Batman Forever

Batman Forever Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 391 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Unlike Burton, Schumacher doesn't let his stylistic and thematic fascinations run away with him; he keeps one hand on the wheel at all times. The result isn't as emotionally daring and visually outrageous as Burton at his best, but it's better paced and more consistently entertaining from one sequence to the next.
  2. Although the film's frenetic rhythm is reminiscent of an "Indiana Jones" picture, visually Schumacher directs it like a musical, turning each image into eye candy, weaving one lush set piece into the next, as if he were the Vincente Minnelli of blockbusters.
  3. 75
    Schumacher's method is to use a lighter touch, to stay closer to the cartoon that Bob Kane created for DC Comics in 1939 and to temper Burton's nightmare world with an accessible, brightly colored TV palette.
  4. 60
    Sometimes thrilling, but rarely inspired, it is thoroughly-almost perfectly-adequate.
  5. As for the actual movie, it's the empty-calorie equivalent of a Happy Meal (another Batman tie-in), so clearly a product that the question of its cinematic merit is strictly an afterthought.
  6. Directed by Joel Schumacher with occasional gestures toward social commentary, and enough spectacle to mask the movie's deep down emptiness.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    20
    The only thing Schumacher and his scrupulous craftsfolk forgot to give the movie was life -- the energizing spirit of wit and passion that makes scenes work and characters breathe.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 67
  2. Negative: 16 out of 67
  1. JamesT.
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    The best of all five batmans jim carrey rules.
  2. Mar 7, 2011
    9
    OMG!!!! Jim Carrey actually gave a truly good performance?!?!?! I was shocked that he actually did a good job, this has to be my favoriteOMG!!!! Jim Carrey actually gave a truly good performance?!?!?! I was shocked that he actually did a good job, this has to be my favorite Batman movie ever, the acting is great as is the plot, this is a truly enjoyable movie for fans of Batman. Expand
  3. May 9, 2012
    7
    Alot of people hate this movie but i really like it. It's a good movie to just sit and watch and you don't have to pay close attention to.Alot of people hate this movie but i really like it. It's a good movie to just sit and watch and you don't have to pay close attention to. It's not the best batman movie by any means but it is a movie i enjoy. Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2010
    5
    Love Jim Carry love batman, but hate this movie i mean seriously he kills two face which compleley ruins the movie that's batmans only ruleLove Jim Carry love batman, but hate this movie i mean seriously he kills two face which compleley ruins the movie that's batmans only rule for those who are not batman fans Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    5
    A toy and childlike feature with a bizarre Tommy Lee Jones. Nicole Kidman is at best a whimsical damsel-in-distress. The only mildlyA toy and childlike feature with a bizarre Tommy Lee Jones. Nicole Kidman is at best a whimsical damsel-in-distress. The only mildly entertaining piece is Jim Carrey's eccentric and malevolent Riddler. Otherwise Schumacher fails as an action film director Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    Schumacher's Batman is more colorful, and lighthearted than Burton's. This is not a good thing. Burton's vision, though imperfect, surpassesSchumacher's Batman is more colorful, and lighthearted than Burton's. This is not a good thing. Burton's vision, though imperfect, surpasses Schumacher's in every way, shape, and form. Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2011
    0
    This film is just so stupid. The script and overacting complete ruins the potential of this film, Not to mention that the entire film looksThis film is just so stupid. The script and overacting complete ruins the potential of this film, Not to mention that the entire film looks like you are on LCD. Expand

See all 67 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. DC Comics Movies, Ranked

    DC Comics Movies, Ranked Image
    Published: July 12, 2016
    We rank every DC Comics movie by Metascore.
  2. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.