Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Batman, Robin and new crime fighting comrade Batgirl face Gotham City's deadliest threat yet when cold-hearted Mr. Freeze and venomous Poison Ivy team for some lethal mischief. (Warner Bros.)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Joel Schumacher, director and ringmaster, piles on the flashy showmanship and keeps the film as big, bold, noisy and mindlessly overwhelming as possible.
  2. Unfortunately, the charming Batfamily can't stay in their cave indefinitely; they've got to go out and fight crime. And that's where this elaborately high-style production from Batman Forever director Joel Schumacher hits an iceberg.
  3. George Clooney looks great in a cape, but this fourth installment in the series has invested so much capital in razzle-dazzle special effects that it hardly matters whose head is under the pointy-eared helmet.
  4. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    30
    Screenwriter Akiva Goldsman has written quips, not characters and Joel Schumacher still seems miscast as a Bat-action director: he stages the mayhem confusingly and the comedy too broadly.
  5. Clooney's stiff cornball delivery and tendency to smile during the most tragic moments bring this as close to the cartoonish Batman television series of the 1960s as any of the movies have come.
  6. 20
    The fourth installment in the Batman franchise is one long head-splitting exercise in clueless cacophony that makes you feel as though you're being held hostage in some haywire Planet Hollywood while sonic booms pummel your auditory canal.
  7. Campy costumes can't disguise the incoherent plot, confused performances and lame script that send this star vehicle spiralling downward.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 85
  2. Negative: 67 out of 85
  1. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    this is the best film i ever saw! i really don't understand why the critics are so bad... well, so many jealous people;) ............................................................................... Collapse
  2. Feb 13, 2011
    7
    This may not be the best Batman movie ever but it is a good one, the main reason people don't like this is because it's not as dark as some of the other Batman movies out there, it reminds me of that really old Batman TV show from the 60's so it's pretty cheesy, all in all it's a good movie from beginning to end. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2010
    3
    In an attempt to make Batman & Robin look and feel like a casual, lightweight movie, Schumacher inadvertently creates a prodution so, in lack of better words, downright lame, itâ Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    2
    The second worst superhero movie of all time, would be first but Catwoman exists. George Clooney is terrible as Batman even worse than Val Kilmer. Even worse they tried to make it humourous, and it didn't work. Bat card. Need I say more? This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen and almost as bad as Catwoman. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    1
    Gay as f**k, with no real congruity, Batman & Robin is a piece of s**t. Schumacher ruined the series with this gay bull***t that he added just because he is gay Expand
  6. May 10, 2014
    1
    What you will witness in this movie is: Boring story, goofy and campy dialogue, ridiculous costumes, incredible slack of narrative and a 2 hours long abdominal mess. What saves this movie from being a complete piece of sh*t is the "okay" music and the special effects but believe me, this must be one of the worst super-heroes movie that I can't imagine what film could be worse than this Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2013
    0
    I have to give credit where credit is due and say that Joel Schumacher sure did break the mold for Batman movies in the sense that he must have felt that Batman deserved to be put down a peg or two and with this in mind he set out to make a horrendous pile of trash that even rivals Catwoman for worst super hero movie. If you are still considering watching this then I instead suggest that you buy the DVD and then smash/burn it so that no other poor soul will have to experience this abomination. If you are willing to sacrifice yourself and your money for the good of one poor soul then you may just be a better Batman than George Clooney! Expand

See all 85 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers

    Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers Image
    Published: July 26, 2011
    Whose comics make better movies: those published by Marvel, or ones from DC? Or do the best films come from indie comics, like this week's adaptation of Platinum Studios' "Cowboys & Aliens"? Find out inside as we compare the films of each comic book publisher.
  2. Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered

    Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 5, 2010
    A new Joel Schumacher film is always cause for celebration -- if you happen to like bad movies. We look back at the "Twelve" director's worst (and, yes, best) films from a career spanning three decades.
  3. Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies

    Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies Image
    Published: April 12, 2010
    Which comic book movies kick ass, and which deserve to be kicked to the curb? We run through the best and worst examples of films based on comics, from "Superman" to "Howard the Duck."