Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 359 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Batman, Robin and new crime fighting comrade Batgirl face Gotham City's deadliest threat yet when cold-hearted Mr. Freeze and venomous Poison Ivy team for some lethal mischief. (Warner Bros.)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Joel Schumacher, director and ringmaster, piles on the flashy showmanship and keeps the film as big, bold, noisy and mindlessly overwhelming as possible.
  2. Unfortunately, the charming Batfamily can't stay in their cave indefinitely; they've got to go out and fight crime. And that's where this elaborately high-style production from Batman Forever director Joel Schumacher hits an iceberg.
  3. 50
    This film, which places yet another actor in the batsuit, has all the necessary hallmarks of a sorry sequel -- pointless, plodding plotting; asinine action; clueless, comatose characterization; and dumb dialogue.
  4. Reviewed by: Alex Ross
    30
    It has none of the minor virtues of Schumacher's other films. It looks bad: cluttered surfaces, production design reminiscent of overblown Broadway musicals, editing too fast for the eye to catch up, poor staging of fast action.
  5. Clooney's stiff cornball delivery and tendency to smile during the most tragic moments bring this as close to the cartoonish Batman television series of the 1960s as any of the movies have come.
  6. 20
    Batman & Robin fails to engage the spirit of Batman, Robin, or decent marketing in general, and instead ends up as a limp, excruciatingly shallow knockoff that leaves viewers cringing at the unavoidable one-liners that make up the better part of the script.
  7. Campy costumes can't disguise the incoherent plot, confused performances and lame script that send this star vehicle spiralling downward.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 100
  2. Negative: 80 out of 100
  1. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    Ah, classic Batman, before they went and made him all moody and miserable. This is a GREAT movie. You gotta wonder why they didn't keep GeorgeAh, classic Batman, before they went and made him all moody and miserable. This is a GREAT movie. You gotta wonder why they didn't keep George Clooney in the role. At least he would've added a bit of humour to the role. Some people said this was rubbish cos the bat suit had nipples. Eh... makes sense. Humans have nipples people. And sometimes they protrude thru clothes. Do any of you even watch Baywatch?? Best villain ever alert. IT'S F**KING ARNIE!!! He's a baddie for the first time since The Terminator here. Always more believable as a villain. For those pining for a bit of Bane... he's also in this! And he gets killed so it's the new one that looks dumb as he's magically brought back to life. They did the same with Joker, Two Face, Cat woman. This is the real deal folks. Accept no substitutes. Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2015
    6
    This movie is easily compared to the earlier part, "Batman Forever". The plot is smooth and light, the humour nice. But in the end, this movieThis movie is easily compared to the earlier part, "Batman Forever". The plot is smooth and light, the humour nice. But in the end, this movie lacks a lot, and seems also forcibly made. Especially the sudden birth of the Batgirl is almost ridiculous. The characters are rather weak, too, even if some depth is tried to force on them. All in all, a nice watch, but not one to hand Academy Awards to. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2014
    3
    That doesn't deserves to be even a movie!
    First we had Batman,that was awesome.Then we had Batman Returns,that it was decent,but it wasn't
    That doesn't deserves to be even a movie!
    First we had Batman,that was awesome.Then we had Batman Returns,that it was decent,but it wasn't great.Then we had Batman Forever,that I think it's the best movie in the franchise,and we got THIS!A movie that doesn't even look like the comics!
    The movie tries to be cheesy like Batman 60s Show,but it fails in so many points.Poison Ivy looks like a prostitute,Mr Freeze looks like Electro from Ultimate Spider-Man,the Physics are WORSE than Watch_Dogs.
    The only good points in this movie is George Clooney being Batman/Bruce Wayne.He could be Batman again,he was very good as The Dark Knight.Another good point is Alicia Silverstone being Barbara Gordon.She didn't looked like Barbara from the comics,but she was very good being her,except being Batgirl,she was terrible being a Super-Hero.The best thing in the movie is Michael Gough being Alfred Pennyworth.I feel bad for him with the disease,I almost cried when I saw that he was dying.It was really sad.Those are the only things that made the movie get a 3 in my review,because if it didn't had those things,it would be a GREAT 0.
    If you want to know what hapenned after Batman Forever,want to see Barbara for the first time and Alfred again,just watch the movie.But I have ONE warning: If you are going to watch that movie,prepare to call the cops to destroy your TV in the middle of the movie.
    Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh boy, this movie was bad. There are so many bad things with this movie. First off, the acting was absolutely garbage. George Clooney garbage as Batman, Chris O'donnell was even worse as Robin, Batgirl was unspeakably bad, and the villains were pun-filled cartoons in a movie that was designed to sell toys. They did do a good job at making a money-grabbing toy-selling movie, and I must give them credit for that. This movie also had a plot that was full of moments that I thought to myself this: "Oh wow! That was lucky. The heroes catch every break." The story was predictable, stupid, and cartoonish. Cartoonish is actually a great word to describe this movie. Overall, this movie doesn't get a 0 because it is slightly entertaining because of all the puns. It's not boring, but it lowers your IQ so don't pay to watch it. Watch it at your friends house or if it's on TV! Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2011
    1
    Everything about this movie is wrong, plain and simple. Everything. One may argue that it is a movie for kids to which I respond by sayingEverything about this movie is wrong, plain and simple. Everything. One may argue that it is a movie for kids to which I respond by saying that it doesn't even show respect to a 3 year old! I do like Michael Gough as Alfred so I have to respect the fact that he remained in the series and felt its decline. Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2013
    1
    One of the worst comic book movies of all time. Joel Schumacher killed the Batman franchise in the 90's with this piece of garbage. I meanOne of the worst comic book movies of all time. Joel Schumacher killed the Batman franchise in the 90's with this piece of garbage. I mean seriously Bat nipples. Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2013
    0
    I have to give credit where credit is due and say that Joel Schumacher sure did break the mold for Batman movies in the sense that he mustI have to give credit where credit is due and say that Joel Schumacher sure did break the mold for Batman movies in the sense that he must have felt that Batman deserved to be put down a peg or two and with this in mind he set out to make a horrendous pile of trash that even rivals Catwoman for worst super hero movie. If you are still considering watching this then I instead suggest that you buy the DVD and then smash/burn it so that no other poor soul will have to experience this abomination. If you are willing to sacrifice yourself and your money for the good of one poor soul then you may just be a better Batman than George Clooney! Expand

See all 100 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers

    Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers Image
    Published: July 26, 2011
    Whose comics make better movies: those published by Marvel, or ones from DC? Or do the best films come from indie comics, like this week's adaptation of Platinum Studios' "Cowboys & Aliens"? Find out inside as we compare the films of each comic book publisher.
  2. Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered

    Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 5, 2010
    A new Joel Schumacher film is always cause for celebration -- if you happen to like bad movies. We look back at the "Twelve" director's worst (and, yes, best) films from a career spanning three decades.
  3. Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies

    Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies Image
    Published: April 12, 2010
    Which comic book movies kick ass, and which deserve to be kicked to the curb? We run through the best and worst examples of films based on comics, from "Superman" to "Howard the Duck."