the preview you can see all of the best jokes in the movie. it is very predictable. not worth the money. i actually wanted my money back after that.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
OwenG.Aug 29, 2007
I really love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RandyWAug 29, 2007
So unfunny and poorly made it actually made me angry for the rest of the day. Something no other film has done to me before. The lead character has no business being in a studio film or any film at all and I hope this is the last the So unfunny and poorly made it actually made me angry for the rest of the day. Something no other film has done to me before. The lead character has no business being in a studio film or any film at all and I hope this is the last the American public ever sees of him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
G-RadA.Sep 3, 2007
Balls of Fury at first looked really stupid and immature. Instead, It's extremely absolutely hilarious with excellent comedy that was well written. For those who wish to watch Balls of Fury, don't forget to bring a tissue-just in Balls of Fury at first looked really stupid and immature. Instead, It's extremely absolutely hilarious with excellent comedy that was well written. For those who wish to watch Balls of Fury, don't forget to bring a tissue-just in case if you start laughing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RutterR.Sep 3, 2007
Ok, so the premise going in is amusing enough. Predictable...well duh, what part of satire don't you understand? Anyways, had a few funny moments, but overall not fully realized. Probably the lamest part was the German villain...boring Ok, so the premise going in is amusing enough. Predictable...well duh, what part of satire don't you understand? Anyways, had a few funny moments, but overall not fully realized. Probably the lamest part was the German villain...boring character, bad performance (I think I saw when I watched through the credits that he was played by one of the writers, so that explained a lot right there). Christopher Walken's performance is just painful to watch...not inspired, seems he is too self aware these days and just doing his "Christoper Walken schtick". If you are bored, at least it is short...but hardly a classic Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NancyHSep 5, 2007
Despite the poor reviews, as a former ping-pong addict, I was willing to pluck down $10 to see this movie. Don't bother. The laughs were very very few and worse yet, not enough ping-pong. The script and one-liners were really stupid. Despite the poor reviews, as a former ping-pong addict, I was willing to pluck down $10 to see this movie. Don't bother. The laughs were very very few and worse yet, not enough ping-pong. The script and one-liners were really stupid. Wanted a few laughs and walked away with a giggle at best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LisaL.Sep 6, 2007
Ridiculously intricate plot details and overly dramatized action sequences spoil what would be an otherwise decent comedy flick. Jack Black would have been better in the role of Randy Daytona.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KabJSep 6, 2007
If Karen S says its a 10 then it must be a 10. She is an adult film star so she knows what makes a good movie....and what makes a good BJ.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Johnny2centsJan 23, 2008
Wow, That anyone would even give this movie anything more than a zero is proof of why the state of this entertainment medium is in the shape its in. This movie could have been directed by a 2 year old for all I know. I rented this for my 14 Wow, That anyone would even give this movie anything more than a zero is proof of why the state of this entertainment medium is in the shape its in. This movie could have been directed by a 2 year old for all I know. I rented this for my 14 year old daughter and she walked away after 10 minutes. She usually will watch just about anything. Christ, she even sat through another gem (Not) "I now pronounce you Chuck & Larry". Now believe me that is proof of how pathetically bad this movie is. What was Christopher Walken thinking?? My guess is he wasn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AlisaH.Jan 29, 2008
This movie was very predictable, I've seen so many movies like this I don't know why I bother. The reason why I saw this was because, well, it was for a club movie night. I paid no money for this and was glad I didn't, but it This movie was very predictable, I've seen so many movies like this I don't know why I bother. The reason why I saw this was because, well, it was for a club movie night. I paid no money for this and was glad I didn't, but it was somewhat in the loosest sense of the word, entertaining. It wasn't great, it wasn't good, and it's just one of those movies, one of those movies that gets spewed out month after month with really nothing new. As for myself, I await a movie that will stir me. One of those movies is "The Dark Knight". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeMOct 20, 2007
Balls of Fury (**1/2) - Does the title sound promising? To most people, probably. It was promising to me. And well, if you go in the theater expecting nothing, you don't really leave disappointed. But you don't leave completely Balls of Fury (**1/2) - Does the title sound promising? To most people, probably. It was promising to me. And well, if you go in the theater expecting nothing, you don't really leave disappointed. But you don't leave completely satisfied either. It is an absolutely out there, insane movie that as you could probably guess, bears no witness to reality or the real leagues around the world that have carried the name of ping pong for thousands of years. The laughs are set at a low bar, but sometimes are able to hit their mark, if anything just for effort. The main problem of this movie is it seems, like its title, to really just be a one-liner. The jokes can be about balls, and the men hitting the balls, but there's really nowhere to go off of that, and to work 90 minutes on balls and men who hit balls, you aren't really going to be able to pull off anything of comedic integrity. However, you root for the main character, you are generally intrigued in how the movie plays out, and well, you have to stick around for most of the movie to see Christopher Walken anyway, so i advise you stay, for that's when some actual laughs start making their way into the scenes. See this movie if you are prepared, just be warned: Balls, and men who hit balls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieM.Aug 29, 2007
This movie is HELLA funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaredC.Aug 29, 2007
"He actually died." "What part about sudden death did you not get." That is the only funny line in the whole movie, and it isn't very funny anyways, its just a little giggle and thats it. Everything else is stupid. The Ping Pong "He actually died." "What part about sudden death did you not get." That is the only funny line in the whole movie, and it isn't very funny anyways, its just a little giggle and thats it. Everything else is stupid. The Ping Pong sequences are appealing, but nothing else is. It could have been better, I just don't see how it can be a comedy when it should be a thriller. I found it quite boring, it is nothing special, and it sucked. Its crappy, the acting was bad (decides Christopher Walken's), all the humor is in the trailer, but after watching the trailer how many times. All the funny stuff isn't funny, because you've seen it a billion times. Anyways, I found it very disappointing because after our great Nacho Libre, Balls of Fury I figured was the same kind of type. But it ended out being dull, pointless, unrealistic, stupid movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnL.Sep 14, 2007
this was one the worst movies I ever sat through..It has poor comic timing and the story was completely lame ..dumb jokes and bad cinematography even the hot Asian girl couldn't save this weak movie..George Lopez should be ashamed of this was one the worst movies I ever sat through..It has poor comic timing and the story was completely lame ..dumb jokes and bad cinematography even the hot Asian girl couldn't save this weak movie..George Lopez should be ashamed of himself..I'm glad I didn't pay for it I snuck in.If it weren't for my friend wanting to stay I would have left!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelaS.Sep 2, 2007
Hi, my name is Angela S., I am an adult film star..It obviously takes alot to get a rise out of me...And this movie was by far hllarious! It was done just right..I was a little skepticle reading the all of these bad reviews..?? Anything with Hi, my name is Angela S., I am an adult film star..It obviously takes alot to get a rise out of me...And this movie was by far hllarious! It was done just right..I was a little skepticle reading the all of these bad reviews..?? Anything with Christoper Walken in it is a must see for sure! He is unbelieveable in this! funny!! Do yourself a favor and see this movie!!!xo Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BrittneyS.Aug 31, 2007
This movie is not that bad. It's predictable, and the same story line that has been used 100 times, but certainly has it's funny parts. I had tickets to a free sneak peek of it, and was very pleasantly surprised. Good for stupid, This movie is not that bad. It's predictable, and the same story line that has been used 100 times, but certainly has it's funny parts. I had tickets to a free sneak peek of it, and was very pleasantly surprised. Good for stupid, mindless comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JamesG.Sep 14, 2007
I'm a Brit, and I went to see this movie while I was in America. I wouldn't see it again, The comedy wasn't even apparent most of the time. A lot of it was doing silly things like playing ping-pong with a spoon. Could be funny I'm a Brit, and I went to see this movie while I was in America. I wouldn't see it again, The comedy wasn't even apparent most of the time. A lot of it was doing silly things like playing ping-pong with a spoon. Could be funny for some, but I didn't laugh. So thats how it fails. It's meant to be a silly comedy movie but it's not even funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoshMSep 21, 2007
Yeah this movie was amazingly unfunny. It's not that I was expecting anything other than a dumb comedy either, but there was no comedy to speak of. It was just dumb and I'm a sucker for stupid laughs. I can't stress enough how Yeah this movie was amazingly unfunny. It's not that I was expecting anything other than a dumb comedy either, but there was no comedy to speak of. It was just dumb and I'm a sucker for stupid laughs. I can't stress enough how bad this was. Balls of Fury went down as the first movie I've ever walked out on. Thank god I didn't pay to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PaulM.Jan 17, 2008
Except for a brief laugh at about the ten minute mark, I watched Balls of Fury in stunned silence, shocked at just how remarkably unfunny it was. At least twice my mouth was agape in utter disbelief at how a particular scene or snippet of Except for a brief laugh at about the ten minute mark, I watched Balls of Fury in stunned silence, shocked at just how remarkably unfunny it was. At least twice my mouth was agape in utter disbelief at how a particular scene or snippet of dialogue made it to the screen without someone, somewhere, at some point of the process having the sense, and sense of humor, to revise or get rid of it. I mean there are talented and funny actors in the movie. Were they all just picking up paychecks? Possibly the worst movie of the young millenium, and a real textbook example of how NOT to do comedy. The one star is for the one laugh, but I think it deserves more like a half or a quarter star. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndyE.Apr 27, 2008
My mom and I decided to try to watch this movie, and the keyword here is tried. We didn't even get halfway through because the jokes simply failed and I barely even chuckled through the part we did see. Most of the lines I even thought My mom and I decided to try to watch this movie, and the keyword here is tried. We didn't even get halfway through because the jokes simply failed and I barely even chuckled through the part we did see. Most of the lines I even thought of were said so it was extremely predictable. Quite easily one of the worst movies I've ever tried to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
markAug 22, 2010
I watched it because someone bought it for me as a gift. What a pity i cant ask for my money back. I'm currently searching through my DVD to find the worst movie in my collection. I plan to return the favour and waste 2 hours of his life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Night_Hawk_2012May 17, 2012
Good comedy movie unlike others users I thought the acting was good. Christopher Walken was great, Dan Fogler did well also, Maggie Q also delivered a good performance. And James Hong was hysterical! You should definitely watch for some laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ballpark_frankNov 24, 2012
While not exactly "Some Like it Hot", this flick has some funny moments, though it's extremely 'forced' humor. I myself like how it follows (vaguely) the plot of "Enter the Dragon", and draws upon many of the martial arts cliches. Still,While not exactly "Some Like it Hot", this flick has some funny moments, though it's extremely 'forced' humor. I myself like how it follows (vaguely) the plot of "Enter the Dragon", and draws upon many of the martial arts cliches. Still, it's not rolling-on-the-floor funny. And the silly backstory, substituting ping-pong for martial arts had to have been thought up during some booze or drug-related party. Part of me is saying "No more than 4.0", but it IS one of my several guilty pleasures, thus the extra 1.0. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
shpreaJun 28, 2013
Why so many bad reviews? I found this movie awesome. It's not meant to be some sort of artistically brilliant take on the form of ping pong. It's about a fat guy beating other weird people at ping pong while being threatened by ChristopherWhy so many bad reviews? I found this movie awesome. It's not meant to be some sort of artistically brilliant take on the form of ping pong. It's about a fat guy beating other weird people at ping pong while being threatened by Christopher Walken. The point of the movie was to make me laugh, and I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
weirdcryoAug 22, 2016
This movie is dumb fun but not as good as other dumb movies, despite that it is pretty watchable unlike other movies that take themselves too serious or are plain bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews