Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 18, 2012
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 408 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
128
Mixed:
138
Negative:
142
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
tallanxMay 27, 2012
I have no idea what went through the mind of the studio execs who green-lighted this movie. "Hmm you know that old game Battleship where you launch attacks at each other, let's make a movie out of that". I mean really? really? I feel that theI have no idea what went through the mind of the studio execs who green-lighted this movie. "Hmm you know that old game Battleship where you launch attacks at each other, let's make a movie out of that". I mean really? really? I feel that the actors, director etc all gave it their best shot but when they had nothing to work with in the first place the result is a mess like this movie. They'd probably be able to make a much better movie using Monopoly than Battleship. Heck even "Guess Who?" would probably make a much better movie. Have it be a show about a gameshow or something. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
5
Apemonkey666Aug 16, 2012
I can see why this film wasn't a raving succes: it's just too ridiculous! Why aren't the aliens using energy weapons, they would have won easily? Why do we have to watch retirement folks battle on a museum ship? Why are those aliens so stupidI can see why this film wasn't a raving succes: it's just too ridiculous! Why aren't the aliens using energy weapons, they would have won easily? Why do we have to watch retirement folks battle on a museum ship? Why are those aliens so stupid and pacifistic? Why is Taylor Kitsch such a bad actor who makes bad script lines even worse? As you can tell, not a very good film, though the VFX are pretty good but that's about the only reason why you would want to see this film :) Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
ArkonBladeAug 29, 2012
Basically a big a explosion jerkfest which i was expecting but with Liam neason in it who is such a great actor and has been in so many great films. i figured this should be atleast a decent SciFi flick . unfortunitly his role is so very veryBasically a big a explosion jerkfest which i was expecting but with Liam neason in it who is such a great actor and has been in so many great films. i figured this should be atleast a decent SciFi flick . unfortunitly his role is so very very small and even if he had a big role it wouldn't have helped the extremely watered down plot thats pretty dull. The acting is sub par and the pacing at the start is sluggish considering it does such a horrid job establishing any thing outside of horrably trying to have a few funny moments that fall flat on there face . The only fun moments come from the action which even then isn't the greatest but its ok. The CGI does look pretty good . Its a Popcorn flick but unfortunitly not a very good one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
HappymonkJan 29, 2013
Battleship has the prestigious award of the worst film I saw in the cinema of 2012. Battleship is very CGI heavy. which is something you should come to expect from the genre of this film (which I like to call, trying to be Transformers). ButBattleship has the prestigious award of the worst film I saw in the cinema of 2012. Battleship is very CGI heavy. which is something you should come to expect from the genre of this film (which I like to call, trying to be Transformers). But here is something amazing, the film is quite a lot better than the Transformers movies for a couple of reasons: The premise is so ridiculous it almost works and the action sequences are better and less random to watch than the scenes of a similar nature that appear in Transformers. This is about as good as a film based on Battleship could be (especially considering they pulled in Rihanna for her unholy acting talent!). Droll, 50/100. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
EfrainSep 7, 2012
Going into Battleship I expected a cliche movie and putting myself into the mood of mindless stupid loud action and that's exactly what I got. It was entertaining to a certain point. From the scene where Taylor Kitsch and his crew team upGoing into Battleship I expected a cliche movie and putting myself into the mood of mindless stupid loud action and that's exactly what I got. It was entertaining to a certain point. From the scene where Taylor Kitsch and his crew team up with the old "badass" veterans till the end was more entertaining than the rest of the movie. Cheesy? Yes, but watchable for only one time. It wasn't too bad, though it's definitely not a memorable-good-time kind of movie . Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
Viper8787Apr 22, 2014
A really boring movie. It was a cool concept but it didn't work for me. I am a big action movie fan and all of the action scenes in this movie I found really boring. They were supposed to keep you entertained with those action scenes as thereA really boring movie. It was a cool concept but it didn't work for me. I am a big action movie fan and all of the action scenes in this movie I found really boring. They were supposed to keep you entertained with those action scenes as there were so many of them but it didn't do its job well. Also there was sub par acting so it is also a bad movie in that sense. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
MegWhiteleyMay 18, 2012
Again, other hasbro game/toy that appear in the big screen, Battleship is a popular board game, popular in much years, and why not do a movie? I belive that Hasbro don't learn with the disasters of G.I. Joe and Transformers. The story isAgain, other hasbro game/toy that appear in the big screen, Battleship is a popular board game, popular in much years, and why not do a movie? I belive that Hasbro don't learn with the disasters of G.I. Joe and Transformers. The story is really good, but have a terrible development, in the only things that you watch are explosions and pretty effects. The performances are terrible, some people of the cast (Liam Neeson) do a good job, but the rest is terrible. Battleship is funny in some moments, but the biggest part of the time is a disaster. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
5
ZephMay 18, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Battleship was OK. I mean, it is your prototypical action movie... heaps of mindless action with a bland story to bundle it all together in plastic wrap. If you are the type that will get a kick out of mindless action, then Battleship has you covered. However, if you want more than that, you may want to turn elsewhere. It has enough moments to distinguish itself as its own movie and story, but in the end, the story boils down to an immature character learning maturity the hard way, with a couple of stupid and dull romantic scenes to help the main character show off more of his personality. It is the number one way to cop out of dynamically developing a character on screen. The soundtrack is mostly rock but the soundtrack felt forced into the movie instead of really enhancing it. You could remove most of the music and it wouldn't really influence the quality of the movie. Long story short... go if you love your high octane mindless action movie, but think twice if you want something more than that. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191May 26, 2012
To be honest, I haven't seen and reviewed movies for quite a while. My dad wanted our whole family to watch something fun and enjoyable for our bonding time, so we watched "Battleship". That alone was the single greatest mistake I have madeTo be honest, I haven't seen and reviewed movies for quite a while. My dad wanted our whole family to watch something fun and enjoyable for our bonding time, so we watched "Battleship". That alone was the single greatest mistake I have made in 2012. Peter Berg's "Battleship" is straight up terrible. The characters are bland with wooden acting, the plot is nonsensical with over-the-top CGI destruction, and most of all the whole concept of the movie was **** Really? I mean, making a movie out of a BOARD GAME? Hollywood just got more retarded in my eyes. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
4
VicAug 5, 2012
Another highly predictable movie with predictable ending! The only thing is good about this movie is special effects. This is that sort of films that you watch and forget, highly unlikely you'd like to watch it again!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
evanrmJun 4, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is it watchable? Yes - sort of. Is the SFX good? It's okay. In reality would the aliens destroy us in order to keep stupid films like this from escaping earth and lowering the IQ quotient of the whole galaxy? Undoubtedly. Overall: It's not even worth paying to hire it on DVD. For some reason Metacritic wouldn't let me write a review even several weeks after the film had premiered in Australia, as the little countdown was still ticking. I assume that the site got paid off to hold back all the negative reviews, cause this film sucked hard. An irresponsible **** joins the Navy and becomes a Lieutenant (no, not Rhianna, I'm talking about Taylor Kitsch), because even morons get to high rank in the Navy without any effort these days. Aliens turn up... and then they do nothing (except when attacked). Huh. Well, it's a different plot, to be sure. There's even 5 minutes of the boardgame-type warfare in the film (which is actually the films strongest part... and then they ditch it). Poor acting, poor script, poor film. 4 out of 10. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
SantiagoMAKiiNAJul 7, 2012
Good news! This movie is not bad. Seriously... I went to see this movie particularly because every one in the media said this was beyond awful. The second flop of the summer. So I did the sensible thing and grabbed a couple of friends.Good news! This movie is not bad. Seriously... I went to see this movie particularly because every one in the media said this was beyond awful. The second flop of the summer. So I did the sensible thing and grabbed a couple of friends. Although I had to bribe them with free tickets because they wouldn't volunteer otherwise. I figured if I'm going to attend an airplane crash I'll need witnesses. So I made the investment. And guess what? This movie wasn't bad at all!
My one friend said the movie had nothing to do with the promotional efforts out there. While the other said he loved the action. Personally, I thought it was a simply good popcorn movie.
The issue with this movie falling below expectations might be that disease that has plagued a lot of super expensive Hollywood movies for a decade now. The marketing for the film set the bar so high that it was impossible to find it pleasing. I understand the studio accountants have to justify the expense and push that thing out there hard. But the reason why all three of us enjoyed this movie is exactly the opposite reason: We expected nothing of it... Perhaps this is what Hollywood oughtta take a page from. Let some projects fly a bit more on their own and they fly farther.
As far as the movie's own merits. The acting was a job well done by everyone. The characters were written vacuous enough to fulfill their action movie gig. Not much else was expected from them, and they delivered well. Sometimes acting is best served sushi style. Raw and simple.
The plot was clear from the get go. You know where it's headed and expect to get there as all big Hollywood movies do. Blowing stuff up. And the explosions looked awesome. The special effects were amazing. I was hoping more aliens would show up. Blow up those suckers again!
There were a couple of surprise turns sprinkled here and there just to keep my eyes away from the pop corn but not enough to complicate things. The biggest one being the old crew in the museum boat. Maybe they did take it a bit into the hokey lane with that one. But, let's face it, old folks buy tickets too, and what would be a Hollywood blockbuster without a little camp in it?
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
dallstarAug 17, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In a sentence: Hawai looks nice, DDG Arleigh Burke's are very nice, Rihanna looks like a boy and aliens behave like they are winners of Intergalactic Championship of Idiots.
No point in writing about the plot, because others done it already - predictable, stereotype driven and filled with some 'stereotype breaking' ideas like - coward, veteran without legs and a perfect blonde saving the world... oh, that was unexpected!
But then again - who in hell watches this kind of movies in expectation of a thrilling plot? People may have different motivations! I for one watched it because I like steel, guns and blazing technology.
Unfortunately even for me its not completely appealing. Destroyers do looks nice but there is so much stupid things in the movie that it breaks it even for militaristic oriented fans. Let me give you some examples: - Undisciplined dude joins navy... just like that and becomes a Lieutenant... to hell with academy! I will join up too! - Aliens who traverse the Galaxy and come to conquer us with their fancy guided-rotating-razor-sharp whateveritis things use ballistic trajectory type projectiles to shoot at our ships. I guess for them anything that flies faster than 60mph and manoeuvres is a work of Alien Satan! - Navy commander, who is even decorated at the end, looks at a thing size of a two football fields and gives order to open fire with a 127-mm Mk4 (because aliens are stealth and nothing else works) and manages to squeeze in whole 2 shots in about a two minutes (with a gun boasting 16-20 shots per minute). ladies and gentleman - he is a hero! - Aliens at the same time lack brains (or whatever they use for thinking). They send some swirling mumbo jumbo to destroy a highway on Hawai, but they leave a destroyer alone 'because it did not fire at them and changed the course to not a collision one. Damn, if Alien commander was not dead he would probably be fired at the end. - Singe anchor chain is literally yanking 45k ton battleship out of the water... nice chain. Would give it a medal or two. I guess it was highly motivated by the fact that Rihanna would die if it didn't do it.

And those are just the most appalling of the ideas. Do not get me wrong - I still watched the movie and enjoyed the explosions, just do not bet on realism.

Oh and by the way, first 10 min are super funny - remember the Chiken Burrito!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
asthobaskoroMay 26, 2012
Battleship is more like video game than a movie, I couldn't enjoy any frame as a movie. But for video game, it's really fun and exciting. I really praise the score, really enjoy it. Go see it!
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
iVaughtTVJul 17, 2012
"Battleship" is ultimately a disappointment. Most of the characters are dull, but the main characters are bearable. In the end, the action doesn't drag on too much, and the special effects are visually engaging, but the film doesn't warrant"Battleship" is ultimately a disappointment. Most of the characters are dull, but the main characters are bearable. In the end, the action doesn't drag on too much, and the special effects are visually engaging, but the film doesn't warrant watching it a second time. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
5
Sben69Jul 15, 2012
I was REALLY looking forward to this movie, but Rihanna ruins it. She was a terrible actress (not surprising, considering she's a singer), and her constant ad-libbing ruined the immersion and made me groan. The only reason to go see thisI was REALLY looking forward to this movie, but Rihanna ruins it. She was a terrible actress (not surprising, considering she's a singer), and her constant ad-libbing ruined the immersion and made me groan. The only reason to go see this movie is for some cool-looking effects, and if that's all it takes to entertain you, you are either six years old or Micheal Bay. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
KidoMay 25, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes, the plot sucks, the acting sucks, the humors childish, the dialogues stupid, yet, the movie is quite satisfying in its own cheesy way. Like eating KFC when you are hungry.
The shots are colorful and expressive. Action scenes will keep you at the edge of your seat. It feels so cool seeing the old-fashion battleship blow up the "space"ship. The girl friend is totally hot.

**** the critics, this movie has made my evening a very enjoyable one.

I'm not a fan of navy or warships, but I'm sure people who dig these stuffs would find this even more entertaining.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
MarcDoyleMay 18, 2012
Like scoley, I'm very surprised at how much fun I had with this film. Definitely too long and packed with corny, flat humor, but again, Taylor K. is a solid lead (really liked him in John Carter) and the supporting cast brings heart andLike scoley, I'm very surprised at how much fun I had with this film. Definitely too long and packed with corny, flat humor, but again, Taylor K. is a solid lead (really liked him in John Carter) and the supporting cast brings heart and spirit to the proceedings. The connection to the old board game (no spoilers) is a little cheesy. And the special effects folks were obviously huge fans of Tall Man and his flying Cuisinarts from the Phantasm films, as those spherical chainsaws are a loving tribute to those 80's horror classics. And, of course, this film is leagues ahead of the Transformers films. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
AkkharJul 6, 2012
With those awesome Effects and Director Peters amazing direction Battleship still doesn't work because of its low story and Lame screenplay . Every si-fi movie needs some explication without it its just unworthy . Taylor Kitsch unevenWith those awesome Effects and Director Peters amazing direction Battleship still doesn't work because of its low story and Lame screenplay . Every si-fi movie needs some explication without it its just unworthy . Taylor Kitsch uneven performance as the lead made it so bad . on the other hand Brook did surprisingly well in her 2nd movie . and Skarsgård's role should have more wide. Rihannas acting was better then I expected that coz my exceptions were 0. But still the movie is watchable and Enjoyable but only if anyone put that horrible story out of mind . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Movie2talkaboutAug 8, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a huge fan of action/sci-fi flicks, I was really looking forward to this particular movie. Unfortunately, it did not manage to live up to my expectations. Mega hype over nothing. The story itself wasn't as bad at all, but what did fall short is the casting. For example, you would imagine the character Mick to be this rough and tough, more grungier man, whereas instead he is just a soft spoken guy with a rough exterior. All in all, I would not recommend you to put this on the top of your movie watch list. It can wait. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
quincytheodoreMay 24, 2012
Seemingly possessed by the spirit of Michael Bay, Battleship, despite being a nautical eye candy, is sunk by terrible dialogues equal to last decade's corny action movie punch lines, patched poorly by shallow plot and loud crank of metal.Seemingly possessed by the spirit of Michael Bay, Battleship, despite being a nautical eye candy, is sunk by terrible dialogues equal to last decade's corny action movie punch lines, patched poorly by shallow plot and loud crank of metal. It's literally a cobbled up pieces from your typical invasion movies, predictable and empty. Inspired by a video game, it's also serves as homage to the navy, which hopefully unintentionally, becomes more ridiculous after each explosion and awful line. This is a 90's B-movie in soul but with top notch CG cosmetic.
The cinematic and explosive scenes are delightful, well created to showcase the action in more coherent way. It looks pristine, clear cut accompanied by vibrant colors. With more focus on naval battle, it uses plenty blazing and watery effect to exaggerate the action. For fans of action movie who simply seek for full blown extravaganza, it's serviceable. However it's not exactly novel, you'll get the strange familiar feeling that you have seen the carnage before. With fiery explosion like Transformers', thrilling alien contact similar to Armageddon's, popular old soundtracks and fan service like Megan Fox's ass, trust me, that déjà vu feeling will come.
Conversation is downright atrocious. With the characters spewing testosterone induced taunts and banters, even Rihanna does it, to the point of being a bit embarrassing to watch. I'm surprised it doesn't use "Hasta la Vista, baby." In that regard, the acting is decent at best. Honestly, it's very superficial and over-the-top, you just embrace the silliness of it all. You can pretty much tell with Taylor Kitsch (John Carter) and Liam Neeson (Zeus) recreating gruff manly role not far from their previous ones.
Alongside that, it carries a staggering amount of plot holes. The invader lacks characters' hostility judgment which gives our main characters plenty of occasions to survive their encounters of odd kind. Despite having nifty arsenals and able to travel through stars, their infantries are not given handgun adequately, thus ensuring dramatic melee fight scene between humans and aliens. Some characters also survive magically from sinking ship and car crash because the script demands it so. But hey, we've got explosion and babe, they look good. If you come for those, you might get some joy from Battleship, just ignore the outrageous premise. 5/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
diehard-gamerAug 31, 2012
I really wanted to like this movie, but I struggled. Fast forward to the action sequences and you'll be OK. The best character scenes come from the big black disabled soldier, his blonde physio and the geek (you'll spot them easy enough) andI really wanted to like this movie, but I struggled. Fast forward to the action sequences and you'll be OK. The best character scenes come from the big black disabled soldier, his blonde physio and the geek (you'll spot them easy enough) and they are worth watching. 8 for the three characters I mentioned and the action scenes, 0 for the rest of the movie. 5 overall. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
dheerajiSep 9, 2013
I was, not surprisingly, let down by this movie. Special effects were great, but acting and plot was mediocre at best. $200M for a movie about a board game! For the most part, the movie had nothing to do with the Hasbro game. They were ableI was, not surprisingly, let down by this movie. Special effects were great, but acting and plot was mediocre at best. $200M for a movie about a board game! For the most part, the movie had nothing to do with the Hasbro game. They were able to weave in a few references to the game. Transformers was a much better "Hasbro" movie imo. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Sgt_MorfoKillerMay 24, 2012
No es una película que realmente busque cautivar a la audiencia, sencillamente fue hecha para ser taquillera y solo para eso.
Las actuaciones son muy olvidables, a pesar de tener a alguien como Liam Neeson entre los protagonistas,
No es una película que realmente busque cautivar a la audiencia, sencillamente fue hecha para ser taquillera y solo para eso.
Las actuaciones son muy olvidables, a pesar de tener a alguien como Liam Neeson entre los protagonistas, y la "supuesta" novedad que debía ser (supongo) Rihanna que también acabó en ser una actuación cualquiera, ni siquiera me aprendí el nombre de los personajes.

La película no es mala, simplemente no es profunda, y es MUY predecible así como otras películas de "invasión extraterrestre". Es perfecta para una salida al cine con los amigos, solo para eso...
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
Chaseyo2Jun 12, 2012
It was alright. Entertaining, but very cliche. Mainly all action with little story. In the end it was an entertaining movie, but just entertaining. nothing special
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
4
pixel1Jun 8, 2012
Somewhat less painful than I expected. I laughed a couple of times, but probably for not the right reasons. I did enjoy the movie for Rihanna though, I guess.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
GarianAug 8, 2012
The plot did seem a little flimsy, however overall I did enjoy watching the movie, the relationship between the main Japanese character and the main American character was hilarious while still very buddy-like.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
ToniVlaicSep 11, 2012
Some nice visual effects but overall a boring movie with a bad story, especially in the first 30 minutes. I was expecting much more from the trailer I saw before.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
worleyjamersDec 5, 2012
Transformers 3 wishes it could have been like this movie; Transformers sucked, Battleship is actually entertaining. The similarities are ever present, but I had a really fun time with this one! I recommend it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
TheQuietGamerJan 2, 2014
An alien invasion flick based off of the Hasbro game of the same name? Despite how absurd this sounded to me I was hoping that this would manage to be a cheesy good time. Unfortunately I found the movie to be a cheesy bad time. Lame plot, badAn alien invasion flick based off of the Hasbro game of the same name? Despite how absurd this sounded to me I was hoping that this would manage to be a cheesy good time. Unfortunately I found the movie to be a cheesy bad time. Lame plot, bad acting, unlikable characters, and lackluster action plague this movie. I didn't really care about anything that was going on. There were some nice explosions but the whole movie just ends up feeling incredibly generic. The attempts at humor fall short, the special effects are dated, and the characters end up feeling like robots who spout of nonsense one-liners that no human being would ever say. Overall "Battleship" is not worth your time. "Syfy" original movies end up coming across as more intelligent and believable than this one does. Skip it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews