User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 95
  2. Negative: 34 out of 95
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sam
    Oct 15, 2005
    3
    A terrifyingly boring, pathetic, and uncool sequel to the classic Get Shorty. Sure the Rock and Chilly Palmer are cool, and Christina Millian has a good voice and knows how to do the piano, but whenit comes to lirics she just plain sucks.
  2. evanb.
    Mar 6, 2005
    0
    Don't bother. Poorly written, forced attempts at ironic humor fail - even the characters intended as parodies come off as mildly amusing at best. Several scenes drag on for minutes for no purpose but to show off yet another bland musical cameo.
  3. JeffB
    Mar 27, 2005
    1
    Half way through I wanted to walk out. I would have if there weren't other people waching it with me. Vaughn and the Rock manage a few laughs, but they aren't enough to hold up this 2 hour borefest. Instead of being "cool", they should have been "smart", and sent this one back to the drawing board.
  4. charlesa.
    Mar 3, 2005
    0
    Horrid!
  5. mikes.
    Mar 7, 2005
    1
    Whew! glad it's over. laughed once or twice, otherwise a terrible bore. Don't waste your time or money.
  6. RyanL.
    Apr 26, 2005
    0
    Ever get that feeling of anger and disgust in the pit of your stomach because you know there is nothing you can do to retaliate againist an evil force. I harbored this feeling throughout this entire piece of trash. Quite possibly the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life (And I've seen some bad ones.) Please save yourself. STAY AWAY FROM THIS "MOVIE"!! If I knew who the Ever get that feeling of anger and disgust in the pit of your stomach because you know there is nothing you can do to retaliate againist an evil force. I harbored this feeling throughout this entire piece of trash. Quite possibly the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life (And I've seen some bad ones.) Please save yourself. STAY AWAY FROM THIS "MOVIE"!! If I knew who the projectionist was during this movie, I would have beat him up for even allowing this movie to be seen. Expand
  7. ChrisR.
    May 7, 2005
    3
    Be Cool stars John Travolta and Uma Thurman. This is a sequel to Get Shorty (1995), also starring John Travolta (and Rene Russo). In Shorty, there was a battle of wits between Travolta (Chili Palmer) and mobsters concerning the making of a Hollywood movie starring Danny DeVito (Danny makes a cameo appearance in the new flick); everybody tries to outfox each other and Travolta, naturally, Be Cool stars John Travolta and Uma Thurman. This is a sequel to Get Shorty (1995), also starring John Travolta (and Rene Russo). In Shorty, there was a battle of wits between Travolta (Chili Palmer) and mobsters concerning the making of a Hollywood movie starring Danny DeVito (Danny makes a cameo appearance in the new flick); everybody tries to outfox each other and Travolta, naturally, winds up on top; all of this is supposed to be intriguing and funny. Second time around, same theme only now it involves the music industry and the launching the singing career of newcomer Christina Milian (Linda Moon); for good measure, throw in the Russian mafia as one of Travolta's adversaries. Steven Tyler (of Aerosmith fame and father of Liv) and pro wrestler Elliot Wilhelm, aka The Rock, have parts in this movie. There's also a bunch of rap music (not my favorite). If you're a Travolta fan (like my daughter), by all means, go see this movie. I, on the other hand, was not much impressed; I think I may have smiled once during this "comedy". I found it hard to follow, often going off on weird tangents that had no point other than to "be funny" -- haha -- and, actually, a little boring. Obviously, not my cup of tea. I give it a 3. Expand
  8. EricS
    Feb 22, 2007
    1
    The move had no base. The plot was lost and there was poor acting bu actors that i wanted much more from. the movie did have its good moments but all in all it was a poor movie.
  9. JasonB
    Mar 10, 2009
    2
    Quite possibly the worst film I've ever seen.... its excruciating in oarts.
  10. tomm.
    Mar 11, 2005
    0
    I booked at the screen when this endless crap ended complete waste of time and my money John Travolta should retire.
  11. SusanM.
    Mar 15, 2005
    3
    What a let down! This movie is just proof that a top-notch cast does not a good film make!! Even the highly-anticipated (by me anyhow) Travolta/Thurman dancing scene was underwhelming. If you are expecting anything like Pulp Fiction or Get Shorty, take my advice and stay home.
  12. EROD
    Mar 21, 2005
    0
    Be aware!!! This movie is a waste of time and money. Do not see it, you will be disappointed.
  13. GregS.
    Mar 29, 2005
    0
    Complete train wreck.
  14. ChadS.
    Mar 29, 2005
    4
    After the first screening was over, the filmmaker should've reshot the opening scene, sans self-reflexivity, because "Be Cool" isn't good enough to be flippant about the creative bankruptcy of sequels. If I was Quentin Tarantino, I would never call John Travolta and Harvey Keitel again. Vince Vaughn's character would seem to be a stand-in for the hip-hop culture lovin' After the first screening was over, the filmmaker should've reshot the opening scene, sans self-reflexivity, because "Be Cool" isn't good enough to be flippant about the creative bankruptcy of sequels. If I was Quentin Tarantino, I would never call John Travolta and Harvey Keitel again. Vince Vaughn's character would seem to be a stand-in for the hip-hop culture lovin' director of "Pulp Fiction", a film that was criticized by some quarters for its overuse of the "n" word. When a Russian gangster drops the epithet, Cedric the Entertainer sounds like he's reprimanding Tarantino, and admittedly; "dead _____ storage" is reprehensible when taken out of context. Vaughn's character is very much the fool, and it would seem that Travolta, in particular, is biting the hand that fed him. The dance scene between Travolta and Uma Thurman is so underwhelming, it plays like a self-conscious desecration of the '94 Palm d'or-award winning film because there is no happy evocation. The song by Black Eyed Peas couldn't have been more boring; the anti-thesis of Tarantino's shrewd ear for the right song. Is Aerosmith's participation an apology for not crediting Run DMC back when they were made relevant again by the cultural earthquake that was "Walk This Way"? As you can tell, the subtext of "Be Cool" is much more interesting than the story. Expand
  15. EricW.
    Mar 5, 2005
    4
    'Be Cool' is a lazy, boring rendition of the much more exciting novel. It seemed like the only people involved in the movie who wanted to work on it were Vince Vaughn and The Rock. Which is a shame because both of their performances are great, and the characters were really nailed. John Travolta was unenthusiastic as Chili, and so was the directing. I don't know how in the 'Be Cool' is a lazy, boring rendition of the much more exciting novel. It seemed like the only people involved in the movie who wanted to work on it were Vince Vaughn and The Rock. Which is a shame because both of their performances are great, and the characters were really nailed. John Travolta was unenthusiastic as Chili, and so was the directing. I don't know how in the world director F. Gary Gray landed such a hot story after displaying such garbage as 'A Man Apart' and 'The Italian Job', after this bomb I hope he doesn't get work for a while. This is just another mess like 'The Big Bounce' that is going to make Elmore Leonard - an outstanding writer - look like he has no idea how to write, bring back sonnenfeld, tarantino, and soderbergh please. Hopefully Don Cheadle can save Leonard's career w/ the upcoming 'Tishimingo Blues'. Expand
  16. PhilT.
    Mar 5, 2005
    3
    Be Cool: Most blatant use of product placement ever in the history of cinematography (even more blatant than in xXx, where they used modded Sony Handicams as bazookas). It was amazing to see that everything in this film is linked to Sony/MGM (and probably Universal too): a Playstation2 playing itself in the background, Black Eyed Peas, Aerosmith, and even all those movies Travolta's Be Cool: Most blatant use of product placement ever in the history of cinematography (even more blatant than in xXx, where they used modded Sony Handicams as bazookas). It was amazing to see that everything in this film is linked to Sony/MGM (and probably Universal too): a Playstation2 playing itself in the background, Black Eyed Peas, Aerosmith, and even all those movies Travolta's character mentions. If you liked Ocean's 12 you'll like this movie too as it's pretty much the same formula (actors having too much fun during filming results in crappy movie). This movie sucks. Collapse
  17. LawrenceP.
    Mar 6, 2005
    4
    This movie tries too hard. The only saving grace is The Rock, who i thought was funny. Also Uma Thurman is in it, which is really never a bad thing. Get Shorty was cool this is not.
  18. TonyB.
    Mar 7, 2005
    4
    Some movies don't go anywhere - this was one of them. Agree completely with Manohla Dargis' comments. I saw it today, and am already having trouble remembering what, exactly, it was about. Too bad - with Travolta, Thurman, and the Rock, it could have been so much better. A little more effort would have helped.
  19. AlexM
    May 5, 2005
    2
    This movie, unlike Get Shorty, was far as it could possibly be from the title. Everything about Be Cool was bad and it was completely forced. The only saving grace of the movie was The Rock.
  20. KarlRavagegerd
    Sep 24, 2006
    1
    I threw up in my mouth...and then I threw up again.
  21. JohnL.
    Mar 11, 2005
    1
    A diefinite walkout! Which we did. Even the dance scene was lousy! Absolutely terrible. The the gratitious use of violence was sickening - "not now, but later you can kill......". John Travolta is slipping badly again. What a waste of an Elmore Leonard theme.
  22. Dublin
    Mar 12, 2005
    1
    Can't believe JT agreed to make this crapola? Simply horrendous. Avoid.
  23. R.F.
    Mar 28, 2005
    1
    The rock roxxors...vince vaughn roxxors...well danny devito...should have rocked the movie more... well to say the plain truth....danny isn't that good in the movie ....he was at his peak best in the arnold flick..Junior....yup, i mean governor arnold's flick Junior.. the flim director and castings need some reshufflings.
  24. VinceH.
    Mar 6, 2005
    2
    Elmore Leonard adaptations have been notoriously uneven throught the years. The best of it (the short-lived ABC show "Maximum Bob", "Out of Sight", "Get Shorty") has depended on nimble scripts and clever direction. They need to have their own style and substance and value apart from the book in order to be decent. The worst ones (The Big Bounce, Be Cool) have none of this. This is Elmore Leonard adaptations have been notoriously uneven throught the years. The best of it (the short-lived ABC show "Maximum Bob", "Out of Sight", "Get Shorty") has depended on nimble scripts and clever direction. They need to have their own style and substance and value apart from the book in order to be decent. The worst ones (The Big Bounce, Be Cool) have none of this. This is definitely the worst sequel to a good film since "The Whole Ten Yards". The script by Peter Steinfeld is moronic, lazy, and extremely unfunny. F. Gary Gray has made some decent genre films in the past (The Negoitator, The Italian Job) but here doesn't seem to know what the hell he's doing. The whole thing feels like it was made by a bunch of high schoolers given $30 million dollars and some Panasonic cameras. There is no intelligence, no style, no laughs, and nothing remotely interesting. The one good thing is Rock's performance, which is hilarious and proves that this guy has great screen presence and is really funny. I would like to see what he will do next. The only thing I kept thinking of us as I watched this dretch, was "well, at least Travolta could buy some new funriture for one of his planes". Expand
  25. Fantasy
    Mar 7, 2005
    0
    Worthless trash.
  26. BrutusO.
    May 17, 2005
    2
    Painful and disjointed. One or two gags work, but so what? Given the talent on offer, it should have been ten times better.
  27. BrianL.
    May 20, 2005
    0
    The worst movie I've ever seen.
  28. Chrystal
    Jun 15, 2005
    4
    I'm sorry but I have seen better. The movie started out slow but got a little bit interesting toward the end. Overall I'm gonna have to say that I wasted my time watching it. Comedies are supposed to be funny and this one just didn't do it for me.
  29. MarkB.
    Jun 29, 2005
    3
    When The Rock gives the movie's best performance (as a gay bodyguard) you have been officially warned. Actually, Vince Vaughn, who specializes in playing irritating characters irritatingly (Made, Old School, Mr. and Mrs. Smith) is also quite funny as a White gangsta trying far too hard to "be Black". Otherwise, this semisequel to Get Shorty, which takes Elmore Leonard's loan When The Rock gives the movie's best performance (as a gay bodyguard) you have been officially warned. Actually, Vince Vaughn, who specializes in playing irritating characters irritatingly (Made, Old School, Mr. and Mrs. Smith) is also quite funny as a White gangsta trying far too hard to "be Black". Otherwise, this semisequel to Get Shorty, which takes Elmore Leonard's loan shark Chili Palmer (John Travolta) from the movie industry (where his criminal background served him quite well) to record production is almost completely toothless, pointless and worthless. The satiric bite of Leonard's work has disappeared; in detailing a Palmer protege and Beyonce type's rise to CD and MTV fame, the movie becomes indistinguishable from Honey, Glitter, Sparkle and dozens of other urban follow-your-dreams sagas. Actually, the most pointed commentary on show business this movie has to offer is delivered accidentally: Leonard was one of the executive producers and the film STILL turned out like this! Sad to say, much of the fault lies with Travolta himself, who here has turned Palmer into a teddy bear bereft of any sense of danger or menace; forget Pulp Fiction or Saturday Night Fever--Welcome Back Kotter's Vinnie Barbarino was more threatening than this! (The movie's nadir is a dance sequence between Travolta and Pulp Fiction costar Uma Thurman that only proves that you can't catch lightning in a bottle twice.) "Be Cool" indeed--this movie can barely muster up enough energy to be passably lukewarm. Expand
  30. MaguiP.
    Aug 24, 2005
    4
    I was expecting a better movie. Great cast acting with new talents. The cool couple again with John Travolta and Uma Thurman. Of course dancing again. Some takes with rock and roll stars. But it
  31. DanielR.
    Jul 9, 2006
    1
    This is a lost, drained, directionless and dismal attempt to somehow recapture or continue the wit and style of "Get Shorty."
  32. ou812me
    Sep 24, 2006
    0
    Still can't actually believe how bad this movie is.
  33. JonathanX
    Mar 12, 2005
    3
    Very bad movie, stupid story.
  34. RandyB
    Jul 12, 2005
    0
    Oh the JOY! By the end of this embarassing waste of film, I was left with an itch to see Beastmaster2, and we all know what a cinematic masterpiece THAT was.
  35. zact.
    Jul 16, 2005
    0
    This is the worst movie i've ever seen at the cinemas and wouldn't recomend this to anyone. its the worst movies i've ever seen behind Pearl Harbour.
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 38
  2. Negative: 15 out of 38
  1. Be Cool is not really cool as "Get Shorty" was, but it's entertaining, a frivolous cocktail rather than a vintage wine.
  2. 50
    Considered as a sequel, Be Cool is not an insult, but it’s a lazy, rhythmless, and redundant piece of moviemaking.
  3. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    30
    A staggeringly flat sequel that trades filmdom for the music bizbiz and could hardly be less cool.