Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 268 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Batman, Robin and new crime fighting comrade Batgirl face Gotham City's deadliest threat yet when cold-hearted Mr. Freeze and venomous Poison Ivy team for some lethal mischief. (Warner Bros.)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Joel Schumacher, director and ringmaster, piles on the flashy showmanship and keeps the film as big, bold, noisy and mindlessly overwhelming as possible.
  2. Unfortunately, the charming Batfamily can't stay in their cave indefinitely; they've got to go out and fight crime. And that's where this elaborately high-style production from Batman Forever director Joel Schumacher hits an iceberg.
  3. George Clooney looks great in a cape, but this fourth installment in the series has invested so much capital in razzle-dazzle special effects that it hardly matters whose head is under the pointy-eared helmet.
  4. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    30
    Screenwriter Akiva Goldsman has written quips, not characters and Joel Schumacher still seems miscast as a Bat-action director: he stages the mayhem confusingly and the comedy too broadly.
  5. Clooney's stiff cornball delivery and tendency to smile during the most tragic moments bring this as close to the cartoonish Batman television series of the 1960s as any of the movies have come.
  6. 20
    The fourth installment in the Batman franchise is one long head-splitting exercise in clueless cacophony that makes you feel as though you're being held hostage in some haywire Planet Hollywood while sonic booms pummel your auditory canal.
  7. Campy costumes can't disguise the incoherent plot, confused performances and lame script that send this star vehicle spiralling downward.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 87
  2. Negative: 69 out of 87
  1. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    this is the best film i ever saw! i really don't understand why the critics are so bad... well, so many jealous people;) ............................................................................... Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2013
    6
    I really hate Batman & Robin (not the Dynamic Duo, just the floppy Joel Schumacher movie). If it weren't for the Governator, maybe Mr. Freeze should've been singing the blues in his flawless acting career rather than freezing Gotham City. I thought this was my favorite movie in the Batman trilogy, but then I started laughing at Bane. How ugly is Bane and Poison Ivy (her lusty voice just sounded like a Bayonetta cliche). Alicia Silverstone looks worse as Batgirl. I thought Catwoman is the better hero than Batgirl. I like to see Poison Ivy and Harley Quinn naked in bikinis. The acting is terrible, the script doesn't make any sense, and totally unnecessary for a Batman sequel. But I enjoyed half of the movie, So I'll rent it because it's one of those superhero movies that's so bad, it's good. Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2012
    3
    How I'll describe this film? Is just a bucket of colors, filled with zooms in nipples, crotches and butts, boring dialogues and a few homo-erotic lines, making this film the reason of end of the world. Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh boy, this movie was bad. There are so many bad things with this movie. First off, the acting was absolutely garbage. George Clooney garbage as Batman, Chris O'donnell was even worse as Robin, Batgirl was unspeakably bad, and the villains were pun-filled cartoons in a movie that was designed to sell toys. They did do a good job at making a money-grabbing toy-selling movie, and I must give them credit for that. This movie also had a plot that was full of moments that I thought to myself this: "Oh wow! That was lucky. The heroes catch every break." The story was predictable, stupid, and cartoonish. Cartoonish is actually a great word to describe this movie. Overall, this movie doesn't get a 0 because it is slightly entertaining because of all the puns. It's not boring, but it lowers your IQ so don't pay to watch it. Watch it at your friends house or if it's on TV! Expand
  5. j30
    Jan 26, 2012
    1
    Probably one of the worst big budget movies I have ever seen. AVOID THIS MOVIE. If you want good Batman movies watch Christopher Nolan's or Tim Burton's take, their both aesthetically pleasing than this waste of space on the movie rental shelf (or Netflix queue). I give it a one merely because of the awful lines that are hilarious, but you can still miss the film just watch this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SRH-Ywpz1_I Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2013
    1
    One of the worst comic book movies of all time. Joel Schumacher killed the Batman franchise in the 90's with this piece of garbage. I mean seriously Bat nipples. Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2013
    0
    I have to give credit where credit is due and say that Joel Schumacher sure did break the mold for Batman movies in the sense that he must have felt that Batman deserved to be put down a peg or two and with this in mind he set out to make a horrendous pile of trash that even rivals Catwoman for worst super hero movie. If you are still considering watching this then I instead suggest that you buy the DVD and then smash/burn it so that no other poor soul will have to experience this abomination. If you are willing to sacrifice yourself and your money for the good of one poor soul then you may just be a better Batman than George Clooney! Expand

See all 87 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers

    Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers Image
    Published: July 26, 2011
    Whose comics make better movies: those published by Marvel, or ones from DC? Or do the best films come from indie comics, like this week's adaptation of Platinum Studios' "Cowboys & Aliens"? Find out inside as we compare the films of each comic book publisher.
  2. Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered

    Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 5, 2010
    A new Joel Schumacher film is always cause for celebration -- if you happen to like bad movies. We look back at the "Twelve" director's worst (and, yes, best) films from a career spanning three decades.
  3. Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies

    Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies Image
    Published: April 12, 2010
    Which comic book movies kick ass, and which deserve to be kicked to the curb? We run through the best and worst examples of films based on comics, from "Superman" to "Howard the Duck."