Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 20, 1997
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 770 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
375
Mixed:
77
Negative:
318
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SHANKROIDFeb 16, 2013
Ah, classic Batman, before they went and made him all moody and miserable. This is a GREAT movie. You gotta wonder why they didn't keep George Clooney in the role. At least he would've added a bit of humour to the role. Some people said thisAh, classic Batman, before they went and made him all moody and miserable. This is a GREAT movie. You gotta wonder why they didn't keep George Clooney in the role. At least he would've added a bit of humour to the role. Some people said this was rubbish cos the bat suit had nipples. Eh... makes sense. Humans have nipples people. And sometimes they protrude thru clothes. Do any of you even watch Baywatch?? Best villain ever alert. IT'S F**KING ARNIE!!! He's a baddie for the first time since The Terminator here. Always more believable as a villain. For those pining for a bit of Bane... he's also in this! And he gets killed so it's the new one that looks dumb as he's magically brought back to life. They did the same with Joker, Two Face, Cat woman. This is the real deal folks. Accept no substitutes. Expand
15 of 38 users found this helpful1523
All this user's reviews
10
normanmckayJun 11, 2016
The deep messages expressed within this film are handled with such care and accuracy that it puts The Godfather to shame. It is a well thought out film with lovable characters, an engaging story, and a tone akin to The Dark Knight trilogy. ItThe deep messages expressed within this film are handled with such care and accuracy that it puts The Godfather to shame. It is a well thought out film with lovable characters, an engaging story, and a tone akin to The Dark Knight trilogy. It cannot be missed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VandesdelcaMFDec 11, 2014
This movie is a masterpiece. The actions scenes are extremely exciting and realistic, the new bat-suit makes George Clooney the most attractive Batman ever. And best of all, the humor in this movie is somehow BETTER than the 1966 Batman movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
DalekMay 3, 2014
This film isn't that bad at all compared to what people have said. I mean sure, Arnold playing the character may have been a bit silly / childish in a way, but I think it kind of adds charm to it as the film kind of mixes in with serious andThis film isn't that bad at all compared to what people have said. I mean sure, Arnold playing the character may have been a bit silly / childish in a way, but I think it kind of adds charm to it as the film kind of mixes in with serious and not so serious with Mr. Freeze.

The film is actually pretty good and enjoyable to watch, George Clooney did a pretty good job playing the role, and so did everyone else. The special effects / CG was good enough for 1997, it could had been a little bit better but still good none the less. The fighting choreography was fairly good as well so I dont really know why everyone dislikes this so much. It's not the best 10/10 movie of the year Batman film of all time. But it's still enjoyable and worth watching.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
BrendanRAug 17, 2010
Oh Come on people, just because its bad doesnt mean its not entertaining.If you look at tis as a parody its hilarious.Now I know Joel Shumacher didn't make this as a comedy but after watching The Dark Knight its good to get back to the campyOh Come on people, just because its bad doesnt mean its not entertaining.If you look at tis as a parody its hilarious.Now I know Joel Shumacher didn't make this as a comedy but after watching The Dark Knight its good to get back to the campy fell of the Adam West t.v. show.And honestly go back and watch some of the show and then watch the opening with the ice skates.Joel Shumacher knew what he wanted to do and he did it.He returned the campiness from the darkness of the previous movies (especially Batman Returns).Looking at it from that perspective and also knowing the movie was made for kids(look at all the batman toys that came out that summer).It's a very fun movie ....maybe not in keeping with the true dark tone as such masterpieces as "The Dark Knight Returns" by Frank Miller or "The Killing Joke" by Alan Moore, but a fun ride none the less.And to all those who cant se the fun...I give you the ''COLD SHOULDER". Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
mariana-b2Apr 10, 2012
this is the best film i ever saw! i really don't understand why the critics are so bad... well, so many jealous people;) ...............................................................................
1 of 24 users found this helpful123
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerFeb 13, 2011
This may not be the best Batman movie ever but it is a good one, the main reason people don't like this is because it's not as dark as some of the other Batman movies out there, it reminds me of that really old Batman TV show from the 60's soThis may not be the best Batman movie ever but it is a good one, the main reason people don't like this is because it's not as dark as some of the other Batman movies out there, it reminds me of that really old Batman TV show from the 60's so it's pretty cheesy, all in all it's a good movie from beginning to end. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
julian_zizzleAug 22, 2011
Before i started writing this review, this week i watched all 4 classic batman movies released between 1989 and 1997 and I just finished this one 20 minutes ago and i really loved it. The movie was good, cast was made of golden people likeBefore i started writing this review, this week i watched all 4 classic batman movies released between 1989 and 1997 and I just finished this one 20 minutes ago and i really loved it. The movie was good, cast was made of golden people like Clooney, Thurman and Schwarzenegger. I really did not understand why no one did loved this one as much as i did. Action was fine, The scenario was excellent. But i read the critics for this movie in wikipedia and believe me, some people even think that this movie has some homosexual content in it, just because it shows the a** of Batman and Robin when they equip their armor...
It was a really good adventure if you ask me and i really enjoyed it. The only disliked thing i didn't like in this movie was some overrated one-liner cliche jokes of Schwarzenegger which if you ask me, was still ok, but sometimes was not necessary. If you are not among people who watches movies just to kill them, i think you will enjoy and won't regret this one.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
availableJul 15, 2012
Batman and Robin is so awful its good. It is up there with Troll 2 and The Room. If you're longing for a good hard laugh, go watch it, preferably with friends who can point and laugh at Batman and Robin's nipple suits with you.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Evyan2002Jan 24, 2016
This is a really great movie to me. Uma Thurman as poison ivy was a magnificent casting choice in my opinion. Arnold as Mr.freeze was also a good casting choice also. Robin and batgirl were good. George Clooney as batman was also pretty good
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AcetoBalsamicoFeb 9, 2013
Uno dei film della mia infanzia. Ha uno stile tutto suo, con un cast eccezionale. Nulla a che vedere con i Batman della nuova generazione, completamente l'opposto anzi, ma ripeto, ha il suo stile
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TechnoElfAug 24, 2015
This movie is terrible but is a massive guilty pleasure. This whole film is just stupid fun. The only real problem I have with this movie is the 2 hour run time. Other than that, it is a stupid, fun 90s action superhero film with Batnips andThis movie is terrible but is a massive guilty pleasure. This whole film is just stupid fun. The only real problem I have with this movie is the 2 hour run time. Other than that, it is a stupid, fun 90s action superhero film with Batnips and Arnold Schwarzenegger one liners. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mariel33Jun 24, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Seeing because of not seeing is maybe the ultimate riddle of life. In the end, it's just another perspective of countless perspectives, but nevertheless, it's a riddle that's intriguing. The absence of sight can mean two different things; one meaning, is that there is nothing to see around one's presence, and the other meaning is that regardless of anything to see the ability to see is impossible. The second meaning seems defunct, because if the self can't see then that has to mean there's nothing present around the self to be seen. So anti is predicated on sight, meaning the absence of sight is the inability of anti.

This makes the dynamic into seeing because of the inability of anti, or the inability of ability. Batman & Robin thus becomes the ability to see because of the impossibility of ability, which obviously makes no sense. An ability is action, or movement. And therefore Batman & Robin's story of the Wayne Manor dynamics is the action of sight because of the impossibility of action, which naturally still makes no sense. On its own, the impossibility of action is apparent balance; just impossibility means error because of the presence of impossibility. When however a reason becomes apparent, the presence of impossibility gets balanced. Where trouble enters the story is when reason itself gets duplicated, and thus another presence is required for balance.

The latter action has to exist, because it's the means to justifying the presence of logic. The very presence of logic is the problem. Without the presence of logic, the impossibility of impossibility is still a problem, but of course the opposite is yet another problem.
Because of sight, the presence of problem is rational. If problem is presence, the balance is seeing being caused. Label problem as X, seeing as Y, and the cause of seeing as Z. The presence of X causes Z, and Z causes Y. X is reason of Z. Z is reason of Y. X is reason of Y. Problem is duplicated reason, and therefore sight is a divided loyalty between different reasons.

In the world of Batman & Robin - arguably the best Batman film so far, and if not the best then second to Batman Forever - the action of seeing has different reasons. Reason is anti, making different reasons the means to peace.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews