Basic Instinct

User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 258
  2. Negative: 68 out of 258

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 2, 2014
    3
    not to good for the kids the guy at blockbuster down on 3rd said that it was a good movie and i watched it with my grandson.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  2. Mar 20, 2011
    2
    I felt like I was watching a porno, with the same production value and cheap plot. The sex scenes were entirely over the top, and the movie was extremely predictable. Pretty much a waste of 2 hours.
  3. Jack
    May 9, 2003
    3
    Feh... cheap lurid thrills.
  4. YoonC.
    Sep 14, 2003
    2
    Basically stinks. Glossy thriller porn with sterile, mindnumbing results. The film's main notoriety revolved around beating about Stone's bush.
  5. PatC.
    Jan 10, 2004
    2
    Nicely assembled movie built with substandard parts. This is about pure compulsion, not instinct. A man with the instinct of an ant would have run the other way. Men instinctively breathe, eat, drink, and pursue sexual gratification. But apparently the most basic instinct is to behave like a clueless moron. That's what happens when you advertise sex and smoking at the same time - way Nicely assembled movie built with substandard parts. This is about pure compulsion, not instinct. A man with the instinct of an ant would have run the other way. Men instinctively breathe, eat, drink, and pursue sexual gratification. But apparently the most basic instinct is to behave like a clueless moron. That's what happens when you advertise sex and smoking at the same time - way to go Sharon. I'm not buying ice cubes either. I saw it in The Other Side of Midnight, but it must be one of those crazy California things now. Expand
  6. TonyB.
    Feb 12, 2006
    2
    Glossy trash with not a believable minute in it, "Basic Instinct" attracted customers who should have spent their money more wisely. The dance hall scene, so over the top, is a scream!
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 28
  2. Negative: 9 out of 28
  1. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    Oct 15, 2014
    63
    Paul Verhoeven's Basic Instinct is a slick, trashy, blatantly manipulative thriller that you won't stop watching once you start. [20 Mar 1992, p.25]
  2. Portland Oregonian
    Reviewed by: Barry Johnson
    Oct 15, 2014
    38
    One suspects that [Verhoeven's] produced exactly the movie he wanted to produce: fast, cynical and profitable. Cha-ching. [20 Mar 1992, p.AE17]
  3. St. Louis Post-Dispatch
    Reviewed by: Joe Pollack
    Oct 15, 2014
    75
    A splendid murder mystery, but one with as much gore and steamy sex as I've seen in a long time. [20 Mar 1992, p.3F]