Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 23, 1989
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 498 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
448
Mixed:
34
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
crstfrFeb 1, 2011
Perhaps it is because I saw the Nolan films first but I was unimpressed with the lack of plot and the mix and match thing they've got going on with the set. Keaton was decent and Nicholson a redeemer, but I maintain there was a negligiblePerhaps it is because I saw the Nolan films first but I was unimpressed with the lack of plot and the mix and match thing they've got going on with the set. Keaton was decent and Nicholson a redeemer, but I maintain there was a negligible storyline and the poor pacing results in a film that is not engaging. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
RirenJan 30, 2007
Good for children and little more, Tim Burton's vision of Gotham is underwhelming. Every set is either boring or art designed to death. The score is legendary, but can't save the wooden acting of all but one cast member - Jack Good for children and little more, Tim Burton's vision of Gotham is underwhelming. Every set is either boring or art designed to death. The score is legendary, but can't save the wooden acting of all but one cast member - Jack Nicholson, who turns in an all-time great performance as the villain, the Joker. He gleefully steals every scene he's in, and thank goodness for him. The action is overwrought and cloying. Worse, several of its plot decisions (no spoilers here) became cliches that ruined several other franchises, including this one. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
DavidHJan 24, 2007
Decent, but it never quite comes together. Kim Basinger has no screen chemistry with Keaton, while the character arc is oversimplified by turning the Joker into a psychopath and while the visuals are impressive, they're not Decent, but it never quite comes together. Kim Basinger has no screen chemistry with Keaton, while the character arc is oversimplified by turning the Joker into a psychopath and while the visuals are impressive, they're not groundbreaking. Both of these points would be improved upon in Batman Returns. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
AaronWasserman2May 6, 2014
For its time Batman was a good comic book movie. but now watching it with an older eye, its not that good. Keaton is a good batman but not so much bruce. Nicholson kills it as the joker. and the score by danny elfman is the most memorial part
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaJan 3, 2015
Dark and mystic. First of the bat-movies, and in a way I guess it will always be the "true one". Not that I like it best, but one has to show a certain degree of respect towards it. Less light-hearted than most of its sequels, this offers aDark and mystic. First of the bat-movies, and in a way I guess it will always be the "true one". Not that I like it best, but one has to show a certain degree of respect towards it. Less light-hearted than most of its sequels, this offers a treat for those who seek to find a hero who isn't packed with super powers, but with a mere brilliance of a man itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MalevolentJun 9, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, I finally watched this movie and I was not impressed. Maybe its because I watched the Nolan films first. Jack Nicholson as the Joker was weird. I didn't like him. I wasn't a big fan of Michael Keaton as Bruce Wayne or Batman. Vicki Vale annoyed the hell out of me. I REALLY did not like the music by Prince. The part where Batman killed the thug really bothered me and yes, I know that Batman has killed people before, but that was a long time ago. And then there was the part where Joker shot down the Batwing with a bullet. A bullet. Really? I liked the music by Danny Elfman and I liked Alfred, but other than that I can't think of other things I liked about this movie. I didn't like the movie, but I didn't dislike it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
joao1198pedroOct 27, 2013
the first batman movie was somewhat gothic, but that does not mean it was a cool movie or has not changed the way to see superhero movies, this film is cool thanks to good acting jack nicholson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Potarto72Dec 21, 2014
This film has a great atmosphere, and is very well-executed on a technical level, but none of the substance really works. The acting is dry, the characters are insufficient, and the story serves only to force the Batman logo onto the bigThis film has a great atmosphere, and is very well-executed on a technical level, but none of the substance really works. The acting is dry, the characters are insufficient, and the story serves only to force the Batman logo onto the big screen. It all just feels like a cash-in that happened to turn out looking pretty cool, but beyond that there isn't much to behold. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AkashVijayJan 22, 2015
The characters are interesting but they're terribly overplayed (particularly the Joker). It's very superficial and very much all surface. But what keeps it interesting is its unpredictability and it's dark and gothic atmosphere. It's fairlyThe characters are interesting but they're terribly overplayed (particularly the Joker). It's very superficial and very much all surface. But what keeps it interesting is its unpredictability and it's dark and gothic atmosphere. It's fairly Juvenile compared to todays flawed heroes but back in 89 this was widely seen as the first sign of the maturing of superhero movies. The Casting was spot on. Nicholson is perfect for the Joker and Keaton is perfect as Batman. They're polar opposite personalities but not so different at heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MarickDec 10, 2014
Batman is a 1989 American superhero film directed by Tim Burton and produced by Jon Peters, based on the DC Comics character of the same name. It is the first installment of Warner Bros.' initial Batman film series. The film stars JackBatman is a 1989 American superhero film directed by Tim Burton and produced by Jon Peters, based on the DC Comics character of the same name. It is the first installment of Warner Bros.' initial Batman film series. The film stars Jack Nicholson, Michael Keaton in the title role, Kim Basinger, Robert Wuhl, Pat Hingle, Billy Dee Williams, Michael Gough, and Jack Palance. In the film, Batman deals with the rise of a costumed criminal known as "The Joker". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZerpnosMar 4, 2017
Zamanına göre düşünecek olursak eğer, Joker ve Batman tanıtımı açısından yeterli bir filmdi. Aksiyonu ve diğer durumları için söylenecek pek bir şey yok. Ortalama bir filmdi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews