Batman Begins

Batman Begins Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 2075 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Christopher Nolan's Batman Begins explores the origins of the Batman legend and the Dark Knight's emergence as a force for good in Gotham. [Warner Bros.]

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. For the first time since "X-Men," I was on the edge of my seat anticipating a sequel, wondering who'd play the Joker and how quickly Nolan - it must be Nolan! - can bring the next chapter of this story to the screen.
  2. Technically, the film is consistently impressive. It creates a grimly gothic vision of a crime-ridden and depression-ravaged Gotham City, a dandy pair of chase sequences involving the new generation Batmobile and a range of innovative visual effects.
  3. Batman Begins emerges from the darkness and leaves a powerful, lasting impression.
  4. 75
    Batman Begins is a mature take on material often relegated to the kiddie file, and it's simply the latest proof that, when treated properly, comic books are a viable art form for all ages. Bring on the sequel.
  5. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    70
    Batman Begins summons up moments of great eloquence and power. If only its cast of characters was as fully inhabited as its turbulent city.
  6. Nolan and his co-screenwriter David Goyer can only press the big buttons so hard—it's still an old-school superhero summer movie, the plotting tortuous, the characters relegated to one-scene-one-emotion simplicity, the digitized action a never ending club mix of chases and mano a manos.
  7. Even if there were a great movie here, it would have been undermined by two lead actors who are barely even there, asked to deliver lines they can't handle: Bale, playing the Batman with clipped wings, and Katie Holmes as an assistant district attorney who doesn't have the gravitas to pass as an intern. Come back, Alicia Silverstone; all is forgiven.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 601
  1. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    I have not watched all of the Batman movies, so I can't really compare this triumph to the other films. I will say this: I was only able toI have not watched all of the Batman movies, so I can't really compare this triumph to the other films. I will say this: I was only able to stomach about 15 minutes of Batman Forever (the Schwarzenegger one) so... I guess it's safe to say that this one kicked the other's hind quarters... pretty hard if I may add. The film is dark, edgy and well acted. The plot is good (not groundbreaking, but it really holds your attention). You will never be bored... or annoyed, like in Batman Forever. The best performances come from the effortless class of Michael Caine as Alfred, Cillian Murphy as the cold Dr. Crane and Liam Neeson as the main villain, Henri Ducard. Expand
  2. Dontel
    Feb 14, 2006
    10
    One of the best movies of any Genre in about 3 years i thought a good story was obsolete in movies but this proved me wrong.
  3. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Christopher Nolan redeems the Caped Crusader's appalling movie history by injecting the perfect mix of emotion, action, and intelligence, andChristopher Nolan redeems the Caped Crusader's appalling movie history by injecting the perfect mix of emotion, action, and intelligence, and "begins" one of cinema's greatest trilogies. Expand
  4. BillS.
    Oct 20, 2005
    9
    After seeing the other Batman movies, I expected another high tech, shallow, but enjoyable movie. I was surprised to see that the emphasis on After seeing the other Batman movies, I expected another high tech, shallow, but enjoyable movie. I was surprised to see that the emphasis on story and character development made this the best Batman, by far, and an excellent overall movie (which just can't be said about the other Batman flicks). See it! Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    After the euphoria of Tim Burton's Batman in 1989, the series began encounter when fashion designer and then director Joel Schumacher tookAfter the euphoria of Tim Burton's Batman in 1989, the series began encounter when fashion designer and then director Joel Schumacher took over, first with a mediocre Batman Forever, and Batman and Robin universally repudiated (1997), where the character string returned to play the camp TV series of 1966. Roger Moore as James Bond and took him into a cartoon, after succession occurred with Timothy Dalton and a stoic interpretation on the same wavelength as the expeditious Sean Connery and people turned away. The public had become accustomed to a new facet of the character and repudiated the return to their sources (or the general idea that previously existed on the character). If Batman and Robin would have been the first film of 1989, may not have generated much rejection (was more in line with what you remember from the Adam West series). But I used (and fascinated) with Burton's dark vision, just became the worst sacrilege that he could make the character, and the series went into a freezer which take years to emerge.
    But Christopher Nolan majestual managed to save this doomed series.
    Certainly the combination is more than interesting. First, Goyer and Nolan decide counting from zero overcast history, even with sagging elements of continuity with Burton's films.
    Second, is the epic view. Not only do we see the origin of Bruce Wayne Batman, but its evolution.
    The story is beautifully told, The origin of the character is totally brilliant but the film begins to falter a bit when Wayne is now Batman. Especially the lack of true brilliance of his villains: the Scarecrow is simply a psychopathic killer, whose origin is unknown. Ra's Al Ghul that the comic was an immortal is blurred, lacking depth or greater, perhaps, as the focus of the script indicates, is profiled secondary mode, so as not to steal the overcast scene. Maybe Carmine Falcone is, in his brief, most brilliant, cynical and sinister villains disguised. In if the story is not quite good and is still the subject of children but the performances are superb, and certainly Christian Bale is the definitive Batman. The score is excellent, somehow, Batman leaves his scientific side, relegating it to a new character as Lucius Fox, the relationship with childhood sweetheart, played by Katie Holmes, is warm, the villains plan is in a sense recycling plan of the first Batman Joker. But they are very minor flaws compared to the density, brilliance and excellence of the film.
    It is the beginning of an epic new era, that of a gentleman, a vigilante protector, a dark knight. You must see it.
    My Score: 9.3
    Expand
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    8
    Chris Nolan starts the origin of Bruce Wayne as Batman with a bang and kept me hooked until the very end. I was so glad to finally see aChris Nolan starts the origin of Bruce Wayne as Batman with a bang and kept me hooked until the very end. I was so glad to finally see a Batman film for the 21st century. Expand
  7. Liz
    Oct 18, 2005
    0
    Boring, pointless, and stupid, my little cousin almost had a heart attack seeing it.

See all 601 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. DC Comics Movies, Ranked

    DC Comics Movies, Ranked Image
    Published: July 12, 2016
    We rank every DC Comics movie by Metascore.
  2. Iron Man 2 vs. Other Superhero Sequels

    Iron Man 2 vs. Other Superhero Sequels Image
    Published: May 6, 2010
    How does "Iron Man 2" compare to the first "Iron Man," and how have other superhero sequels performed in the past?
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  6. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.