MCA/Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 31, 1998
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 42 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
28
Mixed:
13
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
Hemp316Oct 5, 2015
To truly like this film you have to know who the two main Actors in the film are-Trey Parker and Matt Stone.They of course are the creators of South Park and are extremely talented as the success of South Park can prove.As Actors they are areTo truly like this film you have to know who the two main Actors in the film are-Trey Parker and Matt Stone.They of course are the creators of South Park and are extremely talented as the success of South Park can prove.As Actors they are are alright,mostly acting natural as themselves.Let's face it,this is A Naked Gun-type Comedy.There are quite A lot of funny moments,however the reason I don't really score it higher than I did is of two things really-the Movie taking way too long and some crude scenes.

The length of it went A tad longer than I would of liked.There are A lot parts of the Movie that could of been edited differently as to shorten them as some scenes go on way too long thus extending the length of the Movie overall.My other gripe with the Movie is some of the crude scenes.Now,I am not A prude and I do understand the reason in which they were intended and it does makes sense within the Movie.However,some of them were just too gross for Me and felt like they were there just for shock value rather than genuine comedy.

The rest of the Movie has good Veteran Actors in it that are instantly recognizable.The rest of the cast do their best and it comes off as good performances all around.The main positive for Me was Trey Parker and Matt Stone.Overall,it was all about them and I am sure that was the selling point of the Movie when it was released.Other than that it's A fair comedy,but nothing too memorable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cag11Nov 30, 2013
It was cheap, I do admit that, but I wasn't watching it for the story. I was watching it because it was hilarious. Making a new sport is hard, and giving credit that was a well put together sport, but I don't think I would want to play it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jamison12Jun 6, 2013
This movie is essentially South Park in real life. Laughs are abundant and trey Parker and Matt Stone solidify themselves as comedic geniuses in this sports comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerApr 27, 2013
The creative minds behind South Park, Trey Parker and Matt Stone, star in this hilarious comedy. It comes across as almost a spoof of sports movies. It's humor is crude and immature, so don't watch this if you want to see a "smart" comedy. IThe creative minds behind South Park, Trey Parker and Matt Stone, star in this hilarious comedy. It comes across as almost a spoof of sports movies. It's humor is crude and immature, so don't watch this if you want to see a "smart" comedy. I for one really enjoyed this movie, the only complaint I have is that it uses too many of the cliches that sports movies use. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
7dogguyOct 13, 2012
this movie is really funny and its actually fun and interesting to watch there are really hilarious jokes in this movie coming from the creators of south park you would probably already expect this but while this movie is really funnythis movie is really funny and its actually fun and interesting to watch there are really hilarious jokes in this movie coming from the creators of south park you would probably already expect this but while this movie is really funny interesting some parts are just bland and others just take it really far with sexual jokes besides those 2 things this movie is pretty good also there is alot less cussing in this then i thought there would be but theres enough but that makes the movie better because they dont try to push the humor on you Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HalfwelshmanSep 17, 2011
Once again, David Zucker proves himself to be a great comic talent, not just of parody, but of a wide variety of humour - he is able to flaunt clever dialogue on moment, then shift the tone to outright childishness the next. OK, so it's notOnce again, David Zucker proves himself to be a great comic talent, not just of parody, but of a wide variety of humour - he is able to flaunt clever dialogue on moment, then shift the tone to outright childishness the next. OK, so it's not quite on par with Airplane! or Naked Gun, but it's a league better than the atrocious Scary Movie sequels. Some jokes don't quite hit the mark, but the majority will have you roaring with laughter, and the film leaves plenty of room for Parker and Stone to shine. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JamesSMar 13, 2009
A very much underrated film. Very saterical towards sports and the industry around it. Plus has similar style of humor found in South Park. What's not to love? Now excuse me while I play Nintendo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexGApr 11, 2008
A superb film from start to finish, it packs a truely awe-inspiring explosion of zany humor with tiny gags to make you positively wet yourself,it's a shame this film isn't in the public eye more like Airplane or The Naked Gun, as A superb film from start to finish, it packs a truely awe-inspiring explosion of zany humor with tiny gags to make you positively wet yourself,it's a shame this film isn't in the public eye more like Airplane or The Naked Gun, as the humor is just as good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BendikAug 23, 2007
This movie is so bad that it was funny.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatrickJan 3, 2007
I don't understand how the original Scary Movie got pretty decent reviews yet this movie, which is far less childish and far less disgusting gets terrible reviews. This movie is not the send-up of pro sports it starts out to be, no. I don't understand how the original Scary Movie got pretty decent reviews yet this movie, which is far less childish and far less disgusting gets terrible reviews. This movie is not the send-up of pro sports it starts out to be, no. Zucker and Parker throw their satirical ability about like it was nothing, practically showing off, and yet they make the best underdog comedy of all time. People think Dodgeball is good? Perhaps it is. But if you don't like BASEketball, that's because you haven't arrived at that humor yet. It's a movie 10 years ahead of it's humor. If it came out this year it would be a hit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful