Battle: Los Angeles

Battle: Los Angeles Image
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 547 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In 2011, what where once just UFO sightings become a terrifying reality when Earth is attacked by unknown forces. As people everywhere watch the world's great cities fall, Los Angeles becomes the last stand for mankind in a battle no one expected. It's up to a marine staff sergeant and hisIn 2011, what where once just UFO sightings become a terrifying reality when Earth is attacked by unknown forces. As people everywhere watch the world's great cities fall, Los Angeles becomes the last stand for mankind in a battle no one expected. It's up to a marine staff sergeant and his new platoon to draw a line in the sand as they take on an enemy unlike any they've ever encountered before. (Columbia Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 35
  2. Negative: 13 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 10, 2011
    75
    The battle in Battle: Los Angeles is grab-the-armrest tense until the last seconds.
  2. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Mar 10, 2011
    63
    It's the sort of film that's entertaining while you're in the theater.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Mar 9, 2011
    50
    It's a film of noble sacrifice and "good deaths" but surprisingly few chuckles.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Mar 14, 2011
    50
    A lot more fun than bludgeoning, soul-draining follies like "Terminator Salvation" or the "Transformers" films, and, with a decisive trim, it could truly have fulfilled its brief as a bright, semi-abstract pop fantasy, at once excitable and disposable. Oddly, it did once exist in that form: in the first trailer.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 9, 2011
    40
    Mostly, this is the cinematic equivalent of a first-person shooter game, one where the Marines possess only slightly more personality than the faceless invaders.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 10, 2011
    33
    It's loud, relentless, and difficult to endure, capturing the experience of ground-level alien warfare with woeful verisimilitude.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 10, 2011
    0
    This one isn't original, or even bearable. By its thudding end, audiences may wish they could be zapped from the theater to escape the buzzing in their ears.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 218
  1. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Great movie!! If you like sci fi & action you should love this movie, if you don't like it you must be a critic! Their saying oh we have seenGreat movie!! If you like sci fi & action you should love this movie, if you don't like it you must be a critic! Their saying oh we have seen this all before..... right squads of aliens charging up the beaches in LA! Not sure I have seen that before! They have made about a million love stories but critics don't complain we had had enough of those. I was late opening night to see Star Wars in 1977 but still got a good seat because no one though it would be any good.......just saying Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    WELL another world invasion movie, so i thought, it was intertaining and i likeed it, and so did my girlfriend. which was a real surprise toWELL another world invasion movie, so i thought, it was intertaining and i likeed it, and so did my girlfriend. which was a real surprise to me. The movie had a good cast and a lot of gun fights. And well evertything works out at the end as usual. Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    I waited and bought the blu-ray because the reviews were so poor when it was in the theaters, fortunately the movie was much better thanI waited and bought the blu-ray because the reviews were so poor when it was in the theaters, fortunately the movie was much better than critics reviews. The special effects and sound were excellent, lots of well made, intense action sequences, mostly ground troops vs alien battles. The battle sequences are very reminiscent of the type seen in Saving private Ryan or Band of Brothers except the enemies are aliens instead of nazi's. A very fast pace from beginning to the end. The only real let down for me was the beginning because it could have been so much better, very little time was devoted to the aliens landing on earth and being seen for the first time, within minutes of the start of the film, Los Angeles is almost decimated, aliens ae briefly seen on a fuzzy tv news report marching and you are thrown into the action with almost no build up. I would have liked to have seen the aliens emerge after some erie and/or creepy start. After the first 15 minutes the characters start to develop. Definitely not a 10 but a solid 8. Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    7/10.

    If you're looking for a War movie and enjoy war movies then Battle: LA will not disappoint. Lots of surprises but the dialogs are
    7/10.

    If you're looking for a War movie and enjoy war movies then Battle: LA will not disappoint. Lots of surprises but the dialogs are just really bad. I would've given this a 9.
    Expand
  5. May 31, 2011
    5
    Been there, done that. As a hardcore sci-fi fanboy, I was disappointed with this film. There is nothing new here other than maybe the alien'sBeen there, done that. As a hardcore sci-fi fanboy, I was disappointed with this film. There is nothing new here other than maybe the alien's need for water. The story unapologetically demands that it's audience gives it the benefit of the doubt on important plot elements. The action and effects are fairly good and AE gives a decent performance, but ultimately this one is just another kernel in the popcorn bag. Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When i first heard about this movie I thought it really could be a fresh take on the alien invasion scenario. Unfortunately I was sadly mistaken as it quickly melts into the same structured and stereotypical storyline. Don't get me wrong theres explosions a plenty but thats about all thats impressive. Character names appear at the beginning... but with the amount of development they are given I had no chance of remembering who was who amongst the carnage. Eckhart manages to give a Bill Pullman speech a la Independence Day and the ending... well lets just say anti climax. Its like watching someone else play Halo! Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2011
    0
    It boggles my mind that people give this drivel positive reviews. This movie is completely uninteresting and BORING. Oh but what about theIt boggles my mind that people give this drivel positive reviews. This movie is completely uninteresting and BORING. Oh but what about the special effects and the action? Sci- Fi channel grade at best. Not worth the dollar to rent from red box Expand

See all 218 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.
  2. 10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid)

    10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid) Image
    Published: March 9, 2011
    This week's "Battle: Los Angeles" is one in a long line of alien invasion movies. We take a look back at some of the best and worst examples of the genre.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 25, 2011
    This week's roundup is filled with new trailers and clips, including the very first look at "The Hangover Part II" and new glimpses of "Battle: Los Angeles," "Source Code," "Sucker Punch," and "Bad Teacher." Plus, get the latest details on the next Bourne film and other upcoming movies.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our first Film Friday of the new year has brand-new trailers and clips for upcoming films like "Battle: Los Angeles" and "Paul," casting news for "The Hobbit" and "The Dark Knight Rises," and much more.