Batman Begins

Batman Begins Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 2120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Christopher Nolan's Batman Begins explores the origins of the Batman legend and the Dark Knight's emergence as a force for good in Gotham. [Warner Bros.]

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. For the first time since "X-Men," I was on the edge of my seat anticipating a sequel, wondering who'd play the Joker and how quickly Nolan - it must be Nolan! - can bring the next chapter of this story to the screen.
  2. Technically, the film is consistently impressive. It creates a grimly gothic vision of a crime-ridden and depression-ravaged Gotham City, a dandy pair of chase sequences involving the new generation Batmobile and a range of innovative visual effects.
  3. Batman Begins emerges from the darkness and leaves a powerful, lasting impression.
  4. 75
    Batman Begins is a mature take on material often relegated to the kiddie file, and it's simply the latest proof that, when treated properly, comic books are a viable art form for all ages. Bring on the sequel.
  5. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    70
    Batman Begins summons up moments of great eloquence and power. If only its cast of characters was as fully inhabited as its turbulent city.
  6. Nolan and his co-screenwriter David Goyer can only press the big buttons so hard—it's still an old-school superhero summer movie, the plotting tortuous, the characters relegated to one-scene-one-emotion simplicity, the digitized action a never ending club mix of chases and mano a manos.
  7. Even if there were a great movie here, it would have been undermined by two lead actors who are barely even there, asked to deliver lines they can't handle: Bale, playing the Batman with clipped wings, and Katie Holmes as an assistant district attorney who doesn't have the gravitas to pass as an intern. Come back, Alicia Silverstone; all is forgiven.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 602
  1. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    I have not watched all of the Batman movies, so I can't really compare this triumph to the other films. I will say this: I was only able toI have not watched all of the Batman movies, so I can't really compare this triumph to the other films. I will say this: I was only able to stomach about 15 minutes of Batman Forever (the Schwarzenegger one) so... I guess it's safe to say that this one kicked the other's hind quarters... pretty hard if I may add. The film is dark, edgy and well acted. The plot is good (not groundbreaking, but it really holds your attention). You will never be bored... or annoyed, like in Batman Forever. The best performances come from the effortless class of Michael Caine as Alfred, Cillian Murphy as the cold Dr. Crane and Liam Neeson as the main villain, Henri Ducard. Expand
  2. James
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    Finally Batman as it should have always been. Real, emotional, and at times raw. Christian Bale does a great job of making Bruce Wayne/Batman Finally Batman as it should have always been. Real, emotional, and at times raw. Christian Bale does a great job of making Bruce Wayne/Batman a much more real person trying to do right and not always suceeding than any of the other hacks (besides Keaton) who have played the Dark Knight. I've watched this movie almost a dozen times now and I'll watch it a dozen times more...until the sequel comes out :-) Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    I rented Batman Begins on the Christmas Holidays in 2013 because Batman is my all time favourite superhero and I heard great things about it.I rented Batman Begins on the Christmas Holidays in 2013 because Batman is my all time favourite superhero and I heard great things about it. Batman Begins is a film that was supposed to reboot the Batman franchise after the awful 1997 movie Batman and Robin. Batman Begins shows how Bruce Wayne, the owner of Wayne Enterprises becomes Batman. The story has a darker tone to it, which I like because I am a huge sucker for dark stories in anything. The acting was top notch for all characters, the action scenes were awesome, and the directing was clearly the best seeing how great the movie was. Normally, I would be skeptical about reboots, seeing as they could go either way, but Christopher Nolan did an outstanding job with this movie. It's too bad the video game did not do any justice for the movie, as I think it is why some people do not like the movie. Expand
  4. ScottH.
    Oct 23, 2005
    9
    One of the best movies I saw in a theater this year. I know it's almost blasphemous to say, but I liked this Batman even better than the One of the best movies I saw in a theater this year. I know it's almost blasphemous to say, but I liked this Batman even better than the Keaton/Nicholson Batman. This is simply a very cool film. Expand
  5. May 7, 2013
    9
    Nolan brings a fully realised and compelling Gotham to the big screen without resorting to the camp or ridiculous. Faithful to the finestNolan brings a fully realised and compelling Gotham to the big screen without resorting to the camp or ridiculous. Faithful to the finest comics, Batman Begins is the first live action film worthy of the Dark Knight. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    An excellent start to the trilogy. It has impressive visuals, a strong heart, and it's just great. Christopher Nolan's characters are cool,An excellent start to the trilogy. It has impressive visuals, a strong heart, and it's just great. Christopher Nolan's characters are cool, powerful and really fun to watch. Expand
  7. Liz
    Oct 18, 2005
    0
    Boring, pointless, and stupid, my little cousin almost had a heart attack seeing it.

See all 602 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. DC Comics Movies, Ranked

    DC Comics Movies, Ranked Image
    Published: July 12, 2016
    We rank every DC Comics movie by Metascore.
  2. Iron Man 2 vs. Other Superhero Sequels

    Iron Man 2 vs. Other Superhero Sequels Image
    Published: May 6, 2010
    How does "Iron Man 2" compare to the first "Iron Man," and how have other superhero sequels performed in the past?
  3. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  4. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.