Samuel Goldwyn Company, The | Release Date: February 6, 2003
9.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 29 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
0
Negative:
0
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MadsT.May 5, 2004
Perfection... It touches you in a way you'll newer dreamt could be done. An almost chocking experience!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardW.Feb 1, 2005
A sunning visual narrative that takes the breath away. It encapulates the human condition in a way i've seldom seen in film. A true masterpeice that deserves greater recognition than it recieves. Truly, truly stunning!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Feb 19, 2003
What I want to know is how clips from this great film made its way into a commercial for Nissan? That made me sick. The photography looks incredible on my Vega, so I imagine it must be mind-blowing to see this film in its 70-mm glory. What I want to know is how clips from this great film made its way into a commercial for Nissan? That made me sick. The photography looks incredible on my Vega, so I imagine it must be mind-blowing to see this film in its 70-mm glory. I've only seen one such film in this format and that was Ron Howard's "Far and Away". To view "Baraka" as a long-format music video would do Ron Fricke and his collaborators an injustice. There's a story. It's the story of life on this planet. Awards are pretty meaningless but it would've been nice if this film was recognized by the Academy. "Baraka" is no better or worse than the Reggio pictures. What gives "Baraka" the ever slightest nod over "Koyaanquatsi" and its two sequels is the soundtrack. It's a stunner. In particular, the music that accompanies the segment in Italy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JethroG.May 8, 2003
Stunning, awesome, meditative, sublime, jarring, culturally relativistic, sobering, inspiring, catalyst for action, reverent, masterful, visually intense, like fractals, a metaphor for humanity, binary oppositions juxtaposed, contrasted, Stunning, awesome, meditative, sublime, jarring, culturally relativistic, sobering, inspiring, catalyst for action, reverent, masterful, visually intense, like fractals, a metaphor for humanity, binary oppositions juxtaposed, contrasted, complementary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CherNJan 25, 2009
A beautiful film. Couldn't stop watching. It gets your attention at once. Worth the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoviFeb 19, 2003
A visual expolration of humanity and the world around us. This documentary is amazingly beautiful and the score fits it like a glove. A must see in the big screen - anything else would be a waste of an experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CemilG.Apr 28, 2003
"We come face to face with dark side of the dark side of cosmos" says my wife. As for me,Baraka is one of the few films which prove that cinema is an art form.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MustafaB.May 28, 2003
It was a beautiful picture of the heart ... A deep gaze into the nothingness and the beauty it has. Still thinking of it. It is hard to forget that scene, stars, sky, everything, and everything, has been spinning ... What a pleasure it was It was a beautiful picture of the heart ... A deep gaze into the nothingness and the beauty it has. Still thinking of it. It is hard to forget that scene, stars, sky, everything, and everything, has been spinning ... What a pleasure it was .... I am grateful to those who brought the fragrance of life to our soul. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EzekielFeb 12, 2003
A perfectly beautiful visual experience. It flows much like a symphony where you can see the notes. It is hard to call a movie in that it lacks any elements of plot, character, etc. I highly recommend it, but make sure you are in an A perfectly beautiful visual experience. It flows much like a symphony where you can see the notes. It is hard to call a movie in that it lacks any elements of plot, character, etc. I highly recommend it, but make sure you are in an energetic mood. Everybody I know that has seen it when they were tired has fallen asleep (once again, kinda like a symphony :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
YoonC.Sep 14, 2003
At its worst, it's either an empty travelogue with pretty but hollow images or preachy new age film about modern man's imbalance in the cosmic order. At its best, it's a sweeping and comprehensive celebration of human At its worst, it's either an empty travelogue with pretty but hollow images or preachy new age film about modern man's imbalance in the cosmic order. At its best, it's a sweeping and comprehensive celebration of human spiritual/artistic achievement, the timelessness of the human soul, and possibility of the everlasting and the transient uniting to create a sense of harmony between man and nature. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
manofthemoonJan 23, 2015
A film without words, "Baraka" is possibly the most stunning visual feast ever and shows mankind's ongoing destruction of the planet. Watch it and wonder about the possibilities remaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CorbanDallas2Nov 23, 2014
My review is simple..if you are looking for a blockbuster, this is not it. but i can safely say that this is possibly the best piece of cinematic art I have ever seen!!!!!!
absolutely astounding!
additionally, it is not for the faint
My review is simple..if you are looking for a blockbuster, this is not it. but i can safely say that this is possibly the best piece of cinematic art I have ever seen!!!!!!
absolutely astounding!
additionally, it is not for the faint hearted, it is beautiful and brutal.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews