Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 35
  2. Negative: 13 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    Mar 12, 2011
    30
    Packed with gung ho war-movie clich├ęs and subpar shock-and-awe visual effects, this terminally stupid sci-fi adventure pits an army of tentacled aliens piloting "Transformer"-style robots against a platoon of stoic warriors from the Fifth Marines' Second Battalion.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 9, 2011
    12
    Here's a science-fiction film that's an insult to the words "science" and "fiction," and the hyphen in between them. You want to cut it up to clean under your fingernails.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 10, 2011
    25
    Except for the relentless, jittery way that the film has been photographed, there's nothing of interest going on in it. It's all fractious guerrilla-newsreel "style" masquerading a void.
  4. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Mar 10, 2011
    20
    It really is just sensory bombardment, and in two dimensions you have even less of a grasp of what's happening and of what you're looking at than the poor bastards on-screen.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 10, 2011
    0
    This one isn't original, or even bearable. By its thudding end, audiences may wish they could be zapped from the theater to escape the buzzing in their ears.
  6. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 11, 2011
    38
    This silly extraterrestrial-invasion epic somehow manages the feat of making the destruction of La La Land seem tedious.
  7. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 10, 2011
    33
    It's loud, relentless, and difficult to endure, capturing the experience of ground-level alien warfare with woeful verisimilitude.
  8. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Mar 11, 2011
    38
    Don't mean to boast, but I can suspend my disbelief as willingly as any credulous moviegoer. Yet not even an industrial crane would have helped here.
  9. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Mar 10, 2011
    30
    As it lurches from Act II to Act III, Battle: Loss Angeles reveals itself to be a lousy movie.
  10. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Mar 12, 2011
    20
    The shaky-cam as used in "Cloverfield" and the Paul Greengrass "Bourne" films, and in TV shows from "NYPD Blue" to "24" to "The Office," is worse than amateurism; it's fake amateurism, the visual equivalent of a comedian pretending to have Parkinson's.
  11. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Mar 10, 2011
    20
    Fess up: You want to see Los Angeles get blowed up real good, and it's a measure of this movie's incompetence that it can't even deliver that vicarious thrill properly.
  12. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Mar 9, 2011
    20
    Not a single arresting image is found amid the sci-fi rubble, though unintentional laughs eventually arrive courtesy of a cornball motivational speech by Eckhart's hero.
  13. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Mar 10, 2011
    38
    H.G. Wells did it better. This movie spends so much yawn-inducing time on variations of the same combat scenario that its final showdown feels rushed.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 528 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 214
  1. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Great movie!! If you like sci fi & action you should love this movie, if you don't like it you must be a critic! Their saying oh we have seenGreat movie!! If you like sci fi & action you should love this movie, if you don't like it you must be a critic! Their saying oh we have seen this all before..... right squads of aliens charging up the beaches in LA! Not sure I have seen that before! They have made about a million love stories but critics don't complain we had had enough of those. I was late opening night to see Star Wars in 1977 but still got a good seat because no one though it would be any good.......just saying Full Review »
  2. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    People who give this movie below an 8 need to stop being pricks...its a great movie thats more than just a sci-fi thriller...its about being aPeople who give this movie below an 8 need to stop being pricks...its a great movie thats more than just a sci-fi thriller...its about being a marine and the pride that comes with it...Marines are out there fighting for out lives and people give them no credit...Marines Semper Fi Full Review »
  3. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Great movie, I really enjoyed the suspense and action throughout the whole thing. The critics are so wrong about this movie, giving itGreat movie, I really enjoyed the suspense and action throughout the whole thing. The critics are so wrong about this movie, giving it anything less then an 80 out of 100 is an insult... Full Review »