Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 18, 2012
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 418 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
129
Mixed:
144
Negative:
145
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
MarcDoyleMay 18, 2012
Like scoley, I'm very surprised at how much fun I had with this film. Definitely too long and packed with corny, flat humor, but again, Taylor K. is a solid lead (really liked him in John Carter) and the supporting cast brings heart andLike scoley, I'm very surprised at how much fun I had with this film. Definitely too long and packed with corny, flat humor, but again, Taylor K. is a solid lead (really liked him in John Carter) and the supporting cast brings heart and spirit to the proceedings. The connection to the old board game (no spoilers) is a little cheesy. And the special effects folks were obviously huge fans of Tall Man and his flying Cuisinarts from the Phantasm films, as those spherical chainsaws are a loving tribute to those 80's horror classics. And, of course, this film is leagues ahead of the Transformers films. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
4
ArkonBladeAug 29, 2012
Basically a big a explosion jerkfest which i was expecting but with Liam neason in it who is such a great actor and has been in so many great films. i figured this should be atleast a decent SciFi flick . unfortunitly his role is so very veryBasically a big a explosion jerkfest which i was expecting but with Liam neason in it who is such a great actor and has been in so many great films. i figured this should be atleast a decent SciFi flick . unfortunitly his role is so very very small and even if he had a big role it wouldn't have helped the extremely watered down plot thats pretty dull. The acting is sub par and the pacing at the start is sluggish considering it does such a horrid job establishing any thing outside of horrably trying to have a few funny moments that fall flat on there face . The only fun moments come from the action which even then isn't the greatest but its ok. The CGI does look pretty good . Its a Popcorn flick but unfortunitly not a very good one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
PixarloverNov 14, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. SPOILER ALERT: THERE'S EXPLOSIONS AND AN ALIEN INVASION!!!!!! That's all there is to it. If you're brain-dead, then you might enjoy this Hollywood headache. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
movieboyMay 22, 2012
It gets a 1 for Liam, other wise omg how could they sink $200 million into this waste of time that's really just a recruitment for the Navy. Awful dialogue, cardboard acting, giant plot holes. OK its just an action flick but it's no wonderIt gets a 1 for Liam, other wise omg how could they sink $200 million into this waste of time that's really just a recruitment for the Navy. Awful dialogue, cardboard acting, giant plot holes. OK its just an action flick but it's no wonder it's bombing. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
2
djniceyNov 10, 2015
Its 2015 and I just got round to watching this rubbish. I shouldn't have wasted my time with the 2/3rd's I saw, I didn't even watch to the end because what was about to happen was so predictable, and the farce that came before it so dumb, IIts 2015 and I just got round to watching this rubbish. I shouldn't have wasted my time with the 2/3rd's I saw, I didn't even watch to the end because what was about to happen was so predictable, and the farce that came before it so dumb, I just went and did something else. I thought Riannas acting would be the worst but nope Taylor Kitch took that honour, and somehow the most idiotic character was the captain of the ship... what! The whole movie made no sense at all. Some of the special effects were good, but CGI is in almost every Hollywood movie these days and is so overused that even that didn't save the movie from being one of the worst big budget movies I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
StevieGJDMay 31, 2012
This is one of the worst huge budget action movies I have ever seen. I'm giving it a 3 because most of the special effects were impressive and the sound engineering is great. That being said, This movie, other than one really forced battleThis is one of the worst huge budget action movies I have ever seen. I'm giving it a 3 because most of the special effects were impressive and the sound engineering is great. That being said, This movie, other than one really forced battle sequence, has nothing to do with the game of Battleship. Instead of Battle Los Angeles, this is Battle Hawaii. The plot is ludicrous. The writing is terrible and obvious. It is corny and hokey.The acting is not great. It was a major disappointment. Liam Neeson was smart to make sure that his screen time in this stinker stayed to a minimum. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
KidoMay 25, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes, the plot sucks, the acting sucks, the humors childish, the dialogues stupid, yet, the movie is quite satisfying in its own cheesy way. Like eating KFC when you are hungry.
The shots are colorful and expressive. Action scenes will keep you at the edge of your seat. It feels so cool seeing the old-fashion battleship blow up the "space"ship. The girl friend is totally hot.

**** the critics, this movie has made my evening a very enjoyable one.

I'm not a fan of navy or warships, but I'm sure people who dig these stuffs would find this even more entertaining.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
ZephMay 18, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Battleship was OK. I mean, it is your prototypical action movie... heaps of mindless action with a bland story to bundle it all together in plastic wrap. If you are the type that will get a kick out of mindless action, then Battleship has you covered. However, if you want more than that, you may want to turn elsewhere. It has enough moments to distinguish itself as its own movie and story, but in the end, the story boils down to an immature character learning maturity the hard way, with a couple of stupid and dull romantic scenes to help the main character show off more of his personality. It is the number one way to cop out of dynamically developing a character on screen. The soundtrack is mostly rock but the soundtrack felt forced into the movie instead of really enhancing it. You could remove most of the music and it wouldn't really influence the quality of the movie. Long story short... go if you love your high octane mindless action movie, but think twice if you want something more than that. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryMay 24, 2012
This movie is based on the Hasbro board game and they actually manage to slip in a bit of the game's design into the plot. However, most of it revolves around an alien invasion that two scrappy groups must scramble to stop. After a slow firstThis movie is based on the Hasbro board game and they actually manage to slip in a bit of the game's design into the plot. However, most of it revolves around an alien invasion that two scrappy groups must scramble to stop. After a slow first third that establishes Taylor Kitsch as a screw-up, it gets down to battling a superior military force. While nothing about the plot or procedures is original, the enemy's technology is impressive and the effects are convincing. There's plenty of cool combat to help distract from the cheesy writing. Overall, the action is solid, but not particularly novel or clever.
NOTE: Stay through the credits for an extended bonus scene.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
3
BikerjamesMay 20, 2012
Are the transformer movies too intellectually stimulating for you? If so, I have found a movie for you! Cornball, cheesy, implausible, loud, and more loud. Aliens with amazing technology and superior intelligence somehow can't communicateAre the transformer movies too intellectually stimulating for you? If so, I have found a movie for you! Cornball, cheesy, implausible, loud, and more loud. Aliens with amazing technology and superior intelligence somehow can't communicate with their home planet without the help of our old school satellite dishes. Yeah, right. I would like to say that Rihanna was a terrible actress, but I'm not sure anyone could give a great performance with the horrible dialogue she was spouting. At one point, after losing over half the fleet and death is all around him, Taylor Kitsch says "I've got a bad feeling about this". Really? You finally have a bad feeling about it? The great Liam Neeson is rarely featured and is simply picking up a paycheck. Why hire a great actor and not use him? He probably read the script and refused to say the cornball dialogue. The special effects are terrific as you would expect from a modern day film made on a computer. There is only one small part of the film that uses the Battleship Game format and it's eye rollingly bad. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
8
powersackersMay 28, 2012
Enjoyed it after the first 30 minutes were pretty lame. It got good and had a few moments i will remember. My 9 year old boy liked it too. A few scenes leave you shaking your head a bit because its out of place or has consistancy issues. IEnjoyed it after the first 30 minutes were pretty lame. It got good and had a few moments i will remember. My 9 year old boy liked it too. A few scenes leave you shaking your head a bit because its out of place or has consistancy issues. I enjoyed the naval ships and patriotic aspects too. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
7
pcmwMay 19, 2012
Go in expecting a corny, fun movie with fun explosions, and you'll get a little more. Kitsch is great, and the supporting cast, though with some corny moments, are good as well. When things get corny, the movie is meta about it. Don't expectGo in expecting a corny, fun movie with fun explosions, and you'll get a little more. Kitsch is great, and the supporting cast, though with some corny moments, are good as well. When things get corny, the movie is meta about it. Don't expect it to be any better than the first "Transformers" film (though it is). All these bad reviews are from people expecting something from the film that the film is not, or people taking it too seriously. Enjoy yourself, suspend belief, and have a good time. It's got a little bit of sic-fi, a little bit of humor and a lot of action. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
wishmasterMay 22, 2012
What was the story of the protagonist and the end of the story was boring, unoriginal and spent way too, but the action, the highlight of the movie, that intensity! I was surprised and not disappointed. special effects very good, but smallWhat was the story of the protagonist and the end of the story was boring, unoriginal and spent way too, but the action, the highlight of the movie, that intensity! I was surprised and not disappointed. special effects very good, but small details that failed second and sound respectable and throughout the Transformers saga. perhaps because of diplomatic problems but it bothers me a little films that are so Americanized. but overall good. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
BartMay 19, 2012
Spoiler alert! Things blow up! The plot cant blow up because there is none. Almost less as Dark Shadows, but louder and with more VFX. Avoid this movie at all costs.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
4
TheQuietGamerJan 2, 2014
An alien invasion flick based off of the Hasbro game of the same name? Despite how absurd this sounded to me I was hoping that this would manage to be a cheesy good time. Unfortunately I found the movie to be a cheesy bad time. Lame plot, badAn alien invasion flick based off of the Hasbro game of the same name? Despite how absurd this sounded to me I was hoping that this would manage to be a cheesy good time. Unfortunately I found the movie to be a cheesy bad time. Lame plot, bad acting, unlikable characters, and lackluster action plague this movie. I didn't really care about anything that was going on. There were some nice explosions but the whole movie just ends up feeling incredibly generic. The attempts at humor fall short, the special effects are dated, and the characters end up feeling like robots who spout of nonsense one-liners that no human being would ever say. Overall "Battleship" is not worth your time. "Syfy" original movies end up coming across as more intelligent and believable than this one does. Skip it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
iom666Jun 10, 2012
I would have given it 6/10 for the scifi, but its American propaganda forces me to give it 0/10.
This is a movie that will not work well out of US. The cold war is over folks and there is no room for a real Starship troppers movie wannabee.
I would have given it 6/10 for the scifi, but its American propaganda forces me to give it 0/10.
This is a movie that will not work well out of US. The cold war is over folks and there is no room for a real Starship troppers movie wannabee. Get this US propaganda **** out of my theater ASAP, it stinks.
Battleship Los Angeles sucks ass big time, its even worse than Battle LA, believe that !
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
6
asthobaskoroMay 26, 2012
Battleship is more like video game than a movie, I couldn't enjoy any frame as a movie. But for video game, it's really fun and exciting. I really praise the score, really enjoy it. Go see it!
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
RogerSmith97May 28, 2012
Honestly When I Saw The Preview I Thought "Oh God No"
I Watched The Movie And I Have To Say The Effects Are Amazing!
The Plot Is Ok.. Somwhat Meh.. The Acting Is Pretty Good! Rihanna's Acting Debut Is Amazing! She Is A Great Actress, Cant
Honestly When I Saw The Preview I Thought "Oh God No"
I Watched The Movie And I Have To Say The Effects Are Amazing!
The Plot Is Ok.. Somwhat Meh.. The Acting Is Pretty Good!
Rihanna's Acting Debut Is Amazing! She Is A Great Actress, Cant Wait To See More Of Her In Movies!
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
MagicSquidJul 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is utterly terrible. The only highlight comes early on when the movie recreates a viral video of a stupid thief breaking into a liquor store by falling through the roof and smashing merchandise on his way to the floor. Aside from that one scene, this movie has almost no redeeming qualities. The action is dull, the acting is cheesy at best, the plot is something out of a middle school writing assignment and the whole movie from start to finish is so unbelievably and unforgivably implausible that I found myself I found myself watching it just to say that I finished it and gave it a fair shake before it sank to the bottom of my "worst movies" list. The movie seemed bent on ruining its own attempts to pull you into it by swiftly kicking you in the mouth every minute with a face-palm worthy line or a terrible attempt at humor.

The whole movie came off to me as a shameful attempt to milk money out of the market. They should have made it into a cartoon or better yet: not at all and donated the money they saved to charity and I would have been impressed.

20 years from now, when someone asks me why I'm so jaded, I'll tell them that this movie was the point at which I irredeemably lost my faith in humanity.

This movie is lousy and downright insulting in its portrayal of our sailors and service men and women.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
4
tallanxMay 27, 2012
I have no idea what went through the mind of the studio execs who green-lighted this movie. "Hmm you know that old game Battleship where you launch attacks at each other, let's make a movie out of that". I mean really? really? I feel that theI have no idea what went through the mind of the studio execs who green-lighted this movie. "Hmm you know that old game Battleship where you launch attacks at each other, let's make a movie out of that". I mean really? really? I feel that the actors, director etc all gave it their best shot but when they had nothing to work with in the first place the result is a mess like this movie. They'd probably be able to make a much better movie using Monopoly than Battleship. Heck even "Guess Who?" would probably make a much better movie. Have it be a show about a gameshow or something. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
4
VicAug 5, 2012
Another highly predictable movie with predictable ending! The only thing is good about this movie is special effects. This is that sort of films that you watch and forget, highly unlikely you'd like to watch it again!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
Knicksfan7May 19, 2012
Honestly, i think we can all agree that its pretty impossible to make a good film based off of the board game Battleship. When i first heard about it i thought it was ridiculous....and it was. This film had countless flaws, all lead by theHonestly, i think we can all agree that its pretty impossible to make a good film based off of the board game Battleship. When i first heard about it i thought it was ridiculous....and it was. This film had countless flaws, all lead by the horribly written script. My god this movie was corny. I can tell at some points it was meant to be cheesy, but not the entire film. Even the moments that were meant to be dramatic and we were supposed to feel for the characters, i just didnt, it was laughable. The acting was atrocious, Brooklyn Decker is a gorgeous woman but she cannot act to save her life and same with Rihanna, although it was her first film so we can give her a little break, but while i enjoyed Taylor Kitsch in John Carter, he just seemed like a tool in this movie, i only felt anger towards his character. When i first saw the trailer and the cast for the film, i thought "well Liam Neeson can probably carry the movie" but his character probably only had a total of 5 minutes of screen time which i have to say was very disappointing. I didn't expect this movie to be good in the first place because the concept of it is just ridiculous so i think i've bashed it enough. The only positives in this movie were the action (which was sub-par at best) and Brooklyn Deckers chest. 2/10 Wait for it to be in Redbox or on Netflix, not worth the admission price. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
garethvkMay 18, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
evanrmJun 4, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is it watchable? Yes - sort of. Is the SFX good? It's okay. In reality would the aliens destroy us in order to keep stupid films like this from escaping earth and lowering the IQ quotient of the whole galaxy? Undoubtedly. Overall: It's not even worth paying to hire it on DVD. For some reason Metacritic wouldn't let me write a review even several weeks after the film had premiered in Australia, as the little countdown was still ticking. I assume that the site got paid off to hold back all the negative reviews, cause this film sucked hard. An irresponsible **** joins the Navy and becomes a Lieutenant (no, not Rhianna, I'm talking about Taylor Kitsch), because even morons get to high rank in the Navy without any effort these days. Aliens turn up... and then they do nothing (except when attacked). Huh. Well, it's a different plot, to be sure. There's even 5 minutes of the boardgame-type warfare in the film (which is actually the films strongest part... and then they ditch it). Poor acting, poor script, poor film. 4 out of 10. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
KadeemluvmusicMay 24, 2012
Can somebody please tell me why Battleship was turned into a movie? I have seen the Transformers and G.I. Joe TV series and movies, but thank god I'd stayed away from the theater watching a ridiculous funnier mess than a famous board gameCan somebody please tell me why Battleship was turned into a movie? I have seen the Transformers and G.I. Joe TV series and movies, but thank god I'd stayed away from the theater watching a ridiculous funnier mess than a famous board game where I watched the Battleship commercials back in the late 90's on Saturday mornings. I don't know why Rihanna is in the movie (I like her as a global chart-topping singer), Taylor Kitsch hasn't seen a lot of love since his horrible box office flop, John Carter, and Peter Berg (I don't know about that director, but he's no Michael Bay) has one of the biggest mistakes in his career. Sure, he directed Friday Night Lights and all the work that he's done in the past. But this is 2012 and Battleship is not one of them. Look a little more like a rip-off of the Transformers movies. But since G.I. Joe will have to wait till next year, I'll say get my $10 bucks back and watch The Avengers instead. Battleship is one of the worst movie of the year. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
MyffubsMay 29, 2012
The film adaptation of Battleship proves to be about as poor as one might imagine. The movie rips off a number of recent flicks -- namely of the alien-invasion-leads-to-mass-destruction variety -- most of which are derivative enough as it is.The film adaptation of Battleship proves to be about as poor as one might imagine. The movie rips off a number of recent flicks -- namely of the alien-invasion-leads-to-mass-destruction variety -- most of which are derivative enough as it is. Thusly viewers get a simultaneously bloated and watered down translation of the popular Hasbro game. One sequence comes close to dramatic line readings of "B3!"/"Hit!" with related visuals, but most of Battleship comes off as an excuse to, say, blow stuff up real good. Of course the movie can barely do this well; the action scenes are so poorly edited that one can barely make sense of the confusion. Bright lights and loud noises bombard the senses. The rest of the movie involves several pasted together subplots featuring a parade of cliches -- such as a rebellious Navy lieutenant seeking the approval of his girlfriend's father while also learning to take command of his men; the aforementioned girlfriend's work with a wounded veteran, who learns how to accept the loss of his legs and respect himself again; the scientist whose work brought on the alien invasion, and his reluctant stabs at bravery. This would all be well and good if these matters were given the thought and time they deserve, but instead, the filmmakers decide to throw aliens at everyone, and their attributes become decorations. Not that one should expect more from a movie based on a board game, but the characters are too poorly defined to care about. Again much of the alien invasion is not well done. The effects are decent but more often than not indiscernible, and some of the designs are simply lazy. A mildly rousing conclusion featuring a historical battleship and WWII vets comes off as too little, too late to save this hulking train wreck. There is a cultural problem with movies like these, ones eager to depict mass destruction without pausing to consider the presumed loss of life. Typically they earn a PG-13 rating, allowing audiences too young for R-rated flicks to bear witness. But how exactly is the younger generation supposed to feel when buildings in Hong Kong are destroyed, especially when the movie flaunts its big explosions and toppling buildings? Those eagerly awaiting the next Transformers sequel or some similarly brain-dead nonevent will likely enjoy this movie. Others should simply steer clear. Battleship is one of those movies no one will really remember in a few years, let alone in a few months. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
AkkharJul 6, 2012
With those awesome Effects and Director Peters amazing direction Battleship still doesn't work because of its low story and Lame screenplay . Every si-fi movie needs some explication without it its just unworthy . Taylor Kitsch unevenWith those awesome Effects and Director Peters amazing direction Battleship still doesn't work because of its low story and Lame screenplay . Every si-fi movie needs some explication without it its just unworthy . Taylor Kitsch uneven performance as the lead made it so bad . on the other hand Brook did surprisingly well in her 2nd movie . and Skarsgård's role should have more wide. Rihannas acting was better then I expected that coz my exceptions were 0. But still the movie is watchable and Enjoyable but only if anyone put that horrible story out of mind . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191May 26, 2012
To be honest, I haven't seen and reviewed movies for quite a while. My dad wanted our whole family to watch something fun and enjoyable for our bonding time, so we watched "Battleship". That alone was the single greatest mistake I have madeTo be honest, I haven't seen and reviewed movies for quite a while. My dad wanted our whole family to watch something fun and enjoyable for our bonding time, so we watched "Battleship". That alone was the single greatest mistake I have made in 2012. Peter Berg's "Battleship" is straight up terrible. The characters are bland with wooden acting, the plot is nonsensical with over-the-top CGI destruction, and most of all the whole concept of the movie was **** Really? I mean, making a movie out of a BOARD GAME? Hollywood just got more retarded in my eyes. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
5
nightblade00Dec 11, 2012
This was absolutely not the worst movie I have ever seen, which was a pleasant surprise. It was actually OK. Not Good mind you, but ok. Acting was flat and the premise was close to retarded, but the scenes flowed smoothly and the dialogThis was absolutely not the worst movie I have ever seen, which was a pleasant surprise. It was actually OK. Not Good mind you, but ok. Acting was flat and the premise was close to retarded, but the scenes flowed smoothly and the dialog (for an alien invasion sci fi pic) wasn't so bad it was laughable (Skyline, Battlefield: LA). I was mildly entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Movie2talkaboutAug 8, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a huge fan of action/sci-fi flicks, I was really looking forward to this particular movie. Unfortunately, it did not manage to live up to my expectations. Mega hype over nothing. The story itself wasn't as bad at all, but what did fall short is the casting. For example, you would imagine the character Mick to be this rough and tough, more grungier man, whereas instead he is just a soft spoken guy with a rough exterior. All in all, I would not recommend you to put this on the top of your movie watch list. It can wait. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews