User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Brent
    Jul 11, 2009
    9
    I found this to be quite an excellent film. I wasn't expecting much when I first saw the trailer. But even though I only saw it because it was the best movie currently playing when my friends wanted to go, I was in a rapt stare at this film's kiddy, but surprisingly beautiful visuals and all the other cool things it did. We found the movie to be very relatable to people of this I found this to be quite an excellent film. I wasn't expecting much when I first saw the trailer. But even though I only saw it because it was the best movie currently playing when my friends wanted to go, I was in a rapt stare at this film's kiddy, but surprisingly beautiful visuals and all the other cool things it did. We found the movie to be very relatable to people of this day and age since I could easily see something like this happening years and years from now. I also loved the idea to make humans the bad guys for once and to look at things from a realistic angle. It's plot line was very engagin and I had a blast with this movie. I won't go down as a masterpiece, but it's still an awesome film. Expand
  2. ElvisK
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Excellent movie. This is a pretty good animated movie. The story is interesting and pulls you in. The characters are uniformly interesting, Jim and Mala are very good and well developed.
  3. TDKinDallas
    May 1, 2009
    5
    It was actually better than I thought it was going to be, but I was not expecting much.
  4. KipO
    May 5, 2009
    8
    I actually enjoyed this movie a lot. It was an original story told from a unique perspective. It certainly had a message or an insight they were trying to convey, but most good movies/literature try to do more than entertain. I imagine a good number of reviewers judged the message as much as they judged the film.
  5. AaronW
    May 7, 2009
    9
    The story adds an interesting twist to the typical alien invader movie. The world is bright and colorful with many smooth figures, and appears to be directed toward children however there are several amazing action scenes to keep adults on the edge of their seats. However, not all is perfect with this movie. Many main characters, such as the general are extremely two dimensional. Also not The story adds an interesting twist to the typical alien invader movie. The world is bright and colorful with many smooth figures, and appears to be directed toward children however there are several amazing action scenes to keep adults on the edge of their seats. However, not all is perfect with this movie. Many main characters, such as the general are extremely two dimensional. Also not much information is given about the events the precede the movie. You never learn what happened to Terra before their "Golden Age" or about the Mala's childhood. And considering that the movie is only an hour and twenty-five minutes, there was plenty of time to go into more detail. The flaws of this movie do not detract much from the value of it. The movie was pleasing and was not a waste of my five dollars. It may not have been a perfect movie but it was a satisfying movie. Expand
  6. MakD
    Aug 30, 2009
    8
    I agree w/ Kip O, and Ebert - a real effort has been made to imagine an alternative, alien culture, as well as the plausible effects of a tragic past successfully overcome - rather our future from an optimistic retrospect; as for the invading humans, yes they are 2D, but that's because we're meant to identify w/ the aliens who are more human than 'we' are tending to I agree w/ Kip O, and Ebert - a real effort has been made to imagine an alternative, alien culture, as well as the plausible effects of a tragic past successfully overcome - rather our future from an optimistic retrospect; as for the invading humans, yes they are 2D, but that's because we're meant to identify w/ the aliens who are more human than 'we' are tending to behave. Once again, the reimagining of an alternative, alien ecology is very lovingly wrought - and the fact that it happens to be ecologically sound or ideal is belied by the discovery of the aliens' own predatory past. And 3D is a headache as long as I have to wear glasses, period. Can't wait for the DVD! Collapse
  7. JayH
    Sep 9, 2009
    6
    Very imaginative and the story is quite good. Very creative. Although the animation is good, it was not overly impressive. i enjoyed it.
  8. Mar 22, 2014
    6
    This is a great animated film. It has a good story and actually seems to have foreshadowed several films that would be released years later. Fun to watch, much better than the vast majority of animated films that are widely released.
  9. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    I liked this movie a lot, and loved the main character and the peaceful alien race. In short, it's a very good movie but with lower budget than other movies coming from big producers. Simply said, if this movie had a higher budget it would be one of the best. I think people who only like movies with very realistic graphics won't really appreciate it, but those who love a good story,I liked this movie a lot, and loved the main character and the peaceful alien race. In short, it's a very good movie but with lower budget than other movies coming from big producers. Simply said, if this movie had a higher budget it would be one of the best. I think people who only like movies with very realistic graphics won't really appreciate it, but those who love a good story, lovable characters, and a simple but yet beautiful art design will love it. Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    70
    As original and convincing a feature as the better Japanese animes of recent years --"Tekkonkinkreet" comes to mind, along with the slightly older "Metropolis."
  2. Reviewed by: Vadim Rizov
    30
    Terra, to be fair, looks fairly clean, and the 3-D is totally passable, but watching it will be no fun for either kids or adults.
  3. Tentle, dreamy animated sci-fi tale.