New Line Cinema | Release Date: February 22, 2008
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 138 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
77
Mixed:
37
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LuMacNov 3, 2011
This movie is goofy as hell, which is probably why I love it so much. Everyone needs to lighten up a bit, critics and the fools who walked out on it alike. Why would you walk out of a movie anyways?
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TiagoM.Jun 26, 2008
The beginning is a little crazy, but the movie is very charming, smart and even touching in the end. A very creative Gondry. Again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JordanZAug 4, 2008
In a world flooded with cookie-cutter blockbusters, Be Kind is a refreshing reminder of what movies can / should be like.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MitchMJan 8, 2009
A well acted original movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChrisT.Feb 20, 2008
Could someone please explain how, considering the above reviews, this movie could possibly score a 41? I understand the idea of weighted scores (how could could possibly "weight" the New Yorker over Empire in terms of movie reviews Could someone please explain how, considering the above reviews, this movie could possibly score a 41? I understand the idea of weighted scores (how could could possibly "weight" the New Yorker over Empire in terms of movie reviews completely baffles me) but even so this still makes zero sense to me... explanation anyone?? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PG.Mar 15, 2008
So good I had no idea that I was in for this big of a treat. people giving it low ratings are either stuffy, boring or both. The imagination and just watching it was great. If you liked science of sleep or block party- you'll enjoy this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JulieKMar 2, 2008
I loved this movie. Great quarky fun... highly imaginative and fun. You have to watch this film!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RossMar 3, 2008
I can understand why this movie might receive mixed reviews, but the resulting metascore is bafflingly low. If you are a fan of Gondry's work, you should probably give Be Kind Rewind a try. I was pleasantly surprised, probably because I can understand why this movie might receive mixed reviews, but the resulting metascore is bafflingly low. If you are a fan of Gondry's work, you should probably give Be Kind Rewind a try. I was pleasantly surprised, probably because this site helped my expectations remain low. Gondry's films are not set in our world, but I find that the emotions can be just as real. This is a charming film with a touching message. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DianeMariaB.Apr 2, 2008
I loved it! A sweet movie about creativity and dreams. Plus I LOVE jack black.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SonicBenApr 7, 2008
It started likeable but slow and wasn't promising. By halfway through it was great fun. By 3/4 through I had the usual Gondry lump in my throat and I left feeling happy to be alive.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RayP.Feb 23, 2008
Great movie with a great storyline and good acting. I'm certainly not a Jack Black fan but his performance in this movie is exceptional.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CamB.Feb 23, 2008
Sure the recreated movie bits are funny (the ghost busters bit is the best) but the film has heart and the Fats Waller substory functions well metaphorically. Gondry has produced another fine work here. Go in with above average expectations Sure the recreated movie bits are funny (the ghost busters bit is the best) but the film has heart and the Fats Waller substory functions well metaphorically. Gondry has produced another fine work here. Go in with above average expectations and you won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JH.Feb 25, 2008
Extremely imaginative and engaging. Unlike anything I've ever seen before -- though visually reminiscent of Gondry's music vids. Good performances. Story flags at a few points, but never gets boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MattCFeb 26, 2008
It's warm, daft and creative. If you've had a crappy day it'll probably make you feel a bit better. The critics seriously need to learn how to enjoy themselves or people like MIchelle Gondry will be forced to stop making It's warm, daft and creative. If you've had a crappy day it'll probably make you feel a bit better. The critics seriously need to learn how to enjoy themselves or people like MIchelle Gondry will be forced to stop making movies that don't conform. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
jumbojettMar 25, 2008
Delightful. Pure Gondry magic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnD.Mar 27, 2008
Wow. I personally thought this movie was great. It was refreshing after all the unoriginal crap Hollywood has been shoving out via assembly line for the past decade. It has a nice theme, great story, and the movie is hilarious. But, hey, Wow. I personally thought this movie was great. It was refreshing after all the unoriginal crap Hollywood has been shoving out via assembly line for the past decade. It has a nice theme, great story, and the movie is hilarious. But, hey, maybe it just depends on your tastes and such. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AWMar 8, 2008
Funny and surprisingly touching. I wasn't planning on seeing this movie but I really liked it. Smart and fresh. Don't miss it. If I had kids I would take them to see this film!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Jun 11, 2008
Very original and enjoyable. It does lose steam about three fourths of the way through, but it's a clever film with good performances. Nice score, well written and directed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TylerD.Jul 19, 2008
I adored this movie. Great cinematography, espeically for what you'd think was just another comedy. All of the preformances were done perfectly and some parts are so clever you think "how'd they even think of that?" Be Kind Rewind I adored this movie. Great cinematography, espeically for what you'd think was just another comedy. All of the preformances were done perfectly and some parts are so clever you think "how'd they even think of that?" Be Kind Rewind was very original, funny, and even heartwarming at times. I recommend it greatly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
btAug 5, 2008
A great example of the peculiarly dense and narrow minds of most film critics. Most only know certain niches and lack appreciation of things like action, high tragedy, or in this case, a well-rounded sense of humor and appreciation of the A great example of the peculiarly dense and narrow minds of most film critics. Most only know certain niches and lack appreciation of things like action, high tragedy, or in this case, a well-rounded sense of humor and appreciation of the absurd as something silly/stupid. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamWDec 13, 2008
To be frank, Be Kind Rewind was exactly what I needed. In a world endless sequels by disney and tv movies based on bad cartoons, this excellent film was like a cleansing rain. It was original, funny, had great characters, and a bittersweet To be frank, Be Kind Rewind was exactly what I needed. In a world endless sequels by disney and tv movies based on bad cartoons, this excellent film was like a cleansing rain. It was original, funny, had great characters, and a bittersweet ending. If more directors would have the guts to do something this offbeat, we would live in a world with better movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DavidD.Feb 23, 2008
Underrated, I'd say. It's funny when it wants to be, and touching when it needs to be, a great combination that many films these days lack. The only occasional problem being when it gets these two elements mixed up somewhat, but Underrated, I'd say. It's funny when it wants to be, and touching when it needs to be, a great combination that many films these days lack. The only occasional problem being when it gets these two elements mixed up somewhat, but that's tolerable. How crap like "The Simpsons Movie", "Dan In Real Life" and such get good ratings and actually worthwhile films like this get low ratings dished out as if it's rush hour at the pooh-pooh cafe is a mystery to me. If you want not only a worthwhile film, but one that does great tribute to the YouTube nation, see this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BurtH.Feb 26, 2008
While all at once capturing the feeling of a lazy film geek and true artist, Be Kind Rewind reminds us that films made by film lovers are often the best kind. Heartwarming and occasionally directionless, Jack Black's performance recalls While all at once capturing the feeling of a lazy film geek and true artist, Be Kind Rewind reminds us that films made by film lovers are often the best kind. Heartwarming and occasionally directionless, Jack Black's performance recalls Ned Schneebly of School of Rock. Mos Def gives a tender, intelligent portrayal of an everyman with big dreams, lacking the funds to achieve them. Michel Gondry has moved practically sideways in his growth as a director. Going from mind-bending effects of Eternal Sunshine to the more community-based Dave Chapelle's Block Party, he has managed to combine the two ideas here into a different and partially new genre. The surrealist community picture. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarlosR.Feb 28, 2008
This movie is underrated. Eternal Sunshine was more profound, Science of Sleep was more pleasing, but still, Be Kind Rewind, although not an amazing movie, is definitely worth watching. Also, after watching the movie, you should visit the This movie is underrated. Eternal Sunshine was more profound, Science of Sleep was more pleasing, but still, Be Kind Rewind, although not an amazing movie, is definitely worth watching. Also, after watching the movie, you should visit the site, where they sweded the internet. And while you're there, you should watch Michel Gondry's swede of the original trailer itself! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
TomC.Mar 17, 2008
I found this movie to be very funny and also has a heart. I also found the location to be unique and attractive in an urban decay sort of way. being a movie buff is an asset for appreciation of this movie. the preservation of community and I found this movie to be very funny and also has a heart. I also found the location to be unique and attractive in an urban decay sort of way. being a movie buff is an asset for appreciation of this movie. the preservation of community and old neighborhoods is an issue that is addressed, i feel that this movie is much underrated by the critics. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RonaldD.O.Jun 19, 2008
Forget the critics, this movie is really original and hilarious. It's also really touching and just an entertaining movie all around.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EliR.Jun 26, 2008
I could see why some might hate it. But there was something about its goofy, silly aesthetic that I really dug. It wasn't amazing in any way, and for me that was kind of the point. It seemed about enjoying simple things, and generally I could see why some might hate it. But there was something about its goofy, silly aesthetic that I really dug. It wasn't amazing in any way, and for me that was kind of the point. It seemed about enjoying simple things, and generally having a good time with what you've got. p.s. the special feature on the small New Jersey town/people of Passaic was really cool - kind of made the film in a way. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
christianp.Jul 13, 2008
Maybe all of these sad reviews will be great in the long run and the beauty and charm of this film will remain in tact for the touched few who thoroughly enjoyed it as I did. Gondry is a visionary. He started losing some fans with Science of Maybe all of these sad reviews will be great in the long run and the beauty and charm of this film will remain in tact for the touched few who thoroughly enjoyed it as I did. Gondry is a visionary. He started losing some fans with Science of Sleep (which I thought was whimsically charming and deeply original), and even more with this movie. And I am still completely shocked at some of the reviews here. The 0s and 2s from viewers who admit that they didn't even watch the whole movie shouldn't be taken into account for obvious reasons. But it's the reviews from those who do this for a living that shock me the most. How can people who watch movies for a living not fall in love with this ode to the magic of film? Baffled but in love with this film... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GenuineOpinionFeb 17, 2012
The movie transcends simple minds, which is why people are giving it a low score. Don't listen to these other reviews, this is actually a very wonderful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews