New Line Cinema | Release Date: February 22, 2008
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 141 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
80
Mixed:
37
Negative:
24
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JeremyBJun 24, 2008
I really wanted to like this movie, but there's just no "there" there.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
EllieO.May 17, 2008
It was absolutely rubbish I was very dissapointed I walked out because I was sooo bored ! i think jake black is great but he but me down on this movie because it was soo bad ! I rate it 2 and now you no why and also i never at 1 part laughed It was absolutely rubbish I was very dissapointed I walked out because I was sooo bored ! i think jake black is great but he but me down on this movie because it was soo bad ! I rate it 2 and now you no why and also i never at 1 part laughed it was soo stupid !!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JohnCJul 19, 2008
You can see what they were trying to do with this film. Keyword: "trying". They failed miserably. This movie mocks the audiences' intelligence. The fact that they were trying to sell ahalf-assed story, concept and execution as something You can see what they were trying to do with this film. Keyword: "trying". They failed miserably. This movie mocks the audiences' intelligence. The fact that they were trying to sell ahalf-assed story, concept and execution as something deep is offensive. This movie is horrible, do not see it. You WILL walk out after 25 minutes or so. It is the worst movie I have seen in years. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
PAbloP.Jul 24, 2008
This was one of the worst movies I've ever watched. The plot was dull and lagged, the comedy wasn't funny, and the drama was just not moving. Nothing in this movie stood out other than my desire to Be Kind to myself and Turn the movie off.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MattA.Feb 23, 2008
A disorganized mess and a fully unrealized concept.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ChrisFFeb 23, 2008
Terrible, terrible film. Unfunny, amateurish directing, improv-style dialogue does not work at all. I came away physically upset that I had wasted my time and money on this steaming pile. Saw it because the good movies were sold out. I Terrible, terrible film. Unfunny, amateurish directing, improv-style dialogue does not work at all. I came away physically upset that I had wasted my time and money on this steaming pile. Saw it because the good movies were sold out. I anticipated a mediocre movie based on reviews here. Do not be mislead, it is crap. I even like Jack Black. Do yourself a favor and see anything else. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AaronMFeb 25, 2008
This movie was so bad, you almost want to cry! You literally sit there and are like, what the heck am I watching? How could this go so wrong? But it does. The jokes are flat. The romantic elements are so horrible. The only thing it tries to This movie was so bad, you almost want to cry! You literally sit there and are like, what the heck am I watching? How could this go so wrong? But it does. The jokes are flat. The romantic elements are so horrible. The only thing it tries to evoke is sentimentality but by that time, you're already repulsed. Save your money. Don't even rent it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DroogMar 17, 2008
Be Kind Rewind is a truly bad movie, and the fact that it has so much potential makes it even worse. The premise is incredibly original: all the videotapes in a neighborhood rental store are accidentally erased, forcing the 2 clerks (Jack Be Kind Rewind is a truly bad movie, and the fact that it has so much potential makes it even worse. The premise is incredibly original: all the videotapes in a neighborhood rental store are accidentally erased, forcing the 2 clerks (Jack Black and Mos Def) to recreate their own versions of popular titles like Ghostbusters and Rocky IV. And to its credit, the Youtube-ish movies created are hilarious. But this is the best part of the movie, and it only take up about 15 minutes of screen time! The other 1hr. and 25 minutes is taken up with half-assed side stories about big-box video chains, copyright lawyers, an underdeveloped love interest, and a jazz pianist that no one gives a $h!t about. Meanwhile, the acting is all-around terrible. I really don't know what Michael Gondry was thinking. I've liked some of his stuff in the past, but this is a major step backwards. Do yourself a huge favor and skip this film. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DanM.Mar 2, 2008
This movie was so bad I walked out after an hour. I couldn't believe Jack Black, Danny Glover, and Mia Farrow were in a flick this terrible. It just wasn't funny at all.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
beckybooMar 24, 2008
This was probably one of the worst fims that I have ever watched at the cinima.There were two bits in the entire film that actually made me laugh.Very dissapointing.If I had the nerve I would have asked for my money back.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SeanF.Mar 7, 2008
Very nearly the worst film I've ever seen. Even worst than the other Jack Black film - the holiday. It really is that bad.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DavidSMar 9, 2008
This movie was so awful I walked out after 45 min and got a refund, and I'm normally a big fan of Jack Black (School of Rock and Tenacious D were both hilarious imo). I never walk out of movies, but this one was such sheer stupidity and This movie was so awful I walked out after 45 min and got a refund, and I'm normally a big fan of Jack Black (School of Rock and Tenacious D were both hilarious imo). I never walk out of movies, but this one was such sheer stupidity and lameness I couldn't handle it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KevinR.Jun 17, 2008
I absolutely loved Science of Sleep and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind so I was shocked by this turd and walked out after 45 torturous minutes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JackC.Jun 28, 2008
This movie is a complete dud. I'll say that there are a couple clever or briefly comical moments in it, but the other 97% of the film is pure garbage. It's the type of movie you can't believe "professionals" made or that it This movie is a complete dud. I'll say that there are a couple clever or briefly comical moments in it, but the other 97% of the film is pure garbage. It's the type of movie you can't believe "professionals" made or that it was made at all in the first place. The general premise had potential, but the execution was horrible. A complete trainwreck. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JimboH.Jul 13, 2008
The movie manages to be both clever and yet, unfortunately dull. The beginning is amazingly slow, the setting is depressing (a run down, ill-taken care of ghetto). The "sweded" movies a somewhat neat, and there are laughs at times, but for The movie manages to be both clever and yet, unfortunately dull. The beginning is amazingly slow, the setting is depressing (a run down, ill-taken care of ghetto). The "sweded" movies a somewhat neat, and there are laughs at times, but for the most part it doesn't offer a lot. Its a movie. Its art. Its not much of a comedy though. However, it will have a deep cultural impact. Why? I'll tell you why- because this movie created a word you can use to look up "Sweded" movies on Youtube (and there are a lot already)- which may have been the goal of the creators anyways. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
afagfhbbgfnbhrgJul 17, 2008
This movie was absolutly positivly boring stupid and uninteresting. it wasnt even funny but people say its "hilarious" yeah right i didnt see any humor in it! the film also hurt my eyes! not a good movie whats so ever actually one of the This movie was absolutly positivly boring stupid and uninteresting. it wasnt even funny but people say its "hilarious" yeah right i didnt see any humor in it! the film also hurt my eyes! not a good movie whats so ever actually one of the worst movies i had ever seen! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JohnH.Jul 5, 2008
Sorry, the idea seemed like something Jack Black could pull off. But to my disappointment, I considered it a waste of time. I may have smiled once or twice, but there was nothing there.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TedT.Apr 13, 2008
I could not believe that this piece of trash made it's way to the big screen, and I paid to go see it. If ever I've wanted to ask for my money back, this was the time. This movie thought it was cute, it thought it was touching..I I could not believe that this piece of trash made it's way to the big screen, and I paid to go see it. If ever I've wanted to ask for my money back, this was the time. This movie thought it was cute, it thought it was touching..I honestly was shocked. I've seen short films made by 8 year old that would blow this thing away. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful