User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 356 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 356
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    4
    Batman & Robin may be bad, but I like to think of it as a guilty pleasure. You watch it sometimes, and think afterwards, "Damn, what a bad movie this was. So, maybe in a couple months I'll re-watch it?"
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    3
    What I learned from "Batman & Robin" is that...
    1) Joel Schumacher is a useless director.
    2) Batman has lost its face and originality (Seriously, Bat credit card?)
    3) I must preach the people to NEVER watch this piece of mess.
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    3
    This is an absolutely dreadful exploitation of the Batman franchise. The actor portraying the caped crusader has been different the last three films and each actor has screwed up the role worse than the last.
  4. Jul 4, 2013
    1
    One of the worst comic book movies of all time. Joel Schumacher killed the Batman franchise in the 90's with this piece of garbage. I mean seriously Bat nipples.
  5. j30
    Jan 26, 2012
    1
    Probably one of the worst big budget movies I have ever seen. AVOID THIS MOVIE. If you want good Batman movies watch Christopher Nolan's or Tim Burton's take, their both aesthetically pleasing than this waste of space on the movie rental shelf (or Netflix queue). I give it a one merely because of the awful lines that are hilarious, but you can still miss the film just watch thisProbably one of the worst big budget movies I have ever seen. AVOID THIS MOVIE. If you want good Batman movies watch Christopher Nolan's or Tim Burton's take, their both aesthetically pleasing than this waste of space on the movie rental shelf (or Netflix queue). I give it a one merely because of the awful lines that are hilarious, but you can still miss the film just watch this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SRH-Ywpz1_I Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2015
    4
    Director Joel Schumacher has a few tricks up his selves behind the camera, apparently the whole concept of this film is to sell toys. Schumacher's other batman movie ('Batman Forever') was entertaining with a comedic sidekick villain Jim Carey's little one liners. The dumbest thing we have to watch is George Clooney being batman, who does nothing in the film that are just worth watching.Director Joel Schumacher has a few tricks up his selves behind the camera, apparently the whole concept of this film is to sell toys. Schumacher's other batman movie ('Batman Forever') was entertaining with a comedic sidekick villain Jim Carey's little one liners. The dumbest thing we have to watch is George Clooney being batman, who does nothing in the film that are just worth watching. When Screenwriter Akiva Goldsman making Batman like able he is actually unlike able by letting Clooney be "Clooney" meanwhile Arnold's funny one liners are ruining this film. With a dumb story a dumb cast this movie is a parody of the film batman. Grade C- Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2010
    2
    superheroes don't get credit cards!!!
  8. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    This Batman movie is basically mocking itself by even existing. With stupidity and awful acting and a stupid villain who was horribly miscast along with weak action you have a spoof of a great superhero. But it is worse because it is twice the mockery of itself. I give this movie 5%.
  9. Aug 23, 2013
    1
    Gay as f**k, with no real congruity, Batman & Robin is a piece of s**t. Schumacher ruined the series with this gay bull***t that he added just because he is gay
  10. Feb 19, 2012
    3
    I can occasionally appreciate Joel Schumacher as a director - Tigerland was a good character-driven war drama, Phonebooth a decent thriller, even Batman Forever had a quirky, flamboyant charm about it. Batman & Robin, on the other hand, is a pretty shoddy film. The "franchise killer" as it's been dubbed, is a whole new level of campiness and bad acting, with a dire joke-laden script andI can occasionally appreciate Joel Schumacher as a director - Tigerland was a good character-driven war drama, Phonebooth a decent thriller, even Batman Forever had a quirky, flamboyant charm about it. Batman & Robin, on the other hand, is a pretty shoddy film. The "franchise killer" as it's been dubbed, is a whole new level of campiness and bad acting, with a dire joke-laden script and cartoonish action and sound effects. I can understand Schumacher wanting to cheer the Batman franchise up a bit after Tim Burton's Goth-tastic tenure, but this film goes above and beyond adding a lighter touch to proceedings, often bordering on parody. George Clooney, playing the new Bruce Wayne/Batman, has a permanent expression of pained embarrassment on his face, Arnold Schwarzenegger's Mr Freeze is comical (mostly due to the abundance of ice-based quips he's forced to spout) and Uma Thurman's performance as Poison Ivy is so bad and lacking in emotion that she looks like she's reading cue cards. Chris O'Donnell is just about pasaible reprising his role as Dick Grayson/Robin, and newcomer Alicia Silverstone makes no impact at all as Barbara Wilson/Batgirl. The only cast member who gives any performance of note is the ever-brilliant Michael Gough, reprising for the fourth time his role of Alfred, Bruce Wayne's wise and loyal butler, though the emotional impact of Alfred being at death's door is somewhat ruined by the fact that Gough has to share the majority of his screen-time with Clooney. The film's set pieces are largely unremarkable, excepting the quite gripping bike chase between Dick, Barbara and a gang of street thugs, and the film's visually impressive finale where Mr Freeze quite literally puts Gotham city "on ice". Batman & Robin isn't a superhero film, it's a joke. It's so over-the-top and unintentionally funny, in fact, that for all of its faults (and there are many), you can get a perverse kind of pleasure out of watching it. There are films that are so bad they're good. This isn't one of them, but it is nearly at the stage where it's so bad it's acceptable, at least as a comedy film. I can screenings of Batman & Robin being held in the not too distant future where people really indulge in its awfulness. Can you imagine a room full of people wearing their bat-nipples and quoting Arnie's terrible puns in time with the film? I can, and surprisingly enough, that doesn't scare me - in fact it sounds quite fun. Not bad for a film that claims to be a superhero movie, but in fact resembles something between an extravagant toy commercial and one of the lesser Carry On films. Expand
  11. May 10, 2014
    1
    What you will witness in this movie is: Boring story, goofy and campy dialogue, ridiculous costumes, incredible slack of narrative and a 2 hours long abdominal mess. What saves this movie from being a complete piece of sh*t is the "okay" music and the special effects but believe me, this must be one of the worst super-heroes movie that I can't imagine what film could be worse than this
  12. Jan 13, 2014
    3
    This film is entertaining for the sole reason that it is dreadful. I can think of a number of drinking games that can be played while watching such as:
    1) take a shot when Arnie makes a 'cold' pun
    2) take a shot every time you see a bat nipple
    3) chug when there is blatant sexual tension between Batman and Robin, etc
  13. chw
    Jul 20, 2014
    1
    Batman & Robin should have never been made. Trust me, and the others that gave it a bad review, those reviews are the ones that won't waste 2 hours of your life, if you listen to them.
  14. Jan 5, 2014
    1
    Outra peça que mostra a incapacidade de Schumacher em fazer filmes.
  15. Aug 14, 2013
    2
    The second worst superhero movie of all time, would be first but Catwoman exists. George Clooney is terrible as Batman even worse than Val Kilmer. Even worse they tried to make it humourous, and it didn't work. Bat card. Need I say more? This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen and almost as bad as Catwoman.
  16. Sep 23, 2011
    1
    Now starring George Clooney as the first title "hero" (as Chris O'Donnell reprises his role as the second), BATMAN & ROBIN is flawed on so many levels: For starters, it makes BATMAN FOREVER, in its mediocrity, look like THE DARK KNIGHT. Second of all, Uma Thurman, for her role as Poison Ivy, uses the exact (exact!) tactics that Michelle Pfeiffer used for her role as Catwoman in BATMANNow starring George Clooney as the first title "hero" (as Chris O'Donnell reprises his role as the second), BATMAN & ROBIN is flawed on so many levels: For starters, it makes BATMAN FOREVER, in its mediocrity, look like THE DARK KNIGHT. Second of all, Uma Thurman, for her role as Poison Ivy, uses the exact (exact!) tactics that Michelle Pfeiffer used for her role as Catwoman in BATMAN RETURNS, and those tactics are surely no longer sexy at all. Third, Arnold Schwarzenegger was poorly, poorly miscast for the role of Mr. Freeze, and it makes him look like a terrible actor--the stupid punning he does throughout the film makes him look even more terrible. Also, BATMAN & ROBIN was Warner Bros.'s idea to veer the "Batman" films into a "family movie" zone. I found it ridiculous that to make it into a family film, they decided they should make the action sequences look corny rather than smooth, and to add in a bunch of childish humor spoken by Robin. In addition to that, George Clooney, Chris O'Donnell, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Uma Thurman, and Alicia Silverstone need some serious lobotomies. Even if some of their careers are alive again today, this film murdered their acting careers, and I feel so much pity. I could go on and on, but the bottom line, if I hadn't made it clear enough yet, is do not see this film. It is ridiculously stupid and unimaginably terrible. Expand
  17. Oct 17, 2014
    3
    Batman and Robin are back working side-by-side to stop the villains of Gotham City, but is there tension appearing between them, especially when one villainess who calls herself Poison Ivy can make anyone fall in love with her...literally. Along with Poison Ivy, the icy Mr. Freeze is freezing anything which gets in his way from achieving his goal.
  18. Aug 28, 2011
    3
    Mr. Freeze: "What killed the Dinosaurs? THE ICE AGE!" - "Tonight, hell freezes over!" - "Ice to see you!" - "You're not sending ME to the COOLER!" - "In this universe, there's only one absolute... everything freezes!" - "Let's kick some ice!" - "The Ice Man cometh!" - "Tonight's forecast... a freeze is coming!"
  19. Jul 12, 2012
    2
    This was a very poor movie. The performances are abominations, the sets are ridiculous, and the dialogue is downright lame. Batman fans, skip this one.
  20. Dec 16, 2014
    3
    Batman & Robin is a 1997 American superhero film based on the DC Comics character Batman. It is the fourth and final film of Warner Bros.' initial Batman film series. The film was directed by Joel Schumacher and written by Akiva Goldsman. It stars George Clooney, Chris O'Donnell, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Uma Thurman, and Alicia Silverstone. Batman & Robin tells the story of the Dynamic DuoBatman & Robin is a 1997 American superhero film based on the DC Comics character Batman. It is the fourth and final film of Warner Bros.' initial Batman film series. The film was directed by Joel Schumacher and written by Akiva Goldsman. It stars George Clooney, Chris O'Donnell, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Uma Thurman, and Alicia Silverstone. Batman & Robin tells the story of the Dynamic Duo as they attempt to prevent Mr. Freeze and Poison Ivy from freezing all mankind to death and repopulating the earth with mutant plants, while at the same time struggling to keep their partnership together. This is also the only film appearance of Batgirl, who unexpectedly helps the title characters win in the end. Expand
  21. Aug 9, 2013
    3
    The entire film plays like an enormously unfunny comedy rather than a daring duo superhero flick, and it's too sloppily scripted to enjoy even with its should be likable cast.
  22. Oct 27, 2013
    0
    if in batman forever you thought that joel schumacher can´t do anything worst it´s because you didn´t see this movie,absolutely nothing on this film is good.
  23. Jan 21, 2015
    0
    Films as bad as Batman and Robin come around only once or twice a life-time. Apparently some small fraction of the population found the film more amusing than the previous instalment, Batman Forever. I must concede. It is more comedic than Batman Forever though that's like saying suffocation is mildly more amusing than drowning. I'd rather gargle Battery Acid than have to watch Batman andFilms as bad as Batman and Robin come around only once or twice a life-time. Apparently some small fraction of the population found the film more amusing than the previous instalment, Batman Forever. I must concede. It is more comedic than Batman Forever though that's like saying suffocation is mildly more amusing than drowning. I'd rather gargle Battery Acid than have to watch Batman and Robin again. Expand
  24. Nov 29, 2013
    3
    This movie is terrible. First off, the villains are terrible actors. Even Schwarzeneggar's performance was worse than normal. Second, this wasn't a superhero movie. It was a mock-up of a want-a-be movie. The whole sets that were put up were awful. Overall, this movie will never make up for what it did to the entire franchise.
  25. Jul 9, 2013
    0
    Need I say anything? Batman and Robin is a dull, uninspired, insulting, and ridiculous take on the character. Had Batman Begins not come out, this movie would continue to leave a bad stench to the Batman franchise in Hollywood.
  26. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Absolute worst Batman movie ever. I'd even prefer watching the cheesy movie/show with Adam West over this one. This movie put me to sleep, I did not enjoy any of it at all. After two really great movies directed by Tim Burton, Joel Schumacher was instructed by Warner Bros to make a less-dark, kid-friendly version of Batman for the next installment due to pressure from parental groups.Absolute worst Batman movie ever. I'd even prefer watching the cheesy movie/show with Adam West over this one. This movie put me to sleep, I did not enjoy any of it at all. After two really great movies directed by Tim Burton, Joel Schumacher was instructed by Warner Bros to make a less-dark, kid-friendly version of Batman for the next installment due to pressure from parental groups. While Batman in the comics is supposed to be somewhat dark since he chose the symbol of the bat to instill fear into the hearts of criminals he encounters, I wouldn't have a problem with a lighter version of Batman per se, however, this movie was the most boring movie I've ever seen (with the possible exceptions of Mortal Combat and the 4th Pirates of the Caribbean movie). Unlike Batman Forever which was saved by Jim Carry, this movie did not entertain me at all and the characters and acting was really boring. Most other bad movies have at least some redeeming quality, however I can think of none for this one so I'm giving it a 0/10. Do yourself a favor, watch the Tim Burton ones, then the one with Jim Carry and then the series reboot from Batman Begins and on, just skip this one you're not missing anything if you do Expand
  27. Apr 13, 2015
    0
    One word.... AWFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
  28. Dec 29, 2014
    1
    There is not one redeeming quality in this film. The acting is way over the top, the premise is nonsensical, the characters are useless, the action sucks, the visuals hurt the eyes, and the puns are just unbearable. However, I wouldn't be lying if I said this was a guilty pleasure film of mine.
  29. Dec 23, 2012
    0
    Batman and Robin, with no doubt whatsoever, plunges the Batman franchise into an abyss with the help of one of the worst directors of all time. Complete with a ridiculously predictable plot, cheesy dialogue, homoerotic scenes that expose various superheroes' 'special' parts and deconstruction of intelligent villains to monsters who grunt and roar, Batman and Robin is an utterly abysmalBatman and Robin, with no doubt whatsoever, plunges the Batman franchise into an abyss with the help of one of the worst directors of all time. Complete with a ridiculously predictable plot, cheesy dialogue, homoerotic scenes that expose various superheroes' 'special' parts and deconstruction of intelligent villains to monsters who grunt and roar, Batman and Robin is an utterly abysmal piece of **** that left the Batman franchise in shambles, only leaving Christopher Nolan to stitch it back up again. To say that it is a cretinous affair would be a colossal understatement - for in my eyes, this is not just the worst superhero film of all-time, but the worst film of all-time, period (maybe a close tie with The Last Airbender). Expand
  30. May 6, 2014
    0
    SAVE YOURSELVES FOR THE STUPIDITY OF THIS MOVIE! **** BAT CREDIT CARDS! **** BAT NIPPLES! WHY DOES BAT GIRL NOT HAVE NIPPLES! **** "BANE"! **** MR FREEZE AND POISON IVY! **** THE CAST! **** THIS SUCKS EVERYBODY LEAVe
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. 20
    The current Bat cycle was already tired when Schumacher replaced Tim Burton behind the camera on "Batman Forever." This chapter -- so action-packed, yet so insufferably dull -- makes it clear that there's nowhere else to go.
  2. 50
    Batman & Robin, like the first three films in the series, is wonderful to look at, and has nothing authentic at its core.
  3. Joel Schumacher, director and ringmaster, piles on the flashy showmanship and keeps the film as big, bold, noisy and mindlessly overwhelming as possible.