Columbia Pictures | Release Date: March 11, 2011
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 566 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
247
Mixed:
190
Negative:
129
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
ZriJun 22, 2011
I'm quite surprised by the generally negative attitude toward this movie. While it's nothing particularly original, I think it does a lot of things right. I look upon it as Independence Day without a lot of the overly sentimental AmericanI'm quite surprised by the generally negative attitude toward this movie. While it's nothing particularly original, I think it does a lot of things right. I look upon it as Independence Day without a lot of the overly sentimental American overtones (ok, it still has a lot of military gung ho attitude, but it's an alien war movie, let's be realistic). With that attitude, I think it's a much more successful movie, and thus very watchable and enjoyable. Worth seeing. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
LeewayJul 3, 2011
Not as bad as what the critics say, the only main problem with this film is its filled with long action set pieces causing the whole experience to be mind-numbingly long and tiring.
However, Aaron Eckhart was a strong presence as the main
Not as bad as what the critics say, the only main problem with this film is its filled with long action set pieces causing the whole experience to be mind-numbingly long and tiring.
However, Aaron Eckhart was a strong presence as the main character. Him and Michelle Rodriguez both have the sort of energy to keep this film just-above your normal alien invasion slash war movie.
The Storyline of the Film: 40%
Its basically a band of soldiers (lieutenants, officers, majors, etc) trying to find survivors while battling a bunch of extraterrestrial aliens. Not much of a story, just goals and missions.
The C.G.I. of the Film: 70%
Way, Way Better than Skyline. If you're going to make an alien invasion movie might as well go for the visuals instead of a story.
Overall: 67%
Not Bad but like what the critics say, "it feels like we're watching a video game."
Anybody notice some of the similarities between this film and District 9?
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
dijavantewowAug 23, 2011
I'm not sure why this movie got such terrible reviews from critics. It was a good sci-fi/action movie. The characters weren't totally developed, but that wasn't the entire purpose of the movie. The comradery that is eventually formed is veryI'm not sure why this movie got such terrible reviews from critics. It was a good sci-fi/action movie. The characters weren't totally developed, but that wasn't the entire purpose of the movie. The comradery that is eventually formed is very strong and a lasting message about what troops go together in times of war. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
jdrandall38Jun 23, 2011
For me, this is a tough one to judge. I am usually drawn into Alien Invasion movies so my opinion may be bias. The adrenaline this movie gives you is incredible. That said, that was all it really gives you. Continual action and suspense,For me, this is a tough one to judge. I am usually drawn into Alien Invasion movies so my opinion may be bias. The adrenaline this movie gives you is incredible. That said, that was all it really gives you. Continual action and suspense, and no memorable moments. It hits you when you are watching the movie thinking, "hey, this is great!", but when its over, you can't remember any great parts. Nothing more than a satisfactory alien movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RoscoJul 15, 2011
Lets be honest Battle: Los Angeles is hardly a breakthrough movie, infact it doesn't offer anything that we haven't seen before but all the negativity shown towards it is really blown out of proprtion! Its not the best sci-fi, alien invasionLets be honest Battle: Los Angeles is hardly a breakthrough movie, infact it doesn't offer anything that we haven't seen before but all the negativity shown towards it is really blown out of proprtion! Its not the best sci-fi, alien invasion movie i've ever seen but its far from the worst. The film begins with a mysterious objects, initially believed to be meteors crashing into some of the worlds biggest cities oceans however the objects turn out to be spacecraft carrying extra terrestials who have began attacks around the world. Set in modern day LA the film follows a platoon of US Marines fighting for Los Angeles. The one thing the film has in its favour is that it does seem realistic. The setting is stunning particuarly in showing a decimated LA where the action set-pieces work wonderfully and are the best features within the film as its explosion after explosion. Theres no real standout performances although Aaron Eckhart is good in the lead role not his finest hour but he puts in a solid enough performance. Overall, Battle: Los Angeles is hardly revolutionary and there have been better films under this genre (District 13) and it is a bit predictable as most people will have seen it all before however that doesn't make this a bad film. Visually its marvellous and the explosive shootouts are excellent. Won't be for everyone but for action/sci-fi fans you can't go wrong! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuMar 25, 2012
Popcorn for the brain: action, aliens and marines. Some good concepts with the aliens being mortal and (in general) defeatable with standard weaponry, although if I was being picky I would have expect a bit more from a race that mastered thatPopcorn for the brain: action, aliens and marines. Some good concepts with the aliens being mortal and (in general) defeatable with standard weaponry, although if I was being picky I would have expect a bit more from a race that mastered that level of space travel and technology. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
boxenford92May 14, 2011
Seriously. If you walk into this movie expecting an amazing story dont even waste your time. This is hands down meant to be an action sci-fi war film. Nothing else. And thats what makes it so entertaining. It was a lot better than the trashySeriously. If you walk into this movie expecting an amazing story dont even waste your time. This is hands down meant to be an action sci-fi war film. Nothing else. And thats what makes it so entertaining. It was a lot better than the trashy alien invasion film Skyline. I'm looking forward to seeing Jonathan Liebesman's work on Wrath of the Titans Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ReviewerMan44Jul 2, 2011
I walked into Battle Los Angeles hoping for a different alien invasion film. One that would be both creative yet action packed. I walked out somewhat happy. Battle Los Angeles in short, is the same ol' story you've heard 100's of timesI walked into Battle Los Angeles hoping for a different alien invasion film. One that would be both creative yet action packed. I walked out somewhat happy. Battle Los Angeles in short, is the same ol' story you've heard 100's of times before. Aliens have come to planet Earth and they are not nice, they have one thing in mine, destruction of the human race. Enter Aaron Eckhart's character, (who for the life of me I can't remember the man's name) an old ravaged marine who has a notorious reputation for reasons I won't discuss (part of the story). But the thing is, Battle LA distinguishes itself from the alien film crowd because it feels more like a an action packed, adrenaline pumped, war flick. Put it this way, if you tried to combine Saving Private Ryan and Skyline, with the hand held camera of Cloverfield, you pretty much get Battle Los Angeles. (*hint* this movie is twenty times better than Skyline) From then on the story kicks off and gets very intense, heartpounding, and emotional. Most of the film coincides into absolutely brilliantly shot firefights and shootouts with a gritty and mature feel. And that's about it, Battle Los Angeles doesn't feature a story that will blow you out of the water, but incredible action sequences. However the acting in Battle LA is pretty good, mainly because of Aaron Eckhart, who absolutely outdoes himself on all accounts, only everybody will be thinking of Two Face when they see his character. There is however one very, very, very emotional moment where many loose ends are tied up and it ends in a bittersweet, sad, but beautiful moment where Aaron Eckhart delivers the speech of a lifetime. The last thing worth mentioning is the ending which leaves something to be desired. It's not that it's bad, it's just that you feel left robbed of an ending that actually "feels" like an ending, one that ties it up more. Overall Battle Los Angeles is the movie I was hoping for, but not as creative, story driven, or as much of an end of force I had hoped for. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
AkkharAug 20, 2011
None stop action that exactly this kind of movie needs ! Battle: Los Angeles had some problem with the script ans sound other then all was OK . Special Effects were amazing ans acting was good . Alain Invention should be like this but withNone stop action that exactly this kind of movie needs ! Battle: Los Angeles had some problem with the script ans sound other then all was OK . Special Effects were amazing ans acting was good . Alain Invention should be like this but with more background information which "Battle: Los Angeles" Didn't have ! A strong Back story could make it a lot more better .

Story : 1.02 [loose Background Story]
Directing : 1.32 [Not bad but not so good]
Acting : 1.42 [Good specially Aaron Eckhart & Michelle Rodriguez ]
Sound : 1.12 [Somewhere it was way too much unnecessary sound ]
Edit & Effect : 1.62 [Most positive side]

OVERALL : 6.4
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
avatar16Aug 23, 2011
Que serait Call of Duty ou bien Ghost Recon en film? Cela donnerait sans conteste World Invasion : Battle Los Angeles (les extra-terrestres en plus). Du début jusqu'à la fin, ce film n'est qu'un entassement deQue serait Call of Duty ou bien Ghost Recon en film? Cela donnerait sans conteste World Invasion : Battle Los Angeles (les extra-terrestres en plus). Du début jusqu'à la fin, ce film n'est qu'un entassement de clichés sur les militaires et le patriotisme américain que le cinéma hollywoodien nous rabâche sans cesse en boucle (comme pour Independence Day, sauf que ce dernier restait excellent). En somme, le film est sauvé par une mise en scène en béton, de très bons effets sonores, de bons effets visuels et de bons moments d'action (qui ne sont pas sans rappeler Il Faut Sauver Le Soldat Ryan). Un scénario bidon, mais un bon divertissement quand même, sans pour autant casser la baraque. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
joelschnickAug 24, 2011
Watchable film but not great--kind of reminded me of a video game. Story kept my interest and the special effects were not terrible. Not a waste of time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Khunter4382May 31, 2011
Been there, done that. As a hardcore sci-fi fanboy, I was disappointed with this film. There is nothing new here other than maybe the alien's need for water. The story unapologetically demands that it's audience gives it the benefit of theBeen there, done that. As a hardcore sci-fi fanboy, I was disappointed with this film. There is nothing new here other than maybe the alien's need for water. The story unapologetically demands that it's audience gives it the benefit of the doubt on important plot elements. The action and effects are fairly good and AE gives a decent performance, but ultimately this one is just another kernel in the popcorn bag. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
5
drmMar 25, 2011
Do you remember that Marines commercial where the lava monster tries to attack the cadet? This is the 2 hour version of that. Now, I love the military, and that wasn't the real problem with the film. In fact, I'm sure that helped thisDo you remember that Marines commercial where the lava monster tries to attack the cadet? This is the 2 hour version of that. Now, I love the military, and that wasn't the real problem with the film. In fact, I'm sure that helped this movie out heaps, by providing some very realistic combat sequences. The real problems here are abuse of cliché, drunken camera work, clunky dialog, and blurry fudgey effects. For an alien movie, you barely get to see any of them. Sure they're firing all sorts of weapons everywhere, but they are rarely seen, badly designed, and poorly developed. Did I have fun watching it? Yes. Do I ever need to see it again? No. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
PierMar 14, 2011
Another patriotic militaristic film, more focused on trying to convince you on how great is it to be an american soldier than making a science fiction movie. The action and CG are good, it is not a boring film, but you'll have to forgive soAnother patriotic militaristic film, more focused on trying to convince you on how great is it to be an american soldier than making a science fiction movie. The action and CG are good, it is not a boring film, but you'll have to forgive so many clichés and fake dialogs that in the end it becomes and exercise in ignorance rather than enjoying a powerful, original, and moving story. Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
4
DarkCriticMar 11, 2011
Battle: Los Angeles is another dumb alien invasion flick with nothing new and it's really corny with the story and the dialogue. Not even a single explanation about why the aliens are conquering Los Angeles with entire three worlds? It needsBattle: Los Angeles is another dumb alien invasion flick with nothing new and it's really corny with the story and the dialogue. Not even a single explanation about why the aliens are conquering Los Angeles with entire three worlds? It needs more reasoning than actual film by itself for fighting more aliens and the marines to battle into a ripping into a video game of Call of Duty and Resistance. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
4
nERVEcenterMar 15, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A tolerable war flick. While it gets all the military ins-and-outs right, and the setup is enough to pique interest, the excessive shaky-cam and lame script from the invasion point onwards is enough to drive one insane. Shaky-cam during idle office scenes? Really? Shaky-cam during slow, tension-building scenes? Double-really?

The movie disappoints on multiple levels. The aliens are never explained in depth at all (hive command structure, they want our water, shoot an organ in their chest to kill them...that's it), the firefights are extremely same-ey (oh look, they've been ambushed, pinned down, and surrounded...again), the alien drones -- in their conveniently humanoid form -- are so obviously motion-captured it's counter-immersive, and the fates of characters are so predictable from their introductions it's laughable. (Inexperienced junior officer just out of academy...check. Timid shy Marine who immediately gets separated...check. Army extras who valiantly fulfill their role as red-shirts...check.)

One of the few redeeming qualities of this film is, unsurprisingly, Eckhart's performance as Nantz. If he didn't convince you as Harvey Dent in The Dark Knight, then he will here: A sign of a truly capable actor, he belts out an incredibly campy and cliche speech 2/3rds of the way in with all the steely grit of a true hero of the industry -- that is, one willing to endure jobs such as this so that he might move on to bigger and better projects.

Entertaining? Yes. Good? By no means.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
bikemanJul 6, 2011
OK, why do all alien armies, since Star Wars to today, always have a single point of failure. You can disable their entire military structure by just doing on thing. Can't we be more creative? Also, what's the deal with the handheldOK, why do all alien armies, since Star Wars to today, always have a single point of failure. You can disable their entire military structure by just doing on thing. Can't we be more creative? Also, what's the deal with the handheld camera, even before the action starts. Example: There is a scene in a florist shop where a character is picking out wedding flowers and the camera is panning and bobbing around like were supposed to be in a war zone. Very annoying. Anyway, this is a standard alien invasion movie with cookie-cutter characters that we've all seen before. It tries to be different, but its not. Not a terrible movie, but not a good one. I'm glad I waited until this came out on TV. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
Nadim_BasnaMar 17, 2011
Aaron Eckhart, once again delivers a solid performance. However, Battle: LA does not offer audiences anything new. The film's plot is quite predictable, sprinkled with loud explosions and cheesy dialogue, turning this film into the longestAaron Eckhart, once again delivers a solid performance. However, Battle: LA does not offer audiences anything new. The film's plot is quite predictable, sprinkled with loud explosions and cheesy dialogue, turning this film into the longest army recruiting commercial. Watch it if you have nothing to do on a Sunday. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
movieccMar 19, 2011
The movie is just like a documentary on war. Almost nothing but fighting throughout the entire movie. Though it lacks a good plot, it has good shooting scenes. A movie to watch if you enjoy bullets and bombs whizzing past you.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Inuit_DudeMar 19, 2011
i found this movie to be alright and it had its moments but it is mostly a rip off of similar films. i did not feel an attachement to the charachters that good movies usually establish but i did like all the fighting and the explosions in thei found this movie to be alright and it had its moments but it is mostly a rip off of similar films. i did not feel an attachement to the charachters that good movies usually establish but i did like all the fighting and the explosions in the movie. there were some points where i wondered WTF is going on right now because it can be confusing at points and i found the actors did not do a very good job or putting enough emotion into their parts and it kinda left me feeling empty inside. this is an alright movie but if you must see it i suggest renting it once it comes out because it is not really worth it in my eyes Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
BeregrondMar 15, 2011
The film revolves around an invasion by an unknown alien race, which start attacking the coastlines of some of the worldâ
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
ElectricCityMar 15, 2011
I hate to say it, but this movie feels painfully generic. Boring, cliched characters. Cliche Hoo-rah story. Aaron Eckhart is really great in it, but it's otherwise fairly forgettable.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
4
GunslingerX1983Mar 19, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When i first heard about this movie I thought it really could be a fresh take on the alien invasion scenario. Unfortunately I was sadly mistaken as it quickly melts into the same structured and stereotypical storyline. Don't get me wrong theres explosions a plenty but thats about all thats impressive. Character names appear at the beginning... but with the amount of development they are given I had no chance of remembering who was who amongst the carnage. Eckhart manages to give a Bill Pullman speech a la Independence Day and the ending... well lets just say anti climax. Its like watching someone else play Halo! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
DilloncupplesMar 22, 2011
This movie Is alright from beginning to end but if your looking for anything new your clearly looking the wrong way. Its a great way to waste a few hours and who can argue with a handful of explosions? Unfortunately character depth is moreThis movie Is alright from beginning to end but if your looking for anything new your clearly looking the wrong way. Its a great way to waste a few hours and who can argue with a handful of explosions? Unfortunately character depth is more like the shallow end of the kiddy pool. And as far as twists and turns go you can see them all from miles away. Wish the decisions weren't so ridiculous and sporadic but what are you gonna do? Be cool to see a more down to earth movie but what are the odds of that its about freaking aliens? hope this helped peace. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
bovianJun 16, 2011
Probably this is the loudest movie i have ever seen in years. The storyline is predictable but the action sequence and survival battle caught my attention.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
davenbettridgeSep 8, 2011
This movie maybe worth watching on DVD for free if you had nothing better to do and had watched every good sci-fi action movie in history and didnt want to watch any of them again. The characters and acting were poor and the aliensThis movie maybe worth watching on DVD for free if you had nothing better to do and had watched every good sci-fi action movie in history and didnt want to watch any of them again. The characters and acting were poor and the aliens forgettable. Perhaps some of the action scenes were ok but this movie has been done better many times before. Pass Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
JGLmanJul 1, 2011
This was a boring film that continually lost my interest. It seemed like it dragged on. Apart from the special effects, this movie is worthless. There were a few moments that kept me in it. Towards the end one you thought "victory" was uponThis was a boring film that continually lost my interest. It seemed like it dragged on. Apart from the special effects, this movie is worthless. There were a few moments that kept me in it. Towards the end one you thought "victory" was upon the human race, the large space shuttle arose from the ashes apparently stronger than ever. I, at the point, just wanted the movie to end. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
QuarriMar 23, 2012
the movie was entertaining. the action was fun. the introduction and set up of the movie was outstanding. the end was terrible. completely anti-climactic. humanity should have flat out lost. end of the discussion, there should not have been athe movie was entertaining. the action was fun. the introduction and set up of the movie was outstanding. the end was terrible. completely anti-climactic. humanity should have flat out lost. end of the discussion, there should not have been a super obvious easily exploited weakness that wins the battle for humanity. a depressing ending would have fit the build up to a tee. but someone screwed up. point is, what the beginning, its believable and entertaining. either stop when it starts to suck or cringe through the rest Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JonnyFendiApr 13, 2011
If we are going to talk about Alien movies, the truth is that no one could make Alien movie 100% genuine anymore. Most of us will immediately compare it with INDEPENDENCE DAY (1996) for Alien Invasion and Spielberg E.T.: THE EXTRA TERRESTRIALIf we are going to talk about Alien movies, the truth is that no one could make Alien movie 100% genuine anymore. Most of us will immediately compare it with INDEPENDENCE DAY (1996) for Alien Invasion and Spielberg E.T.: THE EXTRA TERRESTRIAL (1982) for more Friendly Alien. Yep, it was only two. In summary, the rest is follower. Thiz movie is closer to the first one. From the first minute it is very clear we will only see through a single perspective. A staff Sergeant (Aaron Eckhart) was given an assignment to assist 2nd Lieutenant and his platoon. Their objective is deploying to City of Los Angeles and defends from alien aggression. I could easily say the movie effectively dragging us into middle of specific situation, where we will be able to experience what it feels like to be one of those U.S. Marines in that war zone. Thiz experience is just like when we were playing one of those video games like COUNTER STRIKE, HALF-LIFE and CALL OF DUTY. We are forced to take a role in it, to be anxious and worrying when Alien sneaking nearby, or think along what should be the best strategies to evacuate a group of civilians, and finally how to find their weaknesses and use it to fight back. Like all the Alien movies, thiz new form of Alien also has a weakness. In INDEPENDENCE DAY they defeat it by installing the computer virus into their mothership, meanwhile in MARS ATTACK! (1996) they destroy it with the song! Find out yourself, what is the weakness in thiz version of Alien. The Director is Jonathan Liebesman (known for TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE: THE BEGINNING (2006)) and the rest of the Casts are: Ramon Rodriguez, Michelle Rodriguez, Ne-Yo, Bridget Moynahan and many more. The Director seems to be very skillful in using Hand-Held camera techniques, no matter how shaky the picture is, we could still see it comfortably. The only disappointment is that in the movie trailer showed alien arrivals caused mass panic from some of the famous cities all over the world, and we also saw a dynamic breaking news style which is make us thinking that thiz movie is a worldwide apocalyptic movies. It does not happen that way, you are just about to follow a platoon of soldiers. The focus is simply smaller.

Visit My Blog on JONNYâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
juliankleissMar 30, 2011
It starts out with a boring introduction of the characters and extremely annoys by being captured with an unsteady hand camera (even though there is nothing happening in the script, to the viewer it feels like there is an earthquake). ItIt starts out with a boring introduction of the characters and extremely annoys by being captured with an unsteady hand camera (even though there is nothing happening in the script, to the viewer it feels like there is an earthquake). It seems Aaron Eckhart's acting saves the movie from not being enjoyable. But really, there are some emotional scenes, and after the action starts going it does not lose excitement until the movie is over. Interestingly, the story does not concentrate on the overall impact of the alien invasion on a global scale, but focuses exclusively on one small team of marines and how they try to survive while contributing to defending their country. On the one hand, the military's representation might be a little bit one sided for it only shows good soldiers, while really in every big group of people there are black sheep. However, on the other hand, people who might be opposed to the existence of the American military should see with this movie that its major function is protecting their own people. There is only very little critical element in the beginning of the movie, but it does compare the shocking alien invasion to the human's "handbook of how to colonize", therefore confirming that the humans have behaved towards each other in the same cruel way. This movie is not the greatest way to spend one's time and money, but it won't feel like a waste either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
yokeshApr 19, 2011
I'm not a christian or a country fan. But that doesn't prevent me from from enjoying this film. I'm not a professional movie reviwer either, but I don't understand the critics dislike. I've seen much, much worse films shoehorning religion andI'm not a christian or a country fan. But that doesn't prevent me from from enjoying this film. I'm not a professional movie reviwer either, but I don't understand the critics dislike. I've seen much, much worse films shoehorning religion and "feel good" messages into some real life plot. This film told a good story without being preachy or boring. I'm a huge fan of the ocean, so perhaps I'm biased but, this film is worth a watch. I've seen it twice at two seperate screenings and loved it each time. Anytime I felt it might start being to message heavy, the scene would change before it was lost due to overexposure. Plus there is a lot of great surfing scenes, competition and recreation.â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lethalwolfMar 29, 2011
This movie could have been the next independance day... a troubled marine guilt ridden by the death of his men on a previous mission takes control of a platoon with a young leader who is frozen when in battle... how many times have we seenThis movie could have been the next independance day... a troubled marine guilt ridden by the death of his men on a previous mission takes control of a platoon with a young leader who is frozen when in battle... how many times have we seen that? that's ok, l'll allow that, the action is deafening, the story line has a few cracks but it's passable. the one thing that prevents this movie from really being good, it she shoddy camera filming.. what the heck?? was the cameraman a monkey juiced up on redbull??? with $70 million they couldn't hire a cameraman? remember cloverfield? well this is how most scenes are shot.... all you see is a blur, up down, left, right... finally to center on where the action is but then again, oops too high... pan down, zoom out.... This is just plain awful. nice try ...Big Fail on this one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
It is really worthy for the special effects, the non-stop action and the idea is that as cliché. A super blockbuster! The sameness may be present in the roadmap showing every soldier, his bravery and patriotism, as always ...It is really worthy for the special effects, the non-stop action and the idea is that as cliché. A super blockbuster! The sameness may be present in the roadmap showing every soldier, his bravery and patriotism, as always ... blah blah blah but you know what? It never hurts to watch! It is the vision of the director on YOUR choice to show some LA soldiers before a battle towards ET's. Or you guys were expecting a 10 hour film which show various views the world and your soldiers? The scenes, photographs, takes, these have a lot of CG is visually amazing! Brilliant! The Americans know how to show patriotism, unity, emotion, technology, performance and special effects. Great actors and a good choice to end. My "Four Thumbs Ups" by the art of the blockbuster film! Pure fun and wonder! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AsandMay 22, 2011
Nice war/action picture but not so good as a sc-fi movie. Entertaining beginning and pretty good special effects. Later the movie gets predictable and I got the "I have seen this before" effect. There are some unnecessary or even stupidNice war/action picture but not so good as a sc-fi movie. Entertaining beginning and pretty good special effects. Later the movie gets predictable and I got the "I have seen this before" effect. There are some unnecessary or even stupid moments in it but overall impression is OK.
If you liked Independence Day or War of the Worlds you will like this one too.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BingoTrousers14May 21, 2011
This movie was nothing special. There was a lot of action, which I enjoy, but it wasn't done right. The camera shots during the action scenes made it annoying to watch, kinda like a Michael Bay flick. The characters weren't good at all. IThis movie was nothing special. There was a lot of action, which I enjoy, but it wasn't done right. The camera shots during the action scenes made it annoying to watch, kinda like a Michael Bay flick. The characters weren't good at all. I hoped in some cool aliens in the movie, but they were pretty basic and lame. It's just a disposable action movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieGuyBrianApr 1, 2011
The title doesnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KAS--WillSep 10, 2011
The most flawed thing with this movie is it's length, and the whole Marine Propaganda thing. The problem with the length, is it felt like it was a good movie; 30 minutes to the end. And with that, I wouldn't mind seeing a sequel. However,The most flawed thing with this movie is it's length, and the whole Marine Propaganda thing. The problem with the length, is it felt like it was a good movie; 30 minutes to the end. And with that, I wouldn't mind seeing a sequel. However, the Marine Propaganda, is too cheesy for the 21st century... or even the 1960s for that matter. I support our troops, but this stuff would only be acceptable in the 1940s... But aside from those 2 problems, not a bad movie, just a really dragged out one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ArrowMay 19, 2011
It is a movie about 'how awesome our american soldiers are'. It is not a sci-fi action movie. The aliens are there, because extreme political correctness (I would say political madness) has no problems with killing dozens of aliens, butIt is a movie about 'how awesome our american soldiers are'. It is not a sci-fi action movie. The aliens are there, because extreme political correctness (I would say political madness) has no problems with killing dozens of aliens, but similar amount of dead nazis/north koreans/russians/any other usa enemy soldiers would require completely different approach. While killing aliens can be done without any restrictions.
Its not a bad movie, it just betrays the viewers. The trailers promise a sci-fi action movie, and we receive an illustration of 'how wonderfull american soldiers are', aliens optional. If not that, the audience would be different and opinions better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CAGUYCAMay 19, 2011
BATTLE:LA is no sci fi it is blackhawk down with aliens,now this may seem like a cool and action packed ride worth the watch.But i trust me the movie is ruined with to much camera wobble and the camera wobble is a excuse for the action scenesBATTLE:LA is no sci fi it is blackhawk down with aliens,now this may seem like a cool and action packed ride worth the watch.But i trust me the movie is ruined with to much camera wobble and the camera wobble is a excuse for the action scenes to be quick and so the audience don't think while watching it they just hear noises and like it. What does the director think we are dogs??? noises don't cut it for me mate the action scenes don't get solid or anywhere near acceptable in till the end. Which is also very dull and boring and pointless and the aliens are never deeply explained im sorry but this movie is just horrible in my eyes. But i have given it a 6 because im not the Devil Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
amg20Nov 13, 2011
Battle LA is a typical alien invasion action movie. It cant help but feel like a poorly executed, newer, Independence Day. An above average action performance by Aaron Eckhart helps to redeem the movie but it remains thoroughly average. TheBattle LA is a typical alien invasion action movie. It cant help but feel like a poorly executed, newer, Independence Day. An above average action performance by Aaron Eckhart helps to redeem the movie but it remains thoroughly average. The film is permeated with action scenes that consists of gunfire, loud explosions, and yelling. It is still mildly entertaining despite the fact that is extremely formulaic and predictable. It help my attention for the entire runtime yet it managed to provide zero mental stimulation.It receives a thoroughly average 5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
eTurkeyJan 27, 2012
By personal rule I try not to have expectations before I watch a movie regardless of how much I already know about it. I was expecting "Battle: Los Angeles" to be yet another clichéd alien invasion flick in which humans must onceBy personal rule I try not to have expectations before I watch a movie regardless of how much I already know about it. I was expecting "Battle: Los Angeles" to be yet another clichéd alien invasion flick in which humans must once again put aside their differences and work together to save the day and retake the planet. That's pretty much how BLA turned out, but one redeeming feature was how much it resembled war-related pictures such as "Black Hawk Down" as opposed to crappy sci-fi movies such as "Skyline". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dev92Aug 25, 2012
I am not really sure why the critics were so harsh towards this film. It is fine, it is nothing special but it has a wonderful tension that builds throughout the film. I also thought that the acting was brilliant especially the chemistryI am not really sure why the critics were so harsh towards this film. It is fine, it is nothing special but it has a wonderful tension that builds throughout the film. I also thought that the acting was brilliant especially the chemistry between Aaron Eckhart and Ramon Rodriguez. A solid film that is worth a view. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeSep 27, 2012
An entertaining movie, but nothing more ... Is typical alien movie. Unoriginal. Special effects are acceptable. Appears to be good, but not anything to write home.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
Eh, I liked most of it! I was entertained despite many annoying flaws.

The first, and most annoying flaw is the camera work. Could the camera shake any more? I'm not really sure what the director and filmmakers were thinking while filming
Eh, I liked most of it! I was entertained despite many annoying flaws.

The first, and most annoying flaw is the camera work. Could the camera shake any more? I'm not really sure what the director and filmmakers were thinking while filming this movie, but it's ridiculous. Whatever effect they were going for was completely missed. I was annoyed throughout most of the film because the camera was literally moving the entire 2 hr. running time.

Second, there was no character development. In the beginning, I could tell there were some attempts to introduce some characters, but I rarely cared for any of the characters. Towards the end of the film I began to care a little more for the characters, but this film failed to capitalize on the atmosphere of the story and emotions that could have come from the situation. This is the area where the film had SO much potential. The conflict of the film was really great...LA was being destroyed. The characters' homes were being destroyed. Let me get into their heads, make me feel what they're feeling...but this film never touched that aspect of the story. Ultimately the film fails for that reason.

Also, this film is so so cliche! Almost laughable at times...

I did love the effects and action! I'm a big blockbuster fan, so Battle: LA delivered in that respect. The special effects were great, and the battle sequences were action-packed and intense. I was entertained and I can't complain with that...

Battle: LA...an okay pre-summer blockbuster that entertains, but nothing else. I recommend it, but this film fails to deliver in areas where it could and should have.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
darkcolaOct 29, 2014
In the vein of reviewing things that have already come and gone, here I am again. I saw this movie last night and enjoyed it. It was a flat out traditional - good guys versus aliens movie, and it was much more fun and convincing in terms ofIn the vein of reviewing things that have already come and gone, here I am again. I saw this movie last night and enjoyed it. It was a flat out traditional - good guys versus aliens movie, and it was much more fun and convincing in terms of military coordination than anything Independence day tried to pull off (hated that movie). This is not an award winning movie. This is not filled with award winning overpaid actors. This is literally the quintessential- movie made to entertain the audience, movies. It is not pretentious, self-important like War of the worlds. It has some nice effects, some fun battles and full of cliches that work in the context of this film.

My only desire would have been some more information about what really happened to our Sgt. in his past- maybe a flashback or so.

Fav moment: when Sgt. ties shoes on kid- just one of those spontaneous subtle moments that reveals the nurturing character of our hero.

Dumbest moment: being caught out in the open street by first encounter rooftop martians.

Silly moment: trying to find out how these creatures are best killed- sure was some funny organ parts in that darn thing...

All in all, worth it to buy on dvd, see it with the intention of being entertained, not to be taken seriously, and hopefully you love your American military.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Movie1997Apr 13, 2013
Even though its just another alien movie, I thank God it's not like same Michael Bay "Transformers 2" movie. The story does try to stay on track with the conflict, but some of the other scenes from the very beginning were pointless. When IEven though its just another alien movie, I thank God it's not like same Michael Bay "Transformers 2" movie. The story does try to stay on track with the conflict, but some of the other scenes from the very beginning were pointless. When I say this, I'm talking about the golf scene. But once it gets into the action, it really draws your attention. It tends to, at times, bring in some thrills, which really is the first half of the movie. But when you come up to the final battle, it tends to lose its suspensing thrills and seems to be an action like movie. As far as acting goes, its pretty decent. But it's always Aaron Eckhart who still keeps the story going. Overall, for a stupid movie idea like this, it's pretty decent to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
savagejoe444May 31, 2013
Not that bad, but still not a good movie. The plot seemed interesting at first, but it just felt like another story that was played in front of me before, like a video game or something. The story is not that great to begin with anyway. TheNot that bad, but still not a good movie. The plot seemed interesting at first, but it just felt like another story that was played in front of me before, like a video game or something. The story is not that great to begin with anyway. The characters themselves, while they do act like bad*** soldiers, they aren't really that interesting at all. They just go in and kill alien invaders like any other game or movie Iv'e seen before already. Another issue, its just plain boring. Some of the action scenes are entertaining, but the rest feel rushed and unneeded. The alien invaders don't look or feel interesting. They just look like robots made up of organs, flesh and metal who want our water, which is very obvious. There's nothing here original or exciting. It was a good idea on paper and couldv'e been a good movie, but the excitement, plot, and imagination just wasn't there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
UtopianStuffMay 28, 2013
I did have fun with the movie, it did its job well, it was an all around popcorn movie, but the movie lacks in character development, execution, script and acting. But I did sort of like the movie, I mean Battle: LA isn't as bad as Skyline,I did have fun with the movie, it did its job well, it was an all around popcorn movie, but the movie lacks in character development, execution, script and acting. But I did sort of like the movie, I mean Battle: LA isn't as bad as Skyline, but the movie is nothing memorable, at points it tries to be like Independence Day, or Cloverfield, or Black Hawk Down. The movie is full of flaws, but its okay. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DamonRageDevilJun 17, 2013
Apologies for my earlier review, my mistaking the movie for it's terrible game. This movie was actually pretty decent, with some exciting action scenes and great aliens. The story overall was predictable and lackluster though. The movie isApologies for my earlier review, my mistaking the movie for it's terrible game. This movie was actually pretty decent, with some exciting action scenes and great aliens. The story overall was predictable and lackluster though. The movie is worth watching, but not an overall success. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
bfoore90Feb 28, 2017
Breaks no new ground but its does alot of things right and is a solid, albeit unspectacular sci-fi/action flick. Aaron Eckhart provides a strong presence for a totally underdeveloped cast of characters with no real plot other than your basicBreaks no new ground but its does alot of things right and is a solid, albeit unspectacular sci-fi/action flick. Aaron Eckhart provides a strong presence for a totally underdeveloped cast of characters with no real plot other than your basic "survive" element. Nonetheless, if youre a fan of the genre, then this film is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Duskycarp116Sep 9, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give this movie a 6/10 and here's why: Even though this movie is so realistic with fear, love, action, and emotional this movie's beginning is WAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY to boring. But it did made me cry when the father died, but the ending I was like "What in the name of god is going on?" The camera shakes way too much for us the people watching it and we what to know what they are shooting at. Yes that won't be realistic but this is a movie not a real life happening. Is this movie bad? No. Is this movie good? Not really. Its just in my list of meh movies that have really good action scenes that happen later on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
vpsinghOct 29, 2014
What is the thing that saved this film to be hated from myself is that... it's pretty well acted by almost every actors. It's been made in Black Hawk Dawn plus District 9 style. Some moments reminds me great war films. What made it bad is...What is the thing that saved this film to be hated from myself is that... it's pretty well acted by almost every actors. It's been made in Black Hawk Dawn plus District 9 style. Some moments reminds me great war films. What made it bad is... It's flat and repetitious. Problems lies in writing which could involve some different and original stuffs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoAug 1, 2015
It is a regular movie, good for special effects and action , and that is bad and boring argument undone , I know that hurt Valio expectations , but too many explanations .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews