Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 20, 1997
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 786 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
377
Mixed:
78
Negative:
331
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SHANKROIDFeb 16, 2013
Ah, classic Batman, before they went and made him all moody and miserable. This is a GREAT movie. You gotta wonder why they didn't keep George Clooney in the role. At least he would've added a bit of humour to the role. Some people said thisAh, classic Batman, before they went and made him all moody and miserable. This is a GREAT movie. You gotta wonder why they didn't keep George Clooney in the role. At least he would've added a bit of humour to the role. Some people said this was rubbish cos the bat suit had nipples. Eh... makes sense. Humans have nipples people. And sometimes they protrude thru clothes. Do any of you even watch Baywatch?? Best villain ever alert. IT'S F**KING ARNIE!!! He's a baddie for the first time since The Terminator here. Always more believable as a villain. For those pining for a bit of Bane... he's also in this! And he gets killed so it's the new one that looks dumb as he's magically brought back to life. They did the same with Joker, Two Face, Cat woman. This is the real deal folks. Accept no substitutes. Expand
15 of 39 users found this helpful1524
All this user's reviews
1
DeviousBastardApr 21, 2011
Acting is way too over the top, dialogue is annoying as hell especially the ice puns, the costumes are ridiculous, the script seems like it was written by a 3 year old. Ivy wants Mr.Freeze to freeze the world and than give it to the plants!Acting is way too over the top, dialogue is annoying as hell especially the ice puns, the costumes are ridiculous, the script seems like it was written by a 3 year old. Ivy wants Mr.Freeze to freeze the world and than give it to the plants! See what I mean? The music is good and that's what saves it from a zero. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
2
python2000Aug 14, 2013
The second worst superhero movie of all time, would be first but Catwoman exists. George Clooney is terrible as Batman even worse than Val Kilmer. Even worse they tried to make it humourous, and it didn't work. Bat card. Need I say more? ThisThe second worst superhero movie of all time, would be first but Catwoman exists. George Clooney is terrible as Batman even worse than Val Kilmer. Even worse they tried to make it humourous, and it didn't work. Bat card. Need I say more? This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen and almost as bad as Catwoman. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
1
DalePApr 2, 2008
The only actor among all of them with the chin to play the title role and he gets it horribly wrong.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
DanAJan 30, 2008
I gave this a one only because Robin still seems pretty much in place. Other than that, everything with the movie is wrong. George Clooney is cast as Batman, and believe me, he is one of the last people you ever need to get into that suit. I gave this a one only because Robin still seems pretty much in place. Other than that, everything with the movie is wrong. George Clooney is cast as Batman, and believe me, he is one of the last people you ever need to get into that suit. George Clooney is about as fit to play Batman as Hulk Hogan would be to play The Flash. It just doesn't make sense. When you watch him perform both Bruce and Batman feel like cliche Clooney performances. Alicia Silverstone as Batgirl could probably work, but so much of the lines and delivery (along with sound effects) in this movie are so horrible that we'll never know. I also think Uma Thurman playing Poison Ivy could work, but again, whoever told her to deliver her lines with that rollercoaster pitch was out of their mind. Arnold Schwarzeneggar playing Mr. Freeze is very easily the most inaccurate portrayal of any character in history. It may also be the corniest as well. Mr. Freeze is supposed to be an intricate character, a man with real emotions and feelings that he was robbed of. He was not supposed to be a bumbling fool who uses horrible freeze related puns. The only goddamn thing that stayed very good in this movie was Alfred, and he had the least time in this film than any of the others! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MovieLonely94Oct 30, 2010
superheroes don't get credit cards!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
AlecinoJul 26, 2011
This is a disgrace!!! Joel should be ashamed of himself for creating this!!! Luckily, there's Burton's Batman and Batman Returns as well as Nolan's Batman franchise.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
PaperThingJun 28, 2012
This is garbage. It is suspect, but watchable, to members of the audience under six or seven. Anyone older than that will absolutely hate it.

Sorry George Clooney, but **** THIS MOVIE.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
kubathereviewerJul 24, 2013
A terrible fourth installment including dreadful puns and crazy props. The action wasn't too bad but overall it is a humiliating attempt at a decent movie. Joel Schumacher also "commited suicide" with his casting choices.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
otakudbzAug 8, 2014
That doesn't deserves to be even a movie!
First we had Batman,that was awesome.Then we had Batman Returns,that it was decent,but it wasn't great.Then we had Batman Forever,that I think it's the best movie in the franchise,and we got THIS!A
That doesn't deserves to be even a movie!
First we had Batman,that was awesome.Then we had Batman Returns,that it was decent,but it wasn't great.Then we had Batman Forever,that I think it's the best movie in the franchise,and we got THIS!A movie that doesn't even look like the comics!
The movie tries to be cheesy like Batman 60s Show,but it fails in so many points.Poison Ivy looks like a prostitute,Mr Freeze looks like Electro from Ultimate Spider-Man,the Physics are WORSE than Watch_Dogs.
The only good points in this movie is George Clooney being Batman/Bruce Wayne.He could be Batman again,he was very good as The Dark Knight.Another good point is Alicia Silverstone being Barbara Gordon.She didn't looked like Barbara from the comics,but she was very good being her,except being Batgirl,she was terrible being a Super-Hero.The best thing in the movie is Michael Gough being Alfred Pennyworth.I feel bad for him with the disease,I almost cried when I saw that he was dying.It was really sad.Those are the only things that made the movie get a 3 in my review,because if it didn't had those things,it would be a GREAT 0.
If you want to know what hapenned after Batman Forever,want to see Barbara for the first time and Alfred again,just watch the movie.But I have ONE warning: If you are going to watch that movie,prepare to call the cops to destroy your TV in the middle of the movie.
Collapse
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
AllenReviewsMar 28, 2014
Unfortunately for batman & robin, Its just too cartonish and poorly, poorly written to even enjoy, Its full of the most Un realistic scenes ever as well has the most ridiculous superhero costumes ever put on film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
ScottS.Sep 27, 2005
A total loss. No redeeming qualities. Thank goodness for "Batman Begins".
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
christiansAug 8, 2009
A terrible sequel, just terrible! even Batman Forever (which sucked) was way better than this ludicrous joke for a sequel.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SamSep 17, 2005
One of the most disappointing movies of all time. George Clooney is a great actor, but a sucky choice for Batman. Lame effects and dialouge, and yet, being the Batman fanatic that I am, I still watch this. It's still a terrible movie, One of the most disappointing movies of all time. George Clooney is a great actor, but a sucky choice for Batman. Lame effects and dialouge, and yet, being the Batman fanatic that I am, I still watch this. It's still a terrible movie, and it's way to colorful and happy and corny, yet I still watch this. Once Batman Begins comes out on DVD though, this is outta here. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
Myles#13Sep 6, 2006
I am the biggest fan of the Dark Knight, but I HATE this film... campiest film you will ever see, and all of the puns will make you groan. Everything is much too flashy, not dark at all. I still don't understand why the franchise ever I am the biggest fan of the Dark Knight, but I HATE this film... campiest film you will ever see, and all of the puns will make you groan. Everything is much too flashy, not dark at all. I still don't understand why the franchise ever swerved towards being 'family' movies... Batman is meant to be a mature, adult film- thank GOD Batman Begins breathed new life into Batman films again. AVOID at all costs, if you value your sanity. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Feb 21, 2008
This has gotta be the worst comic movie ever. I absolutely hate it. Good thing X-men brought this franchise back with some decency.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JoeyWJul 16, 2009
Joel Schumacher's 2 Batman films...Batman Forever and Batman & Robin! Man Batman Forever was better than this. I kinda liked it. But not a'lot.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
kristianvJul 30, 2009
Quite possibly the worst movie ever made. Theres NOTHING good about it. Every actor does a horrible job, the script and dialogue is terrible, and most of all, the jokes make you want to kill yourself.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DavidV.Aug 11, 2007
One of the worst superhero movies to date. Someone should tell Joel Schumacher that ice skates, bat-credit cards, nipple suits, homoerotic statues, and neon lit thugs don't make a good movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PixarloverNov 14, 2012
THis movie is so awful you'll be wondering how the hell Warner Brothers green-lit the project. The answer is this: money. The only reason this exists is because Warner Brothers believed this would make tons of cash from all the "dumb"THis movie is so awful you'll be wondering how the hell Warner Brothers green-lit the project. The answer is this: money. The only reason this exists is because Warner Brothers believed this would make tons of cash from all the "dumb" moviegoers. Well, they didn't realise that people were smarter than that and managed to stay well away from this turkey when bad word-of-mouth erupted shortly after the "movie's" release.

Arnold Schwarzenegger can't act. I can't say it in a clearer way' he just, can't, act!!! In fact nobody in this disaster movie can act properly for a superhero movie. George Clooney single-handedly killed the Batman franchise, until it would be resurrected by Christopher Nolan, who managed to make The Dark Knight Trilogy, which is better than the series Batman and Robin is a part of.

These movies started off well when Tim Burton made the first and second one, but Batman and Robin was so ordinary that all hope for the future of the franchise seemed lost, until Batman and Robin confirmed that all hope was lost for the Batman series. Thank god The Dark Knight Trilogy saved Batman from embarrassing himself any further.

Don't watch this movie. It is HORRIBLE!!!! It's like an intentionally made comedy gone wrong, completely wrong. Avoid at all costs.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
MoviebuffreviewJul 9, 2013
Need I say anything? Batman and Robin is a dull, uninspired, insulting, and ridiculous take on the character. Had Batman Begins not come out, this movie would continue to leave a bad stench to the Batman franchise in Hollywood.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
crstfrFeb 1, 2011
Everything about this movie is wrong, plain and simple. Everything. One may argue that it is a movie for kids to which I respond by saying that it doesn't even show respect to a 3 year old! I do like Michael Gough as Alfred so I have toEverything about this movie is wrong, plain and simple. Everything. One may argue that it is a movie for kids to which I respond by saying that it doesn't even show respect to a 3 year old! I do like Michael Gough as Alfred so I have to respect the fact that he remained in the series and felt its decline. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
ImUnavailableJul 19, 2011
An abysmal joke of a Batman movie. The tone is as far removed from the comics and the Tim Burton movies as physically possible. One can say that the movie is a throwback to the campy 60's Batman TV show but even if that is the intention, itAn abysmal joke of a Batman movie. The tone is as far removed from the comics and the Tim Burton movies as physically possible. One can say that the movie is a throwback to the campy 60's Batman TV show but even if that is the intention, it still does not save the movie from failure. Some sets are well designed but the overuse of neon lighting becomes ridiculous. The movie plays out more as a parody than the 4th Batman movie. Gadgets are ludicrous (batskates), the humor is terrible (batman's credit card) and the actors are miscast (Arnie as Mr. Freeze). Speaking of actors, performances are cringeworthy and the dialogue is inexcusably awful. A complete misfire. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
lususgreeneMay 11, 2011
Holy crappy movie Batman!! Batman Forever at least had a good cast. Clooney has made this movie up with some great acting in other movies I wonder if he still has nightmares?
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
davenbettridgeAug 28, 2011
Mr. Freeze: "What killed the Dinosaurs? THE ICE AGE!" - "Tonight, hell freezes over!" - "Ice to see you!" - "You're not sending ME to the COOLER!" - "In this universe, there's only one absolute... everything freezes!" - "Let's kick someMr. Freeze: "What killed the Dinosaurs? THE ICE AGE!" - "Tonight, hell freezes over!" - "Ice to see you!" - "You're not sending ME to the COOLER!" - "In this universe, there's only one absolute... everything freezes!" - "Let's kick some ice!" - "The Ice Man cometh!" - "Tonight's forecast... a freeze is coming!" Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
SlasherVoorheesAug 30, 2011
This Has to be one of the overall worst movies ever created with ridiculas costumes horrible action sequences, and a Cliche Plot Batman and Robin Fails on every level there is othing reedeming about this god aful piece of garbage film
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
driesy8888Sep 6, 2011
The WORST movie I have ever seen! I hate this film. It's utter crap. I'm an Arnold fan, but my god, how many cheesy lines did they want to give him. Clooney looked like a fool in the Bat suit. Uma Thurman is the only saving grace but not evenThe WORST movie I have ever seen! I hate this film. It's utter crap. I'm an Arnold fan, but my god, how many cheesy lines did they want to give him. Clooney looked like a fool in the Bat suit. Uma Thurman is the only saving grace but not even she can save it Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
pauljohnsonAug 2, 2012
Simply dreadful. The worst superhero movie ever made. In fact, studies have shown that if you watch Nolan's Batman Begins or The Dark Knight and this back to back, you're in serious danger of getting the Bends and should consult the nearestSimply dreadful. The worst superhero movie ever made. In fact, studies have shown that if you watch Nolan's Batman Begins or The Dark Knight and this back to back, you're in serious danger of getting the Bends and should consult the nearest doctor. And to the people saying "Oh you guys just don't like this because you're a depressing goth who wants darkness everywhere". **** you, go inflict your elitist and prejudiced personality on someone else. Whether you want to admit it or not, Batman IS rooted in darkness and savagery - for example, his parents were killed for one thing, how light hearted is that? And for the people defending the film saying its so good its bad - yes, that's true. It is hilarious to watch - but that's because its unintentionally hilarious. I'm not supposed to be laughing at how pathetically awful the acting is, but I am. Just because its hilarious doesn't change the fact it is an awful script. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
JbrizzyMay 17, 2012
I have to admit, when this came out i was atleast 7 yrs old, and i thought this movie was amazing. NOW this has to be one of the gayest movies i've ever seen. Like i never realized all of close ups of batman and robin's crotch and ass, and iI have to admit, when this came out i was atleast 7 yrs old, and i thought this movie was amazing. NOW this has to be one of the gayest movies i've ever seen. Like i never realized all of close ups of batman and robin's crotch and ass, and i also didnt realize the added nipples until today. Like really, you know a film is bad when the whole cast wants to pretend it never happened. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
Ktig88Jul 8, 2012
One Horrible piece of Crap
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews