Battle: Los Angeles

Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 35
  2. Negative: 13 out of 35

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 10, 2011
    75
    The battle in Battle: Los Angeles is grab-the-armrest tense until the last seconds.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 10, 2011
    75
    Original, it's not. Exciting, it is. This jacked-up B-movie hybrid of "Black Hawk Down" and "War of the Worlds" is a modest but crafty triumph of tension over good sense and cliche.
  3. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Mar 11, 2011
    67
    The effect is to turn a brain-optional shoot-'em-up into a military recruiting commercial, which may not be an accident.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 10, 2011
    63
    The Duke is not only name-checked in passing, but Eckhart (who's excellent) even bears a squinty resemblance by the final scenes.
  5. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Mar 10, 2011
    63
    It's the sort of film that's entertaining while you're in the theater.
  6. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 9, 2011
    63
    Watching Battle Los Angeles is akin to observing someone else play a video game with top-notch production values. For a while, it's fun, but immersion is born of involvement.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 549 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 218
  1. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Great movie!! If you like sci fi & action you should love this movie, if you don't like it you must be a critic! Their saying oh we have seenGreat movie!! If you like sci fi & action you should love this movie, if you don't like it you must be a critic! Their saying oh we have seen this all before..... right squads of aliens charging up the beaches in LA! Not sure I have seen that before! They have made about a million love stories but critics don't complain we had had enough of those. I was late opening night to see Star Wars in 1977 but still got a good seat because no one though it would be any good.......just saying Full Review »
  2. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    People who give this movie below an 8 need to stop being pricks...its a great movie thats more than just a sci-fi thriller...its about being aPeople who give this movie below an 8 need to stop being pricks...its a great movie thats more than just a sci-fi thriller...its about being a marine and the pride that comes with it...Marines are out there fighting for out lives and people give them no credit...Marines Semper Fi Full Review »
  3. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Great movie, I really enjoyed the suspense and action throughout the whole thing. The critics are so wrong about this movie, giving itGreat movie, I really enjoyed the suspense and action throughout the whole thing. The critics are so wrong about this movie, giving it anything less then an 80 out of 100 is an insult... Full Review »